日本房地产法律的最新发展

作者: 新家宽,原光毅和山本直人,日本西村朝日律师事务所东京办公室
0
208
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

中国

印度

日本

马来西亚

日本《民法典》是调整房地产关系的基本法律,实行土地和建筑物所有权分离的制度。所有权人对不动产享有使用、收益和处分的权利。《建筑物区分所有权法》对建筑物的单位所有权作出规定。公寓和共管公寓就是采取此种产权归属的例子,它们在结构上被分割为多个单位,分属多个所有权人。

信托常被用于持有不动产,其优势在于产权人可享受税收优惠。其中受托人为法定所有权人,而实质所有权人享有受益权。外国实体可在日本直接拥有土地和建筑物,或持有不动产信托受益权。但出于税务考虑(外国人税务包括公司税和预扣税),外国实体往往不直接购买不动产,而是通过成立投资工具来取得不动产权益。

租赁权是一种常见权益,由《民法典》和《建筑物区分所有权法》规范,这两部法律为租赁权持有人提供一定的法律保护。《不动产登记法》则规定了房产所有权的登记程序,所有权、使用权和担保物权均记录在不动产登记制度下。

所有人权益类型

Hiroshi Niinomi
新家宽
合伙人
日本西村朝日律师事务所东京办公室
电话: +81 3 6250 6523
电子邮件: h.niinomi@plus.nishimura.com

日本《民法典》允许多个实体或自然人共同拥有同一项房产,这被称为共同所有权(kyoyumochibun-ken)。共同所有人可以就如何使用、管理和改动房产达成一致,签订共有协议,但受到若干限制。

《建筑物区分所有权法》允许将不动产的特定部分在结构上进行分割,该部分整体上作为单一房产使用,但各分割单元适用区分所有权(kubunshoyu-ken)或其他所有人权益。一般情况下,根据《建筑物区分所有权法》制定建筑物和公共空间的管理规则。如要取得共同所有权或区分所有权,必须查阅共有协议或其他法规。

还有一种常见的所有权称为受益权,是受托人和房产所有人之间的信托合同关系产生的一种权利。这种安排主要是出于税收考虑(所涉税务包括购置税和登记税)。受托人名义上持有信托房产的所有权,为受益人(个人或实体)之利益管理处分信托房产。

日本《民法典》还规定了与房产使用有关的租赁权(chinshaku-ken)和地上权(chijo-ken)。租赁权最为常见,同时受《土地和建筑租赁法》的规范。承租人受该法保护。例如,除非出租人有正当理由并至少提前六个月通知承租人,否则出租人不得终止标准租赁协议。

Koki Hara
原光毅
合伙人
日本西村朝日律师事务所东京办公室
电话: +81 3 6250 6460
电子邮件: k.hara@plus.nishimura.com

同时,如果定期租赁协议符合《土地和建筑租赁法》下的相关手续要求,可以以无正当事由(seitojiyu)终止定期租赁协议。例如,在签订协议之前,出租人应提供一份关于定期租约期满不续租的书面说明。

根据《土地和建筑租赁法》,就房屋租赁而言,承租人占有房屋后即获得完整租赁权;就土地租赁而言,地上建筑物所有权登记后,其租赁权才完整。此外,也可以登记租赁权,但由于登记费用的原因,这种情况并不常见。

不动产的所有权和地上权可以设定抵押,包括“循环抵押”,这是常见做法。设定抵押并不一定意味着占有权的转移。当事人通过签订协议和办理登记即可设定抵押。应该强调的是,办理抵押的一方应确保自己拥有处分权。

抵押权人的债务可优先受偿。同一房产上存在多个抵押权的,以抵押权登记的先后顺序清偿。抵押贷款属标的房产不可分割的一部分,但抵押土地的,土地上的建筑物除外。

抵押权的实现有两种方法,一是通过拍卖担保不动产行使担保权益,二是将不动产收益用于清偿担保债权。

根据《民事执行法》,只有在提交了所有指定文件后,方可行使不动产担保权益。

所有权结构

Naoto Yamamoto
山本直人
合伙人
日本西村朝日律师事务所东京办公室
电话: +81 3 6250 6632
电子邮件: na.yamamoto@plus.nishimura.com

