菜肴美味,谁家“所有”?

作者: Manisha Singh和Tushitta Murali,LexOrbis
0
66
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

2024 年 1 月 16 日,德里高等法院就 Rupa Gujral and Ors 诉 Daryaganj Hospitality Private Limited and Ors 一案举行庭审。这将是一场旷日持久的知识产权争夺战,还是一起简单的营销纠纷?答案还待揭晓。

Manisha Singh, LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
合伙人
LexOrbis

黄油鸡肉马萨拉(Butter Chicken Masala)和达尔马卡尼(Dal Makhani)是印度广受欢迎的两道菜肴。本案的争议焦点就涉及这两道菜的起源。Moti Mahal是一家著名的餐饮企业,曾接待过许多国内外贵宾,一直以来标榜自己“印度著名餐厅,始于1920”。他们将 Daryaganj 告上法庭,因为后者使用了“黄油鸡肉和达尔马卡尼的发明者”的标语,Moti Mahal主张自己才是两道菜肴的发明者,后者的标语具有误导性和欺骗性。

法庭简明扼要地列出了原告的诉讼请求和被告的辩护意见。原告声称他们的前身 Kundal Lal Gujral 是这两道菜的发明者。被告反驳说,他们的前身 Kundan Lal Jaggi 与 Kundan Lal Gujral 在拆伙前共同在白沙瓦创建了最初的 Moti Mahal餐厅。因此,被告辩称原告无权单独主张自己是这两道菜的发明人。

原告称,其前身发明了坦杜里烤鸡,在意识到大量剩余鸡肉无法冷藏后,他们用番茄制作了一种肉汁或酱汁来储存熟肉并防止其变干。两种食物混合后产生了黄油的味道和口感,因此在名称中使用了”黄油”和 “马卡尼”这两个词。原告称达尔马卡尼也是由 Kundan Lal Gujral 发明的,他将黄油酱与黑豆一起烹制,这道菜在概念上与黄油鸡肉马萨拉相同。

Tushitta Murali, LexOrbis
Tushitta Murali
律师
LexOrbis

原告主张,他们拥有 Moti Mahal 商标以及他们自 1920 年以来在国内外开设的餐馆中使用的所有商标。原告称被告一直试图制造自己和原告之间有关联的假象,使用 Daryaganj 这一名称就证明了这一点。Daryaganj 是原告开设餐馆的地方。原告还特别提请法院注意被告网站上显示的某些具有欺骗性的内容,其中包括一张被歪曲成是Kundan Lal Jaggi的 Kundan Lal Gujral 的照片肯和一张修改过的原告原来在白沙瓦的餐馆的照片。

与前一次庭审一样,这一次,被告称他们在庭审开庭前一周才收到通知,没有时间提交书面陈述。不过,被告主张,本案存在误解,没有充分可信的诉讼理由。被告辩称双方共同创建了这家餐厅,因此任一方对其网站上的图片都不享有独占权。为了防止混淆,被告特意剪裁图片中出现的 Moti Mahal 名称。法院承认,被告同意在一周内从其网站上撤下照片,是向原告伸出了橄榄枝,但被告不承认原告提出的任何关于虚假陈述和欺骗的指控。

在审理过程中,法庭无疑需要评估大量的间接证据。法庭须确定黄油鸡肉马萨拉和达尔马卡尼的起源,从而决定哪家餐厅可以使用“发明者“的标语。区分菜谱和区分这两道菜的营销标语将成为庭审关键,前者属商业秘密,后者则属商标。法院必须通过对 Moti Mahal 和 Daryaganj 的成立及其前身之间的关系进行事实认定,来确定菜肴的起源。

法院必须决定这两道菜是由原告专有,还是由原被告双方共同所有。如果法院作出后一种判决,那么双方都可以使用“发明者“的标语。双方显然都看到了案件胜诉蕴含的巨大商业价值。 3 月 18 日,注册官将就本案举行听证,下一次庭审则是在5 月 29 日,届时,案件走向将更加明朗

Manisha Singh是LexOrbis 合伙人, Tushitta Murali 是该所律师。

LexOrbis LogoLexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India
www.lexorbis.com

Mumbai | Bengaluru
联系方式:
电话:+91 11 2371 6565
电子邮件:mail@lexorbis.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Fine words butter no parsnips, nor apparently chicken

By Manisha Singh and Tushitta Murali, LexOrbis
0
291
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

On 16 January 2024, a hearing in the case of Rupa Gujral and Ors v Daryaganj Hospitality Private Limited and Ors saw the opening salvos in what could either be a lengthy campaign over culinary intellectual property or a mere skirmish in a marketing dispute.

