AI监管:印度监管机制一览

作者: Harsh Kumar 和 Vishal Singh,Kaizen Law
0
112
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

随着生成式人工智能(AI)的发展,AI已全面渗透到人类的日常生活,从聊天机器人和语音助手赋能内容创作、营销、客户服务,到更先进的AI应用——医疗诊断、药物发现、个性化娱乐体验以及自动驾驶系统,AI无处不在。

AI的应用场景横跨各行各业,包括研究和教育、工业应用、客户支持和医疗保健等,它有望提升效率和自动化程度,带来更精细化的决策流程。

Statista的数据显示,预计2024年全球AI市场规模将达到3,059亿美元,到2030年,年复合增长率有望达到15.83%。在印度,预计到2030年前AI市场的年复合年增长率将达到17.94%,2024年市场规模将超过54.7亿美元。

印度AI创业生态系统也在蓬勃发展。根据AIM Research 于2024年2月发布的一份报告,AI实体在2023年总计筹资超过5.6亿美元资金。这些数据彰显出AI在印度科技领域与日俱增的影响力。

Harsh Kumar, Kaizen Law
Harsh Kumar
创始合伙人
Kaizen Law
电话:+91 9999191620
电子邮件:harsh.kumar@kaizenlaw.in

现有监管机制

欧盟于2024年1月26日发布了《人工智能法案》的最终草案,基于AI系统的风险程度对其进行分类;但印度尚未出台针对AI及其应用的总体法规。

不过印度对AI的监管方向可从现行法律窥见一斑。如2000年《信息技术法案》(Information Technology Act,简称IT法案)和相关细则,以及2023年《数字个人数据保护法案》(Digital Personal Data Protection Act,简称DPDP法案,如有通知),针对个人数据的处理确立了监管要求,可从几个方面防止AI滥用。

另外,2024年3月1日,电子和信息技术部(MeitY))根据IT法案发布了一份咨询意见,概述了对AI模型的指导方针。该咨询意见要求落实2021年《信息技术(中介指南和数字媒体道德规范)规则》(the Information Technology (Intermediary Guidelines and Digital Media Ethics Code) Rules)规定的尽职调查要求,避免AI训练中的偏见或歧视,并规定,在部署“不可靠”或正在测试的AI工具之前,寻求政府批准,并通知用户处理非法信息的后果。然而,本咨询意见所适用的“重要”平台的定义有待明确。

挑战

但印度还是缺乏一个对各类AI工具进行分级、评估和规范的统一法律框架,这是印度在推进负责任AI发展之路上面临的一大障碍。印度现行法律还不足以应对AI时代的弊端——泛滥的虚假新闻、深度伪造以及AI工具本身的歧视和偏见,最近谷歌的生成式AI模型Gemini暴露出的情况就给了所有人一个警醒。

如果某个AI工具自动使用AI生成抄袭或诽谤内容,或经编程自动生成AI蠕虫(比如Morris II蠕虫)以窃取数据或部署恶意软件,能否追究AI工具的责任?这在印度还没有先例,毕章,根据印度法律,犯罪仅与人类大脑有关,而与AI工具无关。

此外,印度尚无任何司法判例确立对负责任使用AI的测试标准。对AI的规范还面临其他一些限制,下文一一讨论。

Vishal Singh, Kaizen Law
Vishal Singh
律师
Kaizen Law
电话:+91 7459961538
电子邮件:vishal.singh@kaizenlaw.in

1957年《版权法》。《版权法》规定,由人类创作的原创作品才能获得版权保护。因此,AI生成的内容不享有版权。美国和印度最近的案例也突显了围绕AI生成内容版权保护的复杂性。例如,Ankit Sahni试图注册AI生成的艺术品Suryast,但遭到拒绝,因为该艺术品由AI绘画应用Raghav制作。

在印度现有框架下,授予AI著作权也面临重大的现实挑战,比如,鉴于AI会永久存续,这是否意味着AI作品享有永久的版权保护?因此,在考虑给予AI生成作品版权之前,有必要对整个版权法律框架进行全面改革。

数据保护。DPDP法案允许实体在征得个人同意或出于特定合法目的情况下处理数字个人数据。目前尚不清楚,如果AI工具违反DPDP法案,自动从第三方应用程序获取用户个人信息,它会受到何种惩罚。

AI工具一旦获取个人信息,就很难再将这些个人数据与AI工具的预输入训练参数加以隔离, AI似乎也不具备“遗忘”的能力,因此,在数据主体撤回同意后,AI工具能否删除或编辑这些数据?人们对此存疑。

