马铃薯品种权属之争

作者: Essenese Obhan和Charul Yadav,Obhan & Associates
0
50
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

在百事可乐印度控股有限公司诉Kavitha Kuruganti(Pepsico India Holdings Pvt Ltd v Kavitha Kuruganti) 一案中,德里高等法院的上诉分庭推翻了此前一位独任法官关于撤销百事公司对 FL2027的权利的判决(FL2027是百事可乐旗下知名乐事薯片使用的马铃薯品种)。这是罕见的一起涉及印度植物新品种保护法的案件。本案判决就主管机关自由裁量权的行使、所提交信息的实质相关性以及注册程序的一般方法指明了方向。

百事公司最初申请将FL2027注册为新品种,但后来修改了申请,于2016年将其注册为现有品种。随后,百事公司起诉多位种植马铃薯的农民侵犯其注册品种权,但很快撤诉。2021 年,植物品种保护和农民权利管理局(Protection of Plant Varieties and Farmers’ Rights Authority)(管理局)以若干理由撤销了 FL2027 的注册。

Essenese Obhan
Essenese Obhan
管理合伙人
Obhan & Associates

管理局解释了撤销决定的依据,其中包括当初的注册所依据的是百事公司提供的错误信息。百事公司起初将其作为新品种申报,并提供了错误的首次销售日期,该首次销售日期是在印度的首次销售而非全球。由于缺乏适当的文件证明,管理局认为百事公司不具备”育种者”的资格。最后,管理局指出,百事公司的注册不符合公共利益,因为侵权案件给马铃薯种植者造成了困扰。

百事公司向德里高等法院提起诉讼,独任法官维持了管理局的撤销决定。独任法官在一些问题上不同意管理局的意见,比如他认为百事公司最初申请将FL2027注册为新品种并不是一个致命错误,因为它最终纠正了品种信息并获得了注册;对公共利益的认定也没有依据。但独任法官同意,撤销注册的决定是正确的,因为百事公司提交的信息有误,特别是首次销售日期。虽然首次销售日期——无论是指在印度的首次销售还是指在全球——不会对注册产生实质影响,也不会给百世公司带来任何好处,但独任法官认为这一点并不重要。此外,权利持有人(同一集团的另一家公司)向百事公司进行转让的证据也不充分。

Charul Yadav
Charul Yadav
合伙人
Obhan & Associates

百事公司向上诉分庭提起上诉。上诉分庭同意独任法官关于申请书中品种分类的意见,但认为申请书和批准书都不存在根本性的错误,而且都提供了法律要求的信息,这一点至关重要。上诉分庭从两个方面进行了分析:一是,坚持要求提供法律本身规定模糊的信息是否不当;二是,是否应考虑有关信息的实质相关性。

关于第一个问题,上诉分庭认为,法律没有明确规定品种的首次销售日期必须是全球首次销售日期还是印度首次销售日期。法律中”品种”的定义提到了”在印度”的可得性,百事公司据此推定申请表要求的是在印度的首次销售合乎情理。在没有明确法律规定的情况下,法院推断申请表要求提供的是相反的信息,这种推断失之”褊狭”。

关于第二个问题,上诉分庭认为,百事公司没有动机故意混淆印度首次销售日期和国外首次销售日期,因为无论是哪种情况,申请都是在规定的自首次销售之日起15年的期限内提出的。应该注意的是,保护是从注册日期而不是首次销售日期开始。

关于没有转让证据的问题,上诉分庭认为这对申请而言并非致命缺陷。

最重要的一点是,上诉分庭强调了撤销决定的措辞。法院认为,”可以撤销”这一表述清楚地表明撤销权是自由裁量权。只有在不符合条件的人或品种获得注册,或本来无权注册的品种获得保护时,才应行使撤销权。如果申请人没有故意或蓄意不提供信息或不提供准确的信息,则主管机关应特别谨慎地行使这一裁量权。

当事方可能继续上诉,因此马铃薯之争尚未结束。不过,该判决本身为撤销裁量权的行使确立了一个重要的判例。它阐释了一些基本的法律原则和自然公正原则,无论是对申请人、被授予人、法院,还是主管机关都有重要的指引意义。

