亚洲地区争议解决法律动态的对比 – 印度

作者: Ashwin Julka,Remfry&Sagar律师事务所
0
521
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

讼仍是印度最受欢迎的争议解决方式。但是诉讼需要花费大量时间和成本,因而诉讼当事人开始偏好替代性方式解决争议。本文考察了现有的司法框架,并分析新冠肺炎全球疫情如何打乱了法院系统的常规运作。本文同时讨论了当前的危机是否会导致印度的诉讼和争议解决机制产生长期性的改变。

司法框架

印度的法院积压了大量的工作,2020年的一项统计数据显示,目前有近3800万待决的案件。这些数据令人生畏,但是近年来法律改革的速度让诉讼当事人看到了希望。

Ashwin Julka Remfry&Sagar律师事务所执行合伙人 争议解决
Ashwin Julka
Remfry&Sagar律师事务所执行合伙人
T: +91 124 280 6100; 465 6100
E: ashwin.julka@remfry.com

其中一项改革是着力推动替代性争议解决,包括仲裁、谈判、调解、和解和“人民法院”等。2002年,一项对印度《民事诉讼法》的修正赋予法院引导以调解方式解决争议的权力,并授权法院制定用以规范调解过程的适当规则。2015年,对《1996年印度仲裁与和解法》的修正赋予了仲裁庭准许临时措施的权力,从而使得替代性争议解决更有效。此外,仲裁程序是有时限的,必须在程序启动的12个月内做出裁决。

2019年8月起生效的印度仲裁法进一步修订,引入了“印度仲裁委员会”的概念,负责推广与鼓励替代性争议解决机制,以及为与仲裁相关的统一专业标准制定政策与指导方针(包括对仲裁机构与仲裁员的评分)。

印度《2015年商事法院、高等法院商事部门及商事上诉部门法》(2018年修订)是另一项重要的发展。该法致力于提升“在印度做生意的便利度”,包括合同的快速执行、金钱请求的追索以及遭受损害后的赔偿问题等重要方面。该法案也引进了一些全球通行的做法,比如案件管理庭审,从第一次庭审开始直到辩论终结与简易判决之间有六个月的空窗期,在此期间,法院(应当事人请求)可以仅依据书面陈述做出判决。法案在提交诉状、证据披露、证据开示、书面质询与上诉都设定了严格的时限。

法律成本也是法案中的重点,包括对滥用无意义诉讼将进行重罚。事实上,诉讼当事人为实施拖延战术而发起无意义的诉讼是导致困扰印度法院案件拖延的最重要因素之一。以前,法院一般不会为了震慑效果而判决支付诉讼费用,而《商事法院法》试图改变这一点。法案中规定,如果发现胜诉一方当事人发起的是无意义的诉讼请求,哪怕是败诉一方的当事人也可以获得诉讼费。法案还特别提到,法院会在为胜诉一方当事人判决诉讼费时考虑“法律费用”和“证人的费用与花销”。

商事法院与商事上诉部门用于审理金额达到一定标准的商事争议——地区法院标准为30万印度卢比(4,000美元),高等法院标准为2千万印度卢比。2018年的修正案也为调解提供了推动力,其中一条规定,如果诉讼中没有预期涉及紧急的临时救济措施,那么当事人必须先用尽机构前调解的解决方式,之后才可以诉讼。

《2018年商事法院(机构前调解与庭外和解)规则》的制定,便是为了规范这种法院强烈鼓励的调解程序。许多高等法院建立了调解中心,许多律师也受训成为了调解员。

另外值得注意的是,《2019年消费者保护法》(2019年8月通告)修正了《1986年消费者保护法》,目的是更好地解决由误导性广告、电话推销和电子商务引起的争议。有趣的是,调解——这种替代性争议解决机制,作为消费者争议的解决方式首次登台。法案规定了在县、邦和全国三层级上建立调解单位。

