人工智能时代,如何平衡创新与监管?

作者: Essenese Obhan 和 Charul Yadav, Obhan & Associates
0
143
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

无论人工智能(AI)被视为颠覆者还是加速器,它已全面渗透到国民经济的方方面面。经过几十年的实验室研究,人工智能已成为主流,开始引起各国政府关注。印度也不例外。

Essenese Obhan
Essenese Obhan
管理合伙人
Obhan & Associates

据估计,到2035年,人工智能将为印度经济贡献1万亿美元产值。印度政府正强力打造一个蓬勃的人工智能生态体系,通过资金支持、政策扶持、科研和有效监管推动人工智能的创新发展和应用。IndiaAI就是其中一个国家级项目,任务获得了,这个项目通过公私合作模式筹集了10.37万亿印度卢比(约合124.1亿美元)的巨额资金创建AI计算基础设施。此外,印度政府还打算创建国内人工智能基础模型,以服务健康、医疗创新、农业、教育和治理领域的本地用例。

印度政府对人工智能的规划早在几年前已开始。政府智囊团Niti Aayog在2018-2019年度预算中就受命制定国家人工智能计划。自此,相关讨论文件层出不穷,印度政府对人工智能的野心可见一斑。

2018年,一份关于”国家人工智能战略”的文件就发展人工智能创新和应用的生态系统提出了多项建议,强调负责任地使用人工智能是关键所在。2021年2月,负责任的人工智能概念被进一步采纳,文件检讨了相关风险,并确定了安全和可靠性、包容性和非歧视、隐私和安全等监管原则。2021年8月的后续文件则建议建立基于风险的监管机制,并确定了利益相关者及其责任。例如,政府负责设计干预措施并确保技术的可获得性;私营部门和研究机构负责推动“源于设计的伦理”。

其他政府部门也在积极引导有关人工智能监管的公共讨论。电子信息部(The Ministry of Electronics and Information)成立了多个委员会,负责制定政策框架和发展人工智能生态系统。商业和工业部(The Ministry of Commerce and Industry)成立特别工作组引导人工智能赋能印度的经济转型。

Charul Yadav
Charul Yadav
合伙人
Obhan & Associates

新颁布的《2023年数字个人数据保护法》(Digital Personal Data Protection Act)虽然不是专门针对人工智能,但也涉及未经授权处理和使用个人数字数据的问题。2024年3月,电子信息部针对人工智能工具的使用发布了一份指导意见,凡测试或训练人工智能工具或与人工智能工具相关的中介机构和平台必须遵守。电子信息部随后又仓促修改了意见。这份意见规定,凡向印度用户提供人工智能工具的,必须标明其输出结果可能不可靠。违规者将受到处罚。这一建议的合法性尚不明确,但其意图是显而易见的——人工智能的可信度、安全性和可靠性不容妥协。

等待数月的人工智能监管框架草案可能最早要到今年年中才能发布,因《行为准则范本》(Model Code of Conduct)将在大选后发布。预计监管框架将聚焦三个方向:利用人工智能促进经济增长、保护公民免受人工智能滥用的危害,以及发展人才库。

印度在外交场合也一直积极参与有关人工智能监管的讨论。今年,印度作为 20 国集团的轮值主席国呼吁促进全球人工智能治理。印度是人工智能全球伙伴关系组织(The Global Partnership on Artificial Intelligence)的成员,该组织旨在促进负责任地开发和使用人工智能。印度支持联合国的一项关于如何保障人工智能技术的安全、可靠、可信和平等使用的决议草案。

随着人工智能本身的不断演变发展,这些关于政策和立法的对话也会继续下去。印度尚未制定正式的法律或监管框架,这也许是因为政府也意识到人工智能的发展日新月异。有人担心,仓促的决定可能会忽略一些关键方面。不过,一些基本的监管原则是确定的,其中之一是,对人工智能的监管不能扼杀创新,但也必须防止无限制的技术滥用。印度政府正在与国内外的关键实体和机构合作,坚定但谨慎地研究最佳的前进方向,它的监管决定将成为世界许多地方的试金石。

Essenese Obhan是Obhan & Associates 管理合伙人,Charul Yadav是该所合伙人。

Obhan & AssociatesObhan & Associates
Advocates and Patent Agents
N – 94, Second Floor
Panchsheel Park
New Delhi 110017, India
联系方式:
阿诗玛·奥班
电话:+91 98 1104 3532
电子邮件:email@obhans.com | ashima@obhans.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Balancing innovation and regulation as AI spreads

By Essenese Obhan and Charul Yadav, Obhan & Associates
0
412
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Whether artificial intelligence (AI) is considered a disruptor or an accelerator, it is here to stay. After decades of being confined to laboratory-based research, AI has become mainstream and governments are becoming interested. India is no exception.

