亚洲各经济体 ESG 法规一览: 韩国

作者: 金泓均,金尚玟和金允昇,广场律师事务所
0
377
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

印度

印度尼西亚

日本

新加坡

韩国

台湾地区

泰国

韩国已建立起全面的ESG监管框架。在“环境”方面,《应对气候危机碳中和与绿色发展框架法》为减轻气候危机造成的严重影响和促进向碳中和社会的转型奠定了法律基础。“社会”方面的法律聚焦劳工权利、公平贸易和消费者保护,而“治理”方面的法律则强调透明度、问责制和负责任投资实践。

随着全球对ESG问题的日益关注,韩国也出台一系列框架和指南,不断扩大企业的ESG责任,引导企业在运营和决策过程中纳入ESG因素。韩国实施了强制性披露法规,以提高透明度,让利益相关者获取必要的信息。另外,韩国正考虑通过立法要求所有在韩有经营活动的企业开展全面的供应链尽职调查,以解决供应链中存在的侵犯人权问题和环境风险。

“环境”法

Kim Hongkyun
金泓均
合伙人
广场律师事务所
韩国
电话: +82 2 6386 0899
电子邮件: hongkyun.kim@leeko.com

韩国的环境监管框架由《环境政策框架法》(韩国主要环境法,具有宪法性质)以及70多部针对各种污染源的单行法律组成。这个框架可谓包罗万象,其中有几部重要的单行法律与ESG原则高度一致,值得详细讨论。

空气、水和土壤。空气和水环境质量由《清洁空气保护法》、《水管理框架法》和《水环境保护法》规范。《土壤环境保护法》则规范与土壤污染相关的事项,该法禁止处置污染物,并规定了土壤污染责任。

废物和资源循环。固体废物和有害废物的收集、运输、储存、回收利用和处置适用《废物控制法》、《资源节约和回收利用促进法》和《资源循环框架法》。

化学品。《化学物质注册和评估法案》(K-REACH)规管化学物质的市场准入。《化学物质控制法案》则规范化学品进入国内市场后的使用。此外,《消费化学产品和杀菌剂安全管制法》(K-BPR)规定了特定消费化学品的安全和贴标标准,并要求杀菌剂产品的生产商和进口商事先获得使用批准。

气候变化和能源利用。韩国根据《温室气体排放配额分配和交易法》建立了排放交易计划(K-ETS),对温室气体排放实行市场化定价和配额交易。《合理利用能源法》旨在提高能源效率,减轻能源消耗对环境的影响。

其他。除上述法律外,还有其他与环境有关的法律,如《生物多样性保护和利用法》和《促进购买绿色产品法》。

“社会”法律

Kim Sangmin
金尚玟
合伙人
广场律师事务所
韩国
电话: +82 2 772 5954
电子邮件: sangmin.kim2@leeko.com

竞争保护。《垄断规制和公平贸易法》是约束非法卡特尔行为和不公平贸易做法的主要法律。此外,《公平贴标和广告法》、《分包公平交易法》、《公平代理交易法》和《大型零售业公平交易法》旨在促进公平竞争和良好商业实践。

产品安全和消费者保护。《产品安全框架法》、《消费者框架法》、《电器和消费品安全管理法》、《产品责任法》和《食品卫生法》等多部重要法律形成了产品安全和消费者保护框架。

劳动。《劳动标准法》是规范劳资关系的基础,而《职业安全与健康法》和《严重事故处罚法》则为雇员在工作场所的安全和健康提供保障。

人权。韩国《刑法》、《韩国国家人权委员会法》和《儿童福利法》是维护和保障人权的重要法律基础。韩国政府于2021年公布《人权政策框架法》草案,旨在为《国家人权基本计划》提供更有力的法律依据,并将国际标准纳入国内政策。目前,有关立法工作正在进行中。

数据保护。《个人信息保护法》通过规范个人数据的收集、使用和披露,为个人隐私和个人信息提供保护。《促进利用信息通讯网络与保护信息法案》侧重于保护通过信息通讯网络传输的数据。《信用信息使用和保护法》对信用信息进行系统性管理,防止信用信息的滥用,保护隐私。