虽然外国实体可以在日本直接拥有土地和建筑物,但更常见的方式是通过日本法人实体来持有,如根据《公司法》成立一家股份公司(kabushiki-kaisha,简称KK),或成立有限责任公司(godo-kaisha,简称GK)作为投资工具。

在房地产金融市场中,通常采用GK结构,根据《商法典》注册成立匿名合伙企业(tokumei-kumiai,简称TK),或根据《资产证券化法》注册成立特定目的公司(tokutei-mokuteki-kaisha,简称TMK),以避免双重征税。

在选择合适的公司结构时,应考虑多种因素,包括相关法规(适用合种法规取决于特殊目的公司的类型和公司资产的类别)、获取明确的税务意见的必要性和管理成本。

GK模式在治理方面更加灵活简单,可以由单一个实体创建,任命一个自然人为高级管理人员(shokumu-shikkousha)。通常通过设立一般社团法人(ippan shadan hojin ,简称ISH)可以实现治理中立和破产隔离,因为一旦根据公司章程任命了管理人员,股东就不能再更换或重新任命管理人员,从而使公司免受股东干预。

不同于GK-TK结构,税法明确规定了TMK享受特殊税收待遇的要求。因此,通过满足这些要求,投资者即可避免被双重征税。TMK可以发行两种类别的股份,包括类似于KK普通股的特定股份和优先股。

优先股股东的表决权有限。在公司治理方面,《资产证券化法》要求TMK设立一名董事和一名法定审计师,并编制一份具体的资产清算方案,该方案(包括任何修改)必须提交主管部门。

法律尽职调查

房地产所有权的过户和创设只有在依《不动产登记法》办理登记后才可对抗第三人。新交易一经提交登记申请,在申请流程完成之前,不会发放房产登记证书。因此,在交易之前通常会审查目标房产的登记情况。

注册情况确认一致无误后方提交申请。此外还可能存在一个较小的风险,即法院可能会发现不在登记之列的第三方是真正的法定所有权人或享有所有人权益。虽然相关要求比较严格,这种风险很低,但一般认为开展法律尽职调查即可有效降低风险。因此,产权保险在日本并不常见。

法律顾问通常不会开展现场尽职调查,需要实地尽职调查的事项不在法律尽调范围内,包括与地方法规、建筑或施工、环境、城市规划或分区使用以及实际边界相关的事宜。对于上述事项的尽职调查,应提交房地产估价报告、工程报告和房产评估报告等。

在实际操作中,法律顾问通常会审核与目标物业相关的重要协议、报告和文件或证书,核实是否存在任何事项阻碍买方购入物业。

尽职调查的范围包括标的物业上存在的权利(卖方是否为所有权人、产权是否无瑕疵、是否设立了担保权益)、承租人租赁协议、涉及物业的其他相关协议(包括物业管理协议)、适用于物业的法规、环保问题、房产边界、诉讼等。

虽然尽职调查的范围可能根据标的物业的成本和特点差异有所不同,但登记凭证审查是必不可少的。如在报告中发现任何问题,法律顾问将从法律角度进行详细调查。

尽职调查通常按以下步骤进行,需要一到两个月的时间出具最终报告。首先,确定法律尽职调查范围。之后,根据保密协议或意向书,将标的物业的整套资料提供给潜在买家。在某些情况下,卖方和潜在买方之间还会安排问答环节。最后,潜在买家将根据法律尽职调查结果,决定是否继续交易。

Nishimura & Asahi

Nishimura & Asahi

Otemon Tower, 1-1-2 Otemachi, Chiyoda-ku
Tokyo 100-8124, Japan
联系方式:
电话: +81 3 6250 6200

电子邮件: info@nishimura.com

www.nishimura.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A regional comparison of real estate markets: Japan

    By Hiroshi Niinomi, Koki Hara, and Naoto Yamamoto, Nishimura & Asahi
    0
    630
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

     

    The Civil Code is the fundamental legislation governing real estate in Japan, which separates the ownership of land and buildings. An owner has the right to use, obtain profit from and dispose of real property. The Act on Building Unit Ownership provides for unit ownership of buildings, such as apartments and condominiums that are structurally divided with multiple owners.

