关于文化和语言的专家证据

0
283
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

LEXICON专栏曾探讨过与专家证据(如《商法》第10期第4辑文章《专家证据》)和法庭文化(如《商法》第11期第3辑文章《法庭中的文化因素》)相关的话题。本期专栏节选自作者近期所作的一个关于文化和语言在民商事纠纷中的影响的演讲。演讲在新西兰的一个研讨会上发表,研讨会由新西兰亚洲律师协会和新西兰法律协会主办,围绕着亚洲律师职业和涉亚诉讼展开,新西兰首席大法官Helen Winkelmann参加了研讨会。

专家证人的作用

首先,我想介绍一下我在这方面的工作。我既作为外国法(包括中国法)专家受邀在澳大利亚和新西兰出庭担任过专家证人,也作为澳大利亚法律专家在外国出庭担任过专家证人,而我作为专家证人提供的所有与文化和语言多样性问题相关的证据都是在上述工作场景中提供。我在多个管辖区参与过各种纠纷案件,做过大量专家证据方面的工作。我经常提供关于外国法律和外国法与国内法交汇的专家意见。

除在澳大利亚和新西兰出庭作专家报告外,我也曾在一个大陆法管辖区作为专家证人出庭。这一工作经历让我有幸体验到普通法系与大陆法系的不同,稍后我会分享一些这方面的体会。

另外需要指出的是,我的专长是在法律语境下评论文化和语言,比如,如何通过当事人在合同中的用词或者与合同关系相关的证据来推断当事人意图。

然而,在非法律语境下或者在没有背景信息的情况下评论文化却不是我所长。这是因为,对文化和语言的审视必须在特定的语境下展开,而对我而言,我的专长是在法律语境下提供意见。几年前,我收到一个刑事案件的邀约,要求我提供文化方面的专家证据。这个案件中,一位在墨尔本的亚洲学生被指控通过诈骗钱款参与赌博活动。为争取减刑,被告辩称他参与赌博的目的是筹集资金偿还父母提供的教育费用贷款,父母要求他品学兼优,他一直压力很大,他的行为背后有文化因素的影响。我拒绝了这个邀约,因为我认为我没有资格在非法律语境下评论文化问题。

文化的相关性

但首先应该回答一个问题 – 文化在法律语境下是否相关?如果是,这一相关性又如何体现?我想起现澳大利亚联邦法庭法官兼行政上诉审裁庭主席Emilios Kyrou法官的观点,他认为审判人员有必要建立一个“文化心理预警系统,让他们在文化因素起作用的情况下有所警觉,从而积极考虑应该如何应对。”这些观点引申出一个重要问题,即文化在某些情况下对证据的评估具有重要性,但在某些情况下,文化与证据的评估没有任何关联。

我认为,律师们同样应该建立起这样一个文化心理预警系统,对文化因素的关联性产生警觉。

从我的经验来看,“文化”和“文化差异”通常在以下场景被提及:从主流文化的角度很难理解当事人的行为以及用以描述他们之间的合同关系的语言。

但在现实中,还有更多具体的影响因素,包括语言的使用,法律和商业惯例和理念的差异。这些因素,尤其是语言,带来的潜在影响巨大,已无需多言。

如果争议当事人来自亚洲,识别和理解这些差异本已不易,那么包括合同在内的书面文件,以及可靠的当代文档记载的缺乏让问题变得更加棘手。

因此,我对专家证人的建议是:识别出这些差异,并判断造成差异的原因是否与“文化”有关(按照对 “文化”一字的广义理解),或者,与案件和涉案当事人的特定因素相关,比如他们的语言和商业惯例。

从这方面看,在当事人来自不同的文化和语言背景的案件中,证据关联性和可采性的甄别过程与其他案件无异。关键在于甄别和理解当事人进入商业关系的背景,避免从“主流文化”的角度,或从以普通法为中心的角度做假设或推断结论。而专家的作用就在于此。

文化和语言具有关联系的案件

在今年早些时候,我作为专家证人参与了一个案件,案件最终和解。争议涉及从事代购的澳大利亚公司。当事人在中国境外为居住在中国的人购买产品。购买产品并安排出口到中国的人是买方的代理,不是卖方或出口商的代理。代购牛奶和婴幼儿配方奶粉等产品是极为常见的模式,利润极高。

