亚洲各经济体 ESG 法规一览: 台湾地区

作者: 曾更莹和黄海宁,理律法律事务所
0
393
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

印度

印度尼西亚

日本

新加坡

韩国

台湾地区

泰国

 

台湾地区的气候议程最近引发了关注。作为台湾地区控制温室气体排放的主要监管框架,《温室气体减量及管理法》进行了全面改革,并于2023年1月10日正式更名为《气候变迁因应法》(CCRA)。这一更名标志着台湾地区的气候策略发生了关键性的转变,不再仅仅针对温室气体排放,而是包含应对气候变化在内的整体战略。

现在,特定行业必须对其温室气体排放进行细致的核算、报告和核实。台湾地区环保署划定了一份被列为主要温室气体排放源的特定行业企业名单,称为“事业应盘查登录及查验温室气体排放量之排放源”并强制要求这些企业报告其温室气体排放量。所有温室气体年排放量超过25000吨的企业还必须提交一份年度报告,详细说明上一年的排放量。

2050净零排放路径

Tseng Ken-Ying, Lee and Li
曾更莹
合伙人
理律法律事务所
台北
电话: +886 2 2763 8000 Ext. 2179
电子邮件: kenying@leeandli.com

台湾地区越来越认识到环境、社会和治理(ESG)因素及其深远影响。台湾地区政府致力于推广可再生能源、去碳化和绿色金融,以及实现台湾地区《2050年净零排放路径》中提出的净零排放目标,这一进程发展势头迅猛。“绿色金融行动方案”就是一个显著的例子,该方案自2017年以来定期更新,且每季度进行一次审查。最近,该方案进行了第三次迭代,并在2022年最后一个季度顺利完成了审查。

在当前形势下,《气候变迁因应法》这一重新命名标志着台湾地区对去碳化的坚定承诺,其最终目标是到2050年实现温室气体净零排放。

预计台湾地区环保署将于2023年下半年和2024年颁布与《气候变迁因应法》相关的12项子法规。这些法规将涉及碳盘查、碳费征收、注册管理、认证和检查机构、温室气体基金管理等关键环节。政府的主要目标仍然是大力推进绿色能源、去碳化和绿色金融,以及实现2050年净零排放路径提出的目标。

政策指引

作为净零努力的一部分,台湾金融监督管理委员会(简称“金管会”)一直在积极制定可持续经济活动准则。这些准则旨在帮助投资者和利益相关者辨别可持续实践,界定对环境有重大影响的活动,同时挫败“漂绿”企图。

Helen Huang Hai-Ning, Lee and Li
黄海宁
资深律师
理律法律事务所
台北
电话: +886 2 2763 8000 Ext. 2508
电子邮件: helenhuang@leeandli.com

鉴于台湾地区的出口导向型经济格局及其在全球供应链中的重要角色,为了满足全球品牌提出的严格要求,将ESG原则纳入商业实践变得越来越重要。

因此,当务之急是建立一个强有力的框架,指导企业完成这一过渡,有效满足人们对ESG问题日益升高的期望。可以预见,ESG将日益成为关注焦点,并最终成为各行各业司空见惯的事务。

在ESG相关信息披露方面,金管会制定了证券柜台买卖中心(简称“柜买中心”)《上柜公司编制与申报永续报告书作业办法》。

这一监管框架要求上市公司提交年度ESG报告。2022年9月,柜买中心采取重大举措,引入了ESG绩效指标,以加强ESG信息披露。这一举措使利益相关者能够全面了解企业的运营情况、取得的成就及其可持续发展计划。

此外,柜买中心上柜公司现在必须根据全球报告倡议组织(Global Reporting Initiative)制定的准则发布ESG报告,且应遵循可持续发展会计准则委员会(Sustainability Accounting Standards Board)和气候相关财务披露工作组(Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures)发布的准则。

“公司治理3.0-永续发展蓝图”强调,机构投资者应推动尽职治理相关信息的披露,促进上市公司提高治理水平。

“绿色金融行动方案3.0”还鼓励金融机构和企业在其战略规划和投融资评估中纳入永续经济活动认定指引。

总之,金管会正在积极制定永续经济活动准则,以帮助投资者和利益相关者鉴别永续实践。这些准则旨在界定对环境有影响的活动,同时防止出现”漂绿”的情况。

随着ESG原则在日常业务运营中的重要性不断提高,台湾地区各方面正在共同努力,以确保ESG和可持续发展理念得到准确体现。

为了提高ESG透明度,台湾地区政府计划在2024年为上市公司建立一个综合ESG平台。以全球报告倡议组织的准则为基础建立的ESG信息强制报告和披露框架,仍然是台湾地区企业和金融机构关注的焦点。

