韩国AI监管框架分析

作者: Hwan Kyoung Ko、Il Shin Lee 和 Matt Younghoon Mok, Lee & Ko
0
148
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

当今时代,数字创新正在重塑世界格局,人工智能(AI)正在颠覆行业和社会结构。近年来,全球范围内掀起AI监管浪潮,韩国也相继推出重要的AI政策和监管文件。

从2019年12月宣布《国家人工智能战略》,到2020年12月发布《完善人工智能法律法规监管路线图》,再到2023年5月公布《数字权利法案》,韩国一直在大力推进AI监管体制的形成。

立法和行业监管机构出台的指导方针形成了韩国现行的AI监管制度。本文分析韩国AI立法现状,并探讨AI相关的关键问题,重点聚焦个人信息和知识产权的保护,阐明韩国如何应对AI监管的复杂性和多变性。

Hwan Kyoung Ko, Lee & Ko
Hwan Kyoung Ko
合伙人
首尔 Lee & Ko
电话:+82 2 2191 3057
电子邮件:khk@leeko.com

AI立法

虽然目前尚无关于AI的具体框架法案,但2022年以来,国民议会已经提出多项与AI相关的立法议案。其中值得关注的是《促进人工智能产业和建立可信人工智能框架法案》(人工智能法案),该议案对之前推出的零散议案进行了整合与调整,目仍在审议阶段。

尽管细节尚未敲定,但与欧盟的《人工智能法案》不同,这项立法基于“先采用技术后监管”的原则,旨在扶持AI技术的发展,为产业注入活力。议案还对高风险AI领域提出具体要求,包括强制要求事先通知用户,确保系统可信度和安全性。

但这项议案引发了诸多讨论,有人建议将生成式AI和深度伪造纳入监管,民间团体也发出了反对的声音。因此,最终立法内容还有很多不确定性。

此外,韩国有多部法律涉及到了AI相关的事项。例如,《信用信息使用和保护法》规定,信用数据主体有权要求相关数据控制者对自动化评估和决策作出解释,包括提交有利信息的权利,以及要求更正或删除基本信息的权利。

《个人信息保护法》(PIPA)规定,自动化决策影响对数据主体的权利或义务产生重大影响的,数据主体有权拒绝自动化决策,并要求相关数据控制者作出解释。值得注意的是,即使自动化决策不会对数据主体的权利或义务产生重大影响,数据主体也可以行使要求对自动化决策作出解释的权利。

此外,当数据主体拒绝此类自动化决策或要求解释时,数据控制者不得采用自动化决策,除非有令人信服的理由,或采取必要措施,如通过人工参与重新处理数据并作出解释。

《数据产业振兴和利用促进框架法》虽然并非专门针对AI,但包含适用于AI训练中数据使用的条款,强调保护借助大量人力或物力创建的“数据资产”。

Il Shin Lee, Lee & Ko
Il Shin Lee
合伙人
首尔 Lee & Ko
电话:+82 2 772 5982
电子邮件:ilshin.lee@leeko.com

近期监管动向

(1) 隐私保护。AI技术的发展带来了新的个人信息隐私问题。为应对这些不断演变的隐私风险,韩国隐私事务的主要执法机构——个人信息保护委员会(PIPC)于2023年8月发布了《人工智能时代个人信息安全使用指南》。PIPC倡导以原则为导向的监管方法,旨在促进AI行业发展,同时最大程度防范个人信息泄露风险。

PIPC制定了全面的数据处理标准和保护措施,涵盖从规划、数据收集、训练,到数据提供的整个AI模型开发使用过程。它提倡使用原始视频数据来提高AI品质,并建立“隐私安全区”系统,以促进AI技术的安全开发和测试。

此外,PIPA启动AI监管沙盒和预先评估系统。在这一预先评估系统下,企业可在新服务和新技术的设计开发阶段就合规问题咨询监管机构,与监管机构协作制定合规策略。只要系统的运营环境保持不变,运营商落实这些合规策略,运营商就不会受到行政行动的影响。