Delhi High Court was faced with opposing versions of the origin of two widely enjoyed dishes, Butter Chicken Masala and Dal Makhani. Moti Mahal is a well-known restaurant business, hosting many distinguished national and international guests. They brought the case against Daryaganj, claiming they were the original inventors. The claims to fame and the disputed status were prompted by Daryaganj’s use of the tagline “By The Inventors Of Butter Chicken & Dal Makhani”. Moti Mahal, which used the branding “India’s Famous Restaurant Since 1920”, alleged that Daryaganj’s wording was misleading and deceptive.

Manisha Singh, LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
Partner
LexOrbis

The hearing was for directions but the court succinctly set out the rival claims. The plaintiffs claimed that their predecessor, Kundal Lal Gujral, was the inventor of the dishes. The defendants countered that their predecessor, Kundan Lal Jaggi, jointly with Kundan Lal Gujral established the original Moti Mahal in Peshawar before partition. The defendant argued that the plaintiffs had no exclusive right to claim they created the dishes.

The plaintiffs submitted that their predecessor invented tandoori chicken and, on realising that the large amounts of leftover meat could not be refrigerated, created a gravy or sauce made out of tomatoes to store the cooked meat and prevent it from drying out. The mixture had a buttery flavour and texture, causing the words “Butter” and “Makhani” to be used in the names. The plaintiffs claimed that Dal Makhani was also invented by Kundan Lal Gujral by cooking the buttery sauce with black pulses, a dish conceptually the same as Butter Chicken Masala.

The plaintiffs contended they owned the mark Moti Mahal and all marks used in their restaurants set up nationally and internationally since 1920. The plaintiffs alleged that the defendants were attempting to create a false sense of connection between themselves and the plaintiffs, as evidenced by the use of the name Daryaganj. This refers to the locality in which the plaintiffs’ restaurant was set up. The plaintiffs also drew particular attention to certain allegedly deceptive content displayed on the defendants’ website. This consisted of a photograph of Kundan Lal Gujral, which had been misrepresented as Kundan Lal Jaggi and an altered photograph of the plaintiffs’ original restaurant in Peshawar.

Tushitta Murali, LexOrbis
Tushitta Murali
Associate
LexOrbis

As on the previous hearing date, the defendants said they had received notice only a week before the hearing date and had not filed a written statement. However, they contended that the case was misconceived and disclosed no credible cause of action. The defendants claimed the parties jointly established the restaurant, and there could be no exclusive right over the image used on their website. This was particularly so when the defendants had cropped the name Moti Mahal appearing in the image to prevent confusion. The court acknowledged that the defendants had held out an olive branch by agreeing to take down the photo from their website within a week but without admitting any of the claims made by the plaintiffs alleging misrepresentation and deception.

In the trial, the court will no doubt have to assess voluminous circumstantial evidence. The case will determine the origin of Butter Chicken Masala and Dal Makhani so that the tagline can be attached to the name of the appropriate restaurant. It will be important to differentiate between the recipe, which forms part of the trade secret, and the banner under which the dishes will be sold for public consumption, which is part of the trademark. The court will have to determine the origin of the dishes by making findings of fact as to the establishment of Moti Mahal and Daryaganj and the relationship between their predecessors.

The court will have to decide whether to grant the plaintiffs sole rights to the use of the branding or to give the parties joint ownership. In the latter verdict, each could use the tagline. Both sides clearly see considerable commercial value in winning. The issues may be better delineated when the case next comes before the registrar on 18 March and the court on 29 May.

Manisha Singh is a partner and Tushitta Murali is an associate at LexOrbis.

LexOrbis LogoLexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India
www.lexorbis.com

Mumbai | Bengaluru
Contact details:
T: +91 11 2371 6565
E: mail@lexorbis.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link