新冠肺炎带来的影响

为了对抗新冠肺炎的扩散,印度政府宣布从2020年3月25日起全国范围内实施严格的封闭措施。法院最开始仅限极其紧急事项维持运作,并减少律师、诉讼当事人和法院工作人员实体到场。

最高法院重视在前所未有的挑战下保证民众诉诸司法、实现正义的权利,因而在2020年4月6日自主发布了《法院通过视频会议方式运行的指导方针》。这些措施是为了保证法院通过视频会议技术能够有力运行,包括给没有私人视频会议设备的诉讼当事人提供设备。

详细的指导方针包括许多方面,比如明确规定了在双方当事人都同意的情况下才能通过视频会议录取证据。为了保证“虚拟法院”无缝接轨,每个法院都必须保证一个求助热线维持畅通,用于在庭审期间和结束后解决视频传送与线路问题。随后,针对提起诉讼、电子立案以及通过视频会议进行庭审的详细运行程序标准已由最高法院发布,其中最晚的一项发布于2020年7月4日。

这些措施刚开始实施时,新案件的提起显著放缓,案件处置率也受到了严重影响。在2020年4月,印度有82,725起案件立案,只有35,169个案件处理完毕。相比2019年,每月平均立案约140万件,每月处理完毕130万件。德里高等法院的数据显示,远程庭审意味着处理案件的数量只有常规状态的10%。

封锁措施目前正在放宽,实体立案也正在恢复中。然而,有些法院,包括最高法院和德里高等法院,仍然只采用在线方式审理案件。保持社交距离的规定很有可能会持续至2020年第三季度,因此拥挤的法庭很难重新出现,所以当事人必须准备好以面对面以外的方式解决争议。

数字化世界里的司法

自从2004年12月印度政府建立司法电子化委员会以来,全国法院都在逐步采用电子设施。这便是许多法院可以很快为了应对新冠肺炎而转换为线上运行的原因。在判案时使用电子工具所遇到的更大阻碍,来自于司法系统和律师队伍中的传统主义者。

然而,目前的危机应当被看成是一个机遇,使在线诉讼程序成为常态而非特例。在线诉讼中的书面陈述必须简洁而及时,当事人有固定的时间段来进行虚拟的法庭辩论,因无法亲身出庭而被延期(一项常见的拖延诉讼程序原因)将不再发生。在仲裁和调解程序中的在线庭审已经比诉讼中更为常见。虽然虚拟法院不会完全取代实体法院庭审,但如果不珍惜这个已经到来的时机,用在线程序消灭堆积如山的诉讼案件,从长远来看将非常遗憾。

在2020年6月6日,印度政府智库NITI Aayog组织了史上第一次主要利益相关方的会议,以推进“在线争议解决”,在线争议解决指的是一种运用互联网便捷性与方便性的替代性争议解决形式。电子商务方面的争议自然是在线争议解决应用的一个领域,尤其是运用于解决大量小额的跨境争议,比如欧盟的线上贸易商必须提供欧盟在线争议解决平台的链接。

另一个例子是,由互联网名称与数字地址分配机构(ICANN)开发的《统一争议解决政策》允许商标所有权人打击域名抢注。考虑到在新冠肺炎过后,争议数量很可能会井喷,尤其是在借款、信用、财产、商务与零售等领域,印度司法部门的成员、政府和法律行业讨论了在线争议解决机制如何应用于快速解决中小额争议,甚至在这些争议进入正式的印度法院程序之前。这是一项令人振奋的提议,但需要强有力的政策和法规导向的执行方式,尤其是考虑到在线争议解决的提供者可能是私人的、营利性的实体。

所以,目前的危机是否会推动实体庭审向替代性以及在线的审判方式转变呢?笔者希望如此,因为如此有巨大益处。

REMFRY & SAGAR India dispute resolution

REMFRY & SAGAR
Remfry House at the Millennium Plaza
Sector 27, Gurugram – 122 009
National Capital Region, India
电话: 91-124-280-6100, 91-124-465-6100
电子邮件: remfry-sagar@remfry.com
www.remfry.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A comparison of developments in dispute resolution in India

    By Ashwin Julka, Remfry & Sagar
    0
    689
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    Litigation remains the most popular mode of settling disputes in India. But it is time and cost-intensive and litigants are beginning to favour alternative modes of resolving conflicts. This article looks at the existing judicial framework and analyses how the covid-19 pandemic has disrupted the regular functioning of the court system. It also discusses whether the current crisis can lead to long term changes in the country’s litigation and dispute resolution scenario.