Essenese Obhan
Essenese Obhan
Managing partner
Obhan & Associates

Estimates are that by 2035 AI will add USD1 trillion to India’s economy. Not surprisingly, the government would like to proactively develop a robust and effective ecosystem for AI innovation and implementation. It is exploring this through funding, facilitating, developing and regulating AI. For example, the IndiaAI mission received a significant INR10.37 trillion (USD12.41 billion) boost to create an AI computing infrastructure through a public-private partnership model. The government also intends to create domestic AI foundational models to serve local use cases in health, medical innovation, agriculture, education and governance.

This is not recent involvement. The government thinktank, Niti Aayog, was mandated to establish a national AI programme in the 2018-19 budget. Its steady stream of discussion papers since then shows how far the government’s vision for AI has evolved.

A 2018 paper on a “National Strategy for Artificial Intelligence” gave broad recommendations for developing an ecosystem for AI innovation and adoption, highlighting that the responsible use of AI was key. In February 2021, the concept of responsible AI was taken further. It examined associated risks and identified such regulatory principles as safety and reliability, inclusivity and non-discrimination, privacy and security. An August 2021 follow-up recommended a risk-based mechanism for regulation. It identified stakeholders and their responsibilities. For example, governments would design interventions and ensure accessibility; private sector and research institutions would incentivise ethics by design.

Charul Yadav
Charul Yadav
Partner
Obhan & Associates

Other government entities are actively guiding public discourse on AI regulation. The Ministry of Electronics and Information (MEITy) set up committees to create a policy framework and develop the AI ecosystem. The Ministry of Commerce and Industry’s task force seeks to kick-start the use of AI for India’s economic transformation.

Although not directed at AI specifically, the newly enacted Digital Personal Data Protection Act, 2023, deals with the unauthorised processing and use of personal digital data. In March 2024, MEITy issued an advisory, although hurriedly revised, for the due diligence intermediaries and platforms connected with or testing or training AI tools have to follow. It provides that such tools can only be made available to users in India after labelling the potential unreliability of the generated output. Non-compliance brings penalties. The legality of such an advisory remains unclear, but the intention is clear. The trustworthiness, safety and reliability of AI cannot be compromised.

A draft regulatory framework for AI has been awaited for months, but with the Model Code of Conduct coming after the election, this will not be issued until at least mid-year. However, it is thought that the framework will focus on harnessing AI for economic growth; protecting citizens against misuse, and developing a talent pool.

India has been discussing through diplomacy the way in which AI can or should be regulated. The G20, of which India has the presidency, is calling for global governance of AI. The Global Partnership on Artificial Intelligence, of which the country is a member promotes responsible development and the use of AI. India is backing a UN draft resolution guaranteeing that AI technology is safe, secure, trustworthy and equally accessible.

These policy and legislative conversations will likely continue alongside the evolution of AI itself. That India does not yet have in place a formal legal or regulatory framework is perhaps an acknowledgement of the rapidly transforming nature of AI. There is concern that hasty decisions could overlook critical aspects. However, some foundational principles now appear to be in place. One is that regulation of AI must not stifle innovation, but must also prevent an unrestricted abuse of the technology. The government is firmly, but cautiously examining the best way forward, in partnership with key entities and bodies at home and abroad. Its regulatory decisions will be a touchstone for much of the world.

Essenese Obhan is the managing partner and Charul Yadav is a partner at Obhan & Associates.

Obhan & AssociatesObhan & Associates
Advocates and Patent Agents
N – 94, Second Floor
Panchsheel Park
New Delhi 110017, India
Contact details:
Ashima Obhan
T: +91 98 1104 3532
E: email@obhans.com | ashima@obhans.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link