勇者胜,但不要以我们为代价

作者: Sawant Singh和Aditya Bhargava,Phoenix Legal
0
416
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

2021年10月,为了实现非银行金融机构监管框架与主流治理规范一致,印度储备银行推出了基于规模的非银行金融机构监管框架,其中包括与治理有关的要求。

该框架规定,非银行金融机构应实施经董事会批准的工资和薪酬政策,“解决扭曲的薪酬计划造成的过度风险承担所引起的问题”。框架还要求印度储备银行随后对此发布指引。2022年4月,印度储备银行发布了薪酬指引,适用于所有非银行金融机构的重要管理人员和高级管理层,该等机构的基层人员以及政府所有的非银行金融机构除外。指引将于2023年4月1日生效。

Sawant Singh, Phoenix Legal, 勇者胜,但不要以我们为代价
Sawant Singh
合伙人
Phoenix Legal

根据指引,非银行金融机构董事会必须按2013年《公司法》第178条设立提名与薪酬委员会(NRC)。NRC须由至少三名非执行董事组成,而三名非执行董事至少半数为独立董事。第178条还规定了提名与薪酬委员会的某些职责和责任。NRC的主要职能为,监督经董事会批准的报酬政策的制订、评估和执行。指引规定,NRC应配合风险管理委员会,实现“薪酬与风险的有效一致”。

非银行金融机构的薪酬水平必须反映留存盈利和维持充足资本的需要。重要管理人员和高级管理层薪酬必须合理,符合法定要求和行业惯例。薪酬计划可由固定工资和可变工资组成,确保薪酬与风险后果相当。现金、股权和其他形式薪酬的组合,应与所承担的风险一致。薪酬的固定部分可包括现金、有可报销金额上限的额外福利、超级年金供款、退休福利和非货币福利如住宿和小汽车等的等值货币金额。

可变工资的绩效和薪酬标准应在绩效评价期开始时明确规定。薪酬的可变部分可为与股份挂钩的金融工具或现金和与股份挂钩的金融工具的均衡组合,薪酬可变部分所占的比例须与重要管理人员或高级管理层的职责和审慎风险承担状况相称。责任越大,可变工资所占比例越高。可变部分无论是在形式上还是实质上都应是可变的,可等于零,依个人、业务部门和全公司层面的绩效而定。可变部分无论是现金还是其他形式,均可按董事会的决定,根据风险评估结果递延或分期发放。

Aditya Bhargava, Phoenix Legal, 勇者胜,但不要以我们为代价
Aditya Bhargava
合伙人
Phoenix Legal

如果非银行金融机构或相关业务财务状况不佳甚至亏损,或者雇员存在不法行为,递延薪酬可能需要接受禁止发放该等薪酬的扣回安排及合同约定的追回条款。根据该等条款,一旦发生预先确定的情形,雇员应退还薪酬。非银行金融机构必须识别可援引扣回及追回条款生效的情形。它们还可规定该等条文适用的期间。

从事财务控制、风险管理、内部控制的重要管理人员和高级管理层的薪酬必须视职责而定,不受其所监督的业务领域的影响。尽管重要管理人员和高级管理层的固定薪酬比例可能更高,他们可变工资所占的比例也应合理,以确保扣回及追回选项的效力。根据指引,重要管理人员和高级管理层不应获得保底奖金。但是,可向新雇员发放入职奖金,该等奖金不属于薪酬的固定或可变部分。

指引是向健康的治理规范迈出的一步。它们向非银行金融机构提供了广泛的指导,反映了向基于原则的监管的转变,有助于改善非银行金融机构与印度储备银行的关系。

Sawant Singh、Aditya Bhargava均为Phoenix Legal合伙人。高级律师Sristi Yadav对本文亦有贡献。

Phoenix Legal

Phoenix Legal

Second Floor
254 Okhla Industrial
Estate Phase III
New Delhi – 110 020 India

Vaswani Mansion, 3/F

120 Dinshaw Vachha Road, Churchgate

Mumbai – 400 020, India

电话: +91 22 4340 8500
+91 11 4983 0000

电子邮件: mumbai@phoenixlegal.in
delhi@phoenixlegal.in

网站: www.phoenixlegal.in

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Who dares wins, but not at our expense

By Sawant Singh and Aditya Bhargava, Phoenix Legal
0
97

To align the regulatory framework for non-banking financial companies (NBFCs) with mainstream governance practices, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) introduced a scale-based regulatory framework for NBFCs in October 2021. This included governance-related requirements.

