亚洲各经济体 ESG 法规一览: 泰国

作者: Peerapan Tungsuwan,Varutt Kittichungchit,Muanjit Chamsilpa和Dhiranantha Rithmanee ,贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所
0
400
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

印度

印度尼西亚

日本

新加坡

韩国

台湾地区

泰国

在过去几年中,ESG已成为全球企业董事会的首要议题,在泰国也不例外。随着对气候变化的关注日益高涨,与气候相关的监管格局发生了重大变化,尤其是ESG监管。本文将重点关注泰国近期与环境相关的监管动态。

气候承诺

Peerapan Tungsuwan
合伙人兼可持续发展团队及医疗与生命科学产业团队负责人
贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所
曼谷
电子邮件: peerapan.tungsuwan@bakermckenzie.com

近几年,泰国数次调整对气候的承诺,最重大的一次是在2022年11月向联合国气候变化框架公约(UNFCCC)秘书处提交第二份的“国家自主贡献(NDC)”目标。在最新版国家自主贡献计划中,泰国将其”一切照旧”温室气体减排目标从2020年的20-25%提高到2030年的30%。如果有足够的技术和财政支持,该目标或可进一步提高到40%。泰国《国家自主贡献行业行动计划》亦明确了能源、交通、工业、废弃物、农业五大行业内相关机构的温室气体减排目标、措施及责任。

关键参与方

实现国家自主贡献下的每一项目标都需要各方共同努力,采取全方位措施减少温室气体排放。这些目标需要各政府机构的积极参与,包括自然资源和环境部(MONRE)、工业部(MOI)、能源部(MOE)和交通部(MOT)。许多其他公共机构和私营部门也在其中发挥着重要作用,并已经采取各种重大措施推动泰国实现低碳社会转型。负责泰国当前气候变化相关活动的主要机构如下:

Varutt Kittichungchit
Varutt Kittichungchit
律师
贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所
曼谷
电子邮件: varutt.kittichungchit@bakermckenzie.com
  • 政策层面。泰国自然资源和环境部下属的自然资源及环境政策与规划办公室(ONEP)是国家气候变化政策制定和研究中心,其职责是针对各项气候议题提出政策和战略议案并制定相关政策和战略,开展气候变化相关的研究、调查和开发工作。自然资源和环境部目前正在进行的一项工作是将下属环境质量促进司和自然资源及环境政策与规划办公室(ONEP)的部分部门合并为新的“气候变化与环境司”,专门负责应对气候变化。
  • 工业领域。泰国工业部是国内工业活动的主管部门。具体来说,工业部下属的工业工程司是泰国工厂活动的主要监管机构,其监管范围包括排放监测和废弃物管理。PM2.5等污染物的控制则由自然资源和环境部污染控制司负责。
  • 能源领域。泰国能源部是国内能源相关企业的主管部门,监管对象包括与石油相关的工业企业和发电厂。能源部还对大型国有企业的活动进行监管,比如负责可再生能源生产认证的泰国电力局。
  • 运输领域。交通部下属交通运输政策与规划办公室制定了交通领域的减排计划,另外,财政部修订了车辆课税方案,废除了根据二氧化碳排放量征收燃油车消费税的规定,根据新方案,未来燃油车的消费税税率将高于零排放车辆(ZEV)。
  • 林业和农业领域。目前,与森林有关的活动由自然资源和环境部下属的三个机构负责监管:皇家森林司、国家公园司以及海洋与海岸资源司。土地登记和部分农业用地的分配与管理则分别由内政部和农业土地改革办公室负责监管。
  • 泰国国内碳信用计划。泰国自愿减排计划(T-VER)由公共组织泰国温室气体管理组织制定,旨在促进和支持各行各业自愿参与温室气体减排,并在国内自愿市场上进行碳信用交易。泰国温室气体管理组织基于清洁发展机制经验以及ISO14064-2和ISO14064-3标准制定了泰国自愿减排计划,并为此确立了项目开发、温室气体减排方法、项目注册、碳信用认证等方面的规则和流程。

最新进展

Muanjit Chamsilpa
Muanjit Chamsilpa
环境专家
贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所
曼谷
电子邮件: muanjit.chamsilpa@bakermckenzie.com

泰国政府进行统筹安排的同时,重点关注能够有效促进减排的领域。为实现气候变化目标,泰国近期在法律和监管层面都有新动作:

