中国领先律所的收入增长逐步加快,但在国内经济不断转型的背景下,他们的策略必须与时俱进。《商法》对94家领先律所展开年度法律市场调研,以了解他们对过去12个月市场变动的看法。张韵凝报道

古籍《淮南子》中有“塞翁失马,焉知非福”的寓言,当中写道:“福之为祸,祸之为福,化不可极,深不可测也”。在中国古代著作中,有许多这样富有智慧的谚语,不少仍能借古鉴今。

社会经济的钟摆下行之际,正是市场机遇有待发掘之时,法律界人士对此有切身体会,我们的2021年度调研也揭示了同样的道理。创新者一边开拓新业态的疆土,一边致力保持原有业务的正常运作。

由于政府提高在关键领域的支出,以及经济动荡时某些执业领域呈现可预期的增长,大多数律所的营收都实现攀升。掌握了新动向就能迅速决定新的经营策略,律所也开始把目光投向西部。机遇或许并非无处不在,但确实是无时不有。

2021年,披露了财务表现数据的66家律所的营收中位数为2.23亿人民币,同比增长8.6%。年增长率中位数则为21.3%,接近2019年的24%。

“在经济低谷期也总会涌现出更多的法律服务需求,”国枫律师事务所驻北京的首席合伙人张利国说。

张利国,国枫律师事务所

2021年一季度,国内经济增速冲高到18.3%,上半年整体表现不俗,但进入8月后,高耗能行业限电,河南山西发生水灾,多地出现零星疫情,四季度经济增长仅为4%,这是2020年第二季度仅录得3.2%以来的最低。

尽管经济下行理应导致各行业业务量缩减,此时“政府对基础设施、社会的医疗安全、大数据管理等这方面的投资更多,所以在这些新的领域可能也存在一些法律服务的新机会,”晟典律师事务所深圳办公室的高级合伙人王永敬分析。

调研显示,超过半数的受访律所去年营收增长在0%-40%之间,仅3.1%的律所营收出现负增长。

不要把全部鸡蛋放在一个篮子里是疫情迫使律所采用的理念。张利国说,即使自己所在的律所已在过去28年见证中国资本市场的沉浮,经验老到,但仍要推进多元发展。“此举不仅是提升了对客户全方面法律服务需求的满足,也进一步增强了事务所的抗风险能力,”他说。

在所有披露了财务数据的律所中,有15.9%的律所去年营收突破了10亿大关,该比例在2020年为12.7%。

年度创收在2亿元以下(41.3%)和2-4亿元(31.7%)的律所是受访律所中占比最大的两个群体,在2020年,前者的比例为48.1%,后者为20.3%。

危机推动创新

踏入2022年,由于奥密克戎病株的高传染性,上海于4月、5月实施全域静态管理。国际货币基金组织在最近一份报告中指出,这使得“中国经济更急剧地放缓”。

张利国坦言:“今年以来可以明显感受到,受境内外经济波动、地缘政治关系等影响,并叠加新冠疫情等因素,不同行业都遇到了前所未有的困难,从这些头部企业的反馈来看就可见一斑,事务所的业务也因此受到了一定影响。”

兰迪律师事务所甚至一度要放宽律师费支付期限,与客户共度时艰。

经济形势艰难,受访律所对国内法律服务市场发展虽然整体有信心,但程度有所下降:30.8%的受访律所对未来“非常乐观”,而去年的调研结果为55%;受访者的取态集中在“中性”(11.5%)与“比较乐观”(57.7%),尤其是2020年选择“中性”的比例仅为2.2%,“比较乐观”为40.7%。不过,今年亦无律所选择“比较悲观”或“非常悲观”。

但法律界如以往一样,不利因素亦带来机遇。“企业的服务需求依然集中于劳动人事领域,例如在疫情影响下人事问题处理以及工时计算问题;并且,在疫情对市场及经济活动造成影响的情况下,企业重组、转型等业务逐渐成为新的业务增长点,”在汇业律师事务所上海总部的高级合伙人周叶君说。

CMS中国驻上海办事处的管理合伙人邬丽福(Ulrike Glueck)认为,即使是外资企业也有同样的诉求。“许多公司正在寻找降低成本和实现协同效应的方法,”她说。“客户想知道特别是外国投资者和在华外商投资企业可以采取哪些企业重组措施,哪些是最合适的。”

