亚洲专利法发展对比 – 马来西亚

作者: Charmayne Ong、Kuek Pei Yee,思纪龄律师事务所
0
256

疫情当下,亚洲各管辖区的专利立法也在与时俱进,加大对专利的保护、境外专利申请和提高损害赔偿额是主要议题。但差距依然存在,企业应当看清国内在专利保护方面存在的障碍,才能保持优势。

马来西亚

在这场席卷全球的疫情之下,医学技术进步和专利保护显示出其重要性。对于与新冠病毒的预防、控制和治疗相关的所有知识产权,是否应当放弃执行1994年签署的《与贸易有关的知识产权协议》(TRIPS),这场辩论从未停止,也带出了那个老生常谈的问题——一方面,要让更多人受益,以实现全球疫苗接种的目标,另一方面,要保护专利权人的利益,两方之间如何实现平衡。

因专利保护有地域性,因此,专利权人应在所有相关国家注册专利。在资源匮乏的时代,专利权人对于资金的利用必须有战略性。马来西亚作为一个签署了主要国际知识产权条约的发展中国家,制定的专利法和相关流程也反映出全球专利领域的趋势。值得称道的是,马来西亚现有的专利制度,无论是1983年《马来西亚专利法》下的机制还是各国际条约和协议下的机制,即使在疫情期间,依然支持着快速的专利审查和无阻碍的专利维权。

马来西亚的专利制度

马来西亚是《专利合作条约》(PCT)的缔约国,因此,在马来西亚申请专利的流程与其他缔约国一样,这对寻求国际专利保护的申请人而言是一大便利。这样,专利权人可以同时在其他成员国申请专利保护。马来西亚也参与了“东盟专利审查合作计划”(Aspec)——由文莱、柬埔寨、印尼、老挝、马来西亚、菲律宾、新加坡、泰国和越南9个国家签署的首个区域性专利工作分享机制。这个机制下的参与国的专利局可相互分享检索和审查结果,旨在减少重复工作。有了这个机制,参与国的专利局可节省宝贵的时间和资源,而专利权人的专利申请也更快速和高效。

Charmayne-Ong-Partner-at-Skrine-in-Kuala-Lumpur
Charmayne Ong
思纪龄律师事务所合伙人,吉隆坡
电话: +603 2081 3999 (ext. 736)
电邮: co@skrine.com

马来西亚在2011年出台《专利(修订)条例》,加快了《专利法》下的专利审查流程。专利申请人在提交实质审查的请求后,一旦申请进入公众审查意见阶段,申请人即可申请加快审查。加快专利的批准、颁发和授予过程可以减少专利待决的数量。

负责知识产权注册和管理的马来西亚知识产权局(MyIPO)与4个外国专利局——日本专利局(自2014年)、欧洲专利局(自2017年)、中国国家知识产权局(自2018年)和韩国知识产权局(自2020年)签署了专利审查高速公路计划(PPH)。

在PPH计划下,如果专利申请人在日本、欧洲、中国、韩国的申请或PCT申请获得了有利的审查结果,则申请人可向MyIPO申请加快审查。PPH计划的一个显著特点是其双向性,即,如果申请人在马来西亚的相应申请获得了有利的审查结果,申请人也可在日本、欧洲、中国或韩国申请加快审查。

在Aspec和PPH计划下的申请不需要额外缴纳费用。对于Aspec申请,MyIPO可能会考虑参与该计划的外国专利局的检索和审查结果,但不是必须接受这些检索和审查结果。从笔者参与PPH申请的经验来看,如果在马来西亚提交的权利要求与外国批准的权利要求一致,则一般情况下,马来西亚的申请会被授权。

除了参与区域性计划和加入国际条约,马来西亚也在2007年成立了专门的知识产权高级法庭。该法庭位于吉隆坡,是一审法庭。该庭的判决可被上诉至上诉法庭,在获得法庭准诉后,还可上诉至联邦法院——本国的最高法院。