Essenese Obhan为 Obhan & Associates 管理合伙人, Charul Yadav 为Obhan & Associates合伙人

Obhan & AssociatesObhan & Associates
Advocates and Patent Agents
N – 94, Second Floor
Panchsheel Park
New Delhi 110017, India
联系方式:
阿诗玛·奥班
电话:+91 98 1104 3532
电子邮件:email@obhans.com | ashima@obhans.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Whose potato is it really? Court restores PepsiCo’s rights

By Essenese Obhan and Charul Yadav, Obhan & Associates
0
279
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

In a rare test of the plant variety protection law in India, a division, or appellate, bench (DB) of Delhi High Court in Pepsico India Holdings Pvt Ltd v Kavitha Kuruganti reversed a single judge bench (SJ) decision that revoked PepsiCo’s rights in FL2027, the potato variety used in its well-known Lay’s chips. It gave directions for the exercise of discretion by authorities, the material relevance of submitted information and the general approach to registration processes.

PepsiCo originally applied to register FL2027 as a new variety, but later amended the application, registering it as an extant variety in 2016. It then sued potato farmers for infringing its rights in the registered variety, but soon withdrew the cases. In 2021, the Protection of Plant Varieties and Farmers’ Rights Authority (authority) revoked the registration for FL2027 on a number of grounds.

Essenese Obhan
Essenese Obhan
Managing partner
Obhan & Associates

Among other reasons, the authority said that the registration was based on incorrect information from PepsiCo, which at first filed it as a new variety with an incorrect date of first sale, that being its first sale in India not globally. It decided that PepsiCo did not qualify as a “breeder” for lack of proper documentation. Finally, it said that the registration was not in the public interest, as the infringement cases troubled the potato farmers.

PepsiCo appealed to Delhi High Court, where the SJ upheld the revocation. The SJ disagreed with the authority on some issues, such as filing originally as a new variety was not a fatal mistake as it was correctly registered in the end. The public interest finding was not based on evidence. But the SJ agreed that the revocation was correct because PepsiCo had submitted incorrect information, particularly the date of first sale. It was immaterial that the date, either India-specific or global, would have not materially affected the registration and gave no advantage to the company. There was also insufficent evidence of the assignment from the rights holder, a company in the same group, to PepsiCo.

Charul Yadav
Charul Yadav
Partner
Obhan & Associates

PepsiCo appealed to the DB. That court agreed with the SJ on the categorisation of the variety in the application, but crucially held that neither the application nor its grant contained a fundamental misdeclaration or failed to provide information required by law. It analysed two aspects: whether an insistence on certain information, about which the law itself was unclear would be improper, and second whether the material relevance of the information in question should be considered.

On the first issue, it found that the law did not specify whether the date of first sale of a variety had to be global or India-specific. The definition of “variety” in the statute referred to availability “in India”, and PepsiCo was entitled to assume the application form required reference to the first sale in India. For the court to infer, without adequate statutory guidance, that the form required information to the contrary would be “narrow and pedantic”.

In the second matter, the DB found that PepsiCo would have derived no benefit by deliberately declaring the date to be the first sale in India or abroad, because for either the application was made within the stipulated 15-year time period from the date of first sale. It should be understood that protection flows from the date of registration not from the date of first sale.

With regard to the absence of a formal assignment, the DB held this was not fatal to the application.

Most importantly, the DB highlighted the wording of the revocation provision. The court held that the expression “may be revoked”, which clearly signalled that the power to revoke is discretionary. It should be exercised only when registration is granted to an ineligible person or variety, or where a variety, not otherwise entitled to registration was accorded protection. Discretion was to be exercised with particular care when the failure to furnish information or correct details was neither intentional nor deliberate.

This may not be the end of the potato wars as further appeals could yet be heard. However, the decision itself establishes a critical precedent for discretionary powers of revocation. This has implications for applicants, grantees, courts and statutory authorities alike, because it sets out fundemental principles of law and natural justice for all to follow.

Essenese Obhan is the managing partner and Charul Yadav is a partner at Obhan & Associates.

Obhan & AssociatesObhan & Associates
Advocates and Patent Agents
N – 94, Second Floor
Panchsheel Park
New Delhi 110017, India
Contact details:
Ashima Obhan
T: +91 98 1104 3532
E: email@obhans.com | ashima@obhans.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link