“治理”法律

Kim Yun Sung, Lee & Ko
金允昇
律师
广场律师事务所
韩国
电话: +82 2 6386 7909
电子邮件: yunsung.kim@leeko.com

代理人的职责。《商法典》规定了公司董事和审计员的职责。《刑法》规定了职务侵占罪和背信罪等职务相关罪行的法律责任。

信息披露。《金融投资服务和资本市场法》、《证券市场信息披露条例》和《股份公司外部审计法》等重要法律对财务报告及其他信息披露的透明度、问责制和公平性做出了规定。

集团公司。企业集团或通常被称为“财阀”的大型集团公司的活动由《垄断规制和公平贸易法》和《金融企业公司治理法》的规范。

反腐败。《关于预防腐败和成立运营国民权益委员会的法案》、《不当索取和贿赂法》和《打击在国际商业交易中贿赂外国公职人员法》是打击腐败行为的主要法律。

扩大ESG责任范围

韩国绿色分类体系(K-Taxonomy)是根据《环境技术与产业支持法》建立的、旨在促进可持续性投资的框架。继2021年12月公布初稿之后,2022年12月又公布了修订版,增加了与核电有关的内容。2023年1月,韩国颁布了新的《绿色债券指南》,旨在提高绿色债券投资的可信度,并通过防止发行”漂绿”债券来促进绿色债券市场健康发展。

《公平贴标和广告法》和《环境技术与产业支持法》都对夸大公司ESG表现的“漂绿”做法进行规制,但在实践中,由于“漂绿”的具体标准模糊,,主管部门真正开罚单的案例有限。不过,公平贸易委员会和环境部已意识到这一问题,并着手修订法规,制定准则,让“漂绿”行为的标准更清晰。

披露法规

2021年,韩国金融服务委员会推出了一项可持续发展报告规则,该规则将分阶段实施。到2025年底,该规则将适用于总资产规模超2万亿韩元(7600亿美元)的所有韩国综合股价指数(KOSPI)公司,到2030年底适用范围将扩展至所有KOSPI公司。ESG信息披露制度路线图预计将于今年内公布,届时,路线图将列出须强制报告的公司名单,并详细说明披露的标准和规范。

《环境技术与产业支持法》要求企业从2022年开始披露其环境管理系统、与节约资源和能源以及减少环境污染物相关的目标和绩效。韩国交易所还发布了《上市企业公司治理报告指南》。自2022年起,总资产达1万亿韩元或以上的KOSPI上市企业必须编制和披露公司治理报告。

自愿披露

2021年,韩国公司治理服务局发布了《ESG最佳实践指南》修订版。该指南已被用于ESG评估,并作为国内上市企业ESG管理标准和各种政府政策的参考。

人权和环境供应链尽职调查立法已是大势所趋,欧盟《企业可持续发展尽职调查指令》就是一个重要的风向标,韩国顺应潮流,于2022年12月颁布了《韩国供应链管理K-ESG准则》。各利益相关方都已认识到建立全面的供应链可持续发展体系的重要性,已有多个立法提案摆上日程。

Lee and Ko

Lee & Ko
Hanjin Building, 63 Namdaemun-ro
Jung-gu, Seoul 04532 South Korea

电话: +82 2 772 4000

电子邮件: mail@leeko.com

www.leeko.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A regional comparison of ESG regulations: South Korea

    By Kim Hongkyun, Kim Sangmin, and Kim Yun Sung, Lee & Ko
    0
    2369
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    South Korea has established a comprehensive regulatory framework to address environmental, social and governance (ESG) concerns. The Framework Act on Carbon Neutrality and Green Growth for Coping with Climate Change Crisis serves as a legal foundation to mitigate the severe impacts of the climate crisis and facilitate the transition to a carbon-neutral society. Social laws focus on labour rights, fair trade and consumer protection, while governance laws emphasise transparency, accountability, and responsible investment practices.

