亚洲专利法发展对比 – 中国大陆

作者: 金晓,中国贸促会专利商标事务所
0
93

疫情当下,亚洲各管辖区的专利立法也在与时俱进,加大对专利的保护、境外专利申请和提高损害赔偿额是主要议题。但差距依然存在,企业应当看清司法管辖区内在专利保护方面存在的障碍,才能保持优势。

中国大陆

在21世纪前十年,知识产权权利人在侵权诉讼中预期获得的损害赔偿平均不超过2万美元。这背后有多个原因,包括没有足够的取证途径,处理知识产权侵权行为的经验有限,以及知识产权涉及面之深和广。

金晓, Jin Xiao, Assistant director of the patent litigation department, CCPIT Patent and Trademark Law Office
金晓
中国贸促会专利商标事务所诉讼部副主任,北京
电话: +86 10 6604 6247
电邮: jinx@ccpit-patent.com.cn

但现在情况不同了,最近更是到了关键点。最高院近期公布了一批典型的知识产权案件,在其中一个案件中,侵权人因制造香兰素——最广泛使用的一种香料而被判赔偿商业秘密权利人1.59亿元人民币(2460万美元),这是最高院史上判决的最高赔偿额。

这一记录也可能很快会被打破,因为这一金额仅是截至2017年底的损害赔偿额。随着《反不正当竞争法》在2018年加入惩罚性赔偿的规定,权利人可能对2017年后出现的侵权损害要求额外赔偿。

大额损害赔偿在知识产权侵权案件中越来越常见。一方面,越来越多的中国公司在运营运程中意识到知识产权的重要性。2020年,超过149.7万个发明专利申请,292.7万个实用新型申请和77万个设计专利申请提交。同时,在2020年,新注册576.1万个商标。有了这些知识产权,权利人有更多的维权选择。

另一方面,中国法院也在探索新的方式来加强知识产权的保护,以及计算损害赔偿额。法院邀请技术专家协助法官,此外,在实务中,法庭禁令和证据保全措施也越来越常用。在许多案件中,原告向法庭申请取证或保全证据,其目的不单是获取被告的财务数据,而更是一种诉讼策略,以期获得大额赔偿。

在实践中,即使法庭下发命令,也很少有被告选择提交财务数据,如销售记录或侵权产品的利润,因为易带来对原告有利的结果。举个例子,当被告无故拒绝提交财务数据时,法庭可能会推断原告的索赔额合理。

证据保全在知识产权诉讼中越来越常见,越来越受青睐,法庭也因此更有可能发现侵权造成的真实损害,因而此类诉讼中的赔偿金额也会增加。

最高院公布的一些案件显示,知识产权权利人在审理中,为了证明损害赔偿额,往往使用多个策略。香兰素案件中的原告正是如此,既证明原告的损失,也证明了被告通过侵权获取的利润,以及侵权造成的市场份额的变化。

多种策略结合给原告带来巨大优势,因为不同途径计算出的损害赔偿额可以交叉佐证,这样,法官对最后判决的数额也更有信心。这可能会成为知识产权侵权诉讼中获取大额赔偿的关键。

在香兰素案件中,原告首先证明侵权带来的损失。这一数额的计算简单,但要说服法官比较难,因为,损失可能是多方因素造成,如季节、广告,或(和)原材料价格的变化。

但损失额可以让法官对损失的规模有一个大致印象,可以将它作为第一个证据。另外,相关数据也容易收集,计算简单。在这个案件中,这一途径计算出的损害赔偿额大约是1.16亿元人民币。

随后的证据聚焦于侵权人获得的利润,这个数额被最高院采纳,也引出了最终的赔偿额。原告证明被告的产能是每年至少5,000吨,2015年起增长了三倍。基于此,被告不得不辩称产能为每年约2,000吨,这个数字成为本案损害赔偿额的计算基础。

这个数字相较于17,000吨的年产量相当保守,因此被法庭采纳。根据每年2,000吨的产能,加上原告通过诉讼来停止侵权行为所产生的合理费用(340万元人民币),法庭计算出的损害赔偿额约为1.55亿元人民币。