    A trust is also commonly used to hold real property where a trustee becomes a legal owner and the substantial owner holds beneficial interests, mainly due to the tax benefit. It is possible for foreign entities to directly own land and buildings in Japan or hold trust-beneficial interests. However, foreign entities tend not to purchase real property on their own account, but establish a vehicle to do so due to tax issues, including corporate and withholding taxes.

    Leasing rights are common and governed by the code and the act, which provide lease rights holders with legal protection to some extent. The Real Estate Registration Law provides procedures for registering the ownership of properties, including a real estate registration system under which ownership, rights in relation to property use, and security interests are recorded.

    TYPES OF PROPRIETARY INTERESTS

    Hiroshi Niinomi
    Hiroshi Niinomi
    Partner
    Nishimura & Asahi
    Tokyo
    Tel: +81 3 6250 6523
    Email: h.niinomi@plus.nishimura.com

    The Civil Code allows multiple entities or people to own a property together, which is called co-ownership (kyoyumochibun-ken). Co-owners can agree on how to use, manage and modify the property under a co-ownership agreement, with some restrictions.

    The Act on Building Unit Ownership allows some parts of the property to be structurally divided, be used as a single property and be subject to unit ownership (kubunshoyu-ken) or other proprietary interest. Generally, rules stipulating the building management and common space are established in accordance with the act. It is essential to review the co-ownership agreement or other regulations if acquiring co-ownership or unit ownership.

    It is also common to have a certain type of ownership called beneficial interests, mainly for tax reasons (including acquisition and registration taxes), which involves creating a trust agreement between a trustee and the property owner. The trustee holds the ownership of the property for the benefit of another person or entity.

    The Civil Code also describes leasing rights (chinshaku-ken) and superficies (chijo-ken) in relation to property use. Leasing rights are the most common typ and are governed also by the Act on Land and Building Leases, which provides the lessee with legal protection. For instance, a standard leasing agreement cannot be terminated unless the lessor has justifiable grounds and gives at least six months’ notice of termination to the lessee.

    Meanwhile, a fixed-term leasing agreement can be terminated without justifiable grounds (seitojiyu) on condition that the agreement satisfies certain formalities under the act. For example, before entering the agreement, the lessor shall deliver a written explanation about the specific term of the lease not to be renewed.

    The act allows the leasing right to be perfected once, in respect of the building lease, the lessee obtains the possession of a building; or in respect of a land lease, the ownership of the building is registered. It is also possible to register leasing rights although it is uncommon due to the registration fee.

    Creating mortgages, including “revolving mortgages”, over ownership and superficies of real estate is possible, and it is a normal practice. When a mortgage is created, it does not necessarily mean transferring possession. Parties can create mortgages by a simple agreement and registration. It should be emphasised that parties who take out a mortgage should ensure that they have disposal authority.

    A mortgagee shall have the right to receive the performance of his or her claim before other obligees. If there are multiple mortgages on the same property, the priority shall follow the chronological order of their registrations. Mortgages principally cover an integral part of the subject property, except for buildings on the mortgaged land.

    Mortgage enforcement can be conducted through a secured real property auction, which means exercising the security interest through an auction, or an execution against earnings from the secured real property, which means exercising security interest by allotting the earnings from the real property to the performance of the secured claim.

    Exercise of a real property security interest under the Civil Execution Law shall commence only when all the designated documents have been submitted.

    STRUCTURES FOR OWNERSHIP

    Koki Hara
    Koki Hara
    Partner
    Nishimura & Asahi
    Tokyo
    Tel: +81 3 6250 6460
    Email: k.hara@plus.nishimura.com

    Although it is possible for foreign entities to directly own land and buildings in Japan, it is more common for them to do so through a Japanese juridical entity such as a kabushiki-kaisha (KK) or a godo-kaisha (GK) incorporated under the Companies Act. KK is often translated as stock company, while GK is normally interpreted as a Japanese limited liability company.

