温斯顿香港、林朱将于明年关闭

0
270
温斯顿香港、林朱将于明年关闭
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

温斯顿律师事务所的香港办公室和林朱律师事务所将于2024年初关闭,后者是“四大”之一安永在香港的法律网络成员。

温斯顿表示,香港办公室将于2024年1月1日关闭。“在仔细分析不断变化的客户需求和香港的法律市场后,我们决定整合亚洲资源。本所将继续通过我们的中国上海办事处,以及与元达律师事务所的战略联盟元达温斯顿,为在该地区开展业务的客户提供服务,”该所说。

温斯顿香港办公室成立于2008年,主要提供跨境并购、资本市场,以及知识产权服务。根据该所官网信息,香港办公室由合伙人及亚洲业务部主席陆志明领导,其他合伙人包括郑杰雄和郑念盟。温斯顿的声明提及部分香港律师将会转移到其他办公室。

由于温斯顿已于2017年关闭了北京和台北办事处,最新举措将使得该所在亚洲的驻地仅剩上海。元达温斯顿亦位于上海。

林朱将于2024年1月23日停止运作。安永大中华区在一份声明中说,“我们正作出相应安排,确保客户服务不受影响”,同时表示正在考虑通过收购或联盟等方案,为香港提供新的法律服务。

该所官网目前仍能查询管理合伙人朱静文的信息,另一名合伙人李辉已被移除。

今年多家外资所调整中国布局。年利达律师事务所于9月解雇了北京、上海和香港办事处至少20名律师。瑞生国际律师事务所与瑞格律师事务所缩减了内地律所规模。贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所2018年以来在内地的律师人数由60人缩减到15人,但香港办公室的成员从154人增加到了162人。

亦有部分外资律所扩大布局,将目光转移至中国南部深圳,例如鸿鹄律师事务所夏礼文律师事务所和摩根路易斯律师事务所

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Closure on cards for Winston Hong Kong, LC Lawyers next year

0
503
Winston Hong Kong and LC Lawyers shut down
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Winston & Strawn’s Hong Kong office will shut down at the beginning of next year, along with LC Lawyers, a Hong Kong law firm member of the global network of EY, one of the Big Four.

The Hong Kong office of Winston & Strawn will close on 1 January 2024. “After carefully analysing changing client needs and the legal market in Hong Kong, we have decided to consolidate our resources in Asia. The firm will continue to service clients with business in the region from our office in Shanghai, China, and through our strategic alliance YuandaWinston with Yuanda China Law Offices,” said the firm.

Established in 2008, Winston & Strawn’s Hong Kong office mainly offered services in cross-border M&A, capital markets and intellectual property. The firm’s website said partner and Asia business department chairman Simon Luk led the office, with other partners including David Cheng and Gino Cheng. The firm’s announcement also mentioned that some of the lawyers in Hong Kong will be relocated to other offices.

Following the closure of its Beijing and Taipei offices in 2017, Winston & Strawn’s latest decision will leave Shanghai as its only location in Asia. YuandaWinston is also based in Shanghai.

LC Lawyers will cease operations on 23 January 2024. EY Greater China said, “We are making appropriate arrangements to ensure client services are not affected”, adding that it is considering options such as acquisitions or alliances to provide new legal services in Hong Kong.

Currently, the firm’s website still lists managing partner Rossana Chu, but another partner Li Fai has been removed.

This year, several foreign law firms adjusted their China strategies. In September, Linklaters dismissed at least 20 lawyers from its Beijing, Shanghai and Hong Kong offices. Latham & Watkins and Ropes & Gray reduced the scale of their mainland China offices. Since 2018, Baker McKenzie has cut its mainland China lawyer count from 60 to 15, although its Hong Kong office staff increased from 154 to 162.

Some foreign law firms are expanding their footprint, shifting focus to southern China’s Shenzhen, including Bird & Bird, Holman Fenwick Willan and Morgan Lewis.

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link