原告的另一个计算依据是市场份额的变化。原告发现自商业秘密被盗后,其市场份额大幅下降。通过市场份额的变化计算出的损害赔偿额高达7.9亿元人民币。尽管法庭没有采信根据市场份额的下降计算出的数额,但笔者认为,这一方法计算出的最高数额为法庭计算出的最终数额打开了空间。

在庭审中,原告申请法庭命令,要求被告披露利润,但被告拒绝,这也成为法庭的一个考量因素。法庭认为,被告拒绝披露利润,这使法庭难以确定侵权带来的的具体利润额,和被告的真实利润率。但法庭采纳了原告提供的利润率,据此计算出损害赔偿额为1.59亿元人民币。

在过去,如果原告不能提供被告的财务数据,法庭往往会基于证据不足而不采纳原告的计算额,不论取证难度有多大。从这个角度看,这个案件是一个不小的转变。

一审法庭确实以这个理由拒绝了原告的索赔额,仅判令被告赔偿300万元人民币的法定损害赔偿。上诉法院,即最高院将举证责任转给被告,做出了史上商业秘密侵权诉讼中最高额的判赔。

有了最高院的这个判决,可以预见,在今后的知识产权侵权案件中,如果原告无法获取被告的财务数据,法庭会更多地考虑将举证责任转给被告。

从香兰素案件可以看到,今后,专利权人获得高额判赔的最大障碍会逐渐被打破,损害赔偿额会继续增加。

CCPIT-Patent-&-Trademark-Law-Office

中国贸促会专利商标事务所
CCPIT PATENT AND TRADEMARK LAW OFFICE

10/F, Ocean Plaza,158 Fuxingmennei Street, Beijing 100031, China

Tel: +86 10 66412 3465

Email: mail@ccpit-patent.com.cn

Patent law development in China

    By Jin Xiao, CCPIT Patent and Trademark Law Office
    0
    82

    Patent legislation across Asian jurisdictions is constantly catching up with the pandemic’s demands, with stronger protection, foreign filing and higher compensation being common themes. However, the gaps persist, and businesses need to fathom the domestic barriers to stay ahead.

     

    In the 2000s, an IP rights holder would receive expected damage compensation from infringement litigation for possibly not more than USD20,000 on average. A variety of reasons led to this situation, including insufficient ways to collect evidence, limited experience in handling IP infringement actions, and the depth and breadth of IP rights.

    金晓, Jin Xiao, Assistant director of the patent litigation department, CCPIT Patent and Trademark Law Office
    Jin Xiao
    Assistant Director of Litigation Department at CCPIT Patent and Trademark Law Office in Beijing
    Tel: +86 10 6604 6247
    Email: jinx@ccpit-patent.com.cn

    As time has passed, the situation has changed and, recently, it reached a critical point as a batch of typical IP cases were issued by the Supreme People’s Court (SPC), and RMB159 million (USD24.6 million) in damages were awarded to the owner of a trade secret for manufacturing vanillin, the most widely used spice in food industries – the highest damages affirmed by the SPC to date.

    The record is likely to be broken again soon because such an amount was just a part of damages until the end of 2017. The rights holder may apply for additional damages for the infringements that occurred after 2017, as the Unfair Competition Law introduced punitive damages in 2018.

    Larger damages have become more common in IP infringement actions. On the one hand, more Chinese companies have realised the importance of IP when running their business. More than 1.497 million invention patent applications were filed in 2020, plus 2.927 million utility model applications and 770,000 design patents. Meanwhile, 5.761 million trademarks were registered in 2020. These IP rights provide more available options for the rights holder when enforcement is needed.

    On the other hand, the Chinese courts now are exploring new ways to strengthen the protection of IP rights and to ascertain the damages. In addition to the introduction of the court’s technical expert to assist the judge, court orders and evidence preservation have become increasingly popular in practice. In many cases, it can be seen that the objective behind petitioning the court to take or preserve evidence is not merely to obtain the defendant’s financial data, but is more like a litigation strategy used to seek large damages.

