亚洲各经济体 ESG 法规一览: 印度

作者: Radhika M Dudhat,Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co
0
376
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

印度

印度尼西亚

日本

新加坡

韩国

台湾地区

泰国

环境、社会和治理(ESG)是负责任行为的代名词。其实,在印度,ESG的核心原则并不陌生,只是缺乏统一的监管体系,相关规定散见于各种法律中。

而现在,ESG报告披露成为了企业必须遵守的要求,这也标志着ESG已形成一个集中统一的监管框架。ESG正式将企业的增长、盈利能力和价值与企业的可持续发展、道德和责任商数直接挂钩。

ESG监管带来的影响尚未完全显现,但它对企业价值和信誉评估的影响是显而易见的。

法规更新

Radhika M Dudhat, Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co
Radhika M Dudhat
合伙人
Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co
孟买
电话: + 91 98 2012 3166
电子邮件: radhika.dudhat@amsshardul.com

2021年,印度证券交易委员会(SEBI)将《企业责任与可持续发展报告》(BRSR)规定为新的报告格式,取代了之前的《企业责任报告》(BRR)格式。

根据2015年SEBI《上市义务和披露要求条例》第34(2)(f)条,印度市值排名前1000家上市公司必须遵守BRSR框架。这些企业必须根据SEBI不时发布的指引,以规定的格式提交所要求的信息。

SEBI最近还推出了一个全新的ESG报告框架,称为“企业责任与可持续发展报告核心版”(BRSR Core),提炼出BRSR的关键要素,并规定了ESG报告的具体参数。随着时间的推移,这些披露将有助于提升信息透明度和问责制水平,使监管机构、投资者、贷款人和利益相关者对企业有更深入的了解。

其他上市实体,包括中小板上市实体,可根据情况自愿提交BRSR报告或自愿为本公司或其价值链获取BRSR Core保证。

BRSR目前分为三部分,即一般披露(强制性)、管理和流程披露(强制性)以及原则性绩效披露,原则性披露又分为基本指标(强制性)和领导力指标(自愿性)。

被强制要求提交BRSR报告的所有企业都应该披露基本指标,在承担环境、社会和道德责任方面有更进一步追求的企业还可自愿披露领导力指标。

BRSR要求披露的一些重要信息如下:

  • 概述企业的重大ESG风险和机遇、减轻或适应此类风险的方法,以及相关财务影响;
  • 与可持续发展相关的目标、指标和绩效;
  • 与环境相关的信息披露涵盖多个方面,包括资源消耗使用情况(能源和水)、空气污染物排放量、温室气体排放量、废物产生量和管理方法、向循环经济转型的情况以及生物多样性;及
  • 涉及员工、社区和消费者的社会信息披露,如性别和社会多样性,包括针对不同能力员工的措施、离职率、产假和陪产假福利、固定工和合同工的福利、健康和安全培训等。还包括有关社会影响力评估、恢复和安置、企业社会责任的披露,以及涉及到数据隐私和网络安全的产品标签、产品召回和消费者投诉情况的披露。

已经根据国际公认的报告框架(如全球报告倡议组织、可持续发展会计标准委员会、气候相关财务信息披露工作组或综合报告(Integrated Reporting))编制和披露可持续发展报告的上市公司,可将根据上述框架进行的披露与根据BRSR报告框架要求进行的披露作交叉对照。

SEBI成立了ESG咨询委员会,就ESG相关事宜提供战略建议。最近,SEBI还修订了1999年《SEBI信用评级机构条例》(CRA条例),新增一章对ESG评级提供商(ERP)注册作出规定。

