有限国家豁免

0
312
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

大约六年前,本专栏曾探讨过国家豁免这一原则,以及包括英国、中国内地和香港等司法管辖区如何解释和践行这一原则(见《商法》第9辑第1期《国家豁免》)。文章提到,大部分司法管辖区都承认有限豁免原则,但中国内地则承认绝对豁免。另外,在2011年,香港终审法院在审理一起案件时认定,国家豁免政策关系到国家外交事务的管理和行为,根据《中华人民共和国香港特别行政区基本法》,这属于中央人民政府的权力。

在1997年中国恢复对香港的主权之前,香港实行的是有限豁免原则,但基于前文提到的理由,现在香港特区法院不得采用与中国的国家豁免立场有异的国家豁免原则。

文章还提到了2017年香港原讼法庭在一起案件中作出的判决。该案涉及对一起仲裁裁决的执行,被执行财产的国企声称自己应享受国家豁免权,但法庭认定,除在极有限的情况下,国企不享受国家豁免权。

2023年,全国人大常委会通过中国《外国国家豁免法》,于2024年1月1日施行。这是一个里程碑,因为它采用了有限豁免原则,意味着中国在国家豁免方面的立场与其他发达司法管辖区接轨。

本期专栏将重新审视国家豁免这一原则,再介绍新的《外国国家豁免法》下中国内地的立场。

什么是国家豁免?

如此前专栏文章所述,国际法原则,尤其是涉及到国与国之间的关系,以及管理国家之间关系的原则,鲜少在商事交易中适用到。但是,有一种情形例外,即当一国公司或投资者与另一国进行商业交易,或者与另一国的国家机构或机关进行商业交易,随后在外国法院起诉该国。在这样的案件中,外国法院须决定该国能否成为本国诉讼的当事人。

根据国家豁免原则,一个司法管辖区给予另一国豁免,另一国的行为免受该司法管辖区法院的审判,另一国的财产免受该司法管辖区法院的执行。国家豁免的根本理念是,非经一国同意,该国不应受另一国的管辖,其反映的是国与国之间有必要维护友好关系(就这一关系,可参见《商法》第8辑第8期《跨境破产》)。

另外,该原则也与“主权豁免”或“王权豁免”原则相呼应。后者指一国豁免被其本管辖区内的法院审判,这个原则不仅适用于国家,也适用于该国元首。主权豁免的性质和适用范围在不同的司法管辖区有所不同。在某些法域,如澳大利亚,主权豁免的适用范围非常狭窄,国家并不自动享受豁免。在另外一些法域,如美国,这个原则被广泛认可,且适用于不同层级的政府(如州政府和联邦政府)。

国家豁免原则和主权豁免原则之间有着清晰的划分,前者指一国在另一国法庭上享受的豁免,而后者指一国在本国法庭上享受的豁免,不过这两个术语经常被混用。

迄今为此,与国家豁免相关的事项均由各国国内法规管,不受国际条约的影响。但存在一个尚未生效的,关于国家豁免的国际条约,即《联合国国家及其财产管辖豁免公约》。公约中载明,在30个国家正式批准或加入公约后,公约即生效。截止到本文写作时间,已有28个国家签署了公约,23个国家正式批准了公约,因此还未生效。中国已于2005年9月14日签署公约,但尚未正式批准公约。

绝对豁免亦或有限豁免?

在承认和适用国家豁免原则时,各管辖区可分为两派:承认绝对豁免的管辖区和承认有限豁免的管辖区。绝对豁免原则意味着一个司法管辖区承认另一国在任何情况下均享受豁免,且豁免适用于该国的所有行为,包括商业行为。而有限豁免指一个司法管辖区承认另一国仅就其共公行为享受豁免,将公共行为与商业交易中的商业行为区分开。

有限豁免派认为,参与商业活动是常见的国家行为,在商业交易中区别对待对国家和其他当事人有失公平。1977年,在Trendtex一案中,丹宁勋爵(Lord Denning)说道:

在过去50年,国家的各项职能发生了翻天覆地的变化。现在,几乎每一个国家都参与商业活动。国家有专门的部门,或者通过其设立的法律实体,进入全球各个市场。国家会租用船舶、购买大宗商品、签发信用证。这种转变也改变了与主权豁免相关的国际法规则。许多国家已摈弃了绝对豁免原则,且数量如此之多,以至于我们可以说绝对豁免已不再是一条国际法规则。有限豁免已经取而代之。

此前的专栏文章提到,大部分国家都承认有限豁免原则,只有少部分国家承认绝对豁免。直到2024年之前,中国(包括香港)都在后者之列。

中国内地的新立场

简言之,新《外国国家豁免法》规定,外国国家在中国内地进行商业活动的,对于该商业活动引起的诉讼和执行,该国在中国内地的法院不再享有豁免。预计香港和澳门也会采取同样的立场。

尽管《外国国家豁免法》第三条规定,原则上外国国家及其财产在中国的法院享有管辖豁免,但同时规定了例外情况,其中一个例外情况即涉及到商业活动。第七条规定,如外国国家进行商业活动,该活动在中国领域内发生,或虽发生在中国领域外但在中国领域内产生直接影响,该外国国家不就该商业活动享受豁免。商业活动包括货物或者服务的交易、投资、借贷以及其他主权行使范围外具有商业性质的行为。《外国国家豁免法》第七条还规定,法院在认定一项行为是否属于“商业活动”时,应当考虑该行为的性质和目的。

《外国国家豁免法》还为涉及到外国国家的仲裁裁决的承认和执行提供了国内法律依据。投资者与外国国家之间产生争议,并通过条约(如《解决国家与他国国民之间投资争议公约》),进行仲裁形成不利于外国国家的仲裁裁决的,投资者可依《外国国家豁免法》寻求在中国承认和执行该仲裁裁决(相关议题,请参见《商法》第8辑第1期文章《区域贸易安排的未来》。

在2023年9月5日的答记者问中,外交部发言人针对新《外国国家豁免法》发表了以下评论:

制定《外国国家豁免法》是中国全国人大正常的立法活动。该法参照国际通行做法,就外国国家豁免问题作出规定,旨在健全中国的外国国家豁免制度,为中国法院审理涉及外国国家及其财产的民事案件提供法律依据,保障当事人合法权益,维护国家主权平等,促进对外友好交往,助力中国更高水平对外开放。

《外国国家豁免法》确认外国国家及其财产在中国享有豁免的基本原则,并规定了例外情形,明确中国法院可就外国国家非主权行为引发的诉讼,如涉及商业活动、相关人身伤害和财产损害等争议的诉讼行使管辖权,并在严格限制的条件下,可对外国国家商业活动财产采取强制措施。这完全符合国际法和各国实践。

作为负责任大国,中国坚定维护国家主权平等原则,将依法保护中国公民和法人正当权益,尊重外国国家根据国际法应享有的豁免。

上述回答确认了新《外国国家豁免法》的宗旨是让中国的外国国家豁免立场与国际实践接轨,以完善中国的外国国家豁免制度。此外,其宗旨还包括保障当事人合法权益,维护国家主权平等,促进对外友好交往,助力中国更高水平对外开放。

新的《外国国家豁免法》将如何解读和适用?让我们拭目以待。

葛安德

葛安德目前是世界银行一个工作小组的成员,为亚洲某央行提供职能改革方面的咨询。他曾在上海以外国律师的身份执业(1996-2006),而后回到母校澳大利亚墨尔本法学院从事法律教学和研究工作(2006-2021年)。葛安德现在是墨尔本法学院亚洲法律中心的荣誉首席研究员,亦在多家机构担任顾问,其中包括年利达律师事务所、澳大利亚法律改革委员会和世界银行。