    In practice, few defendants choose to submit financial data like sales records or the profit margin of the accused infringing product, even when facing a court order requiring them to do so. This would lead to rather favourable consequences for plaintiffs. For example, when a defendant refuses to provide financial data without good cause, the court may presume that the plaintiff’s claim for damages is tenable.

    As evidence preservation becomes more common and popular in IP litigation, the court has a better chance of finding out the damages caused by the infringement, resulting in an increasing amount of compensation in such litigation.

    Some recent cases published by the SPC reveal that the owners of IP rights use combined strategies when proving the damages in a trial. In the vanillin case, the plaintiff tried various ways to show the damages, including the damages suffered by the plaintiff, the profits obtained through infringement, and the change of the market shares caused by the infringement.

    The combined strategies brought significant advantages to the plaintiff because the damages calculated through different routes can be cross-referenced so that the judge may feel more comfortable with the amount of compensation finally decided in the sentence. This may become critical in securing larger damages in IP infringement litigation.

    In the vanillin case, the plaintiff first began with the loss suffered by the infringement. This is relatively easy when calculating, but difficult in convincing the judge because the loss may have been caused by various reasons, like the change of seasons, advertisements and/or raw material prices.

    However, the loss suffered could be a good starting point to give the judge a general picture of how huge the loss could be. Another reason to begin with the loss suffered by the infringement is that the data relating to the loss typically can be collected and calculated by the plaintiff. In this case, the measure of damages derived from this route was about RMB116 million.

    Evidence then focused on the profits gained by the accused infringer, which was accepted by the SPC and resulted in the final damages. Here, the plaintiff proved that the production capability of the defendant was at least about 5,000 tons per year, and had tripled since 2015. Based on that, the defendant had to allege that the annual production of vanillin was about 2,000 tons per year, which became the basis of damages to be calculated in this case.

    The court confirmed this number because it was rather conservative compared to the total production capability of 17,000 tons per year. The measure of damages was about RMB155 million based on the capability of 2,000 tons per year plus RMB3.4 million in reasonable expenses for stopping the infringement through trial.

    The final route adopted by the plaintiff is the change of market share. The plaintiff found out that the market share had dramatically shrunk since the trade secret had been infringed. The damages calculated through the change of the market share were up to RMB790 million. Although the court did not accept the damages amount based on the drop of market share, the author believes the highest damage demand through this route did open good room for the final damages decided by the court.

    In the trial, the plaintiff requested a court order asking the defendant to disclose the profit margin, and the refusal of the defendant was taken into the court’s account when deciding the damages. The court held that the defendant’s refusal to disclose the profit margin led to great difficulty in ascertaining the exact profits gained by infringement, and stopped the court from finding out the actual profit margin of the defendant. However, the court used the plaintiff’s profit margin in the calculation, leading to RMB159 million in damages.

    This is a remarkable change because in the past the courts tended to reject the plaintiff’s calculation if the plaintiff could not provide the defendant’s financial data because of insufficient evidence, no matter how difficult it was for the plaintiff to access that evidence.

    The trial courts rejected the plaintiff’s claims for the same reason, but only awarded statutory damages of RMB3 million. The appellate court, the SPC, reversed and shifted the burden of proof to the defendant in the appeal, resulting in the highest damages in trade secret infringement litigation to date.

    Given the SPC case, it is foreseeable that the Chinese courts will more often consider the shifting of the burden of proof during IP infringement litigation if the financial data of the defendant is not accessible to the plaintiff.

    The result is, as the vanillin case shows, the measure of damages will keep increasing because the biggest obstacle for patentees to obtain high compensation seems to be gradually disappearing.

    CCPIT-Patent-&-Trademark-Law-Office

    CCPIT PATENT AND TRADEMARK LAW OFFICE

    10/F, Ocean Plaza,158 Fuxingmennei Street, Beijing 100031, China

    Tel: +86 10 66412 3465

    Email: mail@ccpit-patent.com.cn