亚洲专利法发展对比 – 印度

作者: Manisha Singh,LexOrbis
0
127

疫情当下,亚洲各管辖区的专利立法也在与时俱进,加大对专利的保护、境外专利申请和提高损害赔偿额是主要议题。但差距依然存在,企业应当看清司法管辖区内在专利保护方面存在的障碍,才能保持优势。

印度

印度的知识产权生态一直在改变,印度也因此吸引着全球目光。与其他管辖区一样,印度的专利法有其独特的规定,本文简要分析这些规定,同时介绍印度专利法领域的最新发展。

境外申请许可

Manisha-Singh,-Partner,-LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
LexOrbis管理合伙人,新德里
电话: +91 98111 61518
电邮: manisha@lexorbis.com

其中一个独特要求就是境外申请许可(FFL)。根据此要求,如印度居民拟在境外申请专利,有两个途径。第一个途径,印度居民发明人首次在印度境外申请发明专利前,须向印度专利局(IPO)提交该发明的说明文件,申请FFL 。如该发明不涉及国防技术或核能,IPO 在收到申请三周内向该发明人签发FFL。在获得FFL后,该印度居民发明人可以以自己的名义就该发明在境外提交首次专利申请。

第二个途径是,居民发明人不向IPO申请FFL ,而是先在印度提交首次专利申请。如IPO 在六周内没有提出异议,申请人后续可在印度境外提交申请。如IPO反对申请人后续在印度境外提交申请,则向申请人签发保密令,禁止后续的境外申请。但IPO很少行使这一权力。如申请人没有收到异议,则可以在六周后提交后续申请。

阶段申请与修改

IPO接受英语文件,因此,在印度进行专利申请时,不需要翻译成本国语言。而日本、中国、巴西和韩国等管辖区都要求翻译成本国语言,相较而言,在印度申请的总成本大大降低。

根据一份预估,翻译成本占专利申请总成本约35%。印度专利法还根据《国际专利合作条约》(PCT)规定了为期31个月的国家阶段申请,而不是大部分管辖区规定的30个月。

申请过程

首先,申请人提交审查请求,申请进入排队等候。当积压的大部分申请处理完后,申请会在审查请求之日起一年内进入审查阶段。在第一次审查报告下发后,申请人有6个月的时间回复。如果申请人能够成功解答所有异议,官方直接授予专利。否则,举行听证会,让申请人回答剩下的异议,之后官方再做出决定。如果专利申请没有通过,申请人有两个救济方式,向专利局提交复核请求,或上诉至相关高级法院。

分案申请

在母案被授予或驳回前任何时间,申请人都可以提交分案申请。因官方不会提前发出申请决定的通知,所以,分案申请应尽早提交。只有在母案申请含有数个发明的情况下,分案申请才会被认为有效,分案申请与母案申请的权利要求也不同。

patent
Joginder Singh
LexOrbis合伙人,新德里
电话: + 91 97 1126 2818
电邮: joginder@lexorbis.com

在分案申请的独立权利要求中,必须至少有一个母案申请没有主张的发明特点。这些权利要求应当在母案申请的描述中有体现。申请人可自愿提交分案申请,也可以在回答IPO的缺乏统一性的异议时提交。对于自愿分案申请是否会被接受,答案似乎有些复杂。最近几个判例——Procter & Gamble Company与专利与设计管理局、Esco Corporation与专利与设计管理局,以及UCB Pharma与专利管理局——出现了相同的问题。

在上述案件中,知识产权上诉委员会(IPAB)的其中一项裁决是,分案申请的权利要求必须只来源于母案申请的权利要求。这是对分案申请规则非常限制性的解读。但这是委员会在多个案件裁决中透露出的立场,没有被暂缓执行或被质疑,因此,如果分案申请包含有母案申请没有的权利要求,该分案申请可能会被IPO驳回。为了避免这一情况,可以将为分案准备的权利要求写入母案申请中。

写入这些权利要求的母案申请或被接受,或被驳回,如被驳回,专利局会发出缺乏统一性的异议,或以新加入标的为由发出异议,正如Milliken & Company v Union of India案件中的裁决,而收到异议的申请人可以将这些被驳回的权利要求写进分案申请中,提交分案申请。

境外申请的披露

《印度专利法》中的这个要求仍然是许多申请人的痛点,尤其是在多个国家申请专利的大申请人。这个要求有两部分。第一部分被称为第8(1)条要求,根据这一条规定,在印度境外任何地区提交的所有相关或相应的申请的细节必须披露给IPO。相关或相应的申请包括普通优先权或PCT申请的任何后续申请、国家阶段、延续申请(continuation)、部分延续申请(continuation in part),和(或)分案申请。

申请人在提交印度专利申请的同时或6个月内必须提交“表格3”(form 3),在表格中填写关于相应申请的所有必要信息。之后,如果申请人在印度境外任何地区提交新的相应申请,申请人应当在提交后6个月内向IPO 提交“表格3”,披露所有细节。