在这个争议案件中,只有其中一方当事人是从事代购的这些公司的正式所有人。因此,争议的核心问题是双方当事人之间的关系是否构成雇佣关系,亦或是合伙关系。当事人之间的关系性质对于判断当事人是否有分享利润的意图非常重要。和其他很多案件一样,在这起案件中,当事人没有签订书面合同,因此没有证据证明这种合同关系的性质。双方之间的安排都是用中文通过口头判断达成,而证明谈判的惟一记录证据就是微信对话。

其中尤其重要的一个记录是,双方当事人都提到了“咱们的公司”。此外,在我的专家报告中,我还提到一点,即当事人所用的“咱们的”与另一个正式词——“我们的”含义不同。而这一点之前没有被任一方当事人或律师注意到。来自中国的某些地方(包括北方)的人在说“咱们”时,通常包括听者。因此,当他们用“咱们的公司”时,他们指的是说话人和沟通对象共同拥有的公司。

另一方面,当公司的某个员工和其他员工谈论公司时,他们通常使用正式词——“我们”,即“我们的公司”,而不是用“咱们的公司”。在我看来,这就进一步印证了一个推论,即,当双方都使用“咱们的公司”时,他们指的是他们共同拥有的公司,而非其中一方拥有的公司。

有时候,某个问题被认为是语言问题,但其实这个问题也有文化元素。上述案件就是这样一个典型案例,来自中国不同地方的人使用语言的习惯不同。我可以肯定地说,如果这个案件最终进入庭审,专家会就这个问题接受盘问。

在这个案件中,还有一个有趣的事实,即当事人都称呼对方为“兄弟”。这又引出了一个问题,即这个词能否说明当事人之间的关系。在我的专家报告中,我提出,这个词用在很多场景,包括有血亲的亲人之间和有“深厚友谊”的人之间。

这个词无法提供更多线索。但我认为,这个词的使用确实说明双方当事人之间不存在等级关系,也不大可能存在类似于雇主和雇员这样的上下级关系。

聘请专家证人的流程

现在,我想评论几个与聘请专家证人的流程相关的问题。

首先,外国法专家证人所提供的证据必然取决于当事人的律师要求专家证人考虑的问题。因此,必须确保律师拟提问的问题的性质在专家证人的专业能力范围内,并确定这些问题足够宽泛,让专家能够应对与更广泛的因素——如文化和语言——相关的问题。正如我此前提到的,外国法专家证人应首先将文化证据定位在广泛的法律语境下。

普通法有一个原则,专家证人不能就必须交由法庭裁决的问题发表意见。专家证人必须牢记于心。换言之,如何适用证据来裁决涉案的实质性问题是法庭的工作,专家证人不得就此发表意见。

一旦发表了此类意见,对方当事人极有可能以专家意见不可采信为由提出异议。这就要求专家证人,尤其是外国法专家证人谨慎,通常使用恰当的措辞即可避免争议。

正如我提到的,我在普通法和大陆法管辖区都做过外国法专家证人。在大陆法管辖区,外国法被视为法律问题,而非事实问题。因此,与在普通法管辖区的地位不同,外国法律并不是必须由当事人提交的专家证据证明的东西。在大陆法管辖区,外国法下的问题由法庭决定。

在我受聘作为澳大利亚法专家证人的大陆法管辖区,我是由法庭聘请的。这就要求我自己甄别专家报告应涉及哪些问题,法庭应该问我哪些问题。在普通法管辖区,专家证人由当事人聘请,而在大陆法管辖区,专家证人的工作范围更开放,我确实需要考虑法庭会如何适用法律来裁决争议中的实质性问题。

第二个我想提及的与聘请流程相关的问题是专家证人提交的针对文化和语言问题的专家报告应该以证据为基础。文化或语言问题与技术性的法律问题一样,都需要支持性证据。

当然,在这一方面,专家证人可依赖自己的经验。但对于文化相关的问题,专家证人应尽可能引用支持性证据。

我曾参与新加兰高等法院的一个案件。在这个案件中,一位新西兰公民未留下遗嘱而身亡,他第一任妻子的亲属和第二任妻子的亲属均要求继承他的土地、财产和公司所有权。

除涉及遗嘱继承的适用法这种技术性法律问题外,我还被要求就中国的遗产规划相关的文化惯例和文化与法律背景提供意见。我在报告中提出,在中国,存在一种厌恶遗产规划的文化,同时我引用了我的职业经验和关于这种文化厌恶的学术和专业评论加以佐证。我的意见支持第二任妻子提供的证据,即在中国文化中,夫妻间讨论彼此遗嘱的现象并不常见。