为进一步推动AI创新,PIPC于2024年2月发布了非结构化数据匿名化指南,促进非结构化数据在AI开发过程中的应用。PIPC计划年内发布多项关键指南,如《公共个人信息使用指南》,以完善AI监管框架。

这些举措表明,韩国一直在调整国内的隐私法规,以适应AI带来的变化,力求在创新与保护数据主体权利之间取得平衡。

(2) 知识产权。有关AI的知识产权问题大致分为三类:(1)AI模型训练涉及的知识产权保护;(2)AI输出造成的知识产权侵权;以及(3)AI输出涉及的知识产权保护。

在AI训练领域,问题通常出现在数据收集过程中,尤其是通过网络抓取等方法收集在线内容的过程。这种做法可能侵犯图像、文本或程序等原创作品的版权。

鉴于《版权法》没有明确允许将受版权保护的材料用于AI训练,“公平使用”原则在AI情景中的适用性引发争议。“公平使用”原则允许使用人在不过度损害作者合法利益的情况下“公平”使用受版权保护的作品。

Matt Younghoon Mok, Lee & Ko
Matt Younghoon Mok
资深外籍律师(合伙人)
首尔 Lee & Ko
电话:+82 2 6386 1901
电子邮件:younghoon.mok@leeko.com

学术界对此话题的讨论从未停歇,对于“公平使用”条款是否适用于AI训练过程中使用的数据,学者们看法不一。这一法律领域仍在发展中,尚未有直接的法律先例。

与此同时,为适应AI技术带来的变化,韩国正在修订《版权法》。目前,《版权法》修正案正在国民议会审议中。,修正案将文本和数据挖掘纳入法律范畴。根据修正案

的规定,在特定条件下,可将受版权保护的作品用于AI训练,无需获得版权持有人的明确许可。

另外,AI生成作品可能带来知识产权问题,人们普遍的观点是,AI创作可能会无意中侵犯已经存在的知识产权,如商标或公众人物的肖像。但目前对于这一问题,韩国还没有明确的法规或判例。

至于AI生成的作品能否作为知识产权获得保护?韩国的法律解释不承认AI单独创作的作品具有版权。尽管如此,值得注意的是,2023年12月,文化体育观光部与韩国著作权委员会共同发布了《生成式AI著作权指南》,指南提出,如果AI生成作品的修改、提升或编排有人的创意贡献,那么人贡献的部分有资格申请著作权保护。

可以看出,韩国也在努力调和AI对传统知识产权框架带来的冲击。

(3) 建立可信AI的共同行业标准。2023年12月,科学和信息通信技术部与电信技术协会联合发布《增强人工智能系统可信度要求》,旨在建立可信AI的行业标准。

行业标准由政府和政府指定的实体根据《工业标准化法》制定,对特定专业领域的符号、术语、性能、程序、方法和技术设置行业标准,以保证公共安全、保护消费者权益,为会员提供便利。

行业标准包含15项要求,涵盖AI系统的整个生命周期,从风险管理规划和实施到提供有关服务范围和交互主题的解释。这些要求旨在完善AI系统的管理,增加AI系统操作的透明性,以此提高AI系统的可信度。

结论

韩国在积极完善其立法和监管环境,以提高其AI行业的全球竞争力并应对突发风险。即将出台的《人工智能法案》将全面改变AI的监管制度,影响深远。PIPA修正案将于2024年3月起生效,其中关于自动化决策的规定将对部署人工智能的行业产生重大影响。鉴2024年即将出台的《人工智能法案》和后续更多的行业指导方针将如何影响韩国的AI监管格局?我们拭目以待。

Lee & Ko

韩国广场律师事务所(LEE & KO

Hanjin Building, 63 Namdaemun-ro,

Jung-gu, Seoul, 04532, Korea

电话:+82 2 772 4000

电邮:mail@leeko.com


www.leeko.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Analysis of AI regulatory frameworks in South Korea

By Hwan Kyoung Ko, Il Shin Lee, and Matt Younghoon Mok, Lee & Ko
0
845
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

In an era where digital innovation is reshaping our world, artificial intelligence (AI) is emerging as a pivotal force, revolutionising industries and societal structures. In recent years, there has been a global movement towards greater clarity in AI regulatory approaches. South Korea has also been an active participant in this trend, marking significant milestones in AI policy and regulatory framework development.