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Restrictive state immunity

0
834
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

MORE THAN SIX YEARS AGO, this column discussed the doctrine of state immunity and how it was interpreted and applied in various jurisdictions, including the UK, mainland China and Hong Kong (see China Business Law Journal, volume 9, issue 1: “State immunity”). The column noted that the majority of jurisdictions recognised restrictive state immunity. Mainland China, however, recognised absolute state immunity. Further, the Court of Final Appeal in Hong Kong had held in 2011 that the question of state immunity was a matter that concerned the management and conduct of foreign affairs, which was a power that was reserved for the Central People’s government under the Basic Law of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

On this basis, although Hong Kong had recognised the doctrine of restrictive immunity prior to the return of sovereignty to the People’s Republic of China in 1997, the courts of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region could not adopt a legal doctrine of state immunity that was different from the position on state immunity that was recognised by the PRC.

The column also noted that a decision of the Court of First Instance in Hong Kong in 2017 had held that a PRC state-owned enterprise could not claim state immunity in proceedings to enforce an arbitral award against it, except in very limited circumstances.

In a significant move in 2023, the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress passed the Foreign State Immunity Law (FSIL). The law, which came into effect on 1 January 2024, adopts the doctrine of restrictive state immunity and aligns China with the position in other developed jurisdictions.

This column starts by revisiting the doctrine of state immunity, then outlines the position in mainland China under the new Foreign State Immunity Law.

What is the doctrine of state immunity?

As noted in the previous column, issues of international law – particularly as they concern relations between states and the principles that govern them – rarely become relevant in commercial transactions. One situation in which these issues become relevant, however, is when a company or investor in one state enters into a commercial transaction with a state, or an arm or instrumentality of a state, and subsequently seeks to sue the other state in a foreign court. In such a situation, the foreign court will need to determine whether the other state can be sued in its courts.

Under the doctrine of state immunity, a jurisdiction grants immunity to a foreign state from being sued in its courts or being subject to enforcement action in respect of its assets in that jurisdiction. The doctrine is based on the concept that a state should not be subject to the jurisdiction of another state without its consent, reflecting the need for comity or friendly relations between states (for another example of comity between states, see China Business Law Journal, volume 8, issue 8: “Cross-border insolvency”).

The doctrine also reflects the reality that states in many jurisdictions around the world enjoy immunity in their own courts. The immunity that a state enjoys in its own jurisdiction is often referred to as “sovereign immunity” or “crown immunity” and extends not just to the state but also to the head of state personally. The nature and extent of sovereign immunity varies between jurisdictions. In some jurisdictions, such as Australia, the doctrine applies very narrowly and there is no automatic immunity enjoyed by the state. In others, such as the US, the doctrine is widely recognised and applies in respect of different levels of government (e.g. state and federal governments).

Although a distinction between state and sovereign immunity is sometimes drawn on the basis that the former refers to the immunity enjoyed by states in foreign courts and the latter refers to the immunity enjoyed by a state in its own courts, the terms are often used interchangeably.

To date, issues relating to state immunity have been determined by the domestic law of each state and have not been influenced by international treaties. There is, however, an international treaty on state immunity that has not yet come into force. The United Nations Convention on Jurisdictional Immunities of States and Their Property provides that it will come into force after 30 states have ratified or acceded to the convention. As of the date of writing, 28 states had signed the convention and 23 states had ratified it. As a result, the convention has not yet come into force. China signed the convention on 14 September 2005, but has not yet ratified it.

Is state immunity absolute or restrictive?

In recognising and applying the doctrine of state immunity, jurisdictions around the world can be divided into those that recognise absolute immunity and those that recognise restrictive immunity. Under the doctrine of absolute immunity, a jurisdiction recognises that a foreign state enjoys immunity in all circumstances and in respect of all acts undertaken by the state, including commercial acts. Under the doctrine of restrictive immunity, a jurisdiction recognises that a foreign state only enjoys immunity in respect of the public acts of state, as distinct from commercial acts that would arise in the context of commercial transactions.

