亚洲地区争议解决法律动态的对比 – 阿联酋

0
656
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

对亚洲诉讼与替代性争议解决领域新兴趋势的详细观察

导航


印度

菲律宾

台湾

泰国

阿联酋

 

拉伯联合酋长国(阿联酋)是由迪拜、阿布扎比、阿治曼、富查伊拉、哈伊马角、沙迦和乌姆盖万七个酋长国组成的联邦。阿联酋的联邦司法系统基于大陆法系,源于伊斯兰教法,并受到埃及法律和法学的影响。

然而,阿联酋宪法允许酋长国退出联邦司法系统,建立自己独立的司法系统。目前,阿布扎比、迪拜和哈伊马角均拥有自己独立的司法系统,而其他酋长国仍为联邦司法系统。

Abdulla Galadari Galadari Advocates律师事务所高级合伙人 争议解决
Abdulla Galadari
Galadari Advocates律师事务所高级合伙人
T: +971 55 911 1999
E: abdulla@galadarilaw.com

所有酋长国的法院都分为两级(大陆法院)——初审法院(Court of First Instance)与上诉法院(Court of Appeal)。此外,阿布扎比、迪拜和哈伊马角还有自己的最高法院(Court of Cassation),即该酋长国内层级最高的法院。在其他所有酋长国,最终的上诉都会进入阿布扎比的最高法院。

迪拜国际金融中心法院和阿布扎比环球市场法院是阿联酋的离岸法院。迪拜国际金融中心是一个独立的主体,拥有自己的一套基于普通法系统的法律和一个独立的司法系统。在合同里加入迪拜国际金融中心管辖权将允许当事人选择迪拜国际金融中心法院解决争议。类似地,成立于2016年的阿布扎比环球市场法院是基于英国普通法系统的普通法法院,裁决民商事争议。直接适用英国普通法使得阿布扎比环球市场成为中东第一个采用类似新加坡和香港模式的法域。

阿联酋已将自己打造成国际商务的区域性中心,仲裁也逐渐成为一种流行的争议解决方式。

迪拜国际仲裁中心建立于1994年,是一个区域性的仲裁中心,也是迪拜工商会的一部分。迪拜国际金融中心与伦敦国际仲裁院合作建立了迪拜国际金融中心-伦敦国际仲裁院仲裁中心。迪拜国际金融中心-伦敦国际仲裁院仲裁中心允许适用享有国际声誉的伦敦国际仲裁院规则。伦敦国际仲裁院的标准、能力和规则受到商业机构和国际投资者的信赖。

Manish Narayan Galadari Advocates律师事务所合伙人 阿联酋争议解决
Manish Narayan
Galadari Advocates律师事务所合伙人
T: +971 55 414 7028
E: manish@galadarilaw.com

如果迪拜国际金融中心-伦敦国际仲裁院的当事人选择迪拜国际金融中心作为仲裁地,迪拜国际金融中心法院会承认其仲裁裁决并且可以对被申请人的财产进行强制执行。国际商会国际仲裁法院是世界领先的解决国际商事争议的仲裁机构,其也在阿布扎比设立了办公室。

封锁期间的争议

新冠肺炎的传播对世界范围内的企业都造成了严重的法律影响。与援引不可抗力条款而终止合同、延迟交付与到期不付款等有关的问题大幅增长。

阿联酋在2020年4月宣布对商业和公共生活全面封锁,进一步加剧了对企业的冲击。因而,商事争议骤增,争议的当事人对于他们在法律上的选择,以及保持社交距离的规范都十分谨慎。不少庭审暂停,法院和仲裁中心也改变了运行方式。

所以,阿联酋法院和其他法律平台(如仲裁中心)正在进行数字化转型,以降低健康方面的风险,并在封锁和隔离期间保持运行。

阿联酋的本地和离岸法院与仲裁中心都在努力解决司法程序的性质问题所带来的担忧。法院和仲裁中心适应“新常态”的能力,与其便利虚拟庭审的灵活性以及支持数字化基础设施的程度有直接关联。

大陆法院

3月22日至4月16日,迪拜初审法院、上诉法院和最高法院暂停庭审。4月19日,迪拜法院宣布在Microsoft Teams软件上进行虚拟庭审。

据我们所知,虚拟庭审一直运行顺利。其之所以可以无缝衔接,很可能是因为阿联酋政府部门已经在新冠肺炎爆发前就实现了一些功能的数字化,比如通过迪拜警方网站举报刑事、交通和行政违法,以及通过迪拜法院的网上平台立案。

