金融风险监管新气象

作者: Sawant Singh 和 Aditya Bhargava,Phoenix Legal
0
63
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

度储备银行(the Reserve Bank of India)在其2024年2月关于发展和监管政策的声明中明确承认,”气候变化可能转化为与气候相关的金融风险”,这些风险会波及受监管实体(regulated entities),“这将影响整体金融稳定”。为了与全球最佳做法保持一致,印度储备银行于2022年7月在其网站上发布了一份关于气候风险和可持续金融的意见征求稿。

Sawant Singh, Phoenix Legal
Sawant Singh
合伙人
Phoenix Legal

根据收到的反馈意见,印度储备银行在2024年2月的声明中建议建立绿色存款框架、气候相关金融风险披露框架以及气候情景分析和压力测试指南。2024年2月28日,印度储备银行发布了《气候相关金融风险披露框架指南》征求意见稿。虽然《巴塞尔协议三》第三支柱的披露已经作出了披露重大风险的要求,但披露框架旨在针对受监管实体建立一个披露机制,要求受监管实体披露更多关于气候风险的结构化信息。

如果正式文件保留征求意见稿的规定,所有在册商业银行、所有“顶层”和“上层”非银行金融公司(NBFC)以及特定的其他类型的金融机构都将纳入框架内。除此以外的其他受监管实体可自愿采用披露框架。该框架草案承认需要”一个更好的、一致的和可比较的披露框架”,因为”与气候相关的金融风险信息披露不充分会导致资产定价错误和资本分配不当”。它还承认,与气候相关的信息披露是利益相关方了解气候风险和制定缓解措施的重要信息来源。

披露框架意见稿要求受监管实体在其财务报表中披露与气候有关的风险,以便尽早评估气候相关风险。这些信息应单独披露。根据意见稿的定义,气候相关的财务风险指气候变化造成的、或因采取措施减缓气候变化引起的潜在风险,以及这些风险带来的经济和财务后果。披露框架意见稿还对二氧化碳当量、融资排放、温室气体、范围1温室气体排放和范围2温室气体排放等非财务技术术语作出定义。过渡风险被定义为实现低碳经济调整过程中有关的风险,如气候相关政策和法规的变化、新技术的出现以及消费者偏好和行为的转变带来的风险。

Aditya Bhargava, Phoenix Legal
Aditya Bhargava
合伙人
Phoenix Legal

受监管实体被要求披露的气候相关信息主要有四个方面。首先是治理,意见稿要求受监管实体披露公司为识别、评估和缓解与气候相关的金融风险、为识别气候相关机会而制定的各种治理程序,以及董事会对气候相关风险和机遇的监督机制。高级管理层在评估与气候相关的风险和机遇方面的作用也属于治理内容。其次是战略,受监管实体必须披露识别出的短期、中期和长期气候相关风险和机遇,气候相关风险和机遇对受监管实体业务的影响,以及受监管实体战略在不同气候情景下的韧性。再次是风险管理,其内容包括识别、评估和监控与气候相关的金融风险和机遇,对这些风险和机遇进行优先排序,以及如何将这些风险和机遇融入整体风险管理流程中。最后,各种衡量标准和目标,意见稿要求受监管实体解释他们制定的与上述风险和机遇相关的业绩指标,在实现内部气候目标和法定气候目标方面取得的进展。

该框架的构想极具前瞻性,可谓与时俱进,甚至可以说走在了市场前面。如果意见稿的监管提议得以保留并实施,它将成为“以监管引领市场”而非“监管追赶市场”的典范。意见稿聚焦信息披露,而不是设置硬性指标,这一点值得称赞。这一框架下的披露方式将与财务报表中基于风险的披露内容联动,形成一股强有力的推动力,促进气候纪律的落实。

Sawant Singh和Aditya Bhargava 是Phoenix Legal合伙人。

resolutionPhoenix Legal
Second Floor 254, Okhla Industrial
Estate Phase III, New Delhi – 110 020, India
Vaswani Mansion, 3/F
120 Dinshaw Vachha Road, Churchgate
Mumbai – 400 020, India
联系方式:
电话:+91 11 4983 0000
+91 22 4340 8500
电子邮件:delhi@phoenixlegal.in
mumbai@phoenixlegal.in

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A new climate for regulating financial risk

By Sawant Singh and Aditya Bhargava, Phoenix Legal
0
585
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

In its February 2024 statement on developmental and regulatory policies, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) explicitly recognised that “climate change can translate into climate-related financial risks” for regulated entities (RE) “which can have broader financial stability implications”. To align with global best practices, the RBI in July 2022 placed a discussion paper on climate risk and sustainable finance on its website for public comment.