这里有一个问题。如果专家证人引用的材料是外文材料,对方当事人可能要求提供完整的翻译。因此,对外文资料的引用必须谨慎。因为在专家证人引用的源材料中,大量内容并不相关,完整的翻译耗时,且浪费资源。

最后,我注意到,如果案件进入庭审,专家证人要接受盘问,那么关于外国法律的专家证据极有可能引出更广泛的问题——涉及到文化或其他方面的问题。

几周前,在新南威尔士最高法院的一个案件中,我与对方当事人的专家证人一同出庭,提供并行证据,澳大利亚人称这种情景为“热水浴池”。这个案件涉及中国规定对备用信用证的应用。

尽管这些问题是非常技术性的问题,但法庭提出了与中国司法实践和更广泛的背景相关的问题。因此,我认为,专家证人必须意识到潜在的文化关联性,即使我们被要求发表意见的正式问题中并不包含文化问题,但这些问题可能与文化相关联,而专家证人必须作好准备,就文化影响发表见解。

葛安德

葛安德目前是世界银行一个工作小组的成员,为亚洲某央行提供职能改革方面的咨询。他曾在上海以外国律师的身份执业(1996-2006),而后回到母校澳大利亚墨尔本法学院从事法律教学和研究工作(2006-2021年)。葛安德现在是墨尔本法学院亚洲法律中心的荣誉首席研究员,亦在多家机构担任顾问,其中包括年利达律师事务所、澳大利亚法律改革委员会和世界银行。

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Expert evidence on culture and language

0
421
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

PREVIOUS LEXICON COLUMNS have examined issues concerning expert evidence (see China Business Law Journal, volume 10, issue 4: Expert evidence) and culture in the courtroom (see volume 11, issue 3: Culture in the courtroom).

The following is an edited version of a presentation recently delivered by the author on issues relating to the impact of culture and language in civil and commercial disputes. The presentation was delivered to a New Zealand seminar that examined Asian lawyers in the legal profession and Asian parties in courts. The seminar was hosted by New Zealand Asian Lawyers and the New Zealand Law Society, and was attended by the Chief Justice of New Zealand, Helen Winkmann.

The role of expert witnesses

At the outset, I should point out that any evidence that I have provided as an expert witness on culturally and linguistically diverse issues has been provided as part of my role as an expert witness on foreign law, including Chinese law in Australian and New Zealand courts, and as an expert witness on Australian law in foreign courts.

I have done a significant amount of expert evidence work across a range of disputes and jurisdictions. Much of my work has involved providing expert advice on foreign law and the intersection of foreign law with domestic law.

In addition to providing expert reports for proceedings in courts in Australia and New Zealand, I have also acted as an expert witness in a civil law jurisdiction. This experience raises some interesting distinctions between common law jurisdictions and civil law jurisdictions, and I will make some observations about this later.

Another important point to note is that I am comfortable commenting on culture and language within a legal context, such as how the words that parties have used in their contracts, and how the evidence in relation to their contractual relationship, might illuminate their intention.

I am less comfortable providing an opinion on culture in a non-legal context, or in a vacuum, because an examination of culture and language needs to be context-based and, for me, my expertise is anchored in the legal context.

Some years ago, I was asked if I could provide cultural evidence in a criminal case in which a young Asian student in Melbourne was alleged to have dishonestly obtained money to fund his gambling activities. As part of the process of identifying mitigating circumstances for sentencing purposes, the defendant argued that he had gambled in order to raise funds to repay a loan his parents had provided for his education fees, that he had been under pressure from his parents to do well and to pass his exams, and that cultural factors were relevant in explaining his conduct. I declined the engagement because I did not consider myself qualified to comment on cultural issues in what was essentially a non-legal context.