    South Korea has been expanding companies’ ESG responsibilities by developing frameworks and guidelines in response to the growing global attention to ESG issues. These frameworks assist businesses in integrating ESG considerations into their operations and decision-making processes. Regulations mandating disclosure have also been implemented to enhance transparency and provide stakeholders with the necessary information. The country is also considering legislative measures to ensure that companies operating within its jurisdiction conduct thorough due diligence to address human rights abuses and environmental risks in their supply chains.

    ENVIRONMENTAL LAWS

    Kim Hongkyun
    Kim Hongkyun
    Partner
    Lee & Ko
    Seoul
    Tel: +82 2 6386 0899
    Email: hongkyun.kim@leeko.com

    South Korea’s environmental regulatory framework consists of the Framework Act on Environmental Policy, which serves as the primary law with a constitutional nature, along with more than 70 specific environmental laws that target various pollution sources. Within this extensive framework, several key individual laws are closely aligned with ESG principles and are worth discussing in detail.

    Air, water and soil. Air and water quality are regulated by the Clean Air Conservation Act, the Framework Act on Water Management, and the Water Environment Conservation Act. The Soil Conservation Act regulates matters relating to soil pollution, prohibits the disposal of pollutants and imposes liability for soil contamination.

    Waste and resource circulation. Collection, transportation, storage, recycling and disposal of solid and hazardous waste are controlled by the Wastes Control Act, the Act on the Promotion of Saving and Recycling of Resources, and the Framework Act on Resources Circulation.

    Chemicals. The Act on the Registration and Evaluation etc. of Chemical Substances (K-REACH) regulates the market entry of a chemical substance. The Chemical Substances Control Act regulates the use of chemicals once they are introduced into domestic markets. Also, the Consumer Chemical Products and Biocides Safety Control Act (K-BPR) imposes safety and labelling standards for certain consumer chemical products, and requires manufacturers and importers of biocidal products to obtain prior approval for their use.

    Climate change and energy use. Korea has established the Emissions Trading Scheme (K-ETS) under the Act on the Allocation and Trading of Greenhouse Gas Emission Permits, implementing a market-based approach that prices greenhouse gas emissions and enables the trading of emissions permits. The Energy Use Rationalisation Act aims to enhance energy efficiency and mitigate the environmental impact of energy consumption.

    Others. In addition to those mentioned above, there are other environment-related laws such as the Act on the Conservation and Use of Biological Diversity and the Act on the Promotion of Purchase of Green Products.

    SOCIAL LAWS

    Kim Sangmin
    Kim Sangmin
    Partner
    Lee & Ko
    Seoul
    Tel: +82 2 772 5954
    Email: sangmin.kim2@leeko.com

    Competition protection. The Monopoly Regulation and Fair Trade Act serves as the primary legislation governing illegal cartel behaviour and unfair trade practices. In addition, the Act on Fair Labelling and Advertising, the Fair Transactions in Subcontracting Act, the Fair Agency Transactions Act, and the Act on Fair Transactions in Large Retail Business aim to promote fair competition and sound business practices.

    Product safety and consumer protection. The Framework Act on the Safety of Products, the Framework Act on Consumers, the Electrical Appliances and the Consumer Products Safety Control Act, the Product Liability Act, and the Food Sanitation Act are key laws that provide a framework for ensuring product safety and consumer protection.

    Labour. The Labour Standards Act is the basis for regulating labour relations, while the Occupational Safety and Health Act and the Serious Accidents Punishment Act establish regulations to ensure the well-being and safety of employees in the workplace.

    Human rights. The Korean Criminal Code, the National Human Rights Commission of Korea Act, and the Child Welfare Act are key laws that contribute to the preservation and safeguarding of human rights. The draft of the Framework Act on Human Rights Policy was proposed by the government in 2021 to provide a stronger legal basis for the National Human Rights Basic Plan and to integrate international standards into domestic policies, and the legislation is currently in progress.