The framework required NBFCs to put in place board-approved pay and compensation policies “to address issues arising out of excessive risk-taking caused by misaligned compensation packages”, with the RBI to issue guidelines later. In April 2022, the RBI issued such compensation guidelines for key managerial personnel (KMP) and senior management of all NBFCs other than base layer and government-owned NBFCs. The guidelines come into effect on 1 April 2023.

Sawant Singh, Phoenix Legal, Who dares wins, but not at our expense
Sawant Singh
Partner
Phoenix Legal

Under the guidelines, the board of directors of an NBFC is required to set up a nomination and remuneration committee (NRC) in accordance with section 178 of the Companies Act, 2013. The NRC must consist of at least three non-executive directors, and at least half of such directors must be independent directors. Section 178 also prescribes certain duties and responsibilities of the NRC. Its key function is to oversee the framing, review and implementation of the board-approved compensation policy. The guidelines prescribe that the NRC should coordinate with the risk management committee to achieve “effective alignment between compensation and risks”.

The compensation levels of an NBFC must reflect the need for the retention of earnings and the maintenance of adequate capital. The compensation of KMPs and senior management must be reasonable and must adhere to statutory requirements and industry practices. Compensation packages may comprise fixed and variable pay components, ensuring that compensation is proportionate to risk outcomes. The mix of cash, equity and other forms of compensation is to be consistent with incurred risk. The fixed component of compensation may include cash, perquisites that are reimbursable up to a monetary ceiling, contributions towards superannuation and retirement benefits and the monetary equivalent of non-monetary benefits, such as accommodation and cars.

Aditya Bhargava, Phoenix Legal, Who dares wins, but not at our expense
Aditya Bhargava
Partner
Phoenix Legal

Performance and remuneration criteria for variable pay should be clearly defined at the beginning of the performance measurement period. The variable component of compensation may be in the form of share-linked instruments or a balanced mix of cash and share-linked instruments. The proportion of the variable component of compensation must be comparable with the role and prudent risk-taking profile of KMPs or senior management. The higher the responsibility, the higher should be the proportion of variable pay. The variable component should be variable in spirit as well as in the letter and can be zero, based on performance at an individual, business unit and company-wide level. The variable portion, whether cash or otherwise, may be deferred and paid in tranches on the basis of risk assessments, as decided by the board.

In the event of poor or negative financial performance of the NBFC or a relevant line of business or employee misconduct, the deferred compensation may be subject to malus arrangements that block payment of such remuneration and contractually agreed clawback terms where the employee returns remuneration in predetermined circumstances. NBFCs must identify situations that invoke the malus and clawback provisions. NBFCs may specify a time period during which such provisions apply.

The compensation of KMPs and senior management engaged in financial control, risk management, compliance and internal audit must be commensurate with their roles, and independent of the business areas they oversee. While KMPs and senior management may have a higher proportion of fixed compensation, there should be a reasonable proportion of variable pay to ensure that malus and clawback options are effective. Under the guidelines, KMPs and senior management cannot receive guaranteed bonuses. Joining bonuses for new hires may be offered and will not form part of a fixed or variable portion of compensation.

The guidelines are a move towards healthy governance practices. They provide broad guidance to NBFCs, reflective of the move towards principle-based regulation and a better relationship between NBFCs and the RBI.

Sawant Singh and Aditya Bhargava are partners at Phoenix Legal. Sristi Yadav is a senior associate.

Phoenix Legal

Phoenix Legal

Second Floor
254 Okhla Industrial
Estate Phase III
New Delhi – 110 020 India

Vaswani Mansion, 3/F

120 Dinshaw Vachha Road, Churchgate

Mumbai – 400 020, India

Tel: +91 22 4340 8500
+91 11 4983 0000

Email: mumbai@phoenixlegal.in
delhi@phoenixlegal.in
Website: www.phoenixlegal.in