治理AI“精灵”

作者: 曾更莹、黄耀赏、郭怡利、李琦,理律法律事务所
0
145
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

随着人工智能(AI)快速发展,其逐步形成全球性的法律雷区。本文探讨了台湾在版权、金融、政府举措和数据隐私领域应对AI的各项方法。

AI和版权

AI引发了对版权保护的关切。首要问题是AI生成式作品是否具有版权。2018年,台湾智慧财产局(TIPO)表示,AI生成式作品不受版权保护,因为台湾版权法只保护“人类”的创作。

Ken-Ying Tseng, Lee and Li
曾更莹
合伙人
台北理律法律事务所
电话:+886 2 27638000 转 2179
邮箱:kenying@leeandli.com

随着ChatGPT的兴起,同样的问题再次涌现;世界各地的版权保护机构再度采取了相同的立场。与美国相关机构类似,TIPO认为是否可以享有版权取决于人类参与创作的程度。人类创作者的参与程度越大,作品受到版权保护的可能性就越大。

如果创作者的贡献仅限于向AI系统提供输入提示,则作品可能无法受版权保护。然而,随着生成式AI工具的飞速发展,使用场景不胜枚举,预计将越来越难以确定创作中需要人类参与的程度。

训练AI模型也引发了版权侵权问题,因为训练材料可能包含受版权保护的作品。版权所有者可能控诉AI开发者在将其作品输入AI模型之前,没有获得适当的许可。对此,AI开发者可以从以下两方面开展抗辩:

  • 生成式AI中使用的数据是否受版权保护;及
  • 如是,通过算法学习生成的输出是否符合合理使用的条件。

台湾尚未发生与AI相关的重大版权诉讼,但台湾法院迟早会面临此类案件。为促进AI技术发展,传统的合理使用理论可能需要调整。随着AI技术进步,创作者也会在创作中采用AI。所有利益相关者都必须努力在AI发展和版权保护间取得平衡。

Sam Huang, Lee and Li
黄耀赏
资深律师
台北理律法律事务所
电话:+886 2 27638000 转 2360
邮箱:samhuang@leeandli.com

金融领域AI

为应对台湾金融市场日益增强的运用AI技术的趋势,去年12月,金融监督管理委员会发布了金融业使用AI的指导方针草案,供公众反馈。该草案基于委员会《金融业运用AI核心原则与相关推动政策》。六大核心原则如下:

  • 建立治理及问责机制。金融机构在使用AI系统时应对内部治理与对消费者的权益保护负责。其中包括指定高级管理人员监督AI相关活动和建立内部治理框架。
  • 重视公平性及以人为本的价值观。金融机构在使用AI系统时应尽可能避免因算法偏见造成的不公平。AI的使用应以人为本,尊重法治、民主价值观,符合人类可控的原则。
  • 保护隐私及客户权益。金融机构应充分尊重和保护消费者隐私,妥善管理和使用客户数据。
  • 确保系统稳健性和安全性。金融机构须确保其AI系统的稳健性和安全性,以防止对消费者或金融系统造成损害。
  • 落实透明性与可解释性。金融机构应确保其AI系统的透明性和可解释性。当金融机构使用AI与消费者直接互动时,应进行适当的披露。
  • 促进永续发展。金融机构应减少经济和社会不平等,促进包容性增长、永续发展和社会福利。金融机构还应在AI实施过程中为其员工提供培训。

这份指导方针草案是不具约束力的行政指引,旨在通过引入基于风险的评估框架和方法,指导金融机构谨慎使用AI,推行最佳实践。在进行基于风险的评估时,敦促金融机构考虑:

  • AI系统是否直接用于服务客户或内部管理;
  • 个人数据的敏感性;
  • AI系统的自主水平;
  • AI系统的复杂性;
  • 对利益相关者的影响;及
  • 寻求救济的可能性

金融机构应根据评估结果确定适当的风控措施,如保存记录、建立审批流程以及进行审计或评估。该指导方针草案还强调,如AI系统由第三方提供商设计或运营,金融机构实必须落实风险评估和监督,并对责任进行分配。

Lily Kuo, Lee and Li
郭怡利
初级合伙人
台北理律法律事务所
电话:+886 2 27638000 转 2190
邮箱:lilykuo@leeandli.com