The relevance of culture

A threshold question that always must be considered is whether culture is relevant and, if so, how. In this regard, I am reminded of comments made by Justice Emilios Kyrou, now a Federal Court judge and President of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal in Australia, recognising the need for the judiciary to develop a “mental red-flag cultural alert system, which gives [them] a sense of when a cultural dimension may be present so that they may actively consider what, if anything, is to be done about it”. An important point arising out of these comments is that just as culture may be relevant in assessing evidence, it may not be relevant at all.

I also think it is equally important for solicitors and counsel to develop a mental red-flag cultural alert system so that they, too, are alert to when culture might be relevant in assessing evidence and when it might not be relevant at all.

In my experience, we often use the word “culture” and term “cultural differences” in situations where the conduct of the parties and the language they have used to describe their contractual relationship are not easily explained or understood from the perspective of the dominant culture.

In reality, however, more specific factors are often in play. These factors include differences in the use of language and differences in relation to legal and business practices and concepts. I cannot emphasise enough the potential impact of these factors, particularly language.

In the case of disputes involving parties from Asia, the difficulty in identifying and understanding these differences is often compounded by the lack of formal documentation, including contracts, and reliable contemporaneous documentary evidence.

Therefore, I would suggest that the task of an expert witness is to identify these differences and determine whether the cause is related to “culture” as that term is broadly understood or, instead, whether the cause is related to factors that may be specific to the case and the parties in dispute, such as language and business practices or customs.

In this sense, the process of determining the relevance and admissibility of evidence in disputes involving culturally and linguistically diverse parties should be no different from the process that would arise in any other context.

The key issue, however, is identifying and understanding the context in which the parties entered into their commercial relationship, and avoiding any assumptions or drawing any conclusions based on a “dominant culture” perspective or a common law-centric perspective. This is where experts have a role to play.

Cases where culture and language were relevant

Earlier this year, I was involved as an expert witness in a matter that ended up settling. The dispute concerned a business in Australia that engaged in activity that is referred to in Chinese as “daigou” (代购). This occurs when someone outside China buys goods for someone who lives in China.

The person who buys the goods and arranges for their export to China acts as the purchaser’s agent instead of an agent of the seller or exporter. This type of business has been extremely common – and extremely profitable – in relation to goods such as milk products and infant formula.

The core issue in the dispute was whether the relationship between the two parties who carried out the business had been in the nature of an employer-employee relationship, based on the fact that only one of the parties formally owned the companies through which the business was carried out, or whether the relationship had been in the nature of a partnership.

The nature of the relationship between the two parties was important in determining whether the parties intended to share profit. As is often the case, there were no written contracts to provide evidence of the nature of their contractual relationship. Instead, the arrangements had been negotiated orally in Chinese, and the only recorded evidence of the negotiations were transcripts of WeChat conversations.

Of particularly relevance was that both parties had referred, in Chinese, to the business as “our company”, or 咱们的公司. In addition, and this is a point that had not previously been identified by any of the parties or their lawyers, my expert report noted that the Chinese word the parties had used for “our” (咱们的) was different from the formal word for “our” in Chinese; namely, women (我们的).

When used by people from certain parts of China (including the northern part), the word zanmen (咱们) is normally inclusive of the listener. Accordingly, when referring to “our company”, the speaker is likely to be referring to the company owned by both the speaker and the person to whom the speaker is communicating.

On the other hand, if when one employee of a company were talking to another employee about their company, they would likely usually use the formal word to refer to “our company”; namely, womende gongsi (我们的公司), instead of the term zanmende gongsi. In my opinion, this reinforced the possibility that when each of the parties used the term zanmende gongsi, they were referring to the business owned by both of them in a general sense and not a specific company, or a company that was owned by one of them and not by the other.

This is an example of something that might primarily be described as a language issue. However, there was also a cultural dimension in terms of the use of language by people from certain parts of China. If the matter had gone to trial, I am sure that the experts would have been cross-examined on this issue.

Another interesting fact in this matter was that the two parties had referred to each other as “brothers”, or xiongdi (兄弟) and the question arose as to what the use of this term may have revealed about the relationship between the parties. My expert report noted that this term was used in a variety of contexts, including blood relatives and people “with a deep friendship”.

The use of the term did not necessarily offer any insights beyond that. However, in my opinion, its use did suggest that the relationship between the parties had not been a hierarchical one, and was less likely to have involved a subordinate relationship such as an employer-employee relationship.

The process of engaging expert witnesses

I would now like to comment on a few issues relating to the process of engaging expert witnesses.

