相得益彰

0
46

如何选择最合适的外部律师,并与之有效沟通与合作,是所有企业法务的永恒课题。曾任职于孖士打律师事务所和罗夏信律师事务所,现任特百惠(中国)法务总监的魏静结合其作为律师和法务的双重经验,分享她对这一问题的独特见解

随着经济的飞速发展、法律的逐步完善及各个行业公司的业务拓展,企业法务这一相对新兴的法律职业群体在不断地发展壮大。企业法务自发结成法务团队/联盟,组织法务同仁之间的学习和交流。

法务因其工作岗位设置在企业内部,必然受到各自行业和公司文化的影响,但他们的工作往往有明显的共通之处。

风险管控的综合性。从合同管理、广告审核、知识产权风险管控、争议预防与解决,到劳动用工合规、数据合规、竞争法合规等,法务于公司的风险防控作用可谓无处不在。

内部沟通与外部风险防控的桥梁。为保证企业在合法合规的框架下运作,法务需要在企业内部开展法规宣讲培训、日常法务审核,同时要在预防和解决外部风险的方面起到领导作用,并需要在这两者之间掌握好重点和平衡。

外部律师的类型

相得益彰,魏静
魏静

根据笔者对国内律师行业的理解和观察,国内的律师事务所大致可以分为如下分类:

(1)“红圈”所,即按事务所年收入计算,在中国律师行业排名前八的律师事务所;其处理较多重大疑难复杂、知名案件/项目;内部流程较完善;业务类型较广泛;律师专业程度较高;费率亦相对较高。

(2)综合大所,通常在全国各地设立多家分所(多集中在省会城市和沿海地区);内部设有匹配不同法律服务领域的专业委员会;内部流程较完善;业务类型较广泛;律师专业程度平均较高;费率在统一标准基础上,有相对灵活的谈判空间。

(3)精品专业所,主要深耕于某个或某几个专业领域,如知识产权、劳动用工、建设工程、医疗纠纷等;或多或少地受律所创始人/负责人的法律服务专业背景影响及带动;与相关行业及从业人员有较多直接互动,如主要从事建设工程有关法律事务的律所会与政府的建设部门及建筑行业协会互动,包括参与标准及规则的制订;律师在该所专注的领域水平较高;费率在统一标准基础上,有相对灵活的谈判空间。

(4)外资律所代表处,其国外总所背景不一而足;主要服务国内外资企业和拟在中国从事投资及项目的外国客户,以非诉业务为主;内部管理较为完善;对于外资企业和外国客户的文化、运作和沟通方式较为熟悉;费率与国内领先所水平基本持平。

(5)其他国内律所,执业范围主要覆盖执业所在地及周边;律所规模和覆盖专业领域不一而足;较为熟悉执业所在地及周边的执法和司法环境及习惯;律师专业水平与素质受律师个人风格影响相对较大;费率有相对灵活的谈判空间。

审慎选择律所

合适的才是最好的。如我们看见,各类型律师事务所定位、专长及费率竞争力等各有千秋,如何选择适合法务所服务企业的律师事务所及律师,可参考如下几点:

具有行业经验的律师团队。外部律师对企业所属行业的了解,对于法务与外部律师的高效沟通以及找到有效的问题解决方案有很大的助力。特别是在一些专业纵深方面要求比较高的法律事务,如股票上市、建设工程、医疗纠纷等,往往需要外部律师在于外部监管机构、执法部门、行业主管部门等积累相当的经验,才能与法务达成有效沟通和配合,最终解决问题和控制风险。

建立和积累律师库,定期进行跟踪和回顾。因企业法务需要对企业经营中面临的各类风险进行预防、控制和解决,并同时需要考虑法务预算的限制,如能在平时建立和积累律师库,按不同需求层次、专业特长和费用标准进行合理分类,则更有可能在需要时选择到更为合适的律师团队。律师库的来源有很多,包括法务同行的推荐、法律媒体和评级机构的推荐、在公开渠道了解律师办理过案件的相关信息等。

结合律师事务所的背景和资质,找到与企业法律服务需求的契合点。律师事务所的类型和背景固然重要,但在实践中,因案件和法律事务均需要与主办律师或合伙人进行沟通及落地,法务更应该重点考察律师本人的执业经验、专长、服务水平及沟通模式。不宜过分迷信律师事务所的品牌,也不应过分追求低价,争取找到与企业实际法律服务需求契合度最高的律师团队。