疫情反复不定,导致企业生产停滞,寻求以“不可抗力”为由减免租金。但建纬律师事务所上海总部合伙人魏来指出,并非所有情况都适用该理由,因此催生很多与租金有关的纠纷。

周叶君,汇业律师事务所

金茂律师事务所则认为,机遇和挑战永远相伴而生。位于该所上海总部的三位合伙人刘东、韩正和万波总结,疫情的频发催发了互联网行业的快速发展和创新,以疫苗、核酸、防疫为代表的医疗健康领域也拥有了更多的发展机会,同时也滋生了诸多法律问题,如网络数据安全、个人信息保护等。

战略扩张

随着法律市场竞争加剧,顶尖律所现在更倾向精准定位。

“不局限于覆盖全部一线城市、直辖市和全国大多数省份的省会,”盈科律师事务所驻北京总部的中国区董事会主任、中国区执行主任李正说,“重点关注国内GDP排名前100及其他具有发展潜力的城市。”

区域扩展的其中一个方向是向中西部地区倾斜。由于当地具有独特的政治、经济环境与文化底蕴,一些律所选择以吸纳本土所的形式打开在当地市场的局面。

今年4月,宁夏兴业律师事务所并入国浩律师事务所,更名为其银川办公室,成为国浩所在全球的第35家分所,标志着该所执业机构已覆盖全国中、东、西部地区。该办公室拥有约130名律师,其创始合伙人、终身名誉主任祖贵洲连续两届担任宁夏律师协会会长,同时担任宁夏回族自治区党委法律顾问、自治区政府法律顾问。

李正,盈科律师事务所

同期,甘肃圣方舟律师事务所并入华商律师事务所,成为其兰州分所。这是华商所继西安之后在西北地区设立的第二家分所。原圣方舟所正是司法部在甘肃省进行合作制试点的第一家律师事务所。

由于中西部是“一带一路”倡议的重要城市节点,天达共和律师事务所在2021年年底在西安设立新办公室,开发新机遇。

“近年来中美关系、中欧关系偏紧张,相关的法律服务业务减少,但是在一带一路政策上的投资业务和环境业务也会变多”,王永敬说。该所计划把涉外服务的重点转移至“一带一路”的沿线国家。

在本次调研中,“走出去”与“走进来”业务里,分别约有30%的国家来自“一带一路”沿线地区。在“走出去”战略中,被提及最多的前五名“一带一路”国家分别为新加坡(11次)、泰国(6次)、印度(5次)、印度尼西亚(5次)与越南(5次);在“走进来”方面,则是新加坡(15次)、马来西亚(7次)、印度(6次)、泰国(5次)与印度尼西亚(4次)。

王永敬指,“一带一路”的客户关注资金走出中国后,能否确保获得当地司法体系的保护,但忽略了让中国与境外法律相互配合达致利益最大化。

“[他们]过分依赖国外律所,毕竟“一带一路”政策由中方主导,忽视中国国内律所在此过程中的总协调位置,”他说。

但最受欢迎的涉外业务地区,依然是美国,其次是日本、香港和新加坡。

香港作为最能连接国内与外国的桥梁,目前享有来自两方的机遇:因中美关系的不确定性,一些中概股公司回流至香港资本市场;而大湾区政策正在拉拢香港与内地的法律资源。

自7月起,陆续有香港律师获批在大湾区执业;深圳前海管理局在5月宣布,入驻前海法务区的粤港澳联营律师事务所最高给予人民币200万元支持。

君合律师事务所顺应该趋势,在今年把香港纳入华南战略圈,与广州、深圳、海口分所共同规划未来业务。

“随着国家对华南地区持续的深化改革以及福利政策的出台,华南片区、粤港澳大湾区的法律服务需求,会有进一步的提升,”君合律师事务所驻北京的合伙人余永强说。“与之催生的跨境法律服务需求,也定会对应增长。”

国枫所拟今年内在海口设立分所,与深圳、香港分所共同服务华南地区。植德律师事务所香港办公室预计也将于年内落成。

王永敬,晟典律师事务所

人才竞争

后疫情时代的律所并非一味防御,人才招揽依然有条不紊地进行,但步伐并不一致。调研结果显示,2021年受访律所总律师人数平均增长仅为9.7%,然而,权益合伙人人数平均增长22%。