The doctrine of restrictive immunity reflects the view that states commonly enter into commercial activities and that it would be unfair to treat them differently in that context. As noted by Lord Denning in the Trendtex case that was decided in 1977:

In the last 50 years there has been a complete transformation in the functions of a sovereign state. Nearly every country now engages in commercial activities. It has its department of state – or creates its own legal entities – which go into the market places of the world. They charter ships. They buy commodities. They issue letters of credit. This transformation has changed the rules of international law relating to sovereign immunity. Many countries have now departed from the rule of absolute immunity. So many have departed from it that it can no longer be considered a rule of international law. It has been replaced by a doctrine of restrictive immunity.

The previous column noted that the majority of states recognised restrictive immunity and a minority of states recognised absolute immunity. Until the beginning of 2024, China (including Hong Kong) was in the latter category.

The new position in mainland China

In short, the new FSIL provides that foreign states are no longer immune from suit or execution in mainland China in respect of their commercial activities. Hong Kong and Macau are now expected to adopt the same approach.

Although the FSIL provides that foreign states and their assets generally still enjoy state immunity (article 3), it recognises exceptions. The exception in respect of commercial activities (article 7) provides that if a foreign state has engaged in commercial activities, either (1) within the territory of the PRC or (2) outside the territory of the PRC but causing a direct effect in the territory of the PRC, the foreign state will not enjoy immunity in relation to such commercial activities. Commercial activities include transactions, investments, lending and borrowing of goods or services, and other acts of a commercial nature outside the exercise of sovereign power. The FSIL provides that when assessing whether the relevant state activities are commercial, the purpose and nature of the activities should be considered (article 7).

The FSIL also provides a domestic legal basis for investors to seek recognition and enforcement of investor-state arbitral awards in the PRC against foreign states under treaties such as the Convention on the Settlement of Investment Disputes between States and Nationals of Other States (for a discussion about related issues, see China Business Law Journal, volume 8, issue 1: “The future of regional trade agreements)”.

In a media statement released on 5 September 2023, a spokesperson for the Foreign Ministry made the following remarks in respect of the new FSIL:

Enacting the Law on Foreign State Immunity is a normal legislative activity conducted by the Standing Committee of China’s National People’s Congress. The law stipulates provisions related to foreign state immunity in line with international practices and aims to improve China’s foreign state immunity system. The law stipulates the rules for Chinese courts to handle civil cases involving a foreign state and its property, with a view to protecting the lawful rights and interests of the parties concerned, safeguarding the sovereign equality of states, and promoting friendly exchanges with other countries, which all in turn boost China’s higher-level opening up.

The Law on Foreign State Immunity affirms the fundamental principle that a foreign state and its property enjoy immunity in China, and at the same time stipulates exceptions relating to non-sovereign acts of a foreign state, under which Chinese courts can exercise jurisdiction, such as cases involving disputes arising out of a commercial activity, relevant personal injury and property damage. The Law also states that Chinese courts can take compulsory judicial measures against a foreign state’s commercial property under strictly limited circumstances. It fully adheres to international law and it is also consistent with general state practices.

As a responsible major country, China firmly upholds the principle of sovereign equality and will faithfully implement this law to protect the legitimate rights and interests of Chinese nationals and legal persons and respect the immunities enjoyed by foreign states under international law.

The media statement confirms that the new FSIL is designed to bring the position on foreign state immunity under Chinese law in line with international practices and to improve China’s foreign state immunity system. Further, its objectives include protecting the lawful rights and interests of the parties concerned, safeguarding the sovereign equality of states, and promoting friendly exchanges with other countries, all of which will assist China’s higher-level opening up.

It will be interesting to see how the new FSIL is interpreted and applied in the years to come.

Andrew Godwin 2015
Andrew Godwin

Andrew Godwin is currently a member of a World Bank team that is advising a central bank in Asia on potential reforms to its mandate. He previously practised as a foreign lawyer in Shanghai (1996-2006) before returning to his alma mater, Melbourne Law School in Australia, to teach and research law (2006-2021). Andrew is currently Principal Fellow (Honorary) at the Asian Law Centre, Melbourne Law School, and a consultant to various organisations, including Linklaters, the Australian Law Reform Commission and the World Bank.

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link