根据CRA条例,ERP必须向SEBI注册登记。已经开展ESG评级业务的现有评级提供商可在CRA条例实施之日起六个月内或SEBI规定的其他期限内继续提供评级服务。

评级提供商必须满足条例规定的严苛标准才能在SEBI注册成为ERP,或获得SEBI颁发的证书。

实质性标准包括:该提供商是根据印度2013年《公司法》成立的公司;在公司章程中将ESG评级活动指定为主营业务;非SEBI注册信用评级机构或其他中介机构;任命一名合规官,并聘用符合SEBI条件的技术员和专业人员;按照CRA条例规定保持净资产为正净值;申请之日前三年内未被SEBI拒绝颁发证书,未被SEBI视为不适当,亦未因违反1992年《印度证券交易委员会法》的规则或条例而被采取任何执法行动;颁发证书符合投资者的利益。

所有ERP都必须保存SEBI不时要求的文件或信息至少五年。这些文件或信息包括但不限于CRA条例指定的账簿、记录、协议、与客户的通信、ESG记录,以及客户的ESG审计报告。

此外,ERP必须遵守CRA条例附表7规定的行为守则,确保充分的保密性和透明度,避免在提供ESG评级服务时出现任何利益冲突。

可持续投资

投资者越来越关注可持续发展投资,从可持续发展基金总资产和资金流入的增加可看出。在印度,以ESG为主题的基金也在迅速发展,这表明投资者对可持续投资的关注度和需求在不断增加。

印度储备银行也于2023年5月3日发布了一份题为《迈向更清洁、更绿色的印度》的报告,聚焦整体经济可持续发展和减少碳排放。该报告涉及气候变化的四个关键方面,即气候变化空前的速度和规模、其对宏观经济的影响、对金融稳定的影响以及缓解气候风险的策略。

随着投资者日益关注影响力投资,监管机构也同步跟上,不断创新监管手段,《绿色信贷计划实施细则》和绿色共同基金提案就是新的尝试。

政府和监管机构正在利用ESG积极开展负责任行动,且侧重点不仅在于为利益相关者创造财富,还注重保障非利益相关者的利益,毕竟,不计成本的无序增长也会损害他们的利益。对企业的要求已经非常明确,即,企业在创造利润的同时,必须同时对地球和人类负责。

变革浪潮

监督企业增长影响、积极开展问责显然是SEBI的职责所在。因此,ESG框架旨在将可持续发展报告提升到与财务报告相同的高度。

ESG正迅速成为企业价值创造的基本要素。但是,企业要有内在意愿,而且要努力运用各种手段,才可让所有感兴趣的利益相关者树立ESG意识,让他们对ESG的基本要素、适用的监管框架、评级标准和行业趋势有必要的了解。

只有抓住ESG的精髓,并把它落到实处,ESG的实际影响力才能完全体现。它给企业带来的价值远远超过财务报表。ESG不只是僵化的法律条文,也不只是一堆财务数据,只有理解其中的细微差别,才能真正实现可持续发展。

通过BRSR和ESG评级标准的实施,SEBI在印度企业中制造了一种紧迫感,迫使其建立内部机制并采取实践措施,以满足可持续发展制度下的必要要求。现在我们应该停下脚步,认清信息披露、内部标准、流程和风险管理能力的重要性。企业应对突发事件、风险和干扰的能力取决于其逆境商数。而企业的ESG商数构成了其逆境商数的一个内在方面。

因此,ESG商数是衡量企业负责任行动表现的关键指标,为了凸显其重要性,印度监管机构采取了强制实施的手段,同时,还希望鼓励利益相关者向ESG商数高的企业和项目投资和提供贷款。

终有一日,我们将见证ESG制度带来的影响力,而且我们已经看到,印度企业的基因和意识都正在发生变化。

Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co

Express Towers, 23/F, Nariman Point

Mumbai, Maharashtra – 400 021, India

执行主席:

Shardul Shroff

管理合伙人:
Pallavi Shroff and Akshay Chudasama

电话: +91 22 4933 5555
电子邮件: Connect@AMSShardul.com

www.amsshardul.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A regional comparison of ESG regulations: India

    By Radhika M Dudhat, Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co
    0
    1545
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    Environmental, social and governance (ESG) is synonymous with responsible action. In India, the essence and recognition of ESG has been around for some time, but regulation was fragmented and spread across various legislation.