    Data protection. The Personal Information Protection Act safeguards the privacy and personal information of individuals by regulating the collection, use and disclosure of personal data. The Act on Promotion of Information and Communications Network Utilisation and Information Protection focuses on protecting data transmitted through information and communication networks. The Credit Information Use and Protection Act aims to safeguard privacy through the systematic management of credit information and prevention of its misuse.

    GOVERNANCE LAWS

    Kim Yun Sung, Lee & Ko
    Kim Yun Sung
    Associate
    Lee & Ko
    Seoul
    Tel: +82 2 6386 7909
    Email: yunsung.kim@leeko.com

    Duties of agents. The Commercial Code governs the duties of directors and auditors in corporations. The Criminal Code regulates offences such as occupational embezzlement and breach of trust committed during the course of their duties.

    Disclosure. Transparency, accountability and fairness in financial reporting and other disclosures are governed by key laws such as the Financial Investment Services and Capital Markets Act, the Regulations on Disclosure in the Securities Market, and the Act on External Audit of Stock Companies

    Business groups. Activities of conglomerates or large business groups commonly referred to as chaebols are regulated by the Monopoly Regulation and Fair Trade Act, and the Act on Corporate Governance of Financial Companies.

    Anti-corruption. The Act on the Prevention of Corruption and the Establishment and Management of the Anti-corruption and Civil Rights Commission, the Improper Solicitation and Graft Act, and the Act on Combating Bribery of Foreign Public Officials in International Business Transactions are key laws that regulate corruption.

    EXPANDED ESG RESPONSIBILITIES

    The K-taxonomy is a framework to foster sustainable investment built under the Environmental Technology and Industry Support Act. Following the initial draft announcement in December 2021, an amended version was published in December 2022, incorporating additions related to nuclear power. The new Green Bond Guidelines were implemented in January 2023 to enhance the credibility of investments in green bonds and promote the active growth of the green bond market by preventing the issuance of greenwashing bonds.

    Although greenwashing practices that exaggerate a company’s ESG performance are regulated under the Act on Fair Labelling and Advertising, and the Environmental Technology and Industry Support Act, the actual imposition of fines and penalties has been limited due to the challenges in determining specific criteria in practical terms. Recognising this issue, the Fair Trade Commission and the Ministry of Environment are working on revising regulations and developing guidelines to establish clear criteria for identifying greenwashing practices.

    DISCLOSURE REGULATIONS

    In 2021, the Financial Services Commission introduced a sustainability reporting rule that will be implemented in phases. By the end of 2025, it will apply to Korea Composite Stock Price Index (KOSPI) entities with assets exceeding KRW2 trillion (USD760 billion), and will be extended to all KOSPI entities by the end of 2030. The ESG disclosure system road map is expected to be announced within this year, which will outline the companies subject to mandatory reporting and provide details on the criteria and standards for disclosure.

    The Environmental Technology and Industry Support Act requires companies to disclose their environmental management systems, goals and performance related to resource and energy conservation and the reduction of environmental pollutants beginning in 2022. The Korea Exchange has also issued the Guidelines on Corporate Governance Reports for listed companies. Since 2022, companies listed on the KOSPI with total assets of KRW1 trillion or more have been mandated to prepare and disclose corporate governance reports.

    VOLUNTARY DISCLOSURE

    The Korea Corporate Governance Service in 2021 published an amended version of the ESG Best Practice Guideline. The guideline has been used in ESG evaluations and serves as a reference for ESG management standards of domestic listed companies and various government policies.

    Responding to legislative trends of laws on human rights and environmental supply chain due diligence, such as the EU Directive on Corporate Sustainability Due Diligence, South Korea introduced the K-ESG Guidelines for Supply Chain Management in December 2022. Recognising the importance of establishing a comprehensive system for supply chain sustainability, legislative proposals on this topic are currently being discussed by various stakeholders.

    Lee and Ko

    Lee & Ko
    Hanjin Building, 63 Namdaemun-ro
    jung-gu, Seoul 04532 South Korea

    Tel: +82 2 772 4000

    Email:mail@leeko.com

    www.leeko.com

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link