与迪拜相同,阿布扎比法院于3月30日宣布,所有的民事和刑事法院诉讼程序都将通过法院的电子系统以电子方式进行。其他酋长国的法院也采用了一些创新策略:哈伊马角法院正在考虑在电子法院服务系统进行庭审;阿治曼法院为应对新冠肺炎也开始尝试“电子审判”。

离岸法院

迪拜国际金融中心法院所有的庭审都通过电子会议的方式进行。立案通过名为“电子登记”(e-Registry)的电子捆绑平台完成。迪拜国际金融中心的遗嘱服务中心用视频会议的方式进行遗嘱登记,立遗嘱人和两名见证人可以在上传的遗嘱上电子签名。

阿布扎比环球市场法院从2018年起开始运行“电子法院”(eCourt)平台,正因如此,其服务没有遭受长时间中断。所有的立案都可以通过这个平台进行。

仲裁中心

迪拜国际仲裁中心允许通过其门户网站申请仲裁和递交文件。之前已经排定时间的庭审可以推迟,也可以通过视频会议的方式进行,由仲裁员或仲裁庭来决定。

在仲裁庭和当事人同意的前提下,迪拜国际金融中心-伦敦国际仲裁院可以进行电子庭审,或允许延期。和其他领先的仲裁中心一样,国际商会允许通过电子方式申请仲裁。国际商会全球的办公室都在进行虚拟会议与庭审。

在这个史无前例的时期,法院系统和仲裁中心适应远程运作的敏捷性保证了它们的运作大体上不受影响。随着限制逐渐解除,企业运营也回归常态,相信法院系统和仲裁中心会持续进步,将在保留虚拟庭审的同时也进行实体庭审。

根据近期的经验,我们推荐争议当事人积极沟通,并尝试在全新的现实状况下重新就协议条款进行谈判。如果当事人选择诉讼,一开始可能会带来不便,但如果庭审有足够的技术支持,虚拟法庭或许能够提高争议解决过程中的效率。

Galadari Advocates & Legal Consultants 阿联酋 争议解决

Galadari Advocates & Legal Consultants
Galadari Building
P.O. Box 7992, Dubai, UAE
电话: +971 4377 8100
电子邮件: info@galadarilaw.com
www.galadarilaw.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A comparison of developments in dispute resolution in UAE

By Abdulla Galadari and Manish Narayan, Galadari Advocates
0
1021
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) is a federation of seven emirates comprising Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Fujairah, Ras Al Khaimah, Sharjah and Umm Al Quwain. The federal judicial system in the UAE is based on a civil law system derived from Sharia law and influenced by Egyptian laws and jurisprudence.

The UAE constitution, however, allows the emirates to opt out of the federal judicial system. An emirate may set up its own independent judicial system. Presently, Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Ras Al Khaimah have their own independent judicial systems while the other emirates continue to be a part of the federal judicial system.

dispute resolution
Abdulla Galadari
Senior partner at Galadari Advocates in Dubai
Tel: +971 55 911 1999
Email: abdulla@galadarilaw.com

All emirates have courts based on a two-tiered system (mainland courts) comprising the Court of First Instance and the Court of Appeal. In addition to the above, Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Ras Al Khaimah also have a Court of Cassation, the highest court within the emirate. In all other emirates, the final appeal will be to the Court of Cassation in Abu Dhabi.

Dubai International Financial Centre (DIFC) Courts and Abu Dhabi Global Market Courts (ADGM courts) are offshore courts within the UAE. DIFC serves as an independent body with its own set of laws based on the common law system and an independent judicial system. Adding the DIFC jurisdiction to contracts allow parties to choose DIFC courts for dispute resolution. Similarly, the ADGM Courts, established in 2016, are common law courts based on the English court system, adjudicating civil and commercial disputes. The direct application of English common law makes ADGM the first jurisdiction in the Middle East to adopt an approach similar to that of Singapore and Hong Kong.

As the UAE has established itself as a regional hub for international business, arbitration is gaining popularity as a means of dispute resolution.