    With ESG-related reporting requirements, it has now come under a focused and unified regulatory framework. ESG has formally established a direct correlation in measuring the growth, profitability and value of an enterprise with its sustainability, ethics and responsibility quotient.

    While the full implications of regulating ESG performance are yet to be seen, its impact is palpable in the assessment of value and credibility of an enterprise.

    REGULATION UPDATE

    Radhika M Dudhat, Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co
    Radhika M Dudhat
    Partner
    Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co
    Mumbai
    Tel: + 91 98 2012 3166
    Email: radhika.dudhat@amsshardul.com

    The Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) prescribed the Business Responsibility and Sustainability Report (BRSR) as the new reporting format in 2021, replacing the previous Business Responsibility Report (BRR) format.

    As per regulation 34(2)(f) of the SEBI (Listing Obligations and Disclosure Requirements) Regulations, 2015, compliance with the BRSR framework is mandatory for India’s top 1,000 listed companies (by market capitalisation). They must submit the requested information in the prescribed format according to guidelines that may be issued by the SEBI from time to time.

    The SEBI also recently introduced a novel ESG reporting framework called the Business Responsibility and Sustainability Reporting Core (BRSR Core), which brings out critical elements of the BRSR and sets out specific parameters for ESG reporting. The disclosures will, over time, create transparency and accountability, enabling the regulators, investors, lenders and stakeholders to have deeper insights about a company.

    Other listed entities, including those listing their specified securities on the exchange for small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), or SME exchanges, may voluntarily file the BRSR or voluntarily obtain the assurance of the BRSR Core for themselves or for their value chain, as the case may be.

    The BRSR is currently divided into three parts, including general disclosures (mandatory); management and process disclosures (mandatory); and principle-wise performance disclosures, which are further segregated into essential (mandatory) and leadership (voluntary) indicators.

    While the essential indicators are expected to be disclosed by every entity mandated to file the BRSR, the leadership indicators may be voluntarily disclosed by entities aspiring to progress to a higher level in their quest to becoming environmentally, socially and ethically responsible.

    Additionally, a few of the key disclosures sought in the BRSR include:

    • Overview of an entity’s material ESG risks and opportunities, approach to mitigate or adapt to such risks, along with the financial implications;
    • Sustainability related goals, targets and performance;
    • Environment-related disclosures covering various aspects including resource consumption usage (energy and water), air pollutant emissions, greenhouse gases emissions, waste generated and management practices, transitioning to a circular economy and biodiversity; and
    • Social disclosures covering the workforce, communities and consumers, such as gender and social diversity, including measures for differently abled employees, turnover rates, maternity and paternity benefits, welfare benefits to permanent and contractual employees or workers, health and safety training, among others. Disclosures on social impact assessments, rehabilitation and resettlement, corporate social responsibility, as well as disclosures on product labelling, product recall, and consumer complaints in respect of data privacy and cybersecurity.

    Listed companies already preparing and disclosing sustainability reports based on internationally accepted reporting frameworks (such as the Global Reporting Initiative, the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board, the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures or Integrated Reporting) may cross-reference disclosures made under such frameworks to disclosures sought under the BRSR reporting framework.

    The SEBI has constituted an ESG advisory committee to assist with strategic advice on ESG-related matters, and recently notified a separate chapter on ESG rating providers (ERPs) under the Securities and Exchange Board of India (Credit Rating Agencies) Regulations, 1999 (CRA regulations).

    Pursuant to the CRA regulations, the ERPs are now required to register with the SEBI. In the event there are existing rating providers providing ratings in the ESG space, they may continue to do so for a period of six months from the date of enforcement of the CRA regulations, or other period specified by the SEBI.

    For the granting of a certificate or registration with the SEBI, the ERPs are required to fulfil certain stringent criteria.