  • 气候变化法案。自然资源及环境政策与规划办公室正在推进《气候变化法案》第二稿草案,以实施更加严格和全面的气候管理。法案将要求大型政府项目开展气候变化影响或风险评估;建立中央数据库,统计温室气体排放和各区域的气候变化风险;建立一个适当的经济激励机制,鼓励私营部门减少温室气体排放。此外,法案还要求部分实体,如政府机构、指定工厂和建筑物,以及工厂法规定的工厂经营者每年报告其排放量。
  • 植树造林。泰国颁布和修订了若干法律,鼓励利用更多土地植树造林。其中包括:林业主管部门发布新规,推动公共部门和私营部门联合开展造林项目,并建立碳信用共享机制;放宽《土地和建筑税法》(2019)下有资格被定义为农业用地并享受最低税率的单位面积木本植物数量标准。
  • 废弃物管理。泰国将修订1992年《工厂法》,引入污染者付费原则,对产生废弃物的工厂实施更严格的废弃物管控和报告责任标准。
  • 电动汽车。泰国政府批准了一系列措施来促进国内电动汽车的使用和生产,以实现国家电动汽车路线图下的“30/30”政策,即到2030年,将零排放汽车在国内汽车产量中的占比提高到30%。泰国政府已出台一揽子激励措施,包括减免电动汽车进口关税和消费税,以及为2024年或2025年开始在泰国本土生产电动汽车的车企提供有条件的补贴。
  • 泰国分类标准。为减缓气候变化,促进绿色经济和环境友好型经济的转型,泰国中央银行正建立国家分类法,根据业务活动对环境的影响对这些活动进行分类。一期工作聚焦排放“大户”——能源与交通运输领域的经济活动。
  • 提高碳交易质量标准。为实现高质量碳交量,泰国温室气体管理组织根据核心碳原则将 “标准版T-VER”升级为“高级版T-VER”,并批准实施了《巴黎协定》第六条机制下的规则和条件和非营利组织Verra制定的核证碳标准。高级版T-VER为项目开发商提供了额外的可选方案,使其可选择开发符合国际标准要求和符合国际抵消计划(如《国际航空碳抵消和减排计划》)资格的项目。
  • FTI-X交易平台。今年早些时候,泰国工业联合会与泰国温室气体管理组织合作推出了可再生能源与碳信用交易平台FTI-X。该平台可以交易T-VER、Verra和黄金标准机制下的碳信用额度、可再生能源发电单位,以及国际可再生能源证书(I-REC)等三种资产。

企业压力

Dhiranantha Rithmanee
Dhiranantha Rithmanee
环境专家
贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所
曼谷
电子邮件: dhiranantha.rithmanee@bakermckenzie.com

尽管泰国目前没有直接征收碳税,但随着来自投资者、公司总部、客户和消费者(尤其是在欧盟等ESG法律更成熟、具体的地区的消费者)的商业压力越来越大,许多尚未自愿采纳ESG战略来提高企业竞争力的经营者将被要求遵守ESG要求。泰国供应商应为未来的发展趋势做好充分准备。

私营部门的角色

目前,对T-VER项目碳信用额的需求主要来自泰国国内的碳抵消计划(T-COP)。碳信用额用于抵消各机构、产品、活动和个人的温室气体排放。然而,T-VER信用额度可以在国际市场上出售给机构或公司,具体取决于后者的目标和资格标准。

私营部门一直发挥着重要作用,其扮演的角色可能是实施温室气体减排项目的项目开发商,其产生的碳信用额可在市场上出售,也可作为碳信用额买家,购买碳信用额抵消其温室气体排放。

结论

泰国正在全力应对气候变化,在法律层面的动作愈来愈频繁。除上文提到的法律和监管动态外,泰国公共和私营部门之间展开积极合作,包括联合建立更有效、更具有可持续性的碳管理方案,如开发碳捕获、利用和储存项目,以及为这些方案提供便利的法律基础设施。作者预计,ESG领域在未来仍将持续演变。

Baker & McKenzie

Baker McKenzie

25th/F, Abdulrahim Place, 990 Rama IV Road
Bangkok 10500 Thailand

电话: +66 2666 2824

电子邮件: bangkok.info@bakermckenzie.com

www.bakermckenzie.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A regional comparison of ESG regulations: Thailand

    By Peerapan Tungsuwan, Varutt Kittichungchit, Muanjit Chamsilpa, and Dhiranantha Rithmanee, Baker McKenzie
    0
    2188
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    INDIA

    INDONESIA

    JAPAN

    SINGAPORE

    SOUTH KOREA

    TAIWAN

    THAILAND

    Thailand is no exception to the trend of environmental, social and governance (ESG) topping corporate boardroom agendas worldwide in recent years. With the heightened focus on climate change, the climate-related regulatory landscape has shifted significantly, in particular with ESG regulatory developments. This article focuses on Thailand’s recent environmental-related regulatory developments.

