亚洲各经济体 ESG 法规一览: 日本

作者: 北岛隆次,戸田谦太郎和久保田修平,TMI综合法律事务所
0
342
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

印度

印度尼西亚

日本

新加坡

韩国

台湾地区

泰国

 

年来,环境、社会和治理(ESG)法规在金融和投资领域变得越来越重要。在日本,随着政府和金融业推进可持续发展和企业社会责任,ESG法规的发展势头也日益强劲。

日本出台了多项旨在解决环境问题、改善社会福利、加强公司治理的法规和倡议。本文主要对日本的ESG法规进行概述。

气候变化

Takatsugu Kitajima, TMI Associates in Tokyo
北岛隆次
合伙人
TMI综合法律事务所
东京
电子邮件: takatsugu_kitajima@tmi.gr.jp

根据《全球气候变暖对策推进法》第26条规定,温室气体排放量超过规定量的企业(“特定排放企业”)必须在每个财政年度计算温室气体排放量并向主管商务的大臣报告。

特定排放企业必须报告直接和间接排放量,这与《温室气体议定书》范围1和范围2的要求类似。该法第29条规定,所报告的信息由日本环境省和经济产业省汇编并公布,内容涵盖企业及其所有生产经营场所的排放量。第75条和第73条规定未报告或虚假报告的企业将被处以罚款。

当“特定排放企业”认为其权利、竞争地位或其他合法权益有可能因旗下某个生产经营场所排放信息的公布而受到损害时,根据第27条,企业可申请不公布该场所的排放信息。

此外,《合理使用能源法》第25条要求拥有工厂且能耗达到规定数量的企业(“特定企业”)制定中长期计划,以实现能源利用合理化和向非化石能源转型的目标。该法第16条还要求“特定企业”定期向主管部门提交能源使用报告。根据第17和18条规定,当主管部门发现“特定企业”的工作存在明显不足时,可以向其提出建议或责令其改正。“特定企业”未执行指令的,主管部门可以对其违规情况进行公示。

另据149和150条规定,政府可要求汽车、家用电器、建筑材料等的生产商达到产品能耗效率目标,并在能效改进不足的情况下提出整改建议。

目前,可再生能源的环境价值可以以证书的形式进行交易。日本现有三种绿色证书:可再生能源信用额证书(J-credit)、绿色电力证书和非化石能源证书。这些证书用于企业购电协议和各种报告系统,包括“可再生能源100”倡议、碳信息披露项目和上述法定报告系统。此外,2023年4月,由日本牵头开展的 “绿色转型联盟 ”计划还启动了新的排放交易体系。

废物管理

Kentaro Toda
戸田谦太郎
合伙人
TMI综合法律事务所
东京
电子邮件: kentaro_toda@tmi.gr.jp

《废物处置与公共清洁法》第14条要求获得县知事许可的企业定期收集、运输或处置废料。依第25条规定,无证开展上述活动的企业将被追究刑事责任。对于企业自己产生的废物,根据第12条,企业可自行处置或外包给持证承包商处置。

第26条对将废物管理工作外包给无证承包商的企业规定了处罚措施。第12条就废物处置给出了详细的处理和外包标准,并指导企业如何通过清单系统管理最终处置前的废料流。

第26条对将废物管理工作外包给无证承包商的企业规定了处罚措施。第12条就废物处置给出了详细的处理和外包标准,并指导企业如何通过清单系统管理最终处置前的废料流。

此外,针对不同性质的产品还有专门的回收利用法律,如《促进容器和包装的分类收集和循环利用法》、《特定家用电器再生利用法》、《促进小型废弃电器和电子设备回收法》、《报废汽车回收法》、《建筑材料回收法》和《促进回收和处理循环食品资源相关活动法》。

社会方面

关于商业与人权问题,日本政府根据《联合国工商企业与人权指导原则》,于2020年10月制定了商业与人权相关的国家行动计划。迄今为止,日本还没有关于商业与人权或人权尽职调查的立法。不过,今年4月有报道称,担任七国集团峰会轮值主席国的日本将开始就制定人权尽职调查法进行内部审议。由于讨论尚处于早期阶段,该法律的具体内容不得而知。

Shuhei Kubota
久保田修平
律师
TMI综合法律事务所
东京
电子邮件: shuhei_kubota@tmi.gr.jp

日本政府根据2021年11月发布的日本企业供应链人权工作状况调查结果,于2022年9月发布了《负责任供应链尊重人权指南》,为日本企业在其供应链中实施人权尽职调查提供参考。

