亚洲各经济体 ESG 法规一览: 新加坡

作者: Tan Weiyi,其礼律师事务所
0
460
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

印度

印度尼西亚

日本

新加坡

韩国

台湾地区

泰国

环境、社会和治理(ESG)标准在区域和全球范围迅速兴起,各国监管机构相继出台ESG准则,推动ESG相关目标的实现,防止诸如“漂绿”等不良做法的增加。

新加坡也频频“出招”,随着更多最佳实践的出现,在全球浪潮的推动下,预计未来新加坡将出台更多举措。

信息披露要求与绿色融资

Tan Weiyi
Tan Weiyi
合伙人
其礼律师事务所
新加坡
电话: +65 6544 6532
电子邮件: weiyi.tan@clydeco.com

自2022财年起,新加坡交易所(简称“新交所”)根据气候相关财务信息披露工作组(TCFD)的建议,要求所有发行人在其可持续发展报告中纳入气候相关报告。

起初气候报告规则遵循“遵守或解释”原则,拒绝披露其社会和环境影响与绩效的公司须做出解释。但从2023财年和2024财年起,在特定行业,气候相关报告成为强制性要求。

新交所根据TCFD的建议,采取了分阶段、分行业逐步实施强制性气候报告制度的方法。由于气候相关风险最高的行业提交气候报告的紧迫性更高,因此,这部分企业成为首批适用强制报告制度的企业。

从2023财年起,这一强制性报告制度延伸到金融业、农业、食品和林产品业以及能源业,从2024财年起,扩展到材料与建筑,以及运输行业。

去年7月,新加坡金融管理局(MAS)发布了一份题为《零售ESG基金披露和报告准则》的公告。公告规定,自2023年1月起,对于带有ESG标签的零售基金基金经理必须披露投资项目的ESG主题及相关标准、方法或指标,以及可持续投资策略。这就解决了“漂绿”问题,即公司为了让客户相信自己符合环保标准而采取的欺骗行为。

准则规定,ESG基金的名称不应具有误导性,应反映出投资组合或策略中重点关注的可持续发展主题。基金必须确保至少三分之二的资产净值按照其声明的ESG投资策略进行投资。

另外,MAS旗下绿色金融行业工作组(GFIT)建议对新加坡金融机构进行分类,其目的是识别出“绿色”金融活动或“过渡性”活动。将过渡性活动纳入分类体系,这表明新加坡考虑到了这场转型运动的起始位置,愿意以渐近的方式逐步实现更高的可持续性,支持包容性的经济和社会发展。

2023年2月,GFIT发布了第三份咨询文件,就农业和林业或土地使用、工业、废弃物与废水、信息和通讯技术、碳捕获和碳封存五个领域的绿色和转型活动分类标准和要求征询意见。

此次咨询还就其 “无重大损害”标准征求反馈意见。该标准规定,在开展对减缓气候变化有重大贡献的活动时,不得对其他四项环境目标(即适应气候变化、保护健康的生态系统和生物多样性、促进资源复原力和循环经济以及污染预防和控制)产生负面影响。

2023年6月28日,GFIT就逐步淘汰煤电厂项目融资门槛和标准发布了第四次也是最后一次咨询文件。这个融资指导文件名为《新加坡-亚洲分类目录》(Singapore-Asia Taxonomy)。最后一轮咨询将在2023年7月28日结束,咨询结束后,融资指导文件将最终定稿并开始实施。

MAS于2022年5月发布《环境风险管理信息文件》,展示了保险公司、银行和资产管理公司在管理环境风险方面的最佳实践,并强调了需要进一步努力的领域。文件还指出了金融机构面临的多方面挑战,比如,当金融机构依赖母公司在集团层面制定的政策和程序时,尤其当总部位于境外时,金融机构在制定风险评估方法、发掘可持续金融人才,以及确立风险管理实践方面将面临诸多挑战。

“漂绿”

