印度法院强调药品需要独特包装

作者: Manisha Singh和Puja Tiwari,LexOrbis
0
76
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

在最近 Dr Reddy’s Laboratories Limited v SGS Pharmaceuticals (P) Limited 一案中,德里高等法院授予原告 Dr Reddy’s Laboratories Limited 禁令救济,禁止被告侵犯原告以 Practin 商标销售的药品 赛庚啶(Cyproheptadine) 的注册商标、商业外观、配色方案和独特包装。法院认定,被告使用相同的包装、配色方案和商业外观来冒充原告的产品,利用原告产品的商誉和声誉牟利。

原告是一家全球知名的制药公司,于1984 年成立,业务遍及全球。Practin 商标及其商业外观和配色方案于 1986 年由Wockhardt Limited注册,通过 2020 年 6 月 9 日签订的转让契据转让给原告。

Manisha Singh, LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
合伙人
LexOrbis

在 2020 年之前的五年里,该产品的年市场价值在 3.5 亿至 6 亿印度卢比(420 万至 720 万美元)之间。该产品因其独特的外观而在市场上享有极高的知名度。与大多数药品常用的银色包装不同,它的一面是橙色,另一面是白色。这一独特而鲜明的包装已获得版权保护,由于持续使用了三十年,已具备独特性。

在反驳原告的主张时,被告指出,它没有使用原告注册商标 Practin,而是以Cyproheptadine–4这一商品名销售其产品;Cyproheptadine 是盐的学名,是药品的基本成分;被告称自己自 2001 年以来一直凭有效的药品许可证使用 Cyproheptadine – 4 这一名称,因此,被告主张其有权继续销售药品。

然而,原告的起诉围绕被告使用侵权商业外观、配色方案和具有欺骗性的相同包装展开。原告称,其诉请是出于消费者的利益,因为消费者很可能被误导,以为被告的产品就是原告的产品。而被告则辩称,由于其药品属于 H 类药物,只在药房销售,凭医生处方才能购买,因此原告过分夸大了购买者将被告产品误认为原告产品的可能性。

法院承认被告持有 Cyproheptadine – 4 的药品许可证、自 2001 年以来一直在销售该药品的主张。

Puja Tiwari, LexOrbis
Puja Tiwari
合伙人
LexOrbis

不过,法院认为,被告没有理由在销售 Cyproheptadine – 4 时采用与原告产品相同的包装、配色方案、商业外观和包装版面设计;尤其在考虑到原告为区分其产品特地设计了业内独一无而的双色包装设计后,这种相似性更为明显。原告产品自1996年以来在市场上持续销售,创造了相当大的商誉和品牌知名度,这两方面都受到有效商标、商业外观和注册知识产权的保护。

法院下达了禁止使用相同包装的禁令,并命令被告提交在商业外观、配色方案、版面设计、包装、字体和整体外观方面不侵犯原告产品的独特包装的详细信息。即使被告的产品属于 H 类药物,也不降低消费者被相同包装误导的可能性,因为普通消费者可能无法“一目了然”地区分两种产品。

法院的这一判决强调了两点。首先,由于潜在消费者中普遍存在文盲,产品的外观非常重要。其次,在普通消费者或药品购买者的心目中不应存在任何混淆的可能性。

对于药品,必须更加小心,避免出现相同包装的可能性。尽管这两种药品中使用的盐的学名相同,但法院保护了原告在其独特的商业外观、配色方案和包装版面设计方面享有的知识产权。

Manisha Singh和Puja Tiwari为LexOrbis合伙人

LexOrbisLexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India
www.lexorbis.com
Mumbai | Bengaluru
联系方式
电话: +91 11 2371 6565
电子邮件: mail@lexorbis.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Distinctive pharma packaging needed to avoid harm

By Manisha Singh and Puja Tiwari, LexOrbis
0
463
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

In the recent case of Dr Reddy’s Laboratories Limited v SGS Pharmaceuticals (P) Limited, Delhi High Court granted relief to the plaintiff, Dr Reddy’s Laboratories, by restraining the defendant from infringing on the registered trademark, trade dress, colour scheme, and distinctive packaging of the medicine Cyproheptadine sold by the plaintiff under the trademark Practin. The court found that the defendant was using identical packaging, colour scheme and trade dress to pass off their product as the plaintiff’s product and ride on the goodwill and reputation of the plaintiff’s product.

Manisha Singh, LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
Partner
LexOrbis

The plaintiff is a globally renowned pharmaceutical company in existence since 1984 and with a worldwide presence. The trademark Practin, with its trade dress and colour scheme, was registered in 1986 by Wockhardt and assigned to the plaintiff via an assignment deed dated 9 June 2020.

The product has had an annual market value of between INR350 and INR600 million (USD4.2 and USD7.2 million) during the past five years preceding 2020. It enjoyed significant recall value in the market because of its unique appearance. Unlike the usual silver-coloured packaging used for most medicines, it was orange on one side and white on the reverse. This unique and distinctive packaging was copyright-protected and had acquired a distinct identity due to being in continuous use for three decades.

The defendant, in resisting the plaintiff’s application pointed out that it was not using the name Practin, the plaintiff’s registered trademark. It sold its product under the trade name Cyproheptadine–4. Cyproheptadine is the scientific name of the salt, which was the basic ingredient of the pharmaceutical product. The defendant claimed to have been using the name Cyproheptadine–4 since 2001 under a valid drug licence and, therefore, asserted its right to continue its sale.

However, the plaintiff’s case revolved around the defendant using an infringing trade dress, colour scheme and deceptively identical packaging. The plaintiff argued that its application was in the interests of consumers who were likely to be misled into thinking the product of the defendant was that of the plaintiff. The defendant, on the other hand, claimed that because its medicine was a schedule H drug and was sold only by pharmacists though a medical practitioner’s prescription, the possibility of confusion by purchasers identifying the product of the defendant as that of the plaintiff was unduly exaggerated.

Puja Tiwari, LexOrbis
Puja Tiwari
Partner
LexOrbis

The court accepted the fact that the defendant held a drug licence for Cyproheptadine–4, and that the defendant had been selling the drug since 2001.

However, the court held there was no reason to sell Cyproheptadine–4 in packaging identical to that of the plaintiff’s product, with the same colour scheme, trade dress and layout. This was especially so because the plaintiff used a bicolour scheme unique in the industry and which was created specifically to distinguish its products from the rest. The continuous presence of the product in the market since 1996 created considerable goodwill and brand recall, both of which had been protected by valid trademarks and trade dress and IP registrations.

The court granted an injunction against the use of identical packaging. The defendant was directed to submit details of distinct packaging not infringing the plaintiff’s product through trade dress, colour scheme, layout, packaging, font and overall appearance. Even if the defendant’s product was a schedule H drug, the possibility of being misled by identical packaging could not be discounted, because the average consumer may not be able to differentiate the two products on plain viewing.

This decision emphasised two elements. First, as illiteracy was prevalent among probable consumers, the appearance of a product was significant. Second, there should be no possibility of confusion in the mind of the average consumer or purchaser of medicines.

These are pharmaceutical products and a higher degree of care must be taken to avoid any possibility of identical packaging. Even though the scientific name of the salt used in each medicine was the same, the court protected the plaintiff’s intellectual property rights in its unique trade dress, colour scheme and layout.

Manisha Singh and Puja Tiwari are partners at LexOrbis.

LexOrbisLexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India
www.lexorbis.com
Mumbai | Bengaluru
Contact details:
T: +91 11 2371 6565
E: mail@lexorbis.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link