Sawant Singh, Phoenix Legal
Sawant Singh
Partner
Phoenix Legal

Based on the feedback received, the RBI’s February 2024 statement proposed issuing a framework for green deposits, a disclosure framework for climate-related financial risks, and guidance on climate scenario analysis and stress testing. On 28 February 2024, the RBI issued draft Guidelines on Disclosure Framework on Climate-related Financial Risks for public response. While Pillar 3 disclosures under Basel III already require material risk to be revealed, the disclosure framework seeks to put in place a mechanism for REs to communicate more structured information about climate risks.

The disclosure framework if finalised in its draft form will apply to all scheduled commercial banks, all top-layer and upper-layer non-banking financial companies (NBFC) and certain other financial institutions. REs other than these may adopt the disclosure framework on a voluntary basis. The draft framework recognises the need for “a better, consistent and comparable disclosure framework” as “inadequate information about climate-related financial risks can lead to mispricing of assets and misallocation of capital”. The guidelines also recognise that climate-related disclosures are an important source of information for stakeholders in understanding climate risks and the mitigation measures adopted.

The draft disclosure framework requires REs to disclose climate-related risks in their financial statements, thus promoting early assessment of climate-related risks. These disclosures would need to be made on a standalone basis. Climate-related financial risks are defined as potential risks that may arise from climate change or efforts to mitigate climate change and its economic and financial consequences. The draft disclosure framework also defines more non-financial technical terms, such as CO2 equivalent, financed emissions, greenhouse gases, Scope 1 greenhouse gas emissions, and Scope 2 greenhouse gas emissions. Transition risks are defined as those risks related to the process of adjustment towards a low carbon economy, such as changes in climate-related policies and regulations, emergence of new technologies and shifts in consumer preferences and behaviour.

Aditya Bhargava, Phoenix Legal
Aditya Bhargava
Partner
Phoenix Legal

Climate-related disclosures for REs would cover four “thematic pillars”. These are governance, where REs are required to disclose governance processes to identify, assess and mitigate climate-related financial risks and opportunities and the board’s oversight of climate-related risks and opportunities. The senior management’s role in assessing climate-related risks and opportunities is also included under this head. The second is strategy, in which REs must disclose identified climate-related risks and opportunities in the short, medium and long term, the impact of climate-related risks and opportunities on the RE’s businesses and the resilience of the RE’s strategy based on different climate scenarios. Risk management is next, where REs identify, assess, prioritise and monitor climate-related financial risks and opportunities and how these integrate with their overall risk management processes. Finally, metrics and targets require REs to explain their performance in respect of their climate-related financial risks and opportunities, their progress towards any climate-related targets and any targets required by local laws.

This framework’s conceptualisation is far-sighted, reflecting a regulatory stance that is at least in step, if not ahead of the market. The disclosure framework, if implemented in its present form will be an instance of regulation guiding market development rather than merely reacting to it. The draft guidelines are to be lauded for trying to create a framework emphasising climate change disclosure rather than imposing hard targets. This nuanced approach and its interlinking with risk-based disclosures in financial statements might actually be a potent force in promoting climate discipline.

Sawant Singh and Aditya Bhargava are partners at Phoenix Legal.

resolutionPhoenix Legal
Second Floor 254, Okhla Industrial
Estate Phase III, New Delhi – 110 020, India
Vaswani Mansion, 3/F
120 Dinshaw Vachha Road, Churchgate
Mumbai – 400 020, India
Contact details:
T: +91 11 4983 0000
+91 22 4340 8500
E: delhi@phoenixlegal.in
mumbai@phoenixlegal.in

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link