在新加坡,《消费者保护(公平贸易)法》(CPFTA)旨在保障消费者免受欺诈性宣传的侵害,包括与“漂绿“相关的宣传。此外,新加坡广告标准管理局(ASAS)还根据《新加坡广告行为准则》(SCAP)发布了广告指南,以确保广告商的所有宣传都有准确、充分的根据。CPFTA的保护范围还延伸至MAS监管的金融产品和金融服务,因此,所有声称满足ESG相关目标的产品都在其适用范围内。

新加坡《虚假陈述法》规定,消费者认为他们因相信了商家的虚假陈述而与商家交易的,可要求商家赔偿损失。但该法只涵盖合同协议引起的损害赔偿,而漂绿案例不限于合同性质。

如果消费者遇到供应商进行误导性宣传或“漂绿”宣传,可向新加坡消费者协会寻求帮助。情况严重的,可向新加坡竞争与消费者委员会(CCCS)举报供应商,以便开展进一步调查。

至于SCAP,ASAS可以对违反SCAP的广告进行处罚。

总体而言,新加坡国家环境局(NEA)主要负责维护清洁和可持续的环境,提高可持续性和资源效率。NEA还负责监督新加坡的碳税法规,即2019年1月颁布的《碳定价法》的实施。该法案的配套法规正在修订中,详细情况将适时公布,所有立法修订将于2024年1月起生效。

其他司法管辖区的发展情况

在英国,金融行为监管局(FCA)于2022年10月提出了打击”漂绿”行为的新措施,包括为投资产品贴上“可持续发展标签”,并对ESG、“绿色”或“可持续”等术语的使用进行限制。这些措施旨在保护消费者,建立对可持续投资产品的信任,促进诚信,并建立对ESG标签产品及配套生态系统的信任。

FCA制定了产品资格标准,以确保企业能够证实其所做的声明,从而为消费者提供足够的信息,使其能够做出明智的选择。FCA还计划推出一项适用于所有受监管企业的一般性“反漂绿”规则,要求企业所做的与可持续发展相关的声明必须“清晰、公平且不具有误导性”。

在加拿大,“漂绿”是非法的,加拿大竞争管理局负责调查有关“漂绿”的指控,并确保企业遵守适用的法律,如《竞争法》、《消费者包装和标签法》和《纺织品标签法》。

“漂绿”行为可能面临严厉处罚。例如,2022年1月,饮料公司Keurig Canada因宣称其咖啡胶囊盒K-Cups可回收利用误导消费者,被竞争专员罚款300万加元(220万美元)。任何员工如怀疑企业存在欺骗行为,包括“漂绿”,均可向竞争管理局举报。举报人的个人信息和就业状况受《竞争法》和《加拿大刑法》的保护。

在欧盟,欧盟委员会于2023年3月提出了“绿色声明指令”提案,防止不实环保声明,打击“漂绿”行为。提案将交由欧洲议会和理事会投票表决,一旦通过,存在“漂绿”行为的企业将受到处罚。草案规定,造成大规模侵权的,将被处以至少相当于企业年度总营业额的4%的罚款。

世界自然基金会新加坡分会的一项试点研究指出,新加坡的私人银行必须改进风险管理策略,加强企业文化、治理和激励机制,以提升ESG整合水平。报告还指出,尽管银行已经做出了可持续发展承诺,但要在私人银行业务中有效落实这些承诺,还须进行“因地制宜”的调整和整合。

2023年6月,因新加坡未能通过筛查环境风险的最新ESG测试,荷兰资产管理公司Van Lanschot Kempen将新加坡国家支持的资产列入黑名单。该事件发生后,新加坡政府重申了应对气候变化的承诺,承诺到2050年实现净零排放。

ESG之路任重而道远,我们期待在不久的将来,新加坡在法规、可持续实践和执法工作方面取得更多重大进展。

Clyde & Co in Singapore

Clyde & Co
12 Marina Boulevard, #30-03
Marina Bay Financial Centre Tower 3
Singapore 018982

电话: +65 6544 6500

电子邮件: singapore@clydeco.com

www.clydeco.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A regional comparison of ESG regulations: Singapore

    By Tan Weiyi, Clyde & Co
    0
    1726
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    Environmental, social and governance (ESG) standards are rapidly gaining prominence regionally and internationally, as regulators equip their jurisdictions with appropriate guidelines targeted at meeting ESG objectives and preventing an increase in undesirable practices such as greenwashing.