律师总人数指的是一间律所内全部拥有法律执业资格的人士,包括权益合伙人在内,其增长数据反映律所规模的变化。

“考虑到不确定的全球经济形势,本年度我们主要采取内部人才晋升的方式进行发展,没有大规模扩张的计划,”驻北京的安伦律师事务所主任合伙人田晓东说。

2020年,合伙人的内部晋升(53%)与外部引进(47%)比例相差无几,但两者差距在2021年进一步扩大:该年度有62.7%的律师以内部晋升的方式进入合伙人队伍。

You must be a subscribersubscribersubscribersubscriber to read this content, please subscribesubscribesubscribesubscribe today.

For group subscribers, please click here to access.
Interested in group subscription? Please contact us.

你需要登录去解锁本文内容。欢迎注册账号。如果想阅读月刊所有文章,欢迎成为我们的订阅会员成为我们的订阅会员

已有集团订阅,可点击此处继续浏览。
如对集团订阅感兴趣,请联络我们

China’s leading law firms are beginning to see an acceleration in revenue growth, but new strategies are required for a transforming domestic economy. China Business Law Journal conducted its annual legal market survey for 2021 with 94 leading law firms to seek their views on trends of the past year. Winny Zhang reports

Within an old text known as the Huainanzi are these words: “Truly, blessing turns to disaster, and disaster to blessing: the changes have no end, nor can the mystery be fathomed.” There are many such proverbs in ancient Chinese writings, many as pertinent today as when they were written.

As the legal industry knows too well, and as our annual survey for 2021 reveals, opportunities are to be found as the pendulum has swung into darker times and innovation has found a way to grow new business while keeping older operations ticking over.

With government support via spending in crucial areas, and growth in predictable practice areas during times of turmoil, most law firms are reporting revenue growth. Grasping new innovations has led to quickly adopting new ways of doing business and law firms are looking west to capture strategic markets. Truly, blessings are to be clearly seen.

The median revenue of 66 law firms that disclosed their financial performances in 2021 was RMB223 million (USD31.56 million), an 8.6% increase year-on-year. The median annual growth rate, on the other hand, was 21.3%, closer to the 24% recorded in 2019.

“There is still a greater demand for legal services, even during an economic downturn,” says Zhang Liguo, a chief partner at Grandway Law Offices based in Beijing.

Zhang Liguo, Grandway Law Offices

In the first quarter of 2021, domestic economic growth surged to 18.3%, and the overall performance in the first half was encouraging. However, following stronger headwinds in August including power restrictions, flooding in Henan and Shanxi provinces, and sporadic covid outbreaks, fourth quarter GDP in 2021 grew by just 4%, the lowest since the second quarter of 2020 at 3.2%.

Although the economic downturn should have led to a reduction in business in various sectors, at this time “the government is investing more in infrastructure, medicine and big data management, so there may be some new opportunities for legal services in these areas,” says Wang Yongjing, a Shenzhen-based senior partner at SD & Partners.

More than half of the firms surveyed had revenue growth of between 0% and 40% last year, with just 3.1% suffering a decrease in revenue.

Don’t put all your eggs in one basket is a philosophy that the pandemic has forced law firms to adopt. Zhang says that even though his firm has witnessed the ups and downs of China’s capital market over the past 28 years, he still has to push forward with diversification. “It’s a move that not only satisfies clients for their needs of a full range of legal services, but further strengthens the firm’s resilience to risk,” he says.

Of all law firms that disclosed financial data, 15.9% have exceeded RMB1 billion in revenue last year, up from 12.7% in 2020.

Firms that posted annual revenue in 2021 of “less than RMB200 million” (41.3%), and “RMB200-400 million” (31.7%), were the two largest groups according to the survey, with the former in 2020 at 48.1%, while the latter was 20.3%.

CRISIS FUELS INNOVATION

Shanghai implemented a city-wide lockdown in April and May this year due to the highly contagious nature of the omicron strain, which the International Monetary Fund noted in a recent report has caused “a worse than anticipated slowdown in China”.

