宿怨导致咖啡商标诉讼

作者: LexOrbis律师事务所Manisha Singh和Simran Bhullar
0
257

家有46年历史的咖啡家族企业在卡纳塔克邦法院提起诉讼,在“Cothas Coffee Co v Avighna Coffee Pvt Ltd”一案中,诉称其拥有的Cothas和Cothas Coffee商标被侵权。

Manisha-Singh,-Partner,-LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
合伙人
LexOrbis

被告公司的高管:Girija Chandan和SathyavathiPrakas分别是C.P. Chandan和Cothas K. Prakas的妻子,这两位丈夫在2013年之前担任原告公司的合伙人。被告公司于2014年成立,上述两位妻子担任高管。C.P. Chandan于2018年担任该公司高管。C.P. Chandan和Cothas K. Prakas的退休协议特别约定,其不得在咖啡和咖啡产品中使用原告的名称、商标以及产品名称。该协议也禁止其在三年内从事类似业务。

原告公司自1969年就从事咖啡业务,其从事生产、营销和销售Cothas Coffee商标的各种咖啡产品,该设备和商标名称分别于1977年和2001年注册,注册类别为30。原告公司拥有且经营www.cothas.com网站。被告公司于2014年申请注册Cotha Giri名称后导致该侵权之诉。原告诉称Cotha Giri的名称侵犯了Cothas商标,因为其带有混淆性相似性。原告进一步诉称Cothas K. Prakas和C.P. Chandan安排其配偶创立了被告公司并以公司为面纱在幕后指挥。原告申请永久禁令,以排除侵权和仿冒行为。

SimranBhullar,-Associate,-LexOrbis
Simran Bhullar
律师
LexOrbis

被告公司声称,总括禁令会导致其无法在任何类目的产品和服务中注册商标,因此不能签发此禁令。此外,被告公司的业务包括种植、生产、加工、经营和销售咖啡产品、茶品、饮料、菊苣以及种植业所需的化工产品和肥料。被告公司是独立法人,并非退休协议的签字方。另外,Cotha Giri是自创词汇,源自家族名称和一位高管的名字。被告声称该名称与原告的商标在发音和视觉上均不同。

法院判决

班加罗尔地区法院判决支持了原告的诉求,并签发了永久禁令。法院认为原告是案涉商标的合法拥有者。对于案涉Cotha Giri商标以及被告产品外包装的审查,也表明其有发音和视觉上的相似性。法院认为被告完全知晓原告商标及其市场声誉,但其试图以类似名称和方式销售其产品,利用原告的商誉谋利。

法院考虑了被告关于签发总括禁令会导致其无法在所有产品和服务类目上注册商标的辩称,但签发了一项内容广泛的禁令,禁止被告从事 “生产、销售、要约销售、存储、发布广告,无论是直接还是间接地在任何商品,尤其是任何咖啡、茶品或类似产品中,使用‘Cotha Giri’的名称或任何其他类似名称,无论是以英语还是其他语言与原告商标相同或混淆性相似的名称均在禁止之列。”法院亦允许原告提起反盗用商标之诉。

法院注意到原告和被告从事相同的业务,当事人均完全知晓原告的声誉及其商标的广泛认可度。法院当即认定使用Cotha Giri商标构成了对原告注册商标Cothas 和Cothas Coffee的侵权。法院同样明确地支持了原告的救济要求。

结论

通过签发永久禁令,法院给这一旷日持久的侵权诉讼画上了句号。本案始于2016年,卡纳塔克邦高等法院支持了下级法院签发的临时禁令。高等法院对原告的前合伙人甚至采取了比地区法院更激进的否定态度。对于这些前合伙人使其妻子成为被告公司高管的行为,高等法院认为其恶意规避退休协议。高等法院亦认定被告侵犯了原告的知识产权。

Manisha Singh是LexOrbis律师所的合伙人,Simran Bhullar是该所律师。

LexOrbis logo

LexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India

Mumbai | Bengaluru

Contact details
Tel: +91 11 2371 6565
Fax: +91 11 2371 6556
Email: mail@lexorbis.com
Website: www.lexorbis.com

A feud brews over a coffee trademark claim

By Manisha Singh and Simran Bhullar, LexOrbis
0
113

A 46 year-old family-owned coffee business knocked on the doors of a Karnataka Court and alleged trademark infringement of their marks Cothas and Cothas Coffee in the recent case of Cothas Coffee Co v Avighna Coffee Pvt Ltd.