政府

许多人将AI最近的发展誉为第四次工业革命。预计AI对未来人类生活和工业发展产生的影响将远超前三次工业革命。

为此,台湾政府推出了《台湾AI行动计划》(2018-2021)和《台湾AI行动计划2.0》(2023-2026)。两项计划都是发展台湾AI产业和推动产业转型的四年计划。这将助力岛内各行业在预期的AI革命中占据优势,将经济发展推向新高度。

《台湾AI行动计划1.0》和《台湾AI行动计划2.0》的重点是:

  • 培养AI人才。大学和研究机构一直在为高级职位培训智能技术研究人员,每年有超过10,000人成为合格的AI技术人员和应用专家。
  • 开放法规与测试场域。台湾已出台《无人载具科技创新实验条例》规范海陆空无人驾驶的载具。此外,台湾智驾测试实验室已经开放使用,成为台湾首个封闭式自动驾驶汽车试验场。
  • 产业AI化。AI专家根据产业需求创造加速创新和数字化转型的解决方案。例如,台北市政府实施了多项智能级项目,以加强安全和交通监控,将智能照明、安全警报和AI车辆识别等功能嵌入道路交通系统中。
  • 应对AI影响。为响应社会呼吁,行动计划强调通过AI解决方案缓解决劳动力短缺和社会老龄化,改善生活品质,使所有人都能从AI中受益。

我们观察到,在过去十年中,台湾政府没有在公共部门积极实施政府主导的AI举措,而是将重点转向为私营部门开发AI解决方案提供框架和支持。

考虑到人们越来越担心AI扩张带来的风险,如错误信息、侵犯隐私和网络安全,《台湾AI行动计划2.0》将AI伦理放在首位,建立国际公认的规范和标准,为AI创建可靠的运营框架。

Chi Lee, Lee and Li
李琦
初级合伙人
台北理律法律事务所
电话:+886 2 27638000 转 2158
电子邮件:chilee@leeandli.com

数据隐私

AI工具经常依赖个人数据或属性来做出自动化决策。欧盟《通用数据保护条例》不仅要求数据控制者披露是否存在自动化决策,而且赋予数据主体拒绝纯自动化决策的权利。台湾《个人数据保护法》与之不同,没有规定类似的披露要求或数据主体权利。

尽管如此,为获得欧盟的充分性决定,台湾政府自2018年以来一直在准备其法案的修正草案。尽管修正草案尚未公开向公众征求意见,但预计修正后的法案将与欧盟法律更加一致,可能会纳入透明性和可解释性要求。

同时,台湾金融监督委员会在其指导方针草案中阐述了以下数据保护的核心原则:

  • 金融机构在使用AI系统时应努力避免算法偏见造成不公平:
    (1)警惕数据的潜在偏见;以及
    (2) 确保依赖个人属性做出的任何AI决策具备合理依据;
  • 金融机构在使用AI系统提供金融服务时,应保护客户隐私,并尊重其不使用AI服务的决定,包括:
    (1) 坚持“数据最小化”原则;以及
    (2) 为客户提供AI服务的替代选择;及
  • 金融机构在使用AI系统与客户互动时,应确保透明性和可解释性,包括:
    (1) 告知客户其权利和利益可能受到何等影响;
    (2) 解释AI算法如何运作;以及
    (3) 公开预测或决策过程。

台湾政府当局现阶段没有制定法律来监管人工智能,而是倾向于发布基本上不具约束力的行政指导方针,寄希望于行业的自我监管。

尽管金融委员会的指导方针尚未正式定稿,且其规定仅供金融机构参考,但在很大程度上,它代表了台湾政府对使用AI处理个人数据以及对其设置哪些要求的立场和态度。

Lee & Ko

台北理律法律事务所

台湾台北市忠孝东路四段555号8楼 ,邮编11072

电话:+886 2 2763 8000

电邮: attorneys@leeandli.com
www.leeandli.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Taiwan: Governing the AI genie

By Ken-Ying Tseng, Sam Huang, Lily Kuo, and Chi Lee, Lee and Li
0
471
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Rapid development in artificial intelligence is creating a worldwide legal minefield. This article examines Taiwan’s approach to AI in copyright, finance, government initiatives and data privacy.