此外,日本政府还在今年4月发布了《工商企业在负责任供应链中尊重人权的实用方法参考资料》,就人权政策的制定、对人权负面影响的识别和评估提供了详细的解释和案例研究。这些工作是企业落实指南要求的第一步。

企业在开展商业活动时,需要考虑各种利益相关者的权利,这些利益相关者包括员工、供应商、客户和所在社区成员。日本企业传统上一直注重保护员工的权利。但如今,除自己的员工之外,企业还需要考虑其供应链上其他企业的员工的权利。

在日本,《劳动基准法》是规范就业和劳动关系的法律。《劳动基准法》规范了工人的工作条件,以防止出现童工和强迫劳动等问题。

日本也有一些与少数群体权利有关的运动。日本在最近一次国会会议上通过了一项旨在消除对性少数群体歧视的新法案。该法案旨在增进公众对LGBT群体的了解,从而消除社会对LGBT群体的歧视。

公司治理和信息披露

东京证券交易所制定了《公司治理准则》(CG 准则),准则列出了一个高效的治理架构应遵循的主要原则。CG 准则要求上市企业说明其在落实这些原则方面所采取的措施,其中包括妥善应对可持续发展问题、披露其在可持续发展方面的举措(尤其是在“主要市场”(prime market)上市的公司),以及根据气候相关财务披露工作组或其他同等框架进行信息披露。

此外,1月31日出台的《内阁办公室关于公司事务披露的法令》规定,从今年起,被要求提交证券登记表或年度证券报告的企业同时也必须披露有关人力资本和多样性的信息,包括性别工资差距、担任管理职务的女性比例和休育儿假的男性比例,这些也可能是其他法律要求披露的指标。

TMI Associates

TMI Associates
23/F, Roppongi Hills Mori Tower, 6-10-1
Roppongi, Minato-ku
Tokyo 106 6123, Japan
电话: +81 3 6438 5511

电子邮件: info@tmi.gr.jp
www.tmi.gr.jp

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A regional comparison of ESG regulations: Japan

    By Takatsugu Kitajima, Kentaro Toda, and Shuhei Kubota, TMI Associates
    0
    1405
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    Environmental, social and governance (ESG) regulations have become increasingly important in the world of finance and investment in recent years. These regulations have also been gaining momentum in Japan with the government and the financial industry taking steps to promote sustainability and social responsibility.

    Japan has been introducing several regulations and initiatives aimed at addressing environmental issues, improving social welfare and enhancing corporate governance. This article summarises the ESG regulations in the country.

    CLIMATE CHANGE

    Takatsugu Kitajima, TMI Associates in Tokyo
    Takatsugu Kitajima
    Partner
    TMI Associates
    Tokyo
    Email: takatsugu_kitajima@tmi.gr.jp

    Under the Act on Promotion of Global Warming Countermeasures, companies that emit more than a certain amount of greenhouse gases (specified emitters) are required to calculate and report their greenhouse gas emissions each fiscal year to the minister in charge of the business, as mentioned in article 26 of the act.

    The specified emitters are required to report direct and indirect emissions, which is similar to requirements under scope 1 and scope 2 of the Greenhouse Gas Protocol. Article 29 of the act explains that the reported information is compiled and published through the Ministry of the Environment and the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, and covers emissions from companies and all of their business facilities. Companies that fail to report, or make a false report, are subject to a fine (articles 75 and 73).

    A specified emitter may submit a request to abstain from publishing one of its business facilities’ emissions information when it considers that there is a risk that its rights, competitive position or other legitimate interests could be harmed by such publication (article 27).

    Furthermore, article 25 of the Act on Rationalising Energy Use requires companies that have factories and use a certain amount of energy (specified business) to prepare medium and long-term plans for achieving the targets for rationalising the use of energy and shifting to non-fossil energy. Article 16 of the act also requires a specific business to submit periodic reports on the use of such energy to the ministry in charge of the business. When the ministry finds the efforts of a specified business are significantly insufficient, the ministry may give the specified business advice or instructions. If the specified business fails to follow the instructions, the ministry may publicise the finding (articles 17 and 18).

    The government may require manufacturers of automobiles, home appliances, building materials, etc., to achieve energy consumption efficiency targets for their products, and may make recommendations if efficiency improvements are insufficient (articles 149 and 150).

    The environmental value of renewable energy is being traded as a certificate, Japan has three types of certificates: J-credit (derived from renewable energy); green electricity certificates; and non-fossil certificates. These certificates are used in corporate power purchase agreements and in various reporting systems including Renewable Energy 100, the Carbon Disclosure Project and the above-mentioned statutory reporting system. Also, a new emissions trading system was launched in the Japan-led initiative Green Transformation League in April 2023.