第8条要求的第二部分,即第8(2)条规定申请人应IPO要求提供相应申请中的检索或审查报告和已授权权利要求的复印件。管理者一般在第一次审查报告中提出该要求。但自IPO接入世界知识产权组织的检索和审查集中式接入(WIPO CASE)系统后,管理者可以通过这个系统获取相应申请的检索和审查报告,此类要求也在减少。

使用情况说明

《印度专利法》中的另一个独特规定就是对使用情况说明的要求。最近,政府对专利使用情况说明的提交格式和程序做了修改。修改后的规定于2020年10月19日起实施,新的格式和程序将适用于2021年后提交的使用情况说明。年度使用情况说明的提交日期由每年3月31日改为每年9月31日。新的使用情况说明将所涵盖的使用时期从原来的1月至12月的一个日历年改成4月到次年3月的一个财年。在授予专利的本财年无须提交使用情况说明。

对于数个相关的专利,如果某一个专利发明的大致收入或价值不能独立于其他相关专利的收入或价值而计算得出,且所有这些相关专利都授予同一个专利权人,则专利权人可只提交一份使用情况说明,填写“表格27”即可。

共同专利权人可就一个或相关专利联合提交一份使用情况说明,但被许可人须分开提交。提供所生产的和(或)进口到印度的专利产品的数量的要求已废除。使用情况说明中不需要填写当个财年的专利许可信息。

废除IPAB

政府最近废除了知识产权上诉机构IPAB。与《专利法》、《商标法》和《地理标志法》相关的新的上诉将诉至相关高级法院。但最近,议会常务委员会关于知识产权制度的评论报告建议恢复IPAB。

德里高级法院在7月7日宣布在高级法院内设立一个知识产权庭专门审理知识产权案件,包括原来由IPAB审理的案件。但德里高级法院还没有公布知识产权庭的规则。其他高级法院也可能效仿德里高级法院,很快将设立知识产权庭。

LexOrbis logo

LEXORBIS

709/710 Tolstoy House 15-17

Tolstoy Marg New Delhi

110 001, India

Tel: +91 11 2371 6565

Email: mail@lexorbis.com

Patent law development in India

    By Manisha Singh & Joginder Singh, LexOrbis
    0
    41

    Patent legislation across Asian jurisdictions is constantly catching up with the pandemic’s demands, with stronger protection, foreign filing and higher compensation being common themes. However, the gaps persist, and businesses need to fathom the domestic barriers to stay ahead.

     

    India has been attracting global attention with its evolving IP ecosystem. Like any other jurisdiction, certain provisions in India’s patent law are unique, and this article aims to briefly explain these while providing some patent-related updates from India.

    The foreign filing licence

    One such unique provision relates to the requirement of the foreign filing licence (FFL). There are two options for complying with this requirement. The first is that before filing the first application outside India, the Indian resident inventor applies to the Indian Patent Office (IPO) for issuance of an

    Manisha-Singh,-Partner,-LexOrbis
    Manisha Singh
    Managing partner at LexOrbis in New Delhi
    Tel: +91 98111 61518
    Email: manisha@lexorbis.com

    FFL by submitting a brief disclosure of the invention. Within three weeks of such a request, the IPO issues the FFL to the Indian resident inventor provided the disclosure does not pertain to defence technology or atomic energy. After obtaining the FFL, the first patent application for the same invention can be filed outside India with the name of the Indian resident inventor.

    The second option is that, instead of obtaining the FFL from the IPO, the applicant files the first application in India, naming the resident inventor. If there is no objection from the IPO within six weeks, the applicant can file subsequent applications outside India. If the IPO has any objection to the filing of subsequent applications outside India, it may issue secrecy directions to that effect to the applicant. This power has rarely been exercised by the IPO. If no objection is received, the applicant is free to file a subsequent application after six weeks.

    Phase filing and amendments

    The IPO accepts the English language, which means no translation in native languages is required for filing and prosecuting patent applications in India. This leads to a significant reduction in the overall cost of patenting compared to jurisdictions like Japan, China, Brazil and South Korea, which all require native-language translations.

    According to one estimate, translation into the native language generally costs about 35% of the total cost of patent protection. Indian patent law also allows a 31-month period to file a national phase application, based on the international patent co-operation treaty (PCT) against the 30 months provided by most jurisdictions.

    The prosecution process

    The patent prosecution process in India begins with the request for examination, which brings the application in the queue. Most of the backlog has been cleared, and now applications are getting examined within a year from the date of request. The applicant gets six months to respond to the first examination report. If all objections are successfully overcome, a patent is directly granted. Otherwise, an oral hearing takes place after some time to allow the applicant to address outstanding objections and, thereafter, a decision is issued. In case of an unfavourable decision, the applicant has two remedies – the first is to file a review petition before the patent office and the second is to file an appeal before an appropriate high court.