近期政策举措

电子和信息技术部。MeitY采取了各种举措来推动印度负责任创新和AI发展,包括成立各类人工智能委员会以制定政策框架,在多个城市建立物联网卓越中心,以及创建各类技术研究中心,包括虚拟和增强现实、游戏、视觉效果、计算机视觉和人工智能以及区块链技术。

MeitY委员会的建议包括开发国家人工智能资源平台,为人工智能提供公开数据,确定各行业的国家任务,以及修改/制定法规,促进AI的使用。MeitY还推出了国家人工智能门户网站(INDIAai)和人工智能研究分析和知识传播平台等项目。

此外,人工智能国家计划(National Programme on AI)旨在利用变革性技术产生社会影响,重点关注如何利用这些技术促进技能、道德、治理、研发等提升。这些举措反映出印度在促进包容性和创新性增长的同时,努力规范人工智能领域的决心。

NITI Aayog。2018年,印度政府最高政策智库NITI Aayog发布了《国家人工智能战略》(National Strategy for Artificial Intelligence)的讨论报告,重点讨论了AI在医疗、农业、教育、智慧城市和交通等关键领域的作用。

该报告建议建立研究中心、通用云平台和适当的知识产权框架来管理人工智能创新。2021年2月,NITI Aayog发表了《负责任的人工智能原则》,强调安全、公平、包容性、隐私、透明度、问责制和价值观。

随后,在2021年8月,《负责任人工智能的操作原则》发布,概述了政府、私营部门和研究机构的作用,呼吁印度政府参考《欧盟人工智能法案》建立一个基于风险的分级监管制度。

该报告建议对高风险AI进行严格监督、推行负责任的AI实践,确保各利益相关者保持一致,共同推行“技术不可知”治理框架。这些政策文件标志着印度向政策制定方向迈出了第一步,相信不久印度政府会建立起完善的治理框架,推动责任的AI发展。

印度电信监管局(Telecom Regulatory Authority of India,简称TRAI)。2023年7月20日,TRAI发布了在电信行业负责任使用AI的建议。TRAI强调,AI带来了各种风险,如AI工具本身存在偏见,对AI问责缺乏法律依据,AI的决策过程和输出难以解释,AI可能被利用作监控工具等,AI监管势在必行。与NITI Aayog一样,TRAI建议采用基于风险的监管框架,建议加强对高风险AI应用的控制和审查。

印度储备银行(the Reserve Bank of India,简称RBI)。鉴于AI在银行业的广泛应用——HDFC银行、ICICI银行、印度国家银行和Kotak Mahindra银行等印度主要银行已普遍采用AI工具,RBI正在考虑建立一个监管框架,以监督人工智能在银行和金融服务业的使用

考虑到AI算法的复杂性和潜在偏见,以及对数据安全的担忧,RBI旨在出台短期措施来解决这些问题,其中可能包括强制要求银行在使用和部署AI之前向客户披露信息,针对外包核心银行业务——包括使用AI进行信贷承销——制定更严格的规则,以及规范AI算法的存储格式,以加强银行业的透明度、问责和可审计性。

印度标准局(BIS)。BIS于2024年1月发布的印度标准草案IS/ISO/IEC 42001:2023概述了在组织内建立、实施、维护和持续改进AI管理系统的指导方针和先决条件。AI管理系统包括任何旨在管理、监督和优化组织内AI的软件平台。

AI监管需求

随着AI的广泛部署,人们对AI监控、数据安全、个人敏感信息的潜在滥用、社会偏见放大、安全风险、虚假新闻和缺乏可靠性的担忧日趋突出。此外,人们还担心AI会导致失业,并增加国家安全风险,包括干扰自由公正的选举。

最近,在印度,深度伪造事件时有发生,虚假新闻泛滥, DigiYatra应用程序使用面部识别技术加快印度机场安检的做法也引发了争议。这些争议突显了AI监管的重要性——在利用科技的同时,也要积极解决AI滥用的风险,以及使用AI可能引发的道德问题。

AI系统就像一个“黑箱”,其决策过程通常无法评估,这更凸显出AI治理的的必要性,必须通过政策来确保AI系统透明、安全、可追溯及不具有歧视性。正如谷歌CEO Sundar Pichai所言:“人工智能太重要了,不能不加以监管。”

印度要求制定具体的法规,以确保负责任地发展AI,并保护用户免受安全威胁和伤害。印度即将颁布的《数字印度法案》将取代IT法案,针对AI和区块链等其他新兴技术建立一个更加全面的治理框架。然而,鉴于AI的发展日新月异,对新技术的监管应“因地制宜”,建立开放、协商式的治理框架。