随着永续金融评估方案的实施,预计将有更多金融机构自愿参与评估,从而形成一个拥有完善的ESG相关信息披露机制的成熟投资市场。

未来前景

虽然台湾地区已经积极制定了多项ESG、永续金融和影响力投资计划,但金融当局仍亟需提供更全面的指引,尤其是在报告和信息披露方面。

为了有效引导资金进入可持续发展和社会影响力领域,公共机构必须为金融行业的私营参与者提供支持。报告环境和社会目标相关的责任和成本不应仅由企业单独承担。

公共机构应提供明确的报告和披露指引,以及可负担的、用于收集社会和环境活动相关数据的工具。这些工具将有助于对ESG绩效进行标准化评估。当局可建立一个计算和财务工具的交换平台,用户可在这个平台上获取相关工具。采用此种方法,方可为对可持续投资的影响力和可行性持怀疑态度的人士注入信心。

制定适合当地社会和环境状况的具体基准也很重要。这将提高金融产品绩效评估和非财务影响评估的准确性,同时降低风险边际因素。在台湾市场,社会影响力债券和针对贫困社区投资的财政激励措施等创新方案的可行性和成功率仍有待检验。

企业组织法所提供的灵活性使得私人投资可以发挥独创性,而且可以引入影响力资本。企业创始人和所有者可以根据创始人和投资者的偏好,灵活地设计运营和治理架构,修改非法人机构的信托责任。这种灵活性将继续利好可持续投资和影响力投资。

由于目前还没有关于社会融资或目的驱动型企业的具体法规,我们关于法律模式的主要建议是采用符合创始人和投资者意图的定制化架构,并促进与利益相关者的可持续关系。

这对于避免财政审计或税务监管问题至关重要。此外,现行税收立法并没有为不以盈利为唯一目的的捐赠或投资提供激励。

总之,台湾地区向绿色经济转型,并将ESG原则纳入其金融生态系统,这表明其正在以渐进的方式应对气候变化带来的挑战。随着法案更名,台湾对去碳化和可持续发展的承诺得到了进一步加强。

通过各种监管措施、报告要求和披露框架,台湾旨在营造一个透明且负责任的商业环境,并与国际标准接轨。但公共机构、私营部门和金融机构之间的持续合作至关重要。

Lee and Li

Lee and Li

8/F, No. 555, Sec. 4, Zhongxiao E. Rd
Taipei – 11072, Taiwan

电话: +886 2 2763 8000

电子邮件: attorneys@leeandli.com

www.leeandli.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A regional comparison of ESG regulations: Taiwan

    By Tseng Ken-Ying and Helen Huang Hai-Ning, Lee and Li
    0
    1782
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    Taiwan’s climate agenda has sparked attention recently. The Greenhouse Gases Reduction and Management Act, the primary regulatory framework for controlling greenhouse gas emissions in Taiwan, has undergone a comprehensive reform and was officially renamed the Climate Change Response Act (CCRA) on 10 January 2023. This renaming signifies a pivotal shift in Taiwan’s approach, extending beyond solely targeting greenhouse gas emissions to encompass a holistic strategy for combatting climate change.

    Specific industries are now required to meticulously account for, report and verify their greenhouse gas emissions. The Environmental Protection Administration of Taiwan delineates a list of industry-specific businesses classified as major greenhouse gas emission sources, called The Businesses Subject to Accounting and Registration of Greenhouse Gases Emission Sources, and mandates these businesses to report their greenhouse gas emissions. Any business that exceeds 25,000 tonnes of greenhouse gas emissions per year must also submit an annual report detailing its emissions from the preceding year.

    2050 PATHWAY

    Tseng Ken-Ying, Lee and Li
    Tseng Ken-Ying
    Partner
    Lee and Li
    Taipei
    Tel: +886 2 2763 8000 Ext. 2179
    Email: kenying@leeandli.com

    Taiwan has witnessed a growing recognition of environmental, social and governance (ESG) factors and their profound impact. The government’s commitment to promoting renewable energy, decarbonisation and green finance, and achieving the net-zero goals outlined in Taiwan’s Pathway to Net-Zero Emissions in 2050, has gained significant momentum. A noteworthy example of this commitment is the Green Finance Action Plan, which has undergone regular updates since 2017, with quarterly reviews. Recently, the plan reached its third iteration and successfully completed its review in the final quarter of 2022.

    In light of the prevailing circumstances, the rebranding of the CCRA signifies Taiwan’s unwavering commitment to decarbonisation, with the ultimate objective of achieving net-zero greenhouse gas emissions by 2050.

    The Environmental Protection Administration is expected to promulgate and announce 12 sub-regulations associated with the CCRA in the second half of 2023, and in 2024. These regulations will address critical aspects such as carbon inventory, carbon fee collection, registration management, certification and inspection institutions, and the management of greenhouse gas funds. The government’s primary objectives remain centred on promoting green energy, decarbonisation and green finance, and realising the goals outlined in the 2050 pathway.

    POLICY GUIDANCE

    As part of the net-zero efforts, the Financial Supervisory Commission of Taiwan has been diligently formulating guidelines on sustainable economic activities. These guidelines aim to aid investors and stakeholders in discerning sustainable practices and defining activities that significantly impact the environment, while thwarting greenwashing attempts.

