亚洲专利法发展对比 – 台湾

作者: 郭雨岚、汪家倩、谢祥扬,万国法律事务所
0
126

疫情当下,亚洲各管辖区的专利立法也在与时俱进,加大对专利的保护、境外专利申请和提高损害赔偿额是主要议题。但差距依然存在,企业应当看清司法管辖区内在专利保护方面存在的障碍,才能保持优势。

台湾

台湾科技发达是有目共睹的,其科技研发和集成电路供应链的实力就是例证。最近迅猛的科技发展让台湾成为了焦点。根据台湾产业研究机构科技网(DigiTimes)2021年9月的统计数据,在亚洲主要国家和地区中,只有台湾的科技公司在上市公司中占比超过60%。台湾科技产业的重要不言而喻。在资本和科技市场稳步加速前进的背后,相关法律制度是根本保障。

patent
郭雨岚
万国法律事务所高级合伙人,台北
电话: +886 2 2755 7366
电邮: yulan.kuo@taiwanlaw.com

外地投资者如果想来台经商,了解台湾的专利法和其他智慧财产(IP)保护措施必不可少。

背景简介

台湾的专利主要有三种,即发明专利、新型专利和设计专利。

符合新颖性、非显而易见性和产业利用性要件的科学思想创作即可申请发明专利保护。发明专利权的期限自申请之日起算二十年届满。对于医药品、农药品或其制造方法的发明专利,考虑到获得许可证需要一段时间,可相应申请延长其专利权期间。

新型专利是对物品上的形状、构造或组合的创作。新型专利权的期限自申请之日起算十年届满。

设计专利是对物品的全部或部分之形状、花纹、色彩或其结合,透过视觉诉求的创作。设计专利权的保护期限是自申请之日起算十五年届满。

台湾的专利制度根据互惠原则向外地人士开放,即,如果台湾居民可享受外地人士所属地区的专利保护,他们也可在台湾申请专利保护。

Taiwan energy law
汪家倩
万国法律事务所合伙人,台北
电话: +886 2 2755 7366
电邮: jane.wang@taiwanlaw.com

根据台湾《专利法》,只要外地公司能证明其合法持有台湾专利,那么,它不需要获得台湾政府的企业认可,即在台湾公司登记处注册,就可申请台湾居民享有的权利救济。

对于专利侵权,台湾《专利法》仅规定了民事救济方式。如专利权人证明第三方侵害他/她的专利权,专利权人可向法院起诉,要求侵权人停止侵权行为,销毁侵权产品/物品,以及从事侵害行为时所用的工具器具,并要求损害赔偿。

智慧财产局

台湾智慧财产局(TIPO)负责审查申请、授予专利、以及再审查与专利保护相关的其他申请。专利举发程序也由TIPO负责。

对TIPO的决定不服者应首先向上诉审查委员会上诉,上诉结果仍不满意的,再寻求司法救济。TIPO在2020年发布相关法律的修正草案征求意见。

修正草案规定,在大部分情况下,对TIPO决定不服者可直接向法院起诉。如修正草案被立法通过,它将大大缩短举发程序和后续的上诉程序的时间。

智慧财产法院

台湾在2008年成立了智慧财产及商业法院(IP法院),专门审理IP案件。IP法院对专利侵权诉讼一审案件具有非专属管辖权,对专利侵权二审案件具有专属管辖权。因此,对于专利侵害诉讼,当事方既可在IP法院起诉,也可在对案件有管辖权的地方法院起诉。

谢祥扬
万国法律事务所合伙人,台北
电话: +886 2 2755 7366
电邮: brian.hsieh@taiwanlaw.com

但专利侵权二审案件只能由IP法院审理。除个例外,对于IP法院的大部分专利判决,当事方可上诉至当地最高法院,最高法院只审查下级法院的判决中呈现的法律问题。

在审理专利侵权案件时,IP法院可指定一位技术审查官帮助法官理解案件涉及的技术问题。大部分技术审查官都是TIPO的资深专利审查员,他们熟悉专利事项,经验丰富。

技术审查官通常坐在庭内听取诉讼双方的辩论。他们如有问题,只要法官认为这些问题恰当且必要,可直接询问当事方。有了技术审查官的协助,IP法院的法官更有能力研究专利事项中的技术问题。

侵权民事诉讼

尽管举发应向TIPO提出,但侵权诉讼方(通常是被诉侵权人)可以用涉案专利无效作为抗辩。当被诉侵权方做出有效性抗辩时,IP法院将调查抗辩的实质内容,考虑专利是否有效。

如IP法院认为专利权应撤销,法院将裁定专利权不可实施,并驳回专利权人的诉讼请求。换言之,如举发和诉讼同时进行,IP法院可自己行决定专利权是否应撤销,无须等待TIPO的裁决。