疫情期间的维权

马来西亚法院通常举行现场听审,现在则制定了相关流程,支持远程听审。值得注意的是,这种虚拟听审大大减少了将外国人带到马来西亚的成本。这一形式带来很大的好处,尤其对于需要海外专家提供证据的专利审理。

Kuek-Pei-Yee-Partner-at-Skrine-in-Kuala-Lumpur
Kuek Pei Yee
思纪龄律师事务所合伙人,吉隆坡
电话: +603 2081 3999 (ext. 853)
电邮: kpy@skrine.com

因为疫情,尤其加上专利强制许可或政府使用专利的规定,是否放弃专利权的问题成为了焦点。TRIPS 协议第31条规定的专利强制许可和政府使用专利是专利权人在维权时,尤其在欠发达国家维权时面临的一大挑战。马来西亚的专利权人也不例外,因为本国的专利立法将第31条规定写入了《专利法》第十部分和第84条。第十部分规定私营企业可申请专利强制许可,而第84条规定政府有权使用专利。

第31条和专利法允许颁发专利强制许可,让被许可人可以在国内生产专利产品,而第31条修正案(31bis )规定强制许可,并允许马来西亚的专利药品出口。第31条修正案(31bis )没有被写入马来西亚专利法,但对《专利法》和1986年《专利条例》的修改提案建议在未来采用这一规定。

强制许可、政府使用和保障措施

《专利法》第10部分下的强制许可申请由MyIPO处理。第49条规定,只有在以下两种情况中的任一种情况下才可做出强制许可的申请:

  1. 没有任何合法理由,在马来西亚,没有专利产品的生产或专利工艺的运用;或
  2. 没有任何合法理由,国内任何市场均没有生产专利产品供销售,或者有一些产量,但价格高地不合理,或产量不能满足大众需求。

《专利法》第84条授权负责知识产权的部长(国内贸易与消费者事务部部长)在以下情况下决定是否允许政府机构或某个指定的第三方在未经专利权人同意的情况下使用某个专利发明:

  1. 出现了国家紧急情况,或者公共利益要求使用,公共利益尤其指国家安全、营养、健康或政府决定的其他重要经济部门的发展;或
  2. 司法或相关机构认为专利权人或其被许可人对专利的使用是反竞争的。

迄今只有两个公布的案件援用了第84条,第一个案件在2003年,涉及三款HIV和艾滋病药的案件,另一个案件,在2017年,允许进口一款丙肝药的仿制药。在两个案件中,政府先与专利权人谈判,给他们陈述的机会。

第84条同时为专利权人的利益提供了保障。《专利法》规定,部长的决定,应当在合理可行的前提下尽早通知专利权人,第84(3)条进一步规定,专利权人获得“足额补偿”,金额由专利权人和其他利益相关方通过听证会决定(如果相关各方愿意举行听证)。专利权人也可要求修改或终止强制许可,部长可在听取相关方意见后修改或终止强制许可。

此外,第84条并没有赋予政府无限的专利使用权,政府对专利的使用受制于以下条件:

  1. 专利发明仅可用于授权目的;
  2. 专利权人不被阻止行使他们的专利权;以及
  3. 专利权的使用主要用于供应马来西亚市场(这一限制不适用于第31bis条的情况)。

第84条明确规定,专利权人可上诉至高级法院推翻部长的决定,因此,在面对政府的征用时,专利权人并非完全束手无策。专利权人可能会担忧第31bis条下的强制许可和政府使用,但法条也规定了必要的保护措施,防止条款被滥用。

Skrine-Logo

SKRINE

Level 8, Wisma UOA Damansara

50 Jalan Dungun, Damansara Heights

Kuala Lumpur, 50490 Malaysia

Tel: +603 2081 3999

Email: skrine@skrine.com

Patent law development in Malaysia

    By Charmayne Ong and Kuek Pei Yee, Skrine
    0
    60

    Patent legislation across Asian jurisdictions is constantly catching up with the pandemic’s demands, with stronger protection, foreign filing and higher compensation being common themes. However, the gaps persist, and businesses need to fathom the domestic barriers to stay ahead.