Zhang says: “It is evident that this year different industries have encountered unprecedented difficulties due to domestic and external economic fluctuations, geopolitical relations and covid-19, as evidenced by the feedback from those leading companies. Law firms’ businesses have been affected to some extent as a result.”

One law firm, Landing Law Offices, even had to relax the deadline for the payment of legal fees at one point to ride out the storm with their clients.

While the going is still tough, the surveyed firms were, overall, confident in the development of China’s legal market – 30.8% of respondents had a “very optimistic” outlook, down from 55% last year. Most respondents tended to be “neutral” (11.5%) and “optimistic” (57.7%), while in 2020 merely 2.2% of respondents were neutral and 40.7% were optimistic. However, no firms chose “very pessimistic” or “pessimistic” this year.

But, as always in the legal sector, negative factors also bring opportunities. “The demand for corporate services still focuses on the labour sector, such as handling of personnel issues and the calculation of working hours under the impact of the pandemic; and with the impact of the pandemic on the market and economic activities, corporate restructuring and transformation are emerging as new business growth areas,” says Steven Zhou, a senior partner at the Shanghai headquarters of Hui Ye Law Firm.

Even foreign clients have the same aspirations, according to CMS China’s Shanghai-based managing partner, Ulrike Glueck. “Many companies are looking for ways to cut costs and implement synergies,” she says. “Clients want to know what corporate restructuring measures can be adopted, especially by foreign investors and foreign-invested enterprises in China, and which is the most suitable one.”

The erratic health crisis-associated production cut-off has prompted companies and plants to ask for rent relief on the grounds of force majeure. However, Wei Lai, managing partner at City Development Law Firm in Shanghai, points out that this ground is not applicable in all cases and has given rise to many disputes in this area.

Steven Zhou, Hui Ye Law Firm

According to Jin Mao Law Firm, opportunities and challenges always go hand in hand. The firm’s Shanghai partners Donald Liu, Maximilian Han and Wan Bo caution that frequent outbreaks have spawned innovation and stimulated the internet industry alongside a healthcare development represented by vaccines, nucleic acids and pandemic prevention, while it is also creating legal issues in areas such as cybersecurity and personal information protection.

STRATEGIC EXPANSIONS

As the legal market becomes more competitive, leading firms now tend to be more precisely positioned than in the previous two years. “We are no longer limited to first-tier cities, municipalities and provincial capitals across China,” notes Li Zheng, a Beijing-based director of boards and executive director of China at Yingke Law Firm. “We are focusing on the top 100 cities in China in terms of GDP, and other cities with development potential.”

One of the trends of regional expansion is towards the midwest. Due to the unique political and economic environment and cultural heritage of the midwest, some firms have chosen to open up their presence there by merging with local firms.

In April this year, Grandall Law Firm forayed into Yinchuan via a merger with local city firm Ningxia Xingye Law Firm, making the new office its 35th branch and signalling Grandall’s presence across central, eastern and western China. The firm has about 130 lawyers under the leadership of its founding partner and lifetime honorary director, Zu Guizhou, who has been acting as president of the Ningxia Lawyers Association for two consecutive terms. Zu is also a legal adviser to the Party Committee of the Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region and the Autonomous Region Government.

Around the same period, Gansu Sheng Fang Zhou Law Firm merged with China Commercial Law Firm to form a Lanzhou branch. This is China Commercial’s second foray into northwest China after opening an office in Xi’an. Gansu Sheng Fang Zhou was the first law firm in Gansu province to operate as a co-operative under a Ministry of Justice pilot scheme.

Li Zheng, Yingke Law Firm

East & Concord Partners also set up a new branch in Xi’an at the end of 2021 to develop significant opportunities, as the midwest is a vital urban node on the Belt and Road Initiative (BRI).

“In recent years, tensions between China and the US or China and Europe have led to cross-border service reduction, but there will be more investment and environmental business on the BRI,” says Wang. His firm plans to shift the focus of its foreign-related services to countries along the BRI zone.

In our survey, about 30% of foreign-related business came from countries along the BRI route. The top five most-mentioned countries for outbound legal services were: Singapore (11); Thailand (6); India (5); Indonesia (5); and Vietnam (5). In terms of inbound services, the countries were: Singapore (15); Malaysia (7); India (6); Thailand (5); and Indonesia (4).