Manisha-Singh,-Partner,-LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
Partner
LexOrbis

The directors of the defendant company, Girija Chandan and Sathyavathi Prakas were respectively the wives of C.P. Chandan and Cothas K. Prakas. The two husbands were partners in the plaintiff firm until 2013. The defendant company was incorporated in 2014 with the two wives as directors. C.P. Chandan became a director in 2018. The retirement deed governing the retirement of C.P. Chandan and Cothas K. Prakas specifically prohibited them from using the plaintiffs’ name, trade name, and product names in respect of coffee and coffee products. The deed also barred them from engaging in a business of a similar nature for three years.

The plaintiff firm has been in the coffee business since 1969, and manufactures, markets and sells various coffee products under the trademark Cothas Coffee, the device and the name of which were registered in 1977 and 2001 respectively, in class 30. They also own and operate a website called www.cothas.com. The infringement came to light when the defendants filed an application to register the name Cotha Giri in 2014. Alleging deceptive similarity, the plaintiffs claimed that the term Cotha Giri infringed the trademark Cothas. They further contended that Cothas K. Prakas and C.P. Chandan set up their spouses to start the defendant company and hid behind the corporate veil. The plaintiffs sought a permanent injunction to prevent the infringement and passing off.

SimranBhullar,-Associate,-LexOrbis
Simran Bhullar
Associate
LexOrbis

The defendants claimed that a blanket injunction would bar them from registering the trademark in every class of goods and services, and should not be granted. Moreover, the defendant company had been incorporated to cultivate, produce, process, trade, and sell coffee products, tea products, beverages, chicory, and chemicals and fertilizers required for plantations. The defendant company was an independent legal entity and was not a signatory to the retirement deed. Further, the mark Cotha Giri was an invented word, derived from the family circumstances and name of one of the directors. The defendants said that there were phonetic and visual differences from the plaintiffs’ mark.

Decision of the court

The Bangalore District Court ruled in favour of the plaintiffs by holding that they were entitled to the permanent injunction. The court accepted that the plaintiff were the rightful owners of the trademarks. The examination of the impugned trademark Cotha Giri and the packaging of the defendant’s products also proved that there were phonetic and visual similarities. The Court held that the defendants had full knowledge of the trademark of the plaintiffs and their reputation in the market, but attempted to sell their product with a similar name and style to take advantage of, and to cash in on their goodwill.

The court considered the defendants’ argument against the passing of a blanket injunction in respect of trademark registration of all classes of goods and services but did make an order in broad terms, prohibiting the defendants from “manufacturing, selling, offering for sale, stocking, advertising, either directly or indirectly any goods and in particular any coffee, tea or allied products under the trade mark ‘Cotha Giri’ or any other mark either in English or any other language, identical with or deceptively similar to” the plaintiffs’ trade marks. The Court also allowed the Plaintiff to pursue a passing off action.

The court noted that the plaintiffs and defendants were involved in the same business, and that all parties were fully aware of the nature of the plaintiffs’ reputation and the widespread recognition of its trademarks. The court had no hesitation in finding that the use of the mark Cotha Giri was an act of infringement of the registered marks Cothas and Cothas Coffee of the Plaintiff. The court was equally unequivocal in allowing the relief sought.

Conclusion

The court brought an end to this long-running infringement case by granting the permanent injunction. The parties had been litigating since 2016, and the High Court of Karnataka had upheld the grant of an interim injunction by a lower court. The high court was even more robust in its condemnation of the former partners of the plaintiffs than the district court. The high court considered the actions of those former partners in putting up their wives as the owners of the defendant company as simply a dishonest attempt to get round the terms of the retirement deed. The use of the plaintiffs’ intellectual property was similarly condemned.

Manisha Singh is a partner and Simran Bhullar is an associate at LexOrbis.

LexOrbis logo

LexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India

 

Mumbai | Bengaluru

 

Contact details
Tel: +91 11 2371 6565
Fax: +91 11 2371 6556
Email: mail@lexorbis.com
Website: www.lexorbis.com