Kaizen Law

KAIZEN LAW
4th Floor, Spring House, Plot No 2,

Golf Course Road, Sector 43,
Gurgaon, Haryana – 122011
电话:+91 9999191620
电子邮件:harsh.kumar@kaizenlaw.in
contact@kaizenlaw.in
kaizenlaw.in

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Regulating AI: Navigating India’s challenging regime

By Harsh Kumar and Vishal Singh, Kaizen Law
0
443
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Artificial intelligence (AI) applications have dramatically influenced our everyday lives through generative AI (GenAI), shaping activities including content creation, marketing endeavours, customer service interactions through chatbots and voice assistants, the use of advanced applications for medical diagnostics, drug discovery, the personalising of entertainment, and formulating autonomous driving systems.

AI applications span various industries including research and education, industrial applications, customer support and healthcare, and they promise increased efficiency, automation and refined decision-making processes.

According to Statista, the global AI market is expected to reach a value of USD305.9 billion in 2024, expanding at a compounded annual growth rate (CAGR) of 15.83% until 2030. In India, the AI market is projected to achieve a CAGR of 17.94% through to 2030, and surpass USD5.47 billion in 2024.

The Indian AI startup ecosystem is also thriving and, per an AIM Research report dated February 2024, AI entities have garnered more than USD560 million in funding in 2023. These figures underscore the growing significance of AI in India’s technological landscape.

THE EXISTING REGIME

Harsh Kumar, Kaizen Law
Harsh Kumar
Founding Partner
Kaizen Law
Tel: +91 9999191620
Email: harsh.kumar@kaizenlaw.in

Unlike the EU, which on 26 January 2024 released the final draft of its EU AI Act to classify AI systems based on threats to each AI system, India does not have overarching legislation addressing AI and its application.

However, existing Indian laws, such as the Information Technology Act of 2000 (IT Act) read with associated rules, and the Digital Personal Data Protection Act of 2023 (DPDP Act, as and when notified), establish the regulatory expectations for processing personal data and govern a few aspects to prevent misuse of AI.

For example, on 1 March 2024, the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY) issued an advisory under the IT Act outlining guidelines for AI models. The advisory requires adherence to the due diligence requirement specified under the Information Technology (Intermediary Guidelines and Digital Media Ethics Code) Rules, 2021, prevention of bias or discrimination in AI training, obtaining government approval for deploying AI that is under testing or is deemed unreliable, and notifying users about the consequences of dealing with unlawful information. However, clarity is needed on the definition of “significant” platforms to which this advisory applies.

CHALLENGES

The lack of a central legislative framework to grade, evaluate and govern the implementation of various AI tools is one of the significant handicaps for responsible AI development in India. Existing Indian laws are also inadequate to fully govern the proliferation of fake news, deepfakes, and the bias and prejudices embedded in AI tools, as was recently flagged in Google’s GenAI model, Gemini.

Assigning liability to an AI tool that autonomously uses AI to generate plagiarised or defamatory content, or is programmed to autonomously generate AI worms to steal data or deploy malware for example, the Morris II worm is also untested in India, considering that under Indian laws, criminality is associated only with a human mind and not an AI tool.

Also, no judicial precedents establish the tests for the responsible use of AI. Some additional limitations in governing AI are discussed below.

The Copyright Act, 1957. The Copyright Act makes a work eligible for copyright only if it is original and is the product of human authorship. Hence, AI-generated content is accepted as not copyrightable. Recent cases in the US and India also highlight the complexities surrounding copyrighting AI-generated content. For example, Ankit Sahni’s attempt to register the AI-generated artwork, Suryast, which was produced by the AI painting app Raghav, was denied.

Under the extant Indian framework, granting authorship rights to AI would also present significant practical challenges, including AI having perpetual copyright protection, given its unending existence. Consequently, comprehensive reforms are necessary before considering copyright ownership for AI-generated works.

Data protection. The DPDP Act permits entities to process digital personal data only with individual consent, or for specific legitimate purposes. It is unclear how autonomous AI tools sourcing users’ personal information from third-party apps, in contravention of the DPDP Act, would be punished under that act.

The ability of an AI tool to erase or edit personal data on the withdrawal of consent by an individual is also challenging, considering the difficulties involved in isolating such personal data from the pre-fed training parameters of an AI tool, and AI’s general ability to unlearn.

RECENT POLICY INITIATIVES

Vishal Singh, Kaizen Law
Vishal Singh
Associate
Kaizen Law
Tel: +91 7459961538
Email: vishal.singh@kaizenlaw.in

Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology. The MeitY has undertaken various initiatives to drive responsible innovation and AI development in India. These initiatives include establishing committees on AI to formulate policy frameworks, setting up centres of excellence for the internet of things (IoT) across multiple cities, and creating specialised centres for virtual and augmented reality, gaming, visual effects, computer vision and AI, and blockchain technology.