    CLIMATE COMMITMENT

    Peerapan Tungsuwan
    Partner and Head of the Sustainability Group, and Healthcare and Life Sciences Industry Group
    Baker McKenzie
    Bangkok
    Email: peerapan.tungsuwan@bakermckenzie.com

    Thailand’s climate commitment has seen some key developments, notably with its second updated Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC), submitted to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) Secretariat in November 2022.

    With the updated NDC, Thailand raises its ambition to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from 20-25% to 30%, based on projected business as usual in 2030. With adequate technical and financial support, the contribution could be increased to 40%.

    The NDC Sectoral Action Plans identify greenhouse gas emissions reduction targets, measures and responsibilities of relevant agencies in five main sectors, namely energy, transport, industry, waste and agriculture.

    KEY PLAYERS

    Achieving each goal under the NDC requires collaborative efforts and comprehensive measures for greenhouse gas emission reduction. These goals require the involvement of various government agencies including the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment (MONRE), Ministry of Industry (MOI), Ministry of Energy (MOE), and Ministry of Transportation (MOT).

    Many other public organisations and the private sector also have an important role to play and have taken significant steps in driving the country towards a low-carbon society. The main bodies responsible for current climate change-related activities include:

    Varutt Kittichungchit
    Varutt Kittichungchit
    Associate
    Baker McKenzie
    Bangkok
    Email: varutt.kittichungchit@bakermckenzie.com
    • Policy level. The Office of Natural Resources and Environmental Policy and Planning (ONEP), under the MONRE, is the national focal point for climate change policy, with the authority to propose and formulate policies and strategies to tackle national climate change issues and to conduct studies, research and development on climate change. The MONRE is establishing a new department with a specific mission on climate change, merging the Department of Environmental Quality Promotion and some sections of the ONEP under the name Department of Climate Change and Environment.
    • Industrial sector. The MOI is the main agency overseeing industrial activity. Specifically, the Department of Industrial Works, under the MOI, is the main body regulating the activities of factories, including emission monitoring and waste management. Pollution control is the responsibility of the Department of Pollution Control, within the MONRE.
    • Energy sector. The MOE is the main agency overseeing energy-related businesses, including the petroleum industry and power plants. The MOE also regulates the activities of major state-owned enterprises such as the Electric Generation Authority of Thailand, which is authorised to certify renewable energy production.
    • Transportation sector. While the MOT plays a vital role in setting out a plan for emission reduction in the transport sector, the Ministry of Finance has also played a crucial role in revising tax schemes for vehicles. Future excise tax rates for internal combustion engine vehicles, now based on the amount of CO2 emissions, will become higher than zero-emission vehicles (ZEVs).
    • Forestry and agricultural sector. Forest-related activities are overseen by three agencies in the MONRE: the Royal Forest Department; the Department of National Parks, Wildlife and Plant Conservation; and the Department of Marine and Coastal Resources. Land registration and the allocation and management of certain agricultural land plots are overseen by the Ministry of Interior and the Agricultural Land Reform Office, respectively.
    • Domestic carbon credits scheme. The Thailand Voluntary Emissions Reduction Programme (T-VER) – developed by a public organisation, the Thailand Greenhouse Gas Management Organisation (TGO) – aims to promote and support all sectors to participate in the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions and trade carbon credits in domestic markets voluntarily. The TGO developed T-VER based on the Clean Development Mechanism experience, and in line with ISO14064-2 and ISO14064-3. In this regard, the TGO has set down rules and procedures for project development, greenhouse gas emission reduction methodology, project registration and certification of carbon credits.