The Dubai International Arbitration Centre (DIAC) is a regional arbitration centre established in 1994 as part of the Dubai Chamber of Commerce and Industry. Within the DIFC, the DIFC-London Court of International Arbitration (DIFC-LCIA) centre was set up in collaboration with the LCIA. The DIFC-LCIA centre allows application of internationally renowned LCIA rules. The standards, capabilities and rules of the LCIA are trusted by commercial parties and international investors.

When parties in DIFC-LCIA opt for the DIFC as the seat of arbitration, the DIFC courts recognize the arbitral award and can order enforcement against a respondent’s assets. Further, a local office of the International Court of Arbitration (ICC), the world’s leading arbitral institution for resolution of international commercial disputes, has been set up in Abu Dhabi.

dispute resolution
Manish Narayan
Partner at Galadari Advocates in Dubai
Tel: +971 55 414 7028
Email: manish@galadarilaw.com

Disputes during lockdown

The spread of covid-19 has had severe legal ramifications for businesses operating around the world. We have seen a significant rise in queries pertaining to termination of contracts invoking force majeure clauses, delay in deliveries and non-payment of dues.

The full lockdown of business and public life announced in April 2020 in the UAE has further aggravated the impact on businesses. As a result, there has been a surge in commercial disputes and the parties to the disputes have been wary of their legal options amid social distancing protocols, as several hearings were adjourned and courts and arbitration centres have changed their way of functioning.

Therefore, UAE courts and other legal forums such as arbitration centres are undertaking a digital transformation to mitigate health risks and remain functional in the time of lockdowns and quarantines.

Onshore and offshore courts and arbitration centres in the UAE have made efforts to address the concerns with respect to the nature of proceedings. The ability of courts and arbitration centres to adapt to the “new normal” is directly linked with the flexibility its rules provide to facilitate a virtual hearing and the extent of digital infrastructure it can support.

Mainland courts

Hearings for Dubai Court of First Instance, Court of Appeal and Court of Cassation were adjourned from 22 March to 16 April. On 19 April, Dubai courts announced provisions for virtual hearings hosted on Microsoft Teams software.

In our experience, virtual hearings have been running smoothly and successfully. The reason for the seamless transition is likely due to the fact UAE government entities had already digitized several functions such as reporting of criminal, traffic and administrative violations of law through the Dubai police website and filing of cases through the Dubai courts’ online platform before the onset of covid-19.

Following Dubai, Abu Dhabi courts announced on 30 March that all civil and criminal court proceedings shall be conducted electronically through the courts’ electronic system. The courts in other emirates are also adopting innovative strategies. Ras Al Khaimah courts are conducting hearings under the electronic court services system and Ajman courts have also initiated “e-trials” in response to the covid-19 pandemic.

Offshore courts

All hearings in DIFC courts are being held through teleconferencing. Filing is carried out using the e-bundling platform available through “e-Registry”. The wills service centre at DIFC is conducting registration of wills over video conferencing, which allows the testator and two witnesses to affix electronic signatures on the uploaded will.

ADGM courts have been running an “eCourt” platform since 2018, owing to which it did not face much disruption in its service. All filings can be submitted through this platform.

Arbitration centres

DIAC allows new requests for arbitration and submission of documents to be carried out through their online portal. Hearings that were scheduled in advance can be postponed or be held via videoconferencing, subject to the decision of the arbitrator or tribunal.

DIFC-LCIA is holding electronic hearings or allows for postponement provided the tribunal and parties agree. In line with other leading arbitration centres, the ICC allows for requests for arbitration to be filed electronically. ICC offices around the world are currently conducting virtual meetings and hearings.

The agility of court systems and arbitration centres to adapt to remote operations has ensured that operations remain largely unaffected during these unprecedented times. As restrictions are being eased and businesses are returning to normal, we are of the view that the court systems and arbitration centres will continue to evolve as they retain virtual hearings in parallel with physical hearings.

Based on our recent experience, we recommend that parties in disputes should make efforts to communicate and try to renegotiate the terms of their agreement in the context of the new reality. If the parties opt for litigation, it may initially be inconvenient, but if the hearings are supported by adequate technological infrastructure, virtual courtrooms may improve the efficiency of the dispute resolution process.

dispute resolution

Galadari Advocates & Legal Consultants
Galadari Building
P.O. Box 7992, Dubai, UAE
Tel: +971 4377 8100
Email: info@galadarilaw.com
www.galadarilaw.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link