Recommendations from MeitY committees include developing the National Artificial Intelligence Resource Platform to make public data available for AI, identifying national missions for each sector, and amending/formulating regulations to enable AI usage. The MeitY has also launched projects like the National AI Portal, or INDIAai, and the AI Research Analytics and Knowledge Dissemination Platform.

Furthermore, the National Programme on AI aims to leverage transformative technologies for social impact, focusing on areas such as skilling, ethics, governance, research and development. These initiatives represent India’s efforts to regulate the AI landscape while fostering inclusive and innovative growth.

Niti Aayog. In 2018, Niti Aayog, the apex policy thinktank of the government of India, released a discussion paper titled “National Strategy for Artificial Intelligence”, focusing on AI’s role in critical sectors such as healthcare, agriculture, education, smart cities and transportation.

The paper proposed establishing research centres, a common cloud platform, and appropriate intellectual property frameworks for governing AI innovation. In February 2021, Niti Aayog published “Principles for Responsible AI”, emphasising safety, equity, inclusivity, privacy, transparency, accountability and values.

Subsequently, an approach paper titled “Operationalising Principles for Responsible AI”, published in August 2021, outlines roles for government, the private sector and research institutions advocating for a graded, risk-based regulatory approach akin to the EU AI Act.

The approach recommends stringent oversight and responsible AI practices for high-risk AI, ensuring alignment among stakeholders for technology-agnostic governance frameworks. These policy documents are initial steps in policy formulation in India towards offering a governance framework for promoting responsible AI systems.

Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI). On 20 July 2023, the TRAI issued recommendations for responsible use of AI in the telecoms industry. The TRAI highlighted the necessity of regulating AI because of its associated risks such as bias, accountability issues, the explainability challenges of AI tools for human comprehension, and the potential of AI for surveillance. In alignment with Niti Aayog’s approach, the TRAI proposed adopting a risk-based regulatory framework, suggesting stricter controls and scrutiny for high-risk AI applications.

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI). The RBI is contemplating a regulatory framework to oversee the use of AI in the banking and financial services sector, spurred by the widespread adoption of AI tools by leading Indian banks including HDFC Bank, ICICI Bank, the State Bank of India, and Kotak Mahindra Bank.

Recognising the complexity and potential biases in AI algorithms and concerns regarding data security, the RBI aims to introduce short-term measures to address these issues. These measures may include mandatory disclosures by banks to customers before AI use and deployment, stricter rules for outsourcing core banking functions including using AI for credit underwriting, and standardised storage formats for AI algorithms to promote transparency, accountability and auditability within the banking industry.

Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS). The draft Indian standard IS/ISO/IEC 42001:2023, released by the BIS in January 2024, outlines guidelines and prerequisites for establishing, implementing, maintaining and continually improving an AI management system within organisations. An AI management system would include any software platform designed to manage, oversee and optimise AI within organisations.

THE NEED TO REGULATE AI

With the widespread deployment of AI, concerns about AI surveillance, data security, potential abuse of individuals’ sensitive information, amplification of social biases, security risks, fake news and lack of reliability have become increasingly prominent. There are also worries about AI driving unemployment and elevating national security risks, including interference in free and fair elections.

Recent controversies involving the proliferation of deepfake incidents and fake news in India, and the controversial use of facial recognition technology in the DigiYatra app for faster security clearance at Indian airports, highlight the importance of harnessing AI while proactively addressing its misuse and ethical concerns surrounding its use.

As AI systems often operate as “black boxes” whose decision-making processes cannot be evaluated, this reality also underscores the need for an appropriate policy framework to govern AI, ensuring that AI systems are transparent, safe, traceable and non-discriminatory. As Sundar Pichai pointed out: “AI is too important not to regulate.”

India requires specific regulations to ensure the responsible development of AI and protect users from security threats and harm. The Digital India Act (DIA), which is expected to replace the IT Act, will provide a more comprehensive governance framework for AI and other emerging technologies like blockchain. However, because of the dynamic nature of AI, a sector-specific approach and open, consultative governance frameworks are also essential.

Kaizen Law

KAIZEN LAW
4th Floor, Spring House, Plot No 2,

Golf Course Road, Sector 43,
Gurgaon, Haryana – 122011
Tel: +91 9999191620
Email: harsh.kumar@kaizenlaw.in;
contact@kaizenlaw.in
kaizenlaw.in

 

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link