香港为ESG评级和数据产品供应商编制操守准则

作者: 朱静文,杨杨律师事务所
0
147
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

港证券及期货事务监察委员会(证监会)提倡由国际资本市场协会(ICMA)召集成立工作小组,为在香港提供环境、社会及管治(ESG)产品和服务的ESG评级和数据供应商制订一套操守准则,供其自愿遵守。

业界的疑虑

Rossana Chu, Yang & Yang Solicitors
朱静文
合伙人
杨杨律师事务所

证监会在2022年曾开展一次实况调查,了解企业对ESG产品和服务的关切点。随后,证监会在2023年10月发布了调查报告,其中提到如下几点值得留意的发现:

  • ESG服务供应商采取不同的方法来采集数据。一些供应商也会采用独特专有的方法来填补数据空缺或制订评级产品。因此,不同供应商针对同一受涵盖实体(covered entity)而提供的ESG产品未必彼此有关联,亦不能互相比较。
  • 数据不足和受涵盖实体披露数据的质素是ESG服务供应商最常面对的挑战。
  • 整体而言,市场上欠缺标准的企业可持续披露准则。
  • 对于资产管理公司和ESG产品的其他用户,主要关切点亦涉及数据的质素和涵盖范围,包括有关私营公司和新兴市场的数据供应不足。
  • 资产管理公司面对的另一挑战是ESG服务产品缺乏透明度,如供应商采用的方法和假设、原始数据的来源,以及定价框架。因此,资产管理公司必须对ESG服务供应商进行尽调。
  • 某些资产管理公司在作出投资决策之前,甚至会先请公司内部的ESG专家对ESG服务供应商提供的资讯进行分析(即不完全依赖服务供应商)。
  • 部分资产管理公司会利用自己的方法制定ESG评级供内部或其客户使用。
  • 利益冲突也是另一个担忧点。一些资产管理公司担心ESG服务供应商可能一方面下调受涵盖实体的ESG评级,同时该供应商的业务部门又向评级被下调的该实体招揽生意。

证监会得出结论,数据的可用性及可信性会产生疑虑主要是因为市场缺乏标准的企业可持续披露框架。就此,证监会预期,随着香港引入国际可持续准则理事会(ISSB)的可持续相关企业披露准则,加上证监会与本地持份者(包括港交所)合作就在香港采纳ISSB准则制订全面路线图,将有助逐步收窄数据空缺。但这些努力不一定能够解决关于私营非上市公司数据缺乏的问题,因这些公司不需要吸引来自基金公司或资产管理公司的投资。

工作小组的成立是为了通过制定“自愿性”的操守准则来解决业界的其他担忧。这也是英国、新加坡和日本采用的作法。欧盟的应对方法则是扩展其监管范围,将ESG服务供应商纳入其监管框架内。

解决问题

证监会是工作小组的提倡者,而ICMA是工作小组秘书。工作小组成员包括ESG服务供应商、资产管理公司、金融机构和恒生指数有限公司。香港金管局和保险业监管局担任观察员。

工作小组的目标包括:

  • 为在香港提供产品及服务的ESG评级和数据产品供应商制定一套全球一致的自愿操守准则;以及
  • 根据国际证券事务监察委员会组织(IOSCO)的建议提供一套基准性最佳作业手法以规管ESG服务供应商的操守,当中将涵盖四大要素:(1)透明度(包括披露数据的来源和供应商采用的方法);(2)管治;(3)系统与监控(如确保发布高质素的产品,保护所收到的所有非公开资料);以及(4)利益冲突管理。

ESG服务供应商获鼓励在日后采纳自愿操守准则,预计自愿操守准则将加强供应商与受涵盖实体的沟通及提高ESG产品用户可获得有关产品的透明度、质素和可信度。

自愿操守准则将随附一份自我评核文件。ESG服务供应商将被鼓励填写和发布(如在其网站上)该自我评核,以提高ESG服务供应商的透明度。

据工作小组的职权范围文件披露,工作小组将在2024年第一季度发表自愿操守准则的第一份草拟本作公众咨询。工作小组将考虑把收到的公众回应及意见,在公众咨询结束后约一个月编制自愿操守准则最终版本,以供发布。

工作小组将定期检视自愿操守准则,以便持续反映最佳作业手法和回应市场参与者提出的疑虑。

正面影响

自愿操守准则将提供一个精简而一致的基准,以便不同持份者(包括受涵盖实体、资产管理公司和ESG产品的其他用户)更好地理解ESG服务供应商,包括它们采集的数据来源、所使用的编制方法和管治。同时,它可减轻ESG服务供应商在应对客户的尽调或评估要求时的负担。

香港证监会计划在自愿操守准守最终版发布后发布一份原则性指导文件,指引持牌照公司如何使用自愿操守准则,以协助它们对ESG服务供应商的尽调和持续评估。


杨杨律师事务所合伙人朱静文

Allbright Logo

杨杨律师事务所
香港湾仔港湾道26号
华润大厦2803及2083A
电话: +852 2816 6888
传真: +852 3797 3835
电子信箱:

rossana.chu@east-concord.com.hk

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

HK voluntary code for data provider ESG rating

By Rossana Chu, Yang & Yang Solicitors
0
479
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

The Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (SFC) is sponsoring the International Capital Market Association (ICMA) to form a working group tasked to develop a voluntary code of conduct for environmental, social and governance (ESG) rating and data product enterprises providing ESG products and services in Hong Kong.

