亚洲专利法发展对比 – 日本

作者: 多田宏文,大野综合法律事务所律师
0
157

疫情当下,亚洲各管辖区的专利立法也在与时俱进,加大对专利的保护、境外专利申请和提高损害赔偿额是主要议题。但差距依然存在,企业应当看清司法管辖区内在专利保护方面存在的障碍,才能保持优势。

日本

疫情当下,经济挑战频现,准确理解专利的价值和风险和高效利用专利对保护公司和利润愈加重要。日本的专利制度在过去几年快速发展,对企业也产生了重要影响。

在过去几年,日本专利权的作用越来越大,专利申请和专利侵权诉讼也愈受青睐。同时,专利侵权的风险大大增加,企业在经营时必须小心评估。通过客观数据可以看出日本越来越重视专利,本文将用客观数据为大家解读日本专利现状。

Hirofumi Tada, Attorney at Law, Ohno & Partners
多田宏文
大野综合法律事务所律师,东京
电话: +813 5218 2339
电邮: tadah@oslaw.org

近况

日本最近加大对专利权的保护。比如,《日本专利法》中有关损害赔偿推定的第102条经过修改后让专利权人能更容易证明严重的损害。第105-2条规定新设立检查制度,让专利权人能更容易收集侵权人控制下的侵权证据。作为一名专利诉讼律师,笔者感觉到法官对专利权人的态度也更友好了。

专利权人的胜诉率

专利权人的胜诉率在过去几年快速上升。知识产权高级法院自2014年开始每年公布有关专利侵权诉讼的统计数据。

下图展示了两组统计数据的差异。图1是2014年至2017年间在东京和大阪地区法院审理或和解的案件中的比率,图2是2018年到2020年间的比率。可以清晰地看到,专利权人的胜诉率在近几年大幅提升。

A-COMPARISON-OF-OF-PATENT-LAW-DEVELOPMENT-各国专利法发展对比-Chart-1-2-Chin

原告诉求得到支持的判决比例在2014年到2017年间是16%,但在2018到2020年间大幅上升到30%。驳回的判决比例在2014年到2017年间是45%,但在2018到2020年间下降到39%。许多和解的结果对原告有利,因此,专利权人的胜诉率远远高于30%。

可以清晰地看到,日本法官越来越支持专利权的保护。专利权人现在的胜诉概率远高于以前,侵权人成功辩护的难度则加大。

赔偿上升

经济赔偿额在过去几年也有所上升。图3是2014年至2017年间在东京和大阪地区法院裁决和和解的案件中不同经济赔偿额的裁决占总案件的比例,图4是2018至2020年间的比例。A-COMPARISON-OF-OF-PATENT-LAW-DEVELOPMENT-各国专利法发展对比-Chart-3-4-Chin

值得注意的是,原告获赔1亿日元(887,900美元)的案件占比从2014年至2017年间的16%上升到2018至2020年间的30%。原告获赔1000万日元或以上的案件占比从2014至2017年间的53%增加到65%。原告获赔低于1000万日元的案件占比从47%下降到35%。

这些数据清晰地显示出近年来原告在判决和和解中获赔的数额一直在上升。

2019至2020年间知识产权高级法院的裁决已显示出其有意增加损害赔偿额,日本也修改了《专利法》,增加推断损害赔偿金额。从上述数据可以看出,判决和和解中原告获得的经济赔偿额在上升。

重视专利带来的影响

数据显示日本专利权的作用大大增强。这一变化迅速且重大,现在,日本专利的价值以及专利侵权的风险与几年前比大不相同。但这一变化还没有获得充分认可。

现在,如果企业要选择一个专利侵权诉讼的管辖地,日本是一个诱人的选择。日本法院设有专门的知识产权庭,法官也擅长审理专利诉讼。数据显示,在最近结案的案件中,专利权人的胜诉率在增加。对于依赖专利营利的企业而言,在日本进行专利侵权诉讼是一个合理的选择。

同时,专利侵权的风险也大大增加。与美国不同,如果确有专利侵权行为,日本法院会下发禁令,不附带其他要求,在某些情况下,这对企业的业务有重大影响。此外,损害赔偿金额也在上升。相应地,在日本营业时,谨慎的风险评估,如可实施性检索和专利无效性评估,显得非常重要。考虑到最近专利越来越受重视,在某些情况下,建议重新评估专利侵权的风险。

OHNO & PARTNERS

OHNO & PARTNERS
21/F, Marunouchi Kitaguchi Building

1-6-5, Marunouchi, Chiyoda-ku

Tokyo 100 0005,

Japan

Tel: +813 5218 2331

Email: ohnos@oslaw.org

Patent law development in Japan

    By Hirofumi Tada, Ohno & Partners
    0
    45

    Patent legislation across Asian jurisdictions is constantly catching up with the pandemic’s demands, with stronger protection, foreign filing and higher compensation being common themes. However, the gaps persist, and businesses need to fathom the domestic barriers to stay ahead.