    WASTE MANAGEMENT

    Kentaro Toda
    Kentaro Toda
    Partner
    TMI Associates
    Tokyo
    Email: kentaro_toda@tmi.gr.jp

    Article 14 of the Waste Disposal and Public Cleansing Act requires companies licensed by the prefectural governor to collect, transport or dispose of waste material on a regular basis. Companies could be criminally liable if they conduct such operations without a licence (article 25). When companies dispose of the waste they generate, they must either dispose of it by themselves or outsource the disposal to a licensed contractor (article 12).

    A penalty applies if companies outsource waste management works to an unlicensed contractor (article 26). Article 12 of the act also sets out detailed treatment and outsourcing standards for waste disposal, as well as how the flow of waste material up to final disposal is to be managed through the manifest system.

    Under the Act on the Promotion of Effective Utilisation of Resources, 10 industries and 69 items that require the making of special reduce, reuse, recycle (3R) efforts are designated, and specific details are given on 3R measures that business operators should voluntarily work on at the product manufacturing, designing or labelling stages.

    In addition, other recycling laws such as the Act on the Promotion of Sorted Collection and Recycling of Containers and Packaging, the Act on Recycling of Specified Home Appliances, the Act on Promotion of Recycling of Small Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment, the Act on Recycling of End-of-Life Automobiles, the Act on Recycling of Construction Materials and the Act on Promotion of Recycling and Related Activities for Treatment of Cyclical Food Resources are applied according to the nature of individual items.

    SOCIAL ASPECTS

    Regarding business and human rights issues, the Japanese government formulated its own national action plan in relation to business and human rights in October 2020, in accordance with the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights. In Japan, there is no legislation to date on business and human rights, or human rights due diligence. However, it was reported in April this year that the Japanese government, holding the G7 Summit presidency, will begin its internal consideration regarding the enactment of a law on human rights due diligence. Since the discussion is at an early stage, the details of what the legislation will entail are not yet known.

    Shuhei Kubota
    Shuhei Kubota
    Associate
    TMI Associates
    Tokyo
    Email: shuhei_kubota@tmi.gr.jp

    The Japanese government has issued the Guidelines on Respecting Human Rights in Responsible Supply Chains in September 2022, based on the result of a survey on the status of human rights efforts in the supply chains of Japanese companies, which was released in November 2021. These guidelines were established to serve as a reference for Japanese companies to implement human rights due diligence in their supply chains.

    Furthermore, in April this year, the government published the Reference Material on Practical Approaches for Business Enterprises to Respect Human Rights in Responsible Supply Chains to provide detailed explanations and case studies on the formulation of human rights policies, and the identification and assessment of negative impacts on human rights, which are the first step for companies that implement initiatives in accordance with the guidelines.

    When conducting business activities, a company needs to consider the various rights of its stakeholders, including employees, suppliers, customers and members of the local community. Traditionally, Japanese companies have focused on protecting the rights of their employees. However, companies nowadays also need to consider the rights of their own employees and also the employees of companies in their supply chain.

    In Japan, the Labor Standards Act is the law governing employment and labour relations. The Labor Standards Act establishes rules regarding working conditions for workers and regulates them so that, among others, problems of child labour and forced labour do not arise.

    There are also movements in Japan related to the rights of minorities. A new bill to eliminate discrimination against sexual minorities passed during the latest session of the parliament. The bill aims to eliminate discrimination by improving the understanding of LGBT people and promoting the understanding of the LGBT community to the public.

    GOVERNANCE AND DISCLOSURE

    The Tokyo Stock Exchange has established the Corporate Governance Code (CG Code), which sets out the main principles that contribute to effective corporate governance. In the CG Code, listed companies are required to explain their efforts and activities related to the principles of the code, which include the appropriate responses to sustainability issues, disclosure of their initiatives on sustainability (particularly for companies listed on the prime market) and disclosure based on the Task Force on Climate-Related Financial Disclosures or other equivalent frameworks.

    In addition, the Cabinet Office Order on Disclosure of Corporate Affairs was enacted on 31 January and mandates those companies required to submit the securities registration statement or annual securities report to also disclose information on human capital and diversity, including that related to the gender wage gap, the ratio of women in management positions and the ratio of men taking childcare leave in case the companies disclose these indices under other laws, starting from this year.

    TMI Associates

    TMI Associates
    23/F Roppongi Hills Mori Tower
    6-10-1 Roppongi, Minato-ku
    Tokyo 106 6123, Japan
    Tel: +81 3 6438 5511

    Email: info@tmi.gr.jp
    www.tmi.gr.jp

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link