AI AND COPYRIGHT

AI has raised concerns regarding copyright protection. The first issue is whether AI-generated work is copyrightable. In 2018, the Taiwan Intellectual Property Office (TIPO) stated that AI-generated results are not copyrightable because the country’s copyright law protects creations by “human beings” only.

With the rise of ChatGPT, the same issue has surged again; once again, copyright protection authorities worldwide have taken the same position. Similar to its US counterpart, the TIPO opines that copyrightability depends on the level of human involvement in the creative process. The greater the degree of participation by a human creator, the greater the likelihood of the work being copyright-protected.

If a creator’s contribution is limited to providing input prompts to an AI system, the work may not be copyright-protected. However, with the light-speed development of generative AI tools and a swamp of used cases, it can be anticipated that determining the required level of human involvement in the creation process will become more and more challenging.

Ken-Ying Tseng, Lee and Li
Ken-Ying Tseng
Partner
Lee and Li
Taipei
Tel: +886 2 27638000 ext 2179
Email: kenying@leeandli.com

Training an AI model also raises copyright infringement concerns because the training materials may contain copyrighted works. Copyright holders may well argue that AI developers have not obtained proper licences before feeding their works into AI models. Against this, AI developers may have two key arguments:

  • Whether the data employed in generative AI is protected by copyright; and
  • If so, whether the output generated through algorithmic learning qualifies as fair use.

There have not been major AI-related copyright lawsuits in Taiwan, but Taiwanese courts will face such cases sooner or later. To facilitate AI technology development, the traditional fair use theory may need to be adjusted. As AI technology advances, creators can also benefit from adopting AI in their creation. All stakeholders must try to strike a balance between AI development and copyright protection.

AI IN FINANCE

In response to the growing trend of using AI technology in Taiwan’s financial market, last December the Financial Supervisory Commission released its draft guidelines on using AI in the financial industry, for public feedback. The draft guidelines were based on the commission’s Core Principles and Related Policies for the Application of AI in the Financial Industry. Below are the six points of the core principles:

  • Establish governance and accountability mechanisms. Financial institutions should take internal and external responsibility for the AI systems they use. These include designating senior executives to oversee AI-related activities and establishing internal governance frameworks.
  • Emphasise value of fairness and a human-centric approach. Financial institutions should strive to avoid unfairness caused by algorithmic biases in the use of AI systems. The application of AI should be human-centric, respecting the rule of law, democratic values, and human control.
  • Protect privacy and customer rights. Financial institutions should fully respect and protect consumer privacy, and properly manage and use customer data.
  • Ensure system robustness and security. Financial institutions must ensure the robustness and security of their AI systems to prevent harm to consumers or the financial system.
  • Facilitate transparency and interpretability. Financial institutions should ensure the transparency and interpretability of their AI systems. When financial institutions interact directly with consumers using AI, appropriate disclosures should be made.
  • Foster sustainable development. Financial institutions should reduce economic and social inequalities, promote inclusive growth, sustainable development and social welfare. Financial institutions should also provide training to their employees during the AI implementation process.
Sam Huang, Lee and Li
Sam Huang
Senior Attorney
Lee and Li
Tel: +886 2 27638000 ext 2360
Email: samhuang@leeandli.com

The commission’s draft guidelines are non-binding administrative guidance to provide a best practice for financial institutions to use AI prudently by introducing a risk-based evaluation framework and approach. When conducting a risk-based evaluation, financial institutions are urged to consider:

  • Whether the AI system is directly used for customer services or internal management;
  • The sensitivity of personal data;
  • The AI system’s level of autonomy;
  • The complexity of the AI system;
  • The impact on stakeholders; and
  • The possibility of seeking relief.

Based on the evaluation results, financial institutions should determine appropriate risk control measures such as maintaining records, establishing approval processes and conducting audits or assessments. The commission’s draft guidelines also emphasise the importance of implementing risk evaluation, supervision and distribution of responsibilities when an AI system is designed or operated by a third-party provider.

GOVERNMENT

Many have hailed recent advancements in AI as the fourth industrial revolution. AI is projected to have a more significant impact on future human lives and industrial development than the previous three industrial revolutions.