    In the real-estate financial market, it is common to use a GK with the tokumei-kumiai (TK) agreement, which is incorporated under the Commercial Code, or a tokutei-mokuteki-kaisha (TMK), which is incorporated under the Act on the Securitisation of Assets to avoid double taxation.

    There are some factors to determine which structure is appropriate, including regulations (different regulations apply to the scheme depending on the type of special-purpose company and the type of company assets), necessity of a clear tax opinion, and management cost (the cost using the TMK structure would be higher). TK agreement allows for the avoidance of double taxation, but it is not clearly prescribed in Japanese law and a legal opinion with respect to that point is difficult to provide.

    A GK is more flexible and simpler in terms of governance, as it can be established solely with one entity as a member, appointing one individual as a managing officer (shokumu-shikkousha). A ippan shadan hojin (ISH) or general corporation is commonly used to achieve governance neutrality and bankruptcy remoteness as the officers cannot be changed or be appointed by the shareholders once they are appointed under the articles of association, making the company free from the shareholder’s intervention.

    Unlike the GK-TK structure, the requirements for special tax treatment of a TMK are clearly prescribed by the tax laws. Therefore, by fulfilling those requirements, an investor can avoid double taxation. A TMK can issue two types of equity, including specified shares that are similar to ordinary shares in a KK and preferred shares.

    The voting rights of a preferred shareholder are limited. The Act on the Securitisation of Assets requires TMK to have one director and a statutory auditor from a governance viewpoint, and the preparation of a specific asset liquidation plan, which must be submitted to the authority, and to report if there is any change to the plan.

    LEGAL DUE DILIGENCE

    Naoto Yamamoto
    Naoto Yamamoto
    Partner
    Nishimura & Asahi
    Tokyo
    Tel: +81 3 6250 6632
    Email: na.yamamoto@plus.nishimura.com

    Any transfer or creation of real property ownership must not be asserted against third parties unless they are registered in accordance with the Real Estate Registration Act. Once an application for registration regarding a new transaction is submitted, the certificate of registered property cannot be issued until the application process is completed. Therefore, it is common to review the registration of the target property before the transaction.

    The application should be submitted after confirming that the registration does not indicate any inconsistency. There could be a minor risk that a court might find that a third party, who is not on the registration, is the true legal owner or holds a proprietary interest. Although such a risk is low due to the stringent requirements, legal due diligence is basically regarded as a sufficient method to mitigate the risk. Therefore, title insurance is uncommon in Japan.

    Legal counsel normally would not conduct on-site due diligence, so the issues requiring physical due diligence would not be covered, including matters related to regional regulations, architecture or construction, environment, city planning or zone use, and actual boundary. Appraisal, engineering, and property reports would be provided to cover the above-mentioned matters.

    In practice, legal counsel generally reviews important agreements, reports, and documents or certificates regarding the subject property to check whether there is any material issue that would prohibit the purchaser from acquiring the property.

    The scope of due diligence includes rights to the target property (whether the seller is the owner, the perfection is completed, or any security interests exist), tenant and lease agreement, other related agreements regarding the property (including property management agreement), regulations applying to the property, environmental issues, boundaries, lawsuits, etc.

    Although the scope may differ depending on the cost and characteristics of the target property, it is essential to review the certificate of registered matters. Where any issue is found in the reports, legal counsel investigates in detail from a legal perspective.

    Due diligence would generally proceed with the following steps, and it would take one to two months before the final report is provided. It is necessary to determine the scope of the legal due diligence. The information package regarding the target property would be provided to the potential buyer subject to the non-disclosure agreement or letter of intent. In some cases, a question and answer session would be scheduled between the seller and the potential buyer. The potential buyer would decide whether to proceed with the transaction based on the outcome of the legal due diligence.

    Nishimura & Asahi Logo

    NISHIMURA & ASAHI (GAIKOKUHO KYODO JIGYO)

    Otemon Tower, 1-1-2 Otemachi, Chiyoda-ku
    Tokyo 100-8124, Japan
    Tel: +81 3 6250 6200

    Email: info@nishimura.com

    www.nishimura.com

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link