     

    The covid-19 pandemic affecting the world’s population has demonstrated the importance of advancements in medical technology and securing patent protection in countries of interest. The ongoing debate concerning the waiver of the enforcement of the Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPS) Agreement in 1994 for all IP related to the prevention, containment and treatment of covid-19 has brought up the age-old question of striking a balance between greater public access with the aim of global vaccinations and the rights of the patentee.

    Charmayne-Ong-Partner-at-Skrine-in-Kuala-Lumpur
    Charmayne Ong
    Partner at Skrine in Kuala Lumpur
    Tel: +603 2081 3999 (ext. 736)
    Email: co@skrine.com

    Due to the territorial nature of patent protection, substantial emphasis is placed on registering patents in all countries of interest. In times of a resource crunch, patentees must be strategic about how funds are utilised. Malaysia, a developing nation that is a signatory to major international IP treaties, has patent laws and procedures that reflect the trends in the global patent sphere. It is worthwhile to note that the system in place, either through the Malaysian Patents Act, 1983, or the various international treaties and agreements, supports expedited examination and unhampered enforcement even during times of a pandemic.

    Malaysia’s patent system

    As a signatory to the Patent Co-operation Treaty (PCT), Malaysia benefits applicants that seek international patent protection by providing a unified procedure for patent applications across its contracting states. Patentees are thus able to seek patent protection in other member countries simultaneously. Malaysia is a participant in the Asean Patent Examination Co-operation (Aspec), the first regional patent work-sharing programme among nine states’ IP offices including Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. This programme is aimed at reducing duplication of work that needs to be carried out by each participating patent office by sharing search and examination results between them. The participating patent offices gain by saving valuable time and resources, while patentees benefit from faster and more efficient patent prosecutions.

    Kuek-Pei-Yee-Partner-at-Skrine-in-Kuala-Lumpur
    Kuek Pei Yee
    Partner at Skrine in Kuala Lumpur
    Tel: +603 2081 3999 (ext. 853)
    Email: kpy@skrine.com

    Malaysia has also expedited patent examination procedures under the Patents Act, pursuant to the Patents (Amendment) Regulations, 2011. A patent applicant who has made a request for substantive examination may request the approval of expedited examination once the application has been made available for public inspection. This was introduced to reduce patent pendency by expediting and accelerating the allowance, issuance and grant of a patent.

    The Intellectual Property Corporation of Malaysia (MyIPO), the patent office responsible for the provision of IP registration services and administration of IP registries, currently has patent prosecution highway (PPH) agreements with four foreign patent offices – the Japan Patent Office (JPO) since 2014, the European Patent Office (EPO) since 2017, the China National Intellectual Property Administration (CNIPA) since 2018 and, most recently, with the Korean Intellectual Property Office (KIPO) since 2020.

    Under the PPH, a patent applicant may request accelerated examination by the MyIPO based on favourable examination results of a corresponding application in Japan, Europe, China, Korea or a PCT application. A notable feature of the PPH programme is its bidirectional nature, in that examination at the JPO, EPO, CNIPA or KIPO can also be accelerated based on favourable examination by the MyIPO of a corresponding application in Malaysia.

    Requests under the Aspec and the PPH do not require any additional official fees. For an Aspec request, the MyIPO may consider the search and examination results from the participating foreign patent office, but is not required to accept the results of such search and examination. The author’s experience under the PPH programme is that when the Malaysian claims conform to the foreign allowed claims, the Malaysian application will generally be accepted for the grant.

    Besides the various partnerships and international affiliations, Malaysia has its own designated IP High Court, established in 2007. The court, situated in Kuala Lumpur, is a court of the first instance. Judgments from this court may be appealed to the Court of Appeal and, with the leave of court, to the Federal Court, the country’s apex court.