Wang notes that BRI-oriented clients are concerned about how to ensure protection from the local judicial system once their capital leaves China, but neglect to maximise the benefits by way of interaction between PRC and foreign laws.

“[Some clients are] over-reliant on foreign law firms and ignore the overall co-ordinating position of PRC law firms in the process,” says Wang. “After all, the BRI policy is led by the Chinese side.”

The most popular region for foreign-related business, however, remains the US, followed by Japan, Hong Kong and Singapore.

As a bridge between home and abroad, Hong Kong enjoys opportunities from both sides; some Chinese companies listed in the US have switched to the Hong Kong capital market due to the uncertainty of China-US relations, while the Greater Bay Area (GBA) policy is pulling together the legal markets of Hong Kong and the mainland.

Hong Kong lawyers have regularly been approved to practise in the GBA since July. The authorities of Qianhai, a special economic pilot in Shenzhen, announced in May that maximum support of RMB2 million would be given to law firms affiliated with Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macau as well as being stationed in Qianhai.

To embrace this trend, JunHe involved its Hong Kong office in the South China strategy this year, planning together with its offices in Guangzhou, Shenzhen and Haikou.

“As the country continues to deepen its reforms and welfare policies in South China, the demand for legal services across this region, including the GBA, will see a further boost,” says Yu Yongqiang, a Beijing-based partner at JunHe. “The demand for cross-border legal services generated by this area will surely grow accordingly.”

Grandway Law Offices intends to establish a Haikou office this year to serve South China along with its Shenzhen and Hong Kong branches, while the Hong Kong office of Merits & Tree Law Offices is expected to be completed within the year.

COMPETITION FOR TALENT

Law firms post-pandemic are not all on the defensive; talent recruitment remains methodical, but not at the same pace. The survey shows that the total number of lawyers at firms grew by 9.7%, however, equity partners were drawing another picture, with average growth of 22%.

The total number of lawyers refers to qualified persons who can legally practise at a firm, including equity partners and their increase reflects changes in the size of firms.

“In view of the uncertain global economic situation, we have mainly adopted internal promotions without plans for large-scale expansion,” says David Tian, managing partner of An Tian Zhang & Partners in Beijing.

In our 2020 survey, the proportion of partners promoted internally (53%) and hired laterally (47%) was almost half and half, but the gap widened in 2021, with 62.7% of lawyers now entering the partnership by way of internal promotion.

But law firms are still thirsty for talent and such battles in 2022 are focused on leading partners.

Xu Guojian, a former managing partner at Boss & Young Attorneys at Law, has joined SGLA Law Firm’s Shanghai office as a senior partner along with his team. He had been appointed by the State Council several times as a delegate in negotiations at the diplomatic session of the Hague Conference of Private International Law.

Leon Liu, a co-founder of Yuanda China Law Firm in Shanghai, has moved to JunHe, handling government enforcement and cross-border regulatory compliance. Intellectual property specialist Gordon Gao brought his colleagues from Fangda Partners to join the Beijing office of King & Wood Mallesons, where he is a partner.

Three of five members of Grandway’s management committee have joined Merits & Tree, along with dozens of partners and associates, enlarging the firm’s capital markets department to more than 20 partners and 100 legal professionals, as well as further expanding its scope of practice.

The battle for talent has also spread to overseas branches, with former Law Society of Hong Kong president Thomas So joining Grandall as a partner from Mayer Brown, Edward Liu, who was awarded the Medal of Honour by the Hong Kong government, joining Haiwen & Partners as a Hong Kong-based partner.

“The increase in lateral recruitment and the movement of heavyweight partners in different practices or managing regional offices has brought more changes to the landscape of the legal market,” notes Jin Youyuan, a director of the management committee at Merits & Tree in Beijing. “Integrated firms may have more strong suits to lure talent, and thus to rapidly upgrade their overall competitiveness of operations and professionals.”

In 2021, law firm practitioner income rose at an overall consistent rate. The median revenue of per equity partner increased by 6.8% year on year to just over RMB5 million, and per associate rose by 5.9% to just over RMB1 million.