Starting with the announcement of the National Strategy for Artificial Intelligence in December 2019, followed by the issuance of a Roadmap for Improving AI Law, System and Regulation in December 2020, and then the unveiling of the Digital Bill of Rights in May 2023, the nation has been vigorously engaged in shaping its AI regulatory landscape.

AI regulation is primarily executed through legislation and supplemented by guidelines from sector-specific regulatory bodies. This article examines Korea’s current legislative status concerning AI and explores the pivotal issues of AI, focusing on the protection of personal information and intellectual property rights. This will illuminate South Korea’s strategic approach in managing the complexities and dynamics in AI regulation.

AI LEGISLATION

Hwan Kyoung Ko, Lee & Ko
Hwan Kyoung Ko
Partner
Lee & Ko
Seoul
Tel: +82 2 2191 3057
Email: khk@leeko.com

While there is no specific framework act for AI at present, several legislative bills related to AI have been introduced in the National Assembly since 2022. A notable bill under review is the Act on Promotion of AI Industry and Framework for Establishing Trustworthy AI (AI Act), which consolidates and adjusts previously introduced fragmented bills.

Although the details are yet to be finalised, this legislation, unlike the EU’s AI Act, is known to be based on the principle of “adopting technology first and regulating later”, aiming to support the development and industrial activation of AI technologies. It also proposes specific obligations for high-risk AI areas including mandatory prior notification to users, ensuring trustworthiness, and safety.

However, the debate has brought suggestions to include regulations on generative AI and deepfakes, and there has also been opposition from civil groups to the regulatory approach, indicating that the finalisation of legislation remains to be seen.

Additionally, various laws in South Korea include provisions for regulating AI-related matters. For instance, the Credit Information Use and Protection Act provides rights for credit data subjects to demand explanations regarding automated evaluations and decisions, including the right to submit favourable information, as well as to request corrections or deletions of basic information.

The Personal Information Protection Act (PIPA) also grants data subjects the right to refuse automated decisions that significantly impact their rights or obligations, and to request explanations for such decisions. It is noteworthy that the right to request an explanation for automated decisions can be exercised even if the automated decision does not significantly impact the data subject’s rights or obligations.

Furthermore, when a data subject refuses such automated decisions, or requests an explanation, the data controller must not apply the automated decision unless there is a compelling reason to do so, or shall take necessary measures such as reprocessing through human involvement and providing explanations.

The Framework Act on Promotion of Data Industry and Data Utilisation, while not exclusively tailored for AI, contains applicable provisions for the use of data in AI training, emphasising the protection of “data assets” that are created through significant human or material investment.

POLICY, REGULATORY DEVELOPMENTS

(1) Protection of Privacy.
The development of AI technology has generated new privacy issues in the personal information sector. To address these evolving privacy risks, the Personal Information Protection Commission (PIPC) — South Korea’s primary enforcement authority for privacy matters — announced a policy direction in August 2023 titled “The safe use of personal information in the AI era”. This policy aims to stimulate the AI industry while minimising the risks of personal information breaches, with an emphasis on a principle-based regulatory approach.

Il Shin Lee, Lee & Ko
Il Shin Lee
Partner
Lee & Ko
Seoul
Tel: +82 2 772 5982
Email: ilshin.lee@leeko.com

The PIPC’s policy establishes comprehensive data processing standards and protective measures across all stages of the AI model/service life cycle, including planning, data collection, training, and provision. It advocates for the use of original video data to bolster AI quality and introduces a “privacy safe zone” system to facilitate the secure development and testing of AI technologies.

In addition, the policy initiates a regulatory sandbox for AI and a pre-adequacy assessment system. This pre-adequacy assessment system forms a co-operative framework where regulators and business entities collaborate to devise PIPA compliance strategies for new services and technological advances. Operators in adherence to these compliance plans are safeguarded from administrative action as long as the operational landscape remains unchanged.