    Enforcement during pandemic

    The Malaysian courts, which usually conduct hearings and trials fully in-person, have adapted and adopted procedures to support remote hearings and trials. It is noteworthy that these virtual hearings and trials substantially reduce the costs of bringing foreign witnesses to Malaysia. This has proven to be a significant benefit, particularly for patent trials that require the evidence of experts from overseas.

    The pandemic has certainly brought the question of waiver of patent rights to the centre stage, particularly with provisions allowing for compulsory licensing or government use of patents. Article 31 of the TRIPS agreement, which provides for compulsory licensing or government use of patents, is one of the more notable enforcement challenges patentees face, especially in lesser developed countries. Patentees in Malaysia are no exception, with local patent legislation implementing article 31, codifying it in part X and section 84 of the Patents Act. Part X provides for compulsory licence applications by private parties, while section 84 concerns government rights to the use of patents.

    While article 31 and the act allow for the issuance of compulsory licences permitting the exploitation of patented products domestically, the amended article 31bis allows for compulsory licences permitting the export of patented pharmaceutical products from Malaysia. Article 31bis has not been codified into Malaysian patent law, but proposed amendments to the Patents Act and Patent Regulations, 1986 suggest that such applications may be possible in the future.

    Compulsory licence, government use and safeguards

    The MyIPO handles applications for compulsory licences under part X of the act. Section 49 states that applications for compulsory licences can only be made in either of the following circumstances:

    1. Where there is no production of the patented product or application of the patented process in Malaysia without any legitimate reason; or
    2. Where there is no production of the patented product for sale in any domestic market, or there is some production, but they are sold at unreasonably high prices or do not meet the public demand without any legitimate reason.

    Section 84 of the Patents Act empowers the minister in charge of IP (i.e. the Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs) to decide whether a government agency or a designated third party is permitted to exploit a patented invention without the patentee’s consent where:

    1. There is a national emergency, or where the public interest – in particular, national security, nutrition, health or the development of other vital sectors of the national economy as determined by the government – so requires; or
    2. A judicial or relevant authority has determined that the manner of exploitation by the owner of the patent or his licensee is anti-competitive.

    To date, there have only been two published instances where section 84 was invoked – in 2003, in relation to three HIV/AIDS drugs and, in 2017, to permit the importation of generic versions of a Hepatitis C drug. In both cases, the government had first engaged in negotiations with the patentees, giving them the opportunity to make representations.

    Section 84 contains certain safeguards that protect the interests of patentees. Notably, the Patents Act requires that patentees are notified of the minister’s decision “as soon as is reasonably practicable”, and section 84(3) further provides that patentees are to be paid an “adequate remuneration”, the amount of which is to be decided upon hearing representations by patentees and other interested parties (if they wish to be heard). Patentees may also request that the compulsory licence be varied or terminated, and the minister may so vary or terminate the licence after hearing the relevant parties.

    Additionally, section 84 does not grant the government unlimited powers to exploit a patent, and all government use of patents is subject to the following limitations:

    1. The exploit of the patented invention is limited to the purpose for which it was authorised;
    2. Patentees are not excluded from exercising their patent rights; and
    3. The exploitation shall be predominantly for the supply of the Malaysian market (this limitation would not apply to article 31bis applications).

    Patentees are also not left completely defenceless where the government exercises its rights, as section 84 explicitly provides that patentees may appeal to the high court against the decision of the minister. While article 31bis, compulsory licensing and government-use may cause concern to patentees, there are necessary safeguards in place to prevent abuse of such provisions.

    Skrine-Logo

    SKRINE

    Level 8, Wisma UOA Damansara

    50 Jalan Dungun, Damansara Heights

    Kuala Lumpur, 50490 Malaysia

    Tel: +603 2081 3999

    Email: skrine@skrine.com