驰名商标——日渐增多的现实

作者: Dheeraj Kapoor 和 Vibhuti Sharma,LexOrbis
0
15

商标被认可为驰名商标并非易事。不过,随着观念的变化,全球化的扩张,消费者品牌意识的提升,情况正在转变。法院在支持广受认可的商标中的权利时不再扭捏,越来越愿意将此类商标认定为驰名商标。

Dheeraj Kapoor LexOrbis
Dheeraj Kapoor
主管律师
LexOrbis

在近期的“DHL International GmbH v DLH Express Services Private Ltd ”案中,德里高等法院宣布DHL为驰名商标。DHL International GmbH是总部设在德国的跨国快递和物流公司,向法院申请针对DLH Express Services Private Ltd的永久禁制令,禁止后者侵害其商标,并要求后者就仿冒商标和稀释其商业价值的行为支付损害赔偿。原告诉称,被告已开始将商标DLH用于快递服务,该商标与原告的DHL商标几乎一样,而且使用该商标的服务也与原告相同。

原告称,甚至被告的标志也与其标志几乎一模一样,被告还抄袭了原告商标的色彩组合、书写风格和总体特征。法院颁发了临时禁制令,禁止被告使用涉嫌的商标和标志。不过,原告还申请宣布其注册商标DHL为驰名商标,并请求法院指示商标注册机构将该商标载入驰名商标名册。

在后来的听审中,被告声称已将其名称从DLH Express Services Private Ltd.变更为M/s. Dogra’s Cargo Express Private Limited,而且无意在今后的业务中使用商标DHL、DLH或被质疑的标志。被告还宣称,他们实际上做的是收取客户的快递包裹,送至原告的授权渠道商业伙伴处,再由后者继续派送。但是,法院认定使用了原告的渠道伙伴并非有效抗辩,该行为并不表示被告使用与原告近似的商标和标志是正当的。法院认为应当发出有利于原告的永久禁制令,因为被告实际上无从抗辩;于是,法院做出了简易判决。

Vibhuti Sharma LexOrbis
Vibhuti Sharma
律师
LexOrbis

就原告申请宣布其商标为驰名商标一事,法院采用了1999年《商标法》第11(6)条载明的五条参考标准,以确定原告商标DHL是否满足该条要求。该等标准包括公众对商标的知晓或认可程度,以及商标使用、宣传和注册的持续时间、范围及地域等,其中最重要的或许是成功执行商标权利的记录。

在列举了原告引用的大量统计数据后,法院认定,该商标广泛用于几乎每个国家,享有巨大商誉和声誉。原告以该商标提供的服务在国际快递和物流业尤其受欢迎,并凭借巨大的营业额成为全球最大货运公司之一。原告是多项DHL商标注册的所有权人,该商标在印度使用广泛,也是很多独立第三方评论和文章的主题。法院指出,在之前的多起域名争议中,原告对第三方侵权行为成功执行了其在DHL商标中的权利。

考虑到这些特性和记录在案的事实,高等法院毫不迟疑地宣布DHL商标为驰名商标,特别是在物流、货运和快递服务领域。法院还认定,该商标源自各位创始人的姓名首字母,具有显著性和创新性,有资格享受更高级别的保护。商标是所有权人及其产品独特身份的一部分,不仅应在商标首推国得到保护,在相关商品和服务易于获得且广泛营销的其他司法管辖区,也应如此。树立声誉需要很多时间、资源和投入,法院应对其予以保护。法院对驰名商标的认可将鼓励所有权人将业务活动扩张至其他司法管辖区。

Dheeraj Kapoor为LexOrbis主管律师,Vibhuti Sharma为LexOrbis律师。

LexOrbis logo

LexOrbis

709/710 Tolstoy House

15-17 Tolstoy Marg

New Delhi – 110 001

India

Mumbai | Bengaluru

联系方式
电话: +91 11 2371 6565
电子邮件: mail@lexorbis.com

www.lexorbis.com

Well-known trademarks – a growing reality

By Dheeraj Kapoor and Vibhuti Sharma, LexOrbis
0
37

It has not been easy for a trademark to be recognised as a well-known trademark. However, with changing perceptions, expanding globalisation and consumers becoming more brand-conscious, a shift is happening. Courts are no longer reluctant to support the rights in well-recognised trademarks, increasingly designating them as well-known trademarks.