    The substantial list includes: being a company under the Companies Act, 2013; specifying ESG rating activity as the main object in the memorandum of association; not being a credit rating agency or any other intermediary registered with the SEBI; appointing a compliance officer and employing technical and competent professionals to the satisfaction of the SEBI; maintaining positive net worth as specified in CRA regulations; during the past three years from filing the registration application has not been refused a certificate, or been deemed not fit and proper by the SEBI, or subject to any enforcement action for contravention of the Securities and Exchange Board of India Act, 1992 rules or regulations; and granting a certificate would be in the interest of investors.

    Every ERP is required to keep and maintain all such documents or information as may be requested by the SEBI from time to time, for at least five years. These include but are not limited to books of accounts, records, agreements, correspondence with clients, ESG notes and ESG audit reports of its clients as specified under the CRA regulations.

    In addition, the ERPs are required to abide by the code of conduct set out under the seventh schedule of the CRA regulations, ensuring adequate levels of confidentiality and transparency, and preventing any conflict of interest while providing the ERP ratings.

    SUSTAINABILITY INVESTMENT

    There is an increasing focus of investors on sustainability investing, which may be reflected in an increase in total assets and inflows in sustainable funds. ESG-themed funds are also rapidly gaining momentum in India, indicating an increasing focus on, and appetite for, sustainability investing.

    The Reserve Bank of India also released a report on 3 May 2023, titled Towards a Cleaner Greener India, with a focus on overall sustainable growth and reduction in carbon emissions. The report addresses the four critical aspects of climate change, namely, the unprecedented scale and pace of climate change, its macroeconomic impacts, and financial stability implications and strategies to mitigate climate risks.

    Investors are now moving towards impact investment options, and in response regulators are creating and implementing new innovative strategies including the proposed Green Credit Programme Implementation Rules and Green Mutual Funds.

    The government and regulators are using ESG to actively implement responsible action that focuses not only on creating wealth for stakeholders but also safeguarding the interests of non-stakeholders who are otherwise impacted by the unchecked gusto of growth at any cost. The responsibility of an entity towards the planet, people and profit is now a clear requirement in any entity’s growth story.

    WAVE OF CHANGE

    Monitoring the impact of growth and accountability is clearly the diktat of the SEBI. As a result, the ESG framework aims to bring sustainability reporting on par with financial reporting.

    ESG is rapidly becoming an essential ingredient for value creation in an organisation. But it does require inherent will, effort and means to educate all interested stakeholders in creating the necessary understanding of the essentials of ESG, the applicable regulatory framework, its rating criteria and industry trends.

    The actual impact of ESG can be seen when implemented in spirit. It brings value to an organisation way beyond its financial statements. Understanding the nuances of ESG beyond the letter of the law and financials is key in gaining insights into the sustainability aspects of an organisation.

    Through the BRSR and the ESG rating standards, the SEBI has created urgency in corporate India to create structures and adopt practices in an organisation to fulfil necessary requirements under a sustainability regime. It’s time to take a step back and understand the criticality of the disclosures, internal standards, processes and risk management capabilities. The ability of an organisation to respond to unforeseen events, risks and disruptions depends on its adversity quotient. The ESG quotient of an organisation forms an intrinsic aspect of its adversity quotient.

    Hence, the ESG quotient is a key measure of responsible action of any organisation, and the Indian regulators are looking to amplify its importance not only by enforcing it, but also encouraging stakeholders to invest and lend to enterprises and projects with a strong ESG quotient.

    In time, we will witness the impact of ESG regime, but one can already see the wave of change in the DNA of corporate India, and its awareness.

    Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co

    Express Towers, 23rd Floor

    Nariman Point, Mumbai

    Maharashtra – 400 021, India

    Executive Chairman:
    Shardul Shroff

    Managing Partners:
    Pallavi Shroff and Akshay Chudasama

    Contact details:
    Tel: +91 22 4933 5555
    Email: Connect@AMSShardul.com

    www.amsshardul.com

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link