根据IP法院公布的数据,在2008年第三季度到2021年第二季度期间,在被告提出有效性抗辩的专利侵权一审案件中,有50.69%的案件的裁决是专利权应被撤销,因此不可实施。因此,专利权人在提起侵权诉讼时有必要重新审查专利权的有效性。要想在专利诉讼中获胜,第一步是应对可预想到的专利权有效性抗辩。

索赔

如专利权人成功证明侵权的存在,并回击了有效性抗辩,则可获得损害赔偿。台湾《专利法》规定,在请求损害赔偿时,专利权人可在下列三种方法中选择其一计算损害:(1)因侵权活动遭受的损害额和/或利润损失额;(2)侵权人因侵权行为所得之利益;(3)依授权实施该发明专利所得收取的合理权利金。

如专利权人证明侵害行为属故意,可获得损害额以上的赔偿,但不得超过已证明损害额的三倍。

根据IP法院公布的一项研究,在专利权人胜诉的一审专利侵权案件中,IP法院裁定的损害赔偿额接近胜诉专利权人请求的数额。在其中一个一审案件中,IP法院判赔20亿台币(72,000,000美元)。

对于维修免责的争议

最近,几个重大的设计专利侵权案件的判决引起了广泛的关注。讨论的焦点在于台湾《专利法》是否应导入汽车维修免责条款。

台湾现行《专利法》没有该免责规定。对于是否应加入这一规定,有人赞成,有人反对,反对者认为,台湾法律已经给予法官自由裁量权,在给予专利权人所有救济显得极其不适当的情况下,法官可做出必要调整。2020年,已有立法委员提交《专利法》修正案,要求导入汽车维修免责条款。对于后续发展,我们拭目以待。

formosa taiwan

FORMOSA TRANSNATIONAL
13/F, 136 Jen Ai Road, Sec. 3, Taipei
T: +886 2 2755 7366
E: ftlaw@taiwanlaw.com

www.taiwanlaw.com

Patent law development in Taiwan

    By Kuo Yulan, Jane Wang, and Brian Hsieh, Formosa Transnational
    0
    61

    Patent legislation across Asian jurisdictions is constantly catching up with the pandemic’s demands, with stronger protection, foreign filing and higher compensation being common themes. However, the gaps persist, and businesses need to fathom the domestic barriers to stay ahead.

     

    Taiwan has long been known for its advanced technological developments, including but not limited to those related to R&D and the integrated circuit (IC) supply chain. The rapid recent growth of technology has put Taiwan in the spotlight. According to statistics shared by Taiwan industry research institute DigiTimes, in September 2021, among the major Asian countries, only in Taiwan is the contribution of the technology sector exceeding 60% among listed companies. This fact demonstrates the importance of Taiwan’s technology industries. Behind the scenes, the related legal frameworks are fundamental to fuelling the accelerated yet stable development of both the capital and technology markets.

    patent
    Kuo Yulan
    Senior Partner at Formosa Transnational in Taipei
    Tel: +886 2 2755 7366
    Email: yulan.kuo@taiwanlaw.com

    Foreign stakeholders need to understand Taiwan’s patent laws, in addition to other types of IP protection available, for the purpose of doing business in Taiwan.

    An introduction

    Three types of patents available in Taiwan – invention, utility model and design patents.

    An invention is eligible for patent protection if it is a technical creation that satisfies the requirements of novelty, non-obviousness and industrial utility. The term of an invention patent is 20 years from the date on which the patent application is filed. Extensions for the patent protection term are available for a pharmaceutical, agrichemical or manufacturing process, taking into account the time needed to obtain the required regulatory approvals.

    A utility model is a creation made in respect of the form, construction or fitting of an object. The protection term for a new utility model is 10 years from the filing date.

    A design patent is a creation made in respect of the shape, pattern or colour (or a combination of these) of an article as a whole or in part, by visual appeal. The protection term for a design is 15 years from the filing date.

    Taiwan energy law
    Jane Wang
    Partner at Formosa Transnational
    in Taipei
    Tel: +886 2 2755 7366
    Email: jane.wang@taiwanlaw.com

    Taiwan’s patent regime is open to foreign nationals on a reciprocal basis. That is, foreign nationals may apply for patent protection as long as their home countries also make patent protection available to Taiwanese citizens.

    Under Taiwan’s Patent Act, as long as a foreign company can properly establish that it duly holds a Taiwanese patent, the company does not need to have corporate recognition from the Taiwan government – which exists when a foreign company has a presence registered at Taiwan’s corporate registry – before it may seek remedies that are available to all Taiwanese citizens.

    Taiwan’s Patent Act only provides civil remedies to patentees who discover that another is infringing their patents. If a patentee establishes that a third party is infringing his/her patent, the patentee may seek a court judgment that orders the infringer to cease the infringing activities, to destroy infringing products/articles and tools/equipment used in the course of the infringing activities, and to compensate damages that the patentee suffers as a result of the infringement.

    The Intellectual Property Office

    The Taiwan Intellectual Property Office (TIPO) has authority to examine applications and grant patents, as well as to review other applications in relation to patent protections. The TIPO also has authority to preside over invalidation actions initiated by a party seeking to invalidate a patent.