    Judicial framework

    Courts in India have accumulated large backlogs – 2020 statistics suggest nearly 38 million pending cases. These are daunting numbers but the pace of legal reform in recent years makes one hopeful of better days ahead for litigants.

    dispute resolution
    Ashwin Julka
    Managing partner at Remfry & Sagar in New Delhi
    Tel: +91 124 280 6100; 465 6100
    Email: ashwin.julka@remfry.com

    For one, there has been a concerted focus on promoting modes of alternate dispute resolution (ADR) covering arbitration, negotiation, mediation, conciliation and lok adalats (people’s court). A 2002 amendment to the Indian Civil Procedure Code empowered courts to direct settlement of disputes by mediation and authorized them to frame suitable rules to govern the mediation process. A 2015 amendment to the Indian Arbitration and Conciliation Act, 1996, made ADR mechanisms more efficacious by awarding arbitral tribunals the power to grant interim measures. Also, arbitration proceedings were made timebound mandating an award to be passed within 12 months of commencement of proceedings.

    Effective from August 2019, India’s arbitration law was further amended to introduce the concept of an Arbitration Council of India charged with promoting and encouraging ADR mechanisms as well as framing policy and guidelines for uniform professional standards with respect to arbitration (including grading of arbitral institutions and arbitrators).

    The Commercial Courts, Commercial Division and Commercial Appellate Division of High Courts Act, 2015 (amended in 2018) was another significant development. It looked to improve the “ease of doing business in India” of which speedy enforcement of contracts, recovery of monetary claims and award of just compensation for damages suffered are critical aspects. Global practices such as case management hearings that entail a six-month window from the date of the first hearing to close of arguments and summary judgment, where the court (upon application by the parties) can arrive at a decision solely on the basis of written pleadings, have been introduced. Stringent timelines are set for filing of pleadings, disclosure, discovery, interrogatories and appeals.

    Legal costs too are covered quite elaborately including heavy penalties for those indulging in frivolous litigation. In fact, frivolous applications filed by litigants as dilatory tactics are one of the biggest contributors to the endemic delays that beset the Indian courts. Previously, courts would normally not impose costs that would act as a deterrent. The Commercial Courts Act has sought to correct this – an illustration in the statute states that even an unsuccessful party can be awarded costs if it comes to light that the successful party has made frivolous claims. Also, it specifically mentions that ‘legal fees’ and ‘fees and expenses of witnesses’ are to be considered while awarding costs to the successful party.

    Commercial courts and commercial appellate divisions hear commercial disputes that have a pecuniary value starting at ₹300,000 (US$4,000) at the district court and ₹20 million at the high courts. The 2018 amendment has also provided an impetus to mediation through a provision entailing that where a suit does not contemplate urgent interim relief, parties must exhaust the remedy of pre-institution mediation.

    The Commercial Courts (Pre-Institution Mediation and Settlement) Rules, 2018, were framed consequently to regulate such mediation proceedings, which are strongly encouraged by the courts. Many high courts have set up mediation centres and a large number of lawyers have been trained as mediators.

    Also notable is the Consumer Protection Act, 2019 (notified in August 2019), which amended the Consumer Protection Act, 1986, to protect consumers from vulnerabilities arising out of misleading advertisements, telemarketing, e-commerce, etc. Interestingly, it debuts an ADR mechanism – mediation – as a solution to consumer disputes. This provides for the establishment of mediation cells at the district, state and national levels.

