菲律宾人工智能立法现状

作者: Nilo T Divina 和 Jay-R C Ipac,DivinaLaw
0
132
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

年,在ChatGPT席卷全球的同时,对AI监管的讨论也在升温。各国决策者和其他利益相关者都聚焦于如何最大限度地推动人工智能的创新应用,同时把控与之相关的各类风险。菲律宾也在不断完善国内AI监管体系。

鉴于AI对国民经济可能发挥巨大贡献,2021年5月,菲律宾贸工部发布了该国AI发展路线图,其中包含AI涉及的四个主要方面,即:

  1. 数字化和基础设施;
  2. 研发;
  3. 劳动力发展;
  4. 监管

数字化和基础设施

菲律宾将加大投资构建可靠、安全和平价的互联网接入服务,同时计划建立一个配备可靠、强大的数据基础设施及数据管理系统的国家数据中心。《公共服务法》修正案对上述目标发的实现挥重要影响,该修正案目前规定40%的国外持股限制仅适用于属于公用事业的公共服务领域,而电信提供商和增值服务提供商都不在其列。由于数据中心可以提供的服务不属于公用事业分类,目前数据中心可由外资100%持股。

Nilo T Divina, DivinaLaw
Nilo T Divina
管理合伙人
马尼拉大都会DivinaLaw

研发

2019年,菲律宾颁布了两项法律,以促进AI等领域的技术发展。

《菲律宾创新法案》(第11293号共和国法案,PIA)制定以培育创新驱动国家发展和经济可持续增长的国策。法案承认建立有效、高效的创新生态系统的重要性,并指出这要求政府实施“全政府”方式,确保政策保持一致、优先事项高度统一、各项目实施统筹协调。

《创新创业法案》(第11337号共和国法案),目标是发展菲律宾的创新创业文化,法案计划制定《菲律宾创业发展规划》,对创业公司和创业推动者提供优惠和激励政策。

劳动力发展

鉴于AI引发大规模自动化给劳动力市场带来的威胁,菲律宾最近颁布了《菲律宾数字劳动力竞争力法案》(第11927号共和国法案),优先任务是实施教育数字化转型,推动教育改革制度化,以应对所谓的“第四次工业革命”。

菲律宾还颁布了《第二届国会教育改革委员会法案》(第11899号共和国法案),以提高菲律宾劳动力在人力和数字技术及创新方面的技能和竞争力。

监管

AI监管在菲律宾并非一片空白。菲律宾现行的数据隐私和数据保护法在一定程度上对AI的使用作了规范。

参照欧盟模式制定的数据隐私法规《数据隐私法案》(DPA)的《实施细则和条例》(IRR)规定,未经数据主体同意,“不得仅[基于]自动处理做出任何有关数据主体的具有法律效力的决定”。

对于自动化决策系统,根据DPA规定,如果它“完全依赖自动化处理后的数据做出对数据主体产生重大影响或将产生影响的决策”,那么数据主体有权访问自动化决策程序上的信息。

《数据隐私法实施细则和条例》赋予数据主体对如下信息的知情权:

  1. “自动化处理的逻辑,以及它对数据主体的重要性和预期后果”;
  2. 存在自动化决策和分析;以及
  3. 如果自动化决策系统“完全依赖自动化处理后的数据做出对数据主体产生重大影响或将产生影响的决策”,数据主体还应对“自动化决策过程中使用的信息有访问权”。

此外如果自动化处理过程“完全依赖个人数据做出对数据主体产生重大影响或将产生影响的任何决策”,那么数据主体有权拒绝这样的自动化处理过程。

国家隐私委员会(NPC)还要求登记“可能对数据主体的权利和自由构成风险”的数据处理系统。最初,NPC仅考虑了数据处理可能对数据主体的权利和自由构成风险的自动化决策和分析的使用,因此这样的系统属于强制登记范畴。

现在,自动化决策和分析不再属于“可能构成风险”的范畴,但由于这些系统本身的属性,控制者必须登记其数据处理系统。

最近NPC发布的文件还要求进行任何自动化决策操作或分析的控制者向其报告此情况,具体方式为在登记记录中予以注明,并写明自动化决策或分析操作涉及的数据处理系统,无论此类处理是否“成为做出将对数据主体产生重大影响的决策的唯一依据”。

2022年,菲律宾还通过了第11390号共和国法案《反网络性虐待或性剥削儿童和反儿童性虐待或性剥削材料法案》。该法律认为,使用AI构建“深度伪造”色情视频是一种基于图像的性虐待形式,共享该等视频被视为对儿童实施网络性虐待或性剥削,相关行为将受到法律惩罚。