    Divisional applications

    A divisional application can be filed any time before the grant or refusal of its parent application. Since there is no advance notice of decision on a patent application, the divisional application should be filed at the earliest opportunity. The divisional application is considered valid only when there are multiple inventions disclosed in the parent application, and the claims of the divisional application are distinct from the claims of the parent application.

    Specifically, the independent claims of divisional applications should have at least one inventive feature that was not claimed in the parent application. The claims should also be supported in the description of the parent application. The divisional application can be filed either voluntarily, or in

    patent
    Joginder Singh
    Partner at LexOrbis in New Delhi
    Tel: + 91 97 1126 2818
    Email: joginder@lexorbis.com

    response to a lack of unity objection from the IPO. The current position on the maintainability of voluntary divisional applications in India is a bit complex. The same has emerged from recent case laws, such as: Procter & Gamble Company v the Controller of Patents & Designs; Esco Corporation v the Controller of Patents & Designs; and UCB Pharma v the Controller of Patents.

    In the above-mentioned cases, the Intellectual Property Appellate Board (IPAB) has held, among other things, that the claims of the divisional application are required to be derived from the claims of the parent application only. This is a very restrictive interpretation of laws relating to a divisional application. However, since this position is coming from the multiple decisions of the board, and has not been stayed or challenged, the IPO is likely to object to a divisional application that includes claims absent in the parent application. This can be circumvented by introducing the claims meant for divisional in the parent application itself.

    If those claims get accepted in the parent application, that should be good enough for the applicant. Otherwise, the parent application will receive an objection for lack of unity, or newly added subject matter and, as in Milliken & Company v Union of India, such an objection provides a legitimate ground for the applicant to pursue the objected claims through a divisional application.

    Disclosure of foreign applications

    This legal requirement under the Indian Patent law continues to be a pain point for many applicants, particularly for big filers in various countries. The requirement is divided into two parts. The first part is known as the section 8(1) requirement, under which the IPO is required to be informed about the details of all related or corresponding applications filed anywhere outside India. The related or corresponding application includes any application originating from a common priority or PCT application, the national phase, continuation, continuation in part, and/or divisional application.

    All necessary information about the corresponding applications is required to be filed on form 3 at the time of, or within six months from, the date of filing of the Indian patent application. After that, if any new corresponding application is filed anywhere outside India, the details of that application are required to be provided to the IPO on form 3 within six months from the filing.

    The second part of the section 8 requirement, under section 8(2), relates to providing copies of the search or examination reports and granted claims in corresponding applications to the IPO, as and when it demands. Such demands are usually made by the controllers in the first examination report. However, since the IPO has now joined as a provider and accessing office to the World Intellectual Property Organisation Centralised Access to Search and Examination (WIPO CASE) system, the controllers now have the facility to access the search and examination reports of the corresponding application through the WIPO CASE system and, therefore, the demand made for such documents by the controller is continually decreasing.

    Working statement

    Another unique provision in the Indian Patent Law is the requirement of a working statement. Recently, the government introduced a few changes in the format and procedures involved in filing working statements for patents. The changes became effective from 19 October 2020, and the new format and procedure would apply to the working statement to be filed in 2021 onwards. The filing date for the annual working statement has been changed from 31 March to 31 September each year. The period of working to be covered under the new working statement has been replaced from calendar year January to December, to financial year April to March. No working statement is required to be filed in the financial year in which the patent is granted.

    A single working statement in form 27 can be filed in respect of multiple related patents, where the approximate revenue or value accrued from a particular patented invention cannot be derived separately from the approximate revenue or value accrued from related patents, and all such patents are granted to the same patentee.

    Co-owners of a patent can jointly file one working statement for one or related patents, however, each licensee would be required to file the statements separately. The requirement for providing the quantum of patented products manufactured and/or imported into India has been done away with. There is no requirement for providing the details of licences issued in any given financial year in the working statement.

    Abolishment of IPAB

    The government has recently abolished the IPAB, the appellate authority for appeals related to IP rights matters. New appeals related to the Patents Act, Trademarks Act and Geographical Indications Act are now to be filed before the relevant high court. The recent parliamentary standing committee report on a review of IP rights regime in India suggests re-institution of the IPAB.

    Delhi High Court has, on 7 July, announced the creation of an IP division within the high court for handling all IP rights matters, including those to be transferred from the IPAB. Delhi High Court, however, is yet to notify the rules of the IP division. Other high courts may also follow the initiative of Delhi High Court and start IP divisions soon.

    LexOrbis logo

    LEXORBIS

    709/710 Tolstoy House 15-17

    Tolstoy Marg New Delhi

    110 001, India

    Tel: +91 11 2371 6565

    Email: mail@lexorbis.com