Dheeraj Kapoor LexOrbis
Dheeraj Kapoor
Managing Associate
LexOrbis

In the recent case of DHL International GmbH v DLH Express Services Private Ltd, the Delhi High Court declared DHL to be a well-known trademark. DHL International GmbH, a multinational courier and logistics company based in Germany, sought a permanent injunction restraining the infringement of its trademark and damages for passing off and dilution of trade value against DLH Express Services Private Ltd. The grievance of the plaintiff was that the defendant had started using the mark DLH for its courier services, which was almost identical to the plaintiff’s mark DHL and used for identical services.

The plaintiff asserted that even the defendant’s logo was almost identical to its logo, and the colour combination, writing style and overall features of the plaintiff’s mark were copied by the defendant as well. The court granted an interim injunction restraining the defendant from using the impugned trademark and logo. However, the plaintiff also applied for a declaration that its registered trademark DHL was a well-known trademark and for a direction to the Registrar of Trademarks to enter the mark in the register of well-known trademarks.

In a subsequent hearing, the defendants claimed that they had already changed their name from DLH Express Services Private Ltd to M/s Dogra’s Cargo Express Private Limited and that they did not intend to use the marks DHL, DLH or the impugned logo in their future business. The defendants also asserted that they were actually collecting courier packages from their customers and sending them to authorised channel business partners of the plaintiff for onward dispatch. However, the court held that using the channel partners of the plaintiff was not a valid defence and did not permit the defendant to use a mark and logo similar to the mark and logo of the plaintiff. The court considered that it was appropriate for a permanent injunction to be granted in favour of the plaintiff, as the defendants had no real prospect of resisting the case and did so by way of summary judgment.

With regard to the plaintiff’s application for a declaration that its trademark was a well-known trademark, the court used the five reference standards set out in section 11(6) of the Trade Marks Act, 1999, to determine whether the plaintiff’s trademark, DHL, fulfilled the requirements of that section. Such standards include the public’s knowledge or recognition of the trademark and the duration, extent and geographic use, promotion and registration of the trademark. Perhaps the most important of the standards is the record of successful enforcement of the rights in the trademark.

Vibhuti Sharma LexOrbis
Vibhuti Sharma
Associate
LexOrbis

Setting out impressive statistics adduced by the plaintiff, the court held that the mark enjoyed enormous goodwill and reputation owing to its extensive use in almost all countries. The plaintiff’s services under the mark were especially popular in the international courier and logistics sector, as it is one of the largest global freight companies with a huge turnover. The plaintiff was the proprietor of a number of registrations for the mark DHL, which was intensively used in India and was also the subject of independent third-party write-ups and articles. The court noted that the plaintiff had on earlier occasions in various domain name disputes successfully enforced its rights in the mark DHL against third-party infringement.

Having considered these attributes and facts placed on record, the high court unhesitatingly declared the mark DHL to be a well-known trademark, especially in the fields of logistics, freight transport and courier services. The court also held that as the mark was derived from the initials of the names of the founders, it was a distinctive and inventive mark that entitled it to the highest protection. Trademarks are part of the unique identity of proprietors and their products, and they should be protected not only in the country where they were introduced but in other jurisdictions where their associated goods and services are readily available and extensively marketed. It takes much time, resources and investment to build a reputation that the courts will protect. The courts’ recognition of well-known trademarks will encourage their proprietors to expand their business activities to other jurisdictions.

Dheeraj Kapoor is a managing associate and Vibhuti Sharma is an associate at LexOrbis.

LexOrbis logo

LexOrbis

709/710 Tolstoy House

15-17 Tolstoy Marg

New Delhi – 110 001

India

Mumbai | Bengaluru

Contact details
Tel: +91 11 2371 6565
Email: mail@lexorbis.com

www.lexorbis.com