沟通与合作

同样都是法律人的背景,法务和外部律师在共同面对一项法律事务或争议案件时,如何更好地沟通与合作,是一个见仁见智的开放式问题。笔者分享以下几点给大家提供参考:

彼此信任是最重要的基础。外部律师从事的是法律服务,法律的执行本身存在复杂和多变性,加之服务本身的无形性,都给与外部律师的合作增加了信任成本和沟通的难度。如上文所述,法务在遴选律师团队的时候首先要采取审慎的态度。在选定律师团队后,就应该与其建立充分的信任,在过程中发挥外部律师的专业作用及支撑,在费用支付方面按照服务合同的约定及时付款,避免因各种误会或一时结果不理想,在法务和律师团队之间造成不必要的障碍,影响最终问题的解决和效果的达成。

明确分工,各自发挥所长。在共同面对一项法律事务或争议案件时,法务和外部律师作为一个团队,内部需要有机的分工合作,各自发挥所长,共同为目标的实现而努力。如在诉讼案件的取证工作中,如证据更多需要来自查询公司过往的资料、合同、记录等,需要法务更多做好内部沟通和协调;如证据更多需要来自外围调查和取证,则法务和外部律师需协调调查时间、调查费用及调查目标,并配合落地。

遭遇困阻时,共同努力克服。法务与外部律师合作时,不论是非诉事务还是诉讼/争议解决,不时会遭遇各种困难,有些是法律上的难点,而有些是非法律相关的问题。此时需要双方对问题进行深入分析,共同探讨有效的解决方案。例如,法务可以与同行交流分享类似问题的可能解决方案,而外部律师可以通过与主管部门的沟通、对其他客户的服务经验的研究和探讨,提出有利于解决当前问题的方案及建议。

Matching the pieces

0
68

How to identify and collaborate well with external counsel that best fit the company’s needs is a persistent puzzle for in-house counsel. Nancy Wei, legal director at Tupperware (China), and formerly placed at Mayer Brown and Stephenson Harwood, shares valuable insights from her experience on both sides

WITH ECONOMIC GROWTH at full tilt, constant improvement of the rule of law, and business expansion across all sectors, corporate counsel, being a relatively emerging group of legal practitioners in China, continue to grow and mature. In-house counsel groups and alliances are spontaneously formed for the purpose of mutual learning and exchanges among peers.

As in-house counsel are positioned within the companies, they are inevitably malleated by their respective industry and corporate culture. However, their work is still connected by easily identifiable common ground.

Comprehensive nature of risk control. From contract management, advertisement review, intellectual property risk control, dispute prevention and resolution to labour and employment compliance, data compliance and competition law compliance, the handprint of in-house counsel in a company’s risk prevention and control is ubiquitous.

Bridging internal communication and external risk management. To ensure the operation of the company under a lawful and compliant framework, corporate counsel are tasked to carry out internal lecturing and training on regulations and perform routine in-house counsel reviews, while additionally playing a pivotal leading role in preventing and resolving external risks. It is imperative that they grasp the key points of both duties and achieve balance.

TYPES OF EXTERNAL COUNSEL

Matching the pieces, Nancy Wei
Nancy Wei

Based on the author’s understanding and observation of China’s legal profession, law firms in China can be largely classified as follows:

(1) “Red circle” firms, the top eight law firms in the Chinese legal market in terms of annual revenue that handle a great number of major, difficult, complex and well-known cases and projects. They have relatively sound internal procedures, cover a wide range of businesses, are comprised of lawyers known for high professionalism and expertise, and also have relatively high billing rates.

(2) General practice firms usually have a number of offices across the country (mainly concentrated in provincial capitals and coastal areas). They have internal committees dedicated to different legal practice areas, have relatively sound internal procedures, cover a wide range of business, comprise lawyers known for high professionalism and expertise, and have above-standard billing rates but allow certain flexibility in fee negotiation.

(3) Boutique firms mainly focus on one or several professional fields, such as intellectual property, labour and employment, construction or medical disputes. They are more or less influenced and driven by the legal service background of their founders or those in charge and have more direct interaction with the relevant industry activities and personnel – such as law firms mainly engaged in construction-related legal affairs interacting with government construction authorities and construction industry associations – including participating in the formulation of standards and rules, comprise lawyers highly specialised in their relevant fields, and have above-standard billing rates but allow certain flexibility in fee negotiation.