    RECENT DEVELOPMENTS

    Muanjit Chamsilpa
    Muanjit Chamsilpa
    Environmental Specialist
    Baker McKenzie
    Bangkok
    Email: muanjit.chamsilpa@bakermckenzie.com

    The government has adopted a holistic approach, focusing on areas that can effectively contribute to emission reduction. Recent developments on key regulatory frameworks to achieve climate change goals include:

    • Climate Change Bill. The ONEP is pushing ahead with the second draft of the Climate Change Bill for more serious and comprehensive climate management. This will include: provisions on climate change impact or risk assessment of large-scale government projects; a central database on greenhouse gas emissions and area-based risk of climate change; and appropriate mechanisms to provide economic incentives for greenhouse gas reduction among the private sectors. The bill also imposes a reporting obligation on certain entities, such as government agencies, designated factories and buildings, and factory operators per the factory law, to report their emissions every year.
    • Forestation. Several pieces of legislation have been issued and amended to encourage forestation. These include regulations issued by forestry-related authorities to facilitate a carbon credit sharing mechanism under joint forestation projects between the private and public sectors, and more relaxed criteria of woody plant number per unit area, in which use of land under the Land and Building Tax Act, 2019 will be categorised as agriculture use, enjoying the lowest tax rate.
    • Waste management. The “polluter pays” principle will soon be introduced to the waste management regime under the Factory Act, 1992, imposing higher responsibility standards on waste generating factories in terms of waste management control and reporting obligations.
    • Electric vehicles (EVs). A number of governmental measures have been approved to promote the domestic use and production of EVs under the main “30@30” policy under the national EV roadmap, which aims to raise the proportion of ZEVs to 30% of all domestic vehicle production by 2030. The Thai government has already approved a package of incentives including exemption and reduction of import duty and excise tax on EVs, as well as conditional subsidies for EV manufacturing companies that can start domestic production in 2024 or 2025.
    • Thailand taxonomy. The Bank of Thailand has recently launched and has continued to develop a national taxonomy, a standardised classification for businesses when assessing the environmental impact of their activities, on a voluntary basis to promote and support the transition to environmentally friendlier economic activities for climate change mitigation purposes. Its first phase, announced in June, focuses on activities in the energy and transportation sectors, the largest greenhouse gas emitters.
    • Enhanced quality standard for carbon trading. The TGO is upgrading the standard of T-VER from the conventional standard T-VER to premium T-VER based on the core carbon principles for high-quality carbon credits, and applied rules and conditions from the article 6 mechanism under the Paris Agreement and Verified Carbon Standard administered by non-profit organisation Verra. Premium T-VER is another option for project developers to develop projects that meet the requirements of international standards and eligibility for international offsetting schemes, such as the Carbon Offsetting and Reduction Scheme for International Aviation.
    • FTI-X trading platform. The Federation of Thai Industries (FTI), in collaboration with the TGO, launched the renewable energy and carbon credit trading platform, FTI-X, earlier this year. The platform enables the trading of three assets, including carbon credits of T-VER, Verra and gold standard, electricity units generated from renewable energy, and an International Renewable Energy Certificate.

    PRESSURE ON BUSINESS

    Dhiranantha Rithmanee
    Dhiranantha Rithmanee
    Environmental Specialist
    Baker McKenzie
    Bangkok
    Email: dhiranantha.rithmanee@bakermckenzie.com

    Despite no direct carbon tax regime currently in place, with growing commercial pressure from investors, headquarters, customers and consumers – particularly those located in other jurisdictions with more mature and concrete ESG laws, such as the EU – many business operators will have to comply with the ESG requirements if they have not already voluntarily adopted ESG as a strategy to increase corporate competitiveness. Thai suppliers will do well to prepare themselves for developments to come.

    PRIVATE SECTOR’S ROLE

    Currently, demand for carbon credits for T-VER projects mostly comes from the Thailand Carbon Offsetting Programme, the domestic offset programme. Carbon credits are used to offset greenhouse gas emissions of organisations, products, events and individuals. However, T-VER credits can be sold internationally to organisations or companies, depending on their objectives and eligibility criteria.

    The private sector have been playing important roles, either as project developers implementing greenhouse gas reduction projects and generating carbon credits for sale in the market, or as credit buyers for compensation for their emissions.

    Baker & McKenzie

    Baker McKenzie

    25th/F, Abdulrahim Place, 990 Rama IV Road
    Bangkok 10500 Thailand

    Tel: +66 2666 2824

    Email: bangkok.info@bakermckenzie.com

    www.bakermckenzie.com

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link