    Brian Hsieh
    Partner at Formosa Transnational in Taipei
    Tel: +886 2 2755 7366
    Email: brian.hsieh@taiwanlaw.com

    Parties who disagree with the TIPO’s rulings cannot seek judicial remedies against these rulings unless they first file appeals with the administrative appeal review board, and subsequently fail to obtain favourable rulings from the board. A proposed amendment to the related laws was published by the TIPO for public review and comments in 2020.

    Under the proposed amendments, in most situations parties can directly go to the court if they do not accept a TIPO ruling in relation to a patent matter. It is believed that the amendments, if passed by the legislature, will substantially decrease the time needed to conduct and conclude invalidation actions and the subsequent appeal process.

    The Intellectual Property Court

    In 2008, Taiwan established the Intellectual Property and Commercial Court (IP Court), which exclusively hears and adjudicates IP matters. The IP Court enjoys non-exclusive jurisdiction over patent infringement litigation at the first instance, as well as exclusive jurisdiction over the same in the second instance. So, a party seeking to initiate patent infringement litigation against an infringing party can choose to so do before the IP Court, or before a district court that has proper jurisdiction over the matter.

    All patent infringement litigation at the second instance, however, is heard only by the IP Court. Subject to some exceptions, most patent-related judgments of the IP Court at the second instance can be appealed to the Supreme Court, which will only review legal questions present in the judgments issued by the lower courts.

    When presiding over a patent infringement case, an IP Court judge may appoint a technical examination officer, who will assist the judge to understand technical issues involved in the case. Most technical examination officers are senior patent examiners at the TIPO, and are experienced in, and familiar with, patent matters.

    The officers usually sit in the courtroom and listen to the arguments of both parties to the patent infringement litigation. They may directly make inquiries of any of the parties when the judge deems the question raised is proper and necessary. With these officers’ assistance, it is believed that the IP Court judges are much better equipped to look into complicated technical issues present in patent matters.

    Infringement civil lawsuits

    While a party must still file an invalidation action with the TIPO if the party wishes to invalidate a certain patent, infringement litigants (usually the alleged infringers) can raise a validity defence against the patents that are the subject of the infringement litigations. When an alleged infringing party raises a validity defence, the IP Court will investigate the substance of the defence and consider whether or not the patent is valid in light of the challenges raised.

    If the IP Court finds the patent to be invalid, it will rule that the patent is unenforceable, and will dismiss the patentee’s litigation claims. In other words, when a parallel invalidation action is filed at the TIPO, the IP Court hearing the civil infringement litigation will not wait for the TIPO’s ruling, but will determine the validity issue on its own.

    According to data published by the IP Court, between the third quarter of 2008 and the second quarter of 2021, 50.69% of all first-instance patent infringement litigations where validity defences were raised were concluded with rulings that the patents were invalid and thus unenforceable. The data demonstrate that it is crucial for patentees to re-examine the validity of their patents before initiating infringement litigation. To prevail in patent litigation, the first step is to overcome anticipated challenges to the patent’s validity.

    Claims for damages

    A patentee may recover damages if he/she successfully establishes the infringement and also overcomes any validity challenge. Under Taiwan’s Patent Act, when asserting a damage claim, the patentee may calculate the amount of the damages by either: (1) the monetary amount of injury suffered and/or the loss of profits due to the infringing activities; (2) the amount of the benefits gained by the infringing party due to the infringing activities; and (3) the amount of a reasonable royalty fee that the patentee could obtain from the infringing party’s activities.

    An enhanced damages claim is available when the patentee proves that the infringing party intentionally conducted the infringing activities. The enhanced damages cannot exceed three times the amount of the actual damages amount established by the patentee.

    According to a study published by the IP Court, among all first-instance patent infringement litigations where the patentees prevailed, the IP Court has tended to grant damages close to the amounts requested by the winning patentees. It is also noted that a damages award of TWD2 billion (USD72 million) was granted in an IP Court ruling in a first-instance patent infringement litigation.

    Disputes on repairs exemption

    Recently, some high-profile IP Court rulings on design patent infringements have attracted substantial public attention. The debate focuses on whether the Taiwan Patent Act should include an exemption that makes vehicle maintenance/repair activities free from patent infringement liability.

    Currently, there is no such exemption available under Taiwan’s Patent Act. While some advocate adding such an exemption into the law, others argue against this, explaining that Taiwan law gives judges discretion in making some necessary arrangements if they find it extremely inappropriate to grant to a patentee all remedies available at law. In 2020, several legislators proposed an amendment to the Patent Act to include an exemption for vehicle maintenance/repair activities. It would thus be prudent to monitor future developments in this regard.

    formosa taiwan

    FORMOSA TRANSNATIONAL
    13/F, 136 Jen Ai Road, Sec. 3, Taipei
    Tel: +886 2 2755 7366
    Email: ftlaw@taiwanlaw.com

    www.taiwanlaw.com