    In Singapore, there have been a number of recent developments, with more to be anticipated in view of global trends and best practices.

    DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS AND GREEN FINANCING

    Tan Weiyi
    Tan Weiyi
    Partner
    Clyde & Co
    Singapore
    Tel: +65 6544 6532
    Email: weiyi.tan@clydeco.com

    From the financial year 2022, the Singapore Exchange (SGX) has mandated all issuers to include climate-related reporting in their sustainability reports, which is based on the recommendations of the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD).

    Initially, the climate reporting will be on a “comply or explain” basis, which requires companies refusing to disclose their social and environmental impact and performance to give an explanation. However, climate-related reporting will become mandatory for issuers in specific industries from the financial years 2023 and 2024.

    The SGX has introduced a phased approach to mandatory climate reporting by industry, based on the TCFD’s recommendations. Industries are prioritised based on those identified as having the highest climate-related risks, given the greater urgency for issuers in these specified sectors to conduct mandatory climate reporting.

    For the financial year 2023, climate reporting is mandatory for issuers in the financial industry; the agriculture, food and forest products industry; and energy industry. For the financial year 2024, mandatory reporting will extend to the materials and buildings, and transportation industries.

    In July last year, the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) also published a circular on the Disclosure and Reporting Guidelines for Retail ESG Funds. It required fund managers to reveal the investment’s ESG focus and relevant criteria, methodologies or metrics, and the sustainable investing strategies of retail funds being sold with an ESG label, effective from January 2023. This addresses greenwashing, which involves deceptive activities by companies to convince customers that they are environmentally compliant.

    The guidelines specify that the name of the ESG fund should not be misleading, and should reflect its sustainable focus in its investment portfolio or strategy. Funds must ensure that at least two-thirds of their net asset value are invested in accordance with their stated ESG investment strategy.

    Separately, the Green Finance Industry Taskforce (GFIT), established by the MAS, has suggested a classification system or taxonomy for Singapore-based financial institutions aimed at identifying activities considered as green or transitioning towards green. The inclusion of transition activities allows for a gradual move towards greater sustainability, while considering starting positions and supporting inclusive economic and social development.

    The GFIT released its third consultation paper in February 2023 to gather opinions on the specific thresholds and requirements for the classification of green and transitioning activities in five sectors: agriculture and forestry or land use; industrial; waste and water; information and communications technology; and carbon capture and sequestration.

    Among other matters, the consultation sought feedback on its Do No Significant Harm criteria, which indicates that activities that contribute significantly to mitigating climate change should not be carried out in a way that negatively impacts the other four environmental objectives, namely climate change adaptation, protecting healthy ecosystems and biodiversity, promoting resource resilience and the circular economy, and pollution prevention and control.

    On 28 June 2023, the GFIT released its fourth and final consultation on the thresholds and criteria for financing the early phase-out of coal-fired power plants under the Singapore-Asia Taxonomy. The criteria will be finalised and launched for use after the final round of consultation closes on 28 July 2023.

    The MAS’ Environmental Risk Management Information Papers, released in May 2022, showcase the best practices followed by insurers, banks and asset managers in managing environmental risk, and highlight areas that require further work. The papers also identified various areas where financial institutions face challenges, including developing risk assessment methodologies, finding talent in sustainable finance, and establishing risk management practices when the financial institution relies on their parent company to set policies and procedures at a group level, especially if the financial institution’s headquarters are located outside Singapore.