Jay-r C Ipac, DivinaLaw
Jay-r C Ipac
合伙人
马尼拉大都会DivinaLaw

知识产权

根据《知识产权法》,仅自然人才能创造出具有版权的客体。因此,“AI生成作品不受版权保护”。对于部分由AI生成,部分由自然人创作的作品,“仅后者创作的部分”才具有版权。

根据《知识产权法》的专利条款,计算机程序本身不可申请专利。要让计算机程序获得专利,“在撰写针对计算机程序的权利要求时,应写明程序指令与可编程设备协同工作。简而言之,专利客体不能是计算机程序或软件本身,软件或程序须与硬件共存及协同工作。”由此可看出,只要权利要求能够满足专利要件,那么使用AI的程序作品也可以取得专利。

政策制定

目前,国会有几项议案在审议中。这些议案旨在:制定Al系统开发、应用和使用的原则;确立个人权利,防止AI系统滥用或故障;新建政府机构监督本国AI发展。

参与国际治理

为实现成为区域性负责任AI发展强国的宏伟目标,菲律宾积极参与国际AI治理架构,适当约束AI技术的过快发展。

2021年,菲律宾与其他国家一同批准通过了联合国教科文组织(UNESCO)关于AI伦理的建议,其要求成员国应将人权置于AI开发和使用监管框架和立法的核心。

2023年,菲律宾与欧盟和其他27个国家一起加入了《布莱切利宣言》(Bletchly Declaration),该宣言承认,随着AI不断发展,特别是考虑到AI“操纵内容或生成欺骗性内容的能力”,人权保护、透明度和可解释性、公平性、问责制、监管、安全性、适当的人类监督、道德、偏见缓解、隐私和数据保护变得十分重要。

与此同时,该宣言认识到采取“有利于创新且适度的治理和监管方法的重要性,以最大限度地发挥AI正面效益的同时管控与AI相关的风险”。

这与政策制定者的监管思路不谋而合——防止AI滥用带来的版权问题,打击深度伪造现象,应对AI对菲律宾业务流程外包和原始设备制造业带来的现实威胁。

DivinaLaw

DIVINALAW
8th Floor Pacific Star Bldg,

Sen. Gil Puyat Ave. cor Makati Ave,

DIVINALAW

8th Floor Pacific Star Bldg,

Sen. Gil Puyat Ave. cor Makati Ave,

菲律宾,马尼拉大都会,马卡蒂市,邮编1200

电话: +632 8822 0808
电邮:info@divinalaw.com
www.divinalaw.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

AI and the law in the Philippines

By Nilo T Divina and Jay-r C Ipac, DivinaLaw
0
1715
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

The rapid and global rise last year in the popularity of ChatGPT brought more policymakers and other stakeholders worldwide into the debate on how to maximise innovative uses of artificial intelligence (AI) while also managing the different risks associated with it. The Philippines is no exception.

Cognisant of AI’s vast potential to contribute to the national economy, in May 2021 the Department of Trade and Industry launched the country’s AI Roadmap, which contains four major dimensions for AI readiness, namely:

  1. Digitisation and infrastructure;
  2. Research and development;
  3. Workforce development; and
  4. Regulation

Digitisation and infrastructure
Apart from aiming to have reliable, secure and affordable internet access, the country also aims to build a national data centre with a dependable and robust data infrastructure and data management system. One law that has significant impact on this is the amendment to the Public Service Act, which now makes the 40% foreign equity limitation applicable only to public services that are public utilities, and neither telecoms provider nor value-added services provider is one of them. Since the services that data centres may provide do not fall under the public utility classification, data centres may now be fully foreign owned.

Research and development
In 2019, the Philippines enacted two laws to spur technological development including the field of AI.

Nilo T Divina, DivinaLaw
Nilo T Divina
Managing Partner
DivinaLaw
Metro Manila

Republic Act No. 11293 – or the Philippine Innovation Act (PIA) – declared it state policy to foster innovation as a vital component of national development and sustainable economic growth. It also recognised the importance of an effective and efficient innovation ecosystem, and that this requires the government to implement a “whole of government” approach to ensure policy coherence, alignment of priorities, and effective co-ordination in programme delivery. Republic Act No. 11337 – or the Innovative Startup Act – whose objective is to develop an innovative Philippine entrepreneurial culture, contemplates a Philippine Startup Development Programme that includes benefits and incentives for startups and startup enablers.

Workforce development
Recognising the perceived threat of mass automation that AI brings, the Philippines recently enacted Republic Act No. 11927 – the Philippine Digital Workforce Competitiveness Act – to prioritise the adoption of digital transformation in education and institutionalise educational reforms in response to the so-called Fourth Industrial Revolution.

It also enacted Republic Act No. 11899 – the Second Congressional Commission on Education Act II – to enhance the skills and competitiveness of the Philippine workforce in human and digital technology and innovations.