Greatest concerns

Rossana Chu, Yang & Yang Solicitors
Rossana Chu
Partner
Yang & Yang Solicitors

In 2022, the SFC conducted a survey to understand business concerns over ESG products and services. Their report, published in October 2023, had certain findings worthy of attention, with highlights including:

  • ESG service providers use different approaches in sourcing data. Some also employ unique and proprietary methodologies to bridge any data gap or derive their ratings products. Therefore, ESG products from different providers for the same covered entity may not be correlated and comparable with each other.
  • Data unavailability and the quality of data being disclosed by covered entities are the most common challenges for ESG service providers.
  • There is, generally, a lack of standardised corporate sustainability disclosure standards in the market.
  • Major concerns of asset managers and other ESG product users are also data quality and coverage, including insufficiency of data on private companies and emerging markets.
  • Another challenge facing asset managers is lack of transparency on the part of ESG service products such as their methodologies, assumptions, sources of raw data and pricing frameworks. Thus, asset managers have to conduct due diligence on the ESG service providers.
  • Certain asset managers even have their own in-house ESG specialists, responsible for analysing information provided by ESG service providers, meaning they are not wholly relying on the service providers before making investment decisions.
  • Some asset managers may formulate ESG ratings for internal use, or for their clients, by utilising their own methodologies.
  • Conflict of interest is another concern. Some asset managers worry about the possibility that an ESG service provider downgrades a covered entity’s ESG rating, while its business line subsequently solicits business with the downgraded entity.

The SFC concludes that the data availability and reliability issue stems from the lack of a standardised corporate sustainability disclosure framework.

In this regard, the SFC envisages that the introduction of the International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB) sustainability-related corporate disclosure standards – and its collaboration with local stakeholders including the Hong Kong Stock Exchange – to develop a comprehensive roadmap for adopting the ISSB standards in Hong Kong will help narrow the data gap gradually.

However, these efforts may not address the lack of data on private unlisted enterprises, which do not have to attract investments from funds or asset managers.

The working group was established to address concerns by introducing a “voluntary” code of conduct. This approach is also taken by the UK, Singapore and Japan, while the EU elects to expand its regulatory remit to cover ESG service providers.

Tackling the issue

The SFC is sponsoring the working group, while the ICMA acts as the secretariat. Its members include ESG service providers, asset managers, financial institutions and Hang Seng Indexes Company (HSIL). The Hong Kong Monetary Authority and the Insurance Authority sit as observers.

Objectives of the working group include:

  • Developing a globally consistent voluntary code of conduct for ESG rating and data product enterprises providing products and services in Hong Kong; and
  • Setting out baseline best practices governing the conduct of ESG service providers, based on recommendations of the International Organisation of Securities Commissions’ (IOSCO) coverage of four key elements, namely: (1) transparency including disclosure of the source of data and underlying methodologies used; (2) governance; (3) systems and controls, e.g. ensuring the issuance of high-quality products, protecting all non-public information received; and (4) management of conflicts of interest.

ESG service providers will be encouraged to adopt the voluntary code of conduct going forward, as it may help them better communicate with covered entities and ESG product users in terms of their transparency, quality and reliability of products.

Also, a self-attestation document will be appended to the voluntary code, which ESG service providers will be encouraged to complete and publish (e.g. on their websites) to foster greater transparency.

According to the working group, the first draft of the voluntary code will be made available for public consultation in the first quarter of 2024.

The working group will then consider public responses and prepare a final version for publication approximately one month after the end of public consultation.

The voluntary code of conduct will be periodically reviewed by the working group to continue reflecting best practices and addressing concerns raised by market participants.

Positive impacts

The voluntary code of conduct is expected to provide a streamlined and consistent basis for various types of stakeholders – including covered entities, asset managers and other users of ESG products – to better understand the ESG service providers in terms of their data source, methodologies and governance.

At the same time, it may reduce the ESG service providers’ burden in responding to due diligence or assessment requests from their clients.

When the voluntary code of conduct is finalised, the SFC plans to issue principles-based guidance to licensed corporations on using the voluntary code of conduct for their due diligence and on-going assessment of ESG service providers.


Rossana Chu is a partner at Yang & Yang Solicitors

Allbright Logo

Yang & Yang Solicitors
2803 & 2803A, China Resources Building
26 Harbour Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong
Tel: +852 2816 6888
Fax: +852 3797 3835
Email:

rossana.chu@east-concord.com.hk

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link