To this end, the Taiwanese government launched its AI Taiwan Action Plan (2018-2021) and AI Taiwan Action Plan 2.0 (2023-2026). Each is a four-year plan to develop the nation’s AI industry and propel industrial transformation. This has given domestic industries an edge in the predicted AI revolution, to drive economic development to new heights.

Lily Kuo, Lee and Li
Lily Kuo
Associate Partner
Lee and Li
Taipei
Tel: +886 2 27638000 ext 2190
Email: lilykuo@leeandli.com

AI Taiwan Action Plans 1.0 and 2.0 focus on:

  • Developing AI talent. Universities and research institutes have been training smart-tech researchers for senior-level positions, with more than 10,000 individuals becoming qualified AI technicians and applications specialists each year.
  • Liberalising laws and opening test grounds. The Unmanned Vehicles Technology Innovative Experimentation Act has been introduced to regulate self-driving vehicles on land, at sea and in the air. Further, the Taiwan CAR Lab (Connected, Autonomous, Road-test Laboratory), the nation’s first closed field for testing autonomous cars, has been opened for use.
  • Transforming industry with AI. AI experts are aligned with industrial needs to create solutions that accelerate innovation and digital transformation. For instance, The Taipei City Government implemented Smart Scale projects to enhance safety and traffic monitoring, incorporating features such as smart lighting, safety alerts and AI-powered vehicle recognition.
  • Responding to the impact of AI. In response to the call from society, the action plans stressed the need for AI solutions to help solve problems such as labour shortages, aged societies and the need to improve the quality of life, so that all people can benefit from AI.

Instead of actively implementing government-led AI initiatives in the public sector, we have observed a trend in the past decade for the Taiwanese government to shift its focus to providing a framework and supports for private sectors to develop AI solutions.

Considering the increasing concerns over the risks associated with the expansion of AI such as misinformation, privacy violations and cybersecurity, the AI Taiwan Action Plan 2.0 further seeks to implement regulations that prioritise AI ethics and establish internationally accepted norms and standards to create a reliable operating framework for AI.

DATA PRIVACY

Chi Lee, Lee and Li
Chi Lee
Associate Partner
Taipei
Tel: +886 2 27638000 ext 2158
Email: chilee@leeandli.com

AI tools frequently rely on personal data or attributes to make automated decisions. Unlike the EU General Data Protection Regulation, which not only requires data controllers to disclose the existence of automated decision-making but also grants data subjects the right not to be subject to solely automated decision-making, the Taiwan Personal Data Protection Act does not stipulate similar disclosure requirements or data subject rights.

Nonetheless, to obtain an adequacy decision from the EU, the Taiwanese government has been preparing draft amendments to its act since 2018. Although the draft amendments have yet to be unveiled for public opinion, it is expected that the amended act will align more closely with EU laws, possibly incorporating transparency and interpretability requirements.

Meanwhile, Taiwan’s Financial Supervisory Commission has elaborated the following core principles of data protection in its draft guidelines:

  • When using AI systems, financial institutions should strive to avoid unfairness caused by algorithmic biases by: (1) staying alert to potential biases in data sets; and (2) ensuring reasonable grounds for any AI-based decisions relying on personal attributes;
  • When using AI systems to provide financial services, financial institutions should protect customer privacy and respect their decision not to use AI-based services, including: (1) adhering to the principle of “data minimisation”; and (2) giving customers alternative options to AI-based services; and
  • When using AI systems to interact with customers, financial institutions should ensure transparency and interpretability, including: (1) informing customers about how their rights and benefits may be affected; (2) explaining how AI algorithms operate; and (3) disclosing the prediction or decision-making processes.

Instead of enacting laws to regulate AI at this stage, Taiwan’s government authorities tend to issue guidelines that are essentially non-binding administrative guidance and resort to industry sectors’ self-regulation.

Although not yet officially released and intended only for financial institutions’ reference, to a considerable extent the financial commission’s draft guidelines represent the Taiwanese government’s stance on the use of AI algorithms for processing personal data and potential future requirements.

Lee & Ko

LEE AND LI
8F, No 555, Sec 4, Zhongxiao E Rd,

Taipei 11072, Taiwan, ROC
Tel: +886 2 2763 8000
Email: attorneys@leeandli.com
www.leeandli.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link