    Impact of covid-19

    To counter the spread of covid-19, the Indian government announced a strict nationwide lockdown beginning 25 March 2020. In response, the courts initially restricted their functioning to matters of extreme urgency and measures to reduce the physical presence of lawyers, litigants and court staff at court premises were put in place.

    Emphasizing the need to preserve access to/delivery of justice despite unprecedented challenges, the Supreme Court issued the Guidelines for Court Functioning Through Videoconferencing in a suo moto case on 6 April 2020. Measures were outlined to ensure robust functioning through videoconferencing (VC) technologies by the adoption of suitable modalities, including making VC facilities available for litigants with no personal access to such facilities.

    The detailed guidelines covered various aspects, for example, specifying that the mutual consent of both parties would be needed to record evidence via VC. To ensure seamless ”virtual courts”, every court was also asked to maintain a helpline for grievances regarding video feed and line during and immediately after a hearing. Subsequently, detailed standard operating procedures for mentioning and e-filing suits and conducting hearings via video conferencing have been issued by the Supreme Court, the latest one was issued on 4 July 2020.

    In the immediate aftermath, the institution of new cases slowed to a trickle and the disposal rate was also severely affected. In April 2020, 82,725 cases were filed in India, while 35,169 cases were disposed of. Compare this to 2019, when the average number of cases filed per month was around 1.4 million and those disposed of per month was 1.3 million. Data from the Delhi High Court indicate that remote hearings meant that only 10% of the usual caseload was being tackled.

    The lockdowns are easing now, and physical filings are resuming, however, certain courts, including the Supreme Court and the Delhi High Court, continue to hear matters in online mode only. The need for social distancing will likely continue into the third quarter of 2020. This will inhibit the resurrection of a packed courtroom – so parties must prepare for ways to resolve their disputes other than in person.

    Justice in a digital world

    There has been a steady adoption of electronic infrastructure by courts across the country since the Indian government established the e-committee of the judiciary in December 2004. This is the reason why various courts could migrate so quickly to online functioning in response to the covid-19 situation. A bigger hurdle to the increased use of digital tools in adjudicating suits has come from traditionalists in the judiciary and bar.

    However, the present crisis should be viewed as an opportunity to make online litigation processes more the norm rather than the exception, where written submissions would necessarily have to be concise and timely, where parties would have fixed time slots for presenting virtual arguments and where adjournments on account of inability to enter physical appearance (a common culprit of delays) would be ruled out. Online proceedings are already more commonplace when it comes to arbitration and mediation processes. And while virtual courts are unlikely to fully replace open-court hearings, it would be a shame not to capitalize on the momentum already in play for online procedures for the elimination of litigation backlogs in the longer term.

    On 6 June 2020, NITI Aayog, a government thinktank, organized the first-ever key stakeholder meeting to advance Online Dispute Resolution (ODR), often referred to as a form of ADR that takes advantage of the speed and convenience of the internet. E-commerce is a natural field for its application, particularly for settling cross-border complaints that are of low value and high volume. For instance, online traders in the EU must provide a link to the EU’s ODR platform.

    The Uniform Dispute Resolution Policy (UDRP), developed by ICANN, which allows trademark owners to fight cybersquatting is another example. Keeping in mind a likely spurt in disputes, most notably in lending, credit, property, commerce and retail, in the post covidian world, members of the Indian judiciary, government and legal profession discussed how ODR mechanisms could be utilized to resolve small and medium-value disputes expeditiously, even before they entered the formal court process in India. This is an encouraging initiative, but will need a strong policy and regulation-driven approach for implementation, particularly as ODR providers can be private, for-profit entities.

    So, will the current crisis precipitate a shift towards alternate as well as online adjudication? The author certainly hopes so, as there is much to gain from it.

    dispute resolution

    REMFRY & SAGAR
    Remfry House at the Millennium Plaza
    Sector 27, Gurugram – 122 009
    National Capital Region, India
    Tel: 91-124-280-6100, 91-124-465-6100
    Email: remfry-sagar@remfry.com
    www.remfry.com

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link