     

    Under economic challenges brought by the pandemic, an accurate understanding of the values and risks of patents, and efficiently utilising them, are more important to protect business and profits. The patent situation in Japan has changed rapidly in the past few years, and it may have a significant impact on business.

    Japanese patent rights have become significantly more powerful in the past few years, with obtaining patents and filing patent infringement lawsuits becoming a more attractive option. At the same time, the risks of patent infringement are significantly bigger, and a careful evaluation is highly important when conducting business. This article explains this situation with objective data, which indicates this “pro-patent” tendency.

    Recent situation

    Hirofumi Tada, Attorney at Law, Ohno & Partners
    Hirofumi Tada
    Attorney at Law at Ohno & Partners in Tokyo
    Tel: +813 5218 2339
    Email: tadah@oslaw.org

    Japan has recently given much stronger protection over patent rights. For example, the country has amended damages presumption clauses of the Japanese Patent Act to make it easier for a patent owner to prove more serious damages, as mentioned in article 102 of the act. Also, article 105-2 stipulates a newly established inspection system to make it easier for a patent owner to collect evidence under the control of an accused infringer. As a patent litigator, the author feels that judges are more friendly towards a patent owner than before.

    Winning rates of patent owners

    The winning rates of patent owners has rapidly increased in the past few years. The Intellectual Property High Court since 2014 has annually disclosed statistics regarding patent infringement lawsuits.

    Expansion of infringement

    The charts below are based on the differences between two sets of statistics. Chart 1 shows the ratio of judgments by, or settlements in, Tokyo and Osaka District Courts from 2014 to 2017, and chart 2 shows the ratio from 2018 to 2020. They clearly show that the winning rate of patent owners has significantly increased recently.

     A-COMPARISON-OF-OF-PATENT-LAW-DEVELOPMENT-各国专利法发展对比-Chart-1-2-Eng

     

    The percentage of upholding judgments was 16% from 2014 to 2017, but it drastically increased to 30% from 2018 to 2020. Also, the ratio of dismissals was 45% from 2014 to 2017, but it dropped to 39% from 2018 to 2020. Notably, many settlements are favourable for plaintiffs, so the substantial winning rate for patent owners is much higher than 30%.

    This clearly shows the recent pro-patent tendency of Japanese judges. Now it is much easier for a patent owner to win an infringement lawsuit than before, and it is very difficult for an accused infringer to defend themselves successfully.

    Increase in compensation

    The amount of monetary compensation has increased in the past few years. Chart 3 shows the ratio of each amount of monetary compensation awarded under judgments by, or settlements in, Tokyo and Osaka District Courts from 2014 to 2017, and chart 4 shows the ratio from 2018 to 2020.

    A-COMPARISON-OF-OF-PATENT-LAW-DEVELOPMENT-各国专利法发展对比-Chart-3-4-Eng

     

    Significantly, JPY100 million (USD887,900) or more was awarded only in 16% of cases from 2014 to 2017, but that increased to 30% from 2018 to 2020. Also, JPY10 million or more was awarded in 53% of cases from 2014 to 2017, but that has increased to 65%. The ratio of payments less than JPY10 million dropped from 47% to 35%.

    These data clearly show that the monetary compensation amounts awarded in judgments and settlements have been increasing recently.

    The grand panel decisions of the Intellectual Property High Court in 2019 and 2020 have shown its intention to increase damages amounts, and Japan has amended its Patent Act to increase presumed damages amounts. The above data show that the monetary compensation amounts awarded in judgments and settlements have increased.

    Influence of pro-patent tendency

    The data show that Japanese patent rights are much stronger now. This change has been rapid and significant, and the value and risks of Japanese patents are different from a few years ago. But the change is as yet not well recognised.

    Japan is now an attractive option for a company choosing a jurisdiction to file a patent infringement lawsuit. The Japanese court system has special divisions that handle only IP cases, and the judges are specialised and skilled in patent litigation. Besides, they have tended to decide for patent owners in close cases recently, as the data show. Patent infringement lawsuits in Japan are a reasonable choice for companies that actively use their patents to gain profits.

    At the same time, patent infringement risks are greater now. Unlike the US, Japanese courts grant injunctive orders without additional requirements if there is a patent infringement, and this may have a critical impact on companies’ business in some circumstances. In addition, the damages amounts are tending to be larger. Accordingly, a careful risk evaluation, such as free-to-operate research and patent invalidity evaluation, is highly important when conducting business in Japan. In some circumstances, a re-evaluation of patent infringement risks is recommended, considering the recent pro-patent tendency.

    OHNO & PARTNERS

    OHNO & PARTNERS
    21/F, Marunouchi Kitaguchi Building

    1-6-5, Marunouchi, Chiyoda-ku

    Tokyo 100 0005,

    Japan

    Tel: +813 5218 2331

    Email: ohnos@oslaw.org