“We believe the environmental impact is fair to all,” says Jin. “Business is plentiful and [legal talent] is in short supply amid an economic upturn, and although law firms put little effort and cost into operations, each partner can make a good profit. But when the economy goes down, namely the market is contracting and competition becomes fierce, the firm’s operational capability becomes a key factor.”

Jin adds that integrated firms may be better placed to combine and utilise resources to gain an advantage in capital markets, at least institutionally.

In the face of a high-pressure workplace, there was a slight loosening of the gender structure of leadership. Our survey shows that the proportion of women among equity partners rose slightly, from 29.5% in 2020 to 31.9%, but the proportion of women among all lawyers was almost identical to last year at 48.5%. As the change in the data is not significant, an overall trend in the status of women in the legal profession remains inconclusive.

CYBER PROMOTIONS

In the past year, the legal field has increasingly had to come to grips with irreversible change. The erratic nature of the pandemic led to increased communication costs, and intermittent working from home has become the norm, while some offline events have been cancelled on an ad hoc basis.

Jin Youyuan, Merits & Tree Law Offices

It has become clear that improving the online office has become part of the daily routine of many law firms, with some taking a more macro approach to networking.

East & Concord created a digital office in Beijing’s Dongcheng district in February 2022, using big data, blockchain and algorithms to assist the office and make smart decisions. Such smart offices are still experimental for the legal profession, and it will take time to figure out how to link tech seamlessly to a real-world practice.

A number of law firms are also actively developing social platforms. For example, in addition to holding more online seminars, JunHe has launched live broadcasts on WeChat, Sina Weibo and Bilibili. In the near future, it will also launch an official live broadcast on Douyin in a bid to promote the law to the public on multiple platforms.

This approach, says Yu, helps the law firm maintain exposure and compensates for the difficulty in expanding the business pool or connecting with clients during the pandemic.


The following firms participated in the survey (in alphabetical order): AllBright Law Offices, An Tian Zhang & Partners, Baijus Law Firm, Baohua Law Firm, Beshining Law Office, Boss & Young Attorneys at Law, Brighteous Law Firm, Capital Equity Legal Group, Chance Bridge Partners, Chang Tsi & Partners, China Commercial Law Firm, City Development Law Firm, CMS China, Commerce & Finance Law Offices, Deheng Law firm, East & Concord Partners, Eternal Glory Law Offices, Everwin Law Office, Fadedongheng Law Firm, Fangda Partners, Faxian Law Firm, Finance & Commerce Law Firm, FO Law Firm, GEN Law Firm, Globe-Law Lawyers, Gongcheng Law Firm, Grandall Law Firm, Grandway Law Offices, Guanghe Law Firm, Guantao Law Firm, Haiwen & Partners, Han Kun Law Offices, Harnest & Garner Law Firm, Heng Xin Law Office, Hengdu Law Offices, Hightac PRC Lawyers, Hui Ye Law Firm, Jia Yuan Law Offices, Jiaxuan Law Firm, Jin Mao Law Firm, Jincheng Tongda & Neal, Jindi Law Firm, Jingtian & Gongcheng, Join & High Law Office, Jointide Law Firm, Joint-Win Partners, JunHe, K&H Law Firm, KaiRong Law Firm, Kingbridge Law Firm, L&H Law Firm, Labours, Lanbai Law Firm, Landing Law Offices, Lantai Partners, Merits & Tree Law Offices, Ning Ren Law Firm, Qilu Law Firm, Ricc & Co, River Delta Law Firm, S&D Partners, Saelink Law, Sanyou Intellectual Property Agency, SG & Co PRC Lawyers, SGLA Law Firm, Shihui Partners, Shu Jin Law Firm, Sunshine Law Firm, T&C Law Firm, T&D Associates, Tahota Law Firm, TianTong Law Firm, Tiger Partners, Topwe Law Firm, V&T Law Firm, ViSen, Vlaw Law Firm, Wang Jing & Co., Wanhuida Intellectual Property, Watson & Band Law Offices, Wincon Law Firm, Winners Law Firms, Wintell & Co, Yingke Law Firm, Yuanda China Law Firm, Yuanhe Partners, Zeazone Law Firm, Zeda Law Firm, Zenith Law Firm, Zhang Ying Law Firm, ZHH & Robin, Zhihe Partners, Zhilin Law Firm, Zhong Lun Law Firm.