To further enable AI innovation, the PIPC issued guidelines in February 2024 for the anonymisation of unstructured data, aimed at assisting its deployment in AI development. The PIPC intends to release several pivotal guidelines, such as the Guidelines for the Use of Public Personal Information, throughout the year to strengthen the regulatory framework pertaining to AI.

These initiatives demonstrate South Korea’s commitment to adapting its privacy regulations to the evolving landscape of AI, balancing innovation with the protection of a data subjects rights.

(2) Intellectual Property.
Intellectual property (IP) issues regarding AI can be broadly categorised into three areas:

  1. IP protection in AI model training;
  2. IP infringement by AI outputs; and
  3. IP protection of AI outputs

In the realm of AI training, challenges often arise during data collection, particularly with methods like web scraping to gather online content. This practice potentially infringes on the copyrights of original works such as images, texts or programs.

Matt Younghoon Mok, Lee & Ko
Matt Younghoon Mok
Senior Foreign Attorney (Partner)
Lee & Ko
Seoul
Tel: +82 2 6386 1901
Email: younghoon.mok@leeko.com

Given that the Copyright Act does not explicitly allow the use of copyrighted materials for AI training, the applicability of the fair use provision, which permits the “fair” use of copyrighted works without unduly harming the author’s legitimate interests, often raises a key point of contention.

However, there is ongoing discourse in the academic community, with differing views on whether the fair use provision should apply to data used in AI training. This area of the law is still developing and direct legal precedents are yet to be established.

Concurrently, an amendment to the Copyright Act, which would introduce text and data mining (TDM) regulations, is being considered. This amendment aims to allow the use of copyrighted works for AI training under specified conditions without the need for explicit permission from copyright holders. This legislative proposal is currently under review in the National Assembly, reflecting efforts to adapt copyright laws to the evolving landscape of AI technology.

Regarding the potential IP issues with AI-generated works, it is anticipated that AI creations may inadvertently infringe on pre-existing IP rights such as trademarks, or the likeness of public figures. However, currently there is a lack of clear regulations or legal precedents that address these concerns.

As for the protection of AI-generated works as IP, legal interpretation in South Korea does not recognise the outputs created solely by AI as having copyright. Nevertheless, it is worth noting that in December 2023, the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism, together with the Korea Copyright Commission, published the Copyright Guide for Generative AI, where the ministry posited that if human creativity is involved in modifying, enhancing or arranging AI-generated works, then those contributions may be eligible for copyright protection.

This stance reflects an ongoing effort to reconcile the nuances of AI’s capabilities with traditional frameworks of IP law.

(3) Establishment of the Collective Industrial Standards for AI Trustworthiness.
In December 2023, the Ministry of Science and ICT, in collaboration with the Telecommunications Technology Association, established the Requirements to Enhance Trustworthiness for AI Systems as a collective industry standard.

A collective industrial standard is one established by the government and government-appointed entities, under the Industrial Standardisation Act, aimed at securing public safety, protecting consumers, and facilitating member convenience by setting standards for symbols, terminology, performance, procedures, methods and technology applicable to specific fields of expertise.

The collective industrial standards include 15 requirements that must be met by stakeholders throughout the entire life cycle of AI systems, from risk management planning and implementation to providing explanations about the scope of service and the subjects of interaction. These requirements are designed to foster trustworthiness in AI systems by ensuring comprehensive management and transparent operations.

CONCLUSION

South Korea is proactively evolving its legislative and regulatory environment to enhance the AI sector’s global competitiveness and manage emergent risks. The impending AI Act promises a transformative shift in the regulatory framework with far-reaching implications.

The provisions regarding automated decision-making under the amended PIPA, which will become effective in March 2024, are set to make a significant impact on industries employing AI. As the country prepares for the introduction of the AI Act and further industry-specific guidelines in 2024, close monitoring and analysis of these advances will be crucial.

Lee & Ko

LEE & KO
Hanjin Building, 63 Namdaemun-ro

Jung-gu, Seoul, 04532, Korea
Tel: +82-2-772-4000
Email: mail@leeko.com
www.leeko.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link