(4) Representative offices of foreign law firms with an assortment of backgrounds mainly serve foreign-invested enterprises and foreign clients intending to engage in investments and projects in China. They mostly handle non-litigation matters, have relatively sound internal management, are quite familiar with the cultures, operations and communication methods of foreign-invested enterprises and foreign clients, and have billing rates essentially on par with leading domestic firms.

(5) Other domestic law firms with a scope of practice mainly covering their local regions and surrounding areas. They come in various shapes and sizes with different specialised practice areas, are familiar with the law enforcement and judicial environment, and practices in their local regions and surrounding areas, comprise lawyers whose professional level and quality heavily depend on personal styles, and have substantial room for manoeuvre in fee negotiation.

MAKING THE SMART CHOICE

The best option is one that fulfils the needs. As we can see, each type of law firm has its own pros and cons in terms of positioning, expertise and fee competitiveness. When selecting the law firm and lawyers most suitable for the company, in-house counsel may take note of the following aspects.

Matching the pieces Quote

A team of lawyers with rich industry experience. Lawyers’ knowledge of the industry in which the company operates is of tremendous value for effective communication between in-house and external counsel, and thus for finding valid solutions. Particularly for certain legal matters with relatively high requirements in specialisation and proficiency – such as stock listings, construction projects and medical disputes – external counsel would preferably have accumulated considerable experience in dealing with relevant regulators, law enforcers and industry authorities so as to achieve effective communication and co-operation, and ultimately resolve issues and control risks.

Establish and accumulate a pool of lawyers, with regular follow-up and review. As corporate counsel are required to prevent, control and resolve risks faced by the company across all operations while taking into consideration the budgetary limits for legal affairs, the establishment and day-to-day accumulation of a pool of lawyers reasonably classified by level of demand, professional expertise and billing rates can work wonders towards identifying a most suitable legal team as and when needed. The pool of lawyers can be assembled from many sources, including peer recommendations, legal media and rating agencies, as well as publicly available information about cases handled by the lawyers.

Locating the point where a law firm’s background and qualifications meet the company’s needs for legal services. While the type and background of law firms are undeniably important, in practice, as all cases and legal matters require communication and touching base with the handling associate or partner, in-house counsel should place greater emphasis on inspecting lawyers’ practice experience, expertise, service quality and communication approach. It is not advisable to place too much store on the brand name of a law firm, nor to automatically pursue the lowest price. Rather, effort should be expended in finding the legal team that most ideally fits with the company’s actual needs for legal services.

COMMUNICATION AND COLLABORATION

Given their shared legal backgrounds, how in-house and external counsel can better communicate and collaborate when facing the same legal issue or dispute is an open-ended question that invites various opinions. Here is some food for thought.

Mutual trust is the basis of everything. Implementation of law can be a complex and fickle matter, and legal services are inherently intangible, which creates barriers to trust and communication with external counsel. As mentioned above, corporate counsel should first take the time to pick out the most suitable legal team. Once the selection is complete, it is imperative for in-house counsel to co-operate with complete trust and good faith. This includes leveraging the expertise and support of external counsel in the process of collaboration, and timely settling fees in accordance with the service contract, so as to avoid any unnecessary obstruction between in-house counsel and the legal team due to misunderstandings or any momentary dissatisfaction, thus hindering the ultimate resolution of the issue and achievement of the desired result.

Clear division of labour, with each party bringing to bear its own strengths. When facing a legal matter or dispute together, in-house and external counsel, as a team, should establish an internal division of duty and collaborate organically, each bringing its strengths to the table and jointly striving to achieve the objective. For example, in the evidence gathering process of a litigation, if much of the evidence is to be obtained by sifting through the company’s past information, contracts or records, in-house counsel should focus on the company’s internal communication and co-ordination. But if evidence is to come from external investigation, then in-house and external counsel should co-ordinate the time, costs and objectives of investigation, and work together to carry it out.

Working together to overcome obstacles. When collaborating, whether or not litigation or dispute resolution is involved, in-house and external counsel are bound to encounter a variety of difficulties, legal or otherwise. At such times, both parties must dive into the issue and jointly seek an effective solution. For example, in-house counsel can exchange possible solutions to similar issues with their peers, while external counsel can communicate with the competent authorities, or research their track records with other clients, in order for both to put forward proposals and recommendations conducive to resolving the issue at hand.