    GREENWASHING

    In Singapore, the Consumer Protection (Fair Trading) Act (CPFTA) safeguards consumers from deceptive claims, including those associated with greenwashing. Additionally, the Advertising Standards Authority of Singapore (ASAS) has issued guidelines under the Singapore Code of Advertising Practice (SCAP) to ensure that advertisers accurately and sufficiently back up any claims. The ambit of protection under the CPFTA also extends to financial products and financial services regulated by the MAS, broadening the act’s applicability to various products purporting to meet ESG-related objectives.

    The Misrepresentation Act states consumers can seek damages from merchants if they believe they entered into a business transaction as a result of a misrepresentation. However, the act only covers damages arising from contractual agreements, and cases of greenwashing are not limited to those that occur in the context of a contractual relationship.

    Consumers who come across suppliers making claims that are misleading or considered greenwashing can seek assistance from the Consumer Association of Singapore. In severe cases, the supplier can be reported to the Competition and Consumer Commission of Singapore (CCCS), for further investigation.

    As for the SCAP, the ASAS can issue sanctions in respect of advertisements found to have breached the SCAP.

    In general, Singapore’s National Environment Agency (NEA) holds the primary responsibility for maintaining a clean and sustainable environment, and is responsible for promoting sustainability and resource efficiency. The NEA also oversees Singapore’s carbon tax regulation, the Carbon Pricing Act, which was issued in January 2019. The act’s accompanying regulations are being amended and details will be provided in due course, with all legislative amendments to take effect from January 2024.

    DEVELOPMENTS IN OTHER JURISDICTIONS

    In the UK, the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) proposed new measures in October 2022 to crack down on greenwashing, which includes investment product sustainability labels and limitations on the use of terms like “ESG”, “green”, or “sustainable”. These measures are intended to protect consumers, establish trust in sustainable investment products, promote integrity, and establish trust in ESG-labelled products and the supporting ecosystem.

    The FCA has produced qualifying criteria to ensure that companies can substantiate the claims they make to give consumers adequate information to make informed choices. The FCA also plans to introduce a general “anti-greenwashing” rule that would apply to all regulated firms, requiring their sustainability-related claims to be “clear, fair and not misleading”.

    In Canada, greenwashing is illegal, and its Competition Bureau is responsible for investigating claims of greenwashing and ensuring that applicable laws are adhered to, such as the Competition Act, the Consumer Packaging and Labelling Act, and the Textile Labelling Act.

    The penalties for greenwashing can be severe. For instance, in January 2022, beverage company Keurig Canada was fined CAD3 million (USD2.2 million) by the Commissioner of Competition for misleading claims on the recyclability of its coffee pod, K-Cups. Any employee who suspects a business of engaging in deceptive practices, including greenwashing, can report it to the Competition Bureau. Whistleblowers’ confidentiality and employment status are protected by the Competition Act and the Canadian Criminal Code.

    In the EU, the Green Claims Directive was tabled by the European Commission in March 2023 to tackle greenwashing by regulating how companies justify their eco-friendly assertions. The directive, which is subject to approval from the European Parliament and Council, will set penalties for companies engaging in greenwashing. The draft directive prescribes that the maximum fine should be at least 4% of the business’ total annual turnover in the case of widespread infringements.

    According to a pilot study by World Wide Fund for Nature Singapore, private banks in the island state must improve their risk management strategies and enhance their organisational culture, governance and incentives to improve their ESG integration efforts. The report states that although the banks have made sustainability pledges, there is a necessity to customise and integrate these effectively in the private banking scenario.

    In June 2023, the Dutch asset manager Van Lanschot Kempen listed Singapore state-supported assets on its blacklist as the island nation failed an updated ESG test used to screen for environmental risks. Following this incident, the Singapore government has restated its commitment to combat climate change, as shown in its promise to reach net-zero emissions by 2050.

    More needs to be done in this space and we expect further significant developments in regulations, sustainable practices and enforcement efforts in the near future.

    Clyde & Co in Singapore

    Clyde & Co
    12 Marina Boulevard, #30-03
    Marina Bay Financial Centre Tower 3
    Singapore 018982

    Tel: +65 6544 6500

    Email:singapore@clydeco.com

    www.clydeco.com

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link