Regulation
Contrary to usual perceptions, there is a law that regulates (although in a very limited sense) the use of AI in the Philippines using the lens of data privacy/data protection.

Having patterned its data privacy legislation from the EU model, the Data Privacy Act’s (DPA) Implementing Rules and Regulations (IRR) provide that “no decision with legal effects concerning a data subject shall be made solely [based on] automated processing” without the data subject’s consent.

Regarding rights in relation to an automated decision system, the DPA grants data subjects the right to access information on automated processes where (such automatically processed) data “will, or is likely, to be made as the sole basis for any decision significantly affecting, or will affect, the data subject”.

Jay-r C Ipac, DivinaLaw
Jay-r C Ipac
Partner
DivinaLaw
Metro Manila

The DPA IRR includes the data subject’s right to be informed of:

  1. “Meaningful information about the logic involved, as well as the significance and the envisaged consequences of such processing for the data subject”;
  2. Existence of automated decision-making and profiling; and
  3. Right of access to “information on automated processes where the data will, or is likely to, be made as the sole basis for any decision that significantly affects, or will affect, the data subject”.

Additionally, data subjects have the right to object to “automated processing where the personal data will, or is likely, to be made as the sole basis for any decision that significantly affects, or will affect, him or her”.

The National Privacy Commission (NPC) also requires the registration of data processing systems that are “likely to pose a risk to the rights and freedoms of data subjects”. Originally, the NPC considered the use of automated decision-making and profiling only among instances where processing is likely to pose a risk to the rights and freedoms of data subjects, and therefore covered by mandatory registration.

Now, automated decision-making and profiling no longer falls under the umbrella term “likely to pose a risk”, but by themselves make it mandatory for a controller to register its data processing systems.

A recent NPC issuance also requires the controller carrying out any automated decision-making operation or profiling to notify the NPC of the same by indicating in the registration record and identifying the data processing system involved in the automated decision-making or profiling operation, regardless of whether such processing “becomes the sole basis of making decisions that would significantly affect the data subject”.

In 2022, the Philippines also passed Republic Act No. 11390 – the Anti-Online Sexual Abuse or Exploitation of Children and Anti-Child Sexual Abuse or Exploitation Material Act. The law considers the use of AI to construct “deepfake” pornographic videos as a form of image-based sexual abuse, the sharing of which is considered a form of online sexual abuse or exploitation of children, which the law penalises.

INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY

Under the Intellectual Property (IP) Code, only a natural person can create copyrightable subject matter. Hence, “AI-generated works are not copyright protected”. For works that are partially AI-generated and partially created by a natural person, “only those parts that are created” by the latter are copyrightable.

Under the patent provisions of the IP Code, computer programs per se are not patentable. To be patentable, however, “a claim directed to a computer program should be drafted in a manner wherein the program instructions are co-operatively working with a programmable device. In short, it cannot be a computer program or software by itself, rather it must exist and work with hardware.” Hence, a claim that otherwise satisfies the elements of patentability, and this requirement using AI may be patentable.

POLICY MAKING

There are several bills filed in congress that seek to: provide some overarching principles in the development, application and use of Al systems; create individual rights against the misuse or failures of AI systems; and create new government agencies to oversee AI’s development in the country.

INTERNATIONAL PARTICIPATION

Consistent with its objective to be a responsible regional AI powerhouse, the country has likewise adhered to several international instruments that seek to rein in rapid advancement in the use of AI technologies.

In 2021, the Philippines joined other countries in adopting the UNESCO recommendation on AI ethics, which provides that member states are to place human rights at the centre of regulatory frameworks and legislation on the development and use of AI.

In 2023, the Philippines, together with the EU and 27 other countries, also joined the Bletchly Declaration, which recognises the importance of human rights protection, transparency and explainability, fairness, accountability, regulation, safety, appropriate human oversight, ethics, bias mitigation, privacy and data protection as AI moves to advance especially with its “capability to manipulate content or generate deceptive content”.

At the same time, the declaration recognises the importance of adopting “a pro-innovation and proportionate governance and regulatory approach that maximises the benefits and takes into account the risks associated with AI”.

This coincides with the efforts of some policymakers to review AI’s potential for misuse in the realm of copyright – for instance, to investigate the proliferation of deepfakes – and to discuss the AI’s looming threat over the country’s business process outsourcing and original equipment manufacturing industries.

DivinaLaw

DIVINALAW
8th Floor Pacific Star Bldg,

Sen. Gil Puyat Ave. cor Makati Ave,
Makati City 1200, Metro Manila, Philippines
Tel: +632 8822 0808
Email: info@divinalaw.com
www.divinalaw.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link