First, by necessity, the evidence that an expert witness on foreign law provides depends on the questions that the expert witness is asked to consider. It is therefore important to ensure the expert witness is comfortable with the nature of the questions the instructing lawyer proposes to ask, and whether they provide sufficient scope to deal with any issues relating to broader factors such as culture and language. And as I have previously noted, it is important for an expert witness on foreign law to locate any culture-based evidence within the broader legal context.

A related issue to bear in mind is the principle at common law that an expert witness cannot provide an opinion on questions that the court has to decide. In other words, an expert witness cannot provide an opinion on how the court should apply the evidence in deciding the substantive issues in dispute between the parties.

Any such opinion is vulnerable to being challenged by the other side on the ground that it is inadmissible. This issue sometimes requires a degree of care on the part of the expert, particularly an expert on foreign law, and can usually be managed through the appropriate use of language.

As I mentioned earlier, I have been engaged as an expert witness on foreign law in both common law and civil law jurisdictions. In civil law jurisdictions, foreign law is treated as a matter of law and not a matter of fact. As a result, unlike the position in common law jurisdictions, foreign law is not something that has to be proved by expert evidence tendered by the parties. Instead, the issues under foreign law are determined by the court.

In the civil law jurisdiction in which I was engaged as an expert witness on Australian law, I was engaged by the court itself. This required a bit of work on my part in terms of identifying the scope of the issues on which I should report and the questions the court should ask me.

By comparison with the position in common law jurisdictions where the expert witness is engaged by the parties, it was a much more open-ended exercise in which I did in fact have to think about how the court would apply the law to decide the substantive issues in dispute between the parties.

A second process-related issue I should mention is the importance of adopting an evidence-based approach in providing an expert report on culture and language issues. Just as it is important to provide supporting evidence in relation to technical legal issues, it is important to provide supporting evidence in relation to any issues that are relevant from a cultural or linguistic perspective.

It is, of course, possible for expert witnesses to refer to their own experience in this regard. On issues relating to culture, however, supporting evidence should be cited to the extent possible.

This point came up in a matter in which I was involved in the High Court of New Zealand. The dispute involved the intestacy of a New Zealand citizen who had died without leaving a will, giving rise to competing claims to his estate, and the ownership of assets and companies, between the relatives of the first wife and the relatives of the second wife.

In addition to technical legal questions as to which law was applicable to the intestacy, I was asked to provide an opinion on the cultural practices, and the cultural and legal context, relating to estate planning in China. In recognising a cultural aversion in China to estate planning, my report cited both my professional experience, and also academic and professional commentary about this cultural aversion. My opinion supported evidence from the second wife that in Chinese culture, it would be unusual for a husband and wife to discuss each other’s wills.

In this regard, I note the challenges that sometimes arise if the material cited in support of the expert witness’s opinion is in a foreign language. The use of foreign language sources needs to be managed appropriately because the other side can ask that complete translations of the foreign-language material be produced. This can have timing implications and can also prove to be a waste of resources if much of the source material is irrelevant.

Finally, I note that any expert evidence on foreign law is likely to lead to questions about the broader context, cultural and otherwise, if the matter proceeds to trial and the expert witnesses are cross-examined.

A couple of weeks ago, I appeared alongside the expert witness for the other side in the Supreme Court of New South Wales to give concurrent evidence, what we in Australia describe as a “hot tub”. In that case, it was a dispute involving the application of the rules in China to standby letters of credit.

Although the issues were very technical in nature, the court asked questions about judicial practice in China and the broader context. It is therefore important, I think, for expert witnesses to be conscious of the potential relevance of culture and to be prepared to discuss the impact of culture, even if culture was not formally included in the questions on which the expert witnesses were asked to provide an expert opinion.

Andrew Godwin 2015
Andrew Godwin

Andrew Godwin is currently a member of a World Bank team that is advising a central bank in Asia on potential reforms to its mandate. He previously practised as a foreign lawyer in Shanghai (1996-2006) before returning to his alma mater, Melbourne Law School in Australia, to teach and research law (2006-2021). Andrew is currently Principal Fellow (Honorary) at the Asian Law Centre, Melbourne Law School, and a consultant to various organisations, including Linklaters, the Australian Law Reform Commission and the World Bank.

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link