    Helen Huang Hai-Ning, Lee and Li
    Helen Huang Hai-Ning
    Senior Associate
    Lee and Li
    Taipei
    Tel: +886 2 2763 8000 Ext. 2508
    Email: helenhuang@leeandli.com

    Given Taiwan’s prominent role as an export-oriented island and a crucial player in the global supply chain, the integration of ESG principles into business practices has become increasingly vital to meet the stringent requirements imposed by global brands.

    Consequently, the demand for a robust framework that guides companies through this transition, effectively meeting the escalating expectations surrounding ESG matters, is imperative. It is foreseeable that the focus on ESG issues will continue to escalate and ultimately become ubiquitous across industries.

    With regard to the disclosure of ESG-related information, the Financial Supervisory Commission has formulated the Taipei Exchange (TPEx) Rules Governing the Preparation and Filing of Sustainability Reports by Listed Companies.

    This regulatory framework obliges listed companies to submit annual ESG reports. In a significant development in September 2022, the TPEx introduced ESG performance indicators to strengthen the disclosure of ESG information. This step enables stakeholders to gain a comprehensive understanding of a company’s operations, accomplishments and plans for sustainable development.

    Additionally, listed companies on the TPEx are now required to issue ESG reports based on the guidelines set out by the Global Reporting Initiative, and are urged to refer to the standards published by the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board and the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures.

    The Corporate Governance 3.0 – Sustainable Development Roadmap underscores the promotion of stewardship-related information disclosure by institutional investors, fostering enhanced governance within listed companies.

    The Green Finance Action Plan 3.0 also encourages financial institutions and enterprises to incorporate guidelines for recognising sustainable economic activities into their strategic planning and investment and financing evaluations.

    Overall, the Financial Supervisory Commission is actively developing guidelines on sustainable economic activities to assist investors and stakeholders in identifying sustainable practices. These guidelines aim to define environmentally impactful activities while preventing instances of greenwashing.

    As ESG principles continue to gain prominence in daily business operations, concerted efforts are being made to ensure that ESG and sustainability values are accurately reflected.

    To enhance ESG transparency, the government plans to establish a consolidated ESG platform for public companies in 2024. The mandatory reporting and disclosure framework for ESG information, based on guidelines from the Global Reporting Initiative, continues to be a significant focal point for companies and financial institutions in Taiwan.

    With the implementation of the Sustainability Finance Evaluation scheme, it is anticipated that more financial institutions will voluntarily participate in evaluation, thus fostering a mature investment market with robust ESG-related information disclosure.

    WHAT THE FUTURE HOLDS

    While Taiwan has already taken proactive measures in the development of ESG, sustainable finance and impact investing initiatives, there is a pressing need for more comprehensive guidelines from financial authorities, particularly concerning the reporting and disclosure of information.

    To effectively redirect finance towards sustainability and social impact, it is crucial for public actors to support private players in the financial sector. The responsibility and costs associated with reporting on environmental and social objectives should not rest solely on individual companies.

    Public authorities should provide clear reporting and disclosure guidelines, along with affordable tools for collecting relevant data on social and environmental activities. These tools would facilitate standardised assessments of ESG performance and could be accessed through user-friendly platforms that facilitate the exchange of computational and financial tools. Such an approach would instill confidence in those who remain uncertain about the impact and viability of sustainable investments.

    It is also important to develop specific benchmarks tailored to the local social and environmental landscape. This would enhance the accuracy of performance evaluations and non-financial impact assessments of financial products, while reducing risk-margin factors. In the Taiwan market, innovative programmes such as social impact bonds and fiscal incentives for investments in distressed communities are still being tested for viability and success.

    The flexibility provided by business organisation laws enables ingenuity and the flow of impact capital into private investment. Founders and owners can structure their operations and governance with flexibility, modifying fiduciary duties for non-corporate organisations based on the preferences of founders and investors. This flexibility will continue to be a positive factor for sustainable and impact investing.

    As there are currently no specific regulations on social finance or purpose-driven companies, our primary recommendation regarding legal models is to adopt tailor-made structures that align with the intentions of founders and investors, and contribute to sustainable relationships with stakeholders.

    This is crucial to avoid fiscal audits or issues with tax authorities. Additionally, the existing tax legislation does not provide incentives for donations or investments that do not solely aim for profit generation.

    In conclusion, Taiwan’s transition towards a green economy and the integration of ESG principles into its financial ecosystem demonstrates a progressive approach to addressing the challenges posed by climate change. With the renamed act, Taiwan’s commitment to decarbonisation and sustainability has been further reinforced.

    Through various regulatory measures, reporting requirements and disclosure frameworks, Taiwan aims to foster a transparent and responsible business environment, aligned with international standards. However, continual collaboration between public authorities, private sector actors and financial institutions is crucial.

    Lee and Li

    Lee and Li

    8/F, No. 555, Sec. 4, Zhongxiao E. Rd
    Taipei – 11072, Taiwan

    Tel: +886 2 2763 8000

    Email:attorneys@leeandli.com

    www.leeandli.com

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link