使用或失去您的商标,您的选择

作者: Manisha Singh、 Simran Bhullar, LexOrbis律师事务所
0
662
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

牌所有人经常面临成为商标在先所有人或在先用户的选择。商标在先所有人并非总能成功获得法院的支持,2017年的《商标规则》也支持商标权人在行使知识产权之前必须先对商标实际使用的原则 。

在最近Mittal Electronics诉Sujata Home Appliances Ltd and Ors一案中,德里高等法院确认了使用注册商标的重要性。该案是在最高法院对Nandhini Deluxe诉Karnataka Cooperative Milk Producers Federation Ltd一案的判决之后发生的,该判决认为,对商标的保护仅限于使用该商标的商品和服务,而非其注册的整类商品和服务。

Manisha Singh,LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
合伙人
LexOrbis律师事务所

主要被告Sujata Home Appliances Ltd向法院申请修改其早先的临时判决,该判决限制其在第11类范围内的净水器、滤水器和反渗透(RO)系统的制造和销售中使用争议商标“Sujata”。原告Mittal Electronics自1991年以来一直是该商标在第11类中的注册所有人,但此后未在该类商品中使用该商标。自2008年以来,被告已获得注册,并一直在第11类商品上使用该商标。被告还指称,原告隐瞒了事实,没有向法院披露被告注册和使用该类产品商标的情况。法院判决被告胜诉,并修改了其先前的判决。

法院认为,原告提起诉讼是为了阻止被告生产和销售归入第11类的喷泉机、净水器和RO系统,以及榨汁机、搅拌机、研磨机。然而,原告从未以“Sujata”商标销售过滤水器、净水器或RO系统,也未声称有任何在先使用的情况。因此,原告没有理由在第11类范围内寻求保护。

法院将该案与Nandhini Deluxe一案进行了比较,指出即使同一商品名称已有在先注册,其他实体也可随后在同一类商品中注册类似商标。唯一的前提条件是,后继实体应在与在先所有人不同的商品上使用其商标。在先所有人可以对该类所有商品拥有注册商标所有权;但该所有人未在此类商品上在先使用或意图使用该商标的,则后继所有人如果将该商标投入使用,将对该商标享有优先权。在此情况下,如果在先所有权人不经营特定商品,后继实体则不必在申请登记之前对在先所有权提出异议。

Simran Bhullar,LexOrbis
Simran Bhullar
律师
LexOrbis律师事务所

最后,因原告向法院隐瞒了重大细节,其主张被大大削弱。一方当事人在指控另一方的不法行为之前,应该自身清白。由于隐瞒了被告公司董事是第11类水过滤器、净水器和反渗透系统“Sujata”商标权人的事实,根据实体法,驳回原告的禁令请求。

原告也未能证明被告冒充原告公司欺骗消费者的行为。确认原告为“Sujata”商标的在先所有人和使用人,但仅限于第11类的搅拌机、研磨机和搅拌器。确认被告为第11类中滤水器、净水器和反渗透系统商标的在先所有人和唯一使用人。

高等法院的判决坚持了两个实体的业务可以包括同一类商品的原则,但商品不同这一事实可以允许两个实体使用相同的商标。原告被认定僭占该商标,而未将其用于特定产品。这种滥用在先所有权的行为在国际上一直受到知识产权专业人士的批评,因为它妨碍了另一个品牌确立其识别性的能力。

Manisha Singh为LexOrbis律师事务所合伙人,Simran Bhullar为该所律师。

LexOrbis logo

LexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India

 

Mumbai | Bengaluru

 

Contact details
Tel: +91 11 2371 6565
Fax: +91 11 2371 6556
Email: mail@lexorbis.com
Website: www.lexorbis.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Use or lose your trademark, your choice

By Manisha Singh and Simran Bhullar, LexOrbis
0
87

Brand owners often face the choice of being a prior owner or a prior user of a trademark. It is not always the prior owner of a mark who succeeds in getting the support of the courts. The Trademark Rules, 2017, also support the principle that trademark owners must establish actual use of the mark before they can enforce their intellectual property rights.

Manisha Singh,LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
Partner
LexOrbis

In the recent case of Mittal Electronics v Sujata Home Appliances Ltd and Ors, the Delhi High Court upheld the importance of using a registered trademark. The case followed the judgment of the Supreme Court in Nandhini Deluxe v Karnataka Cooperative Milk Producers Federation Ltd, which held that the protection of a trademark is limited to the goods and services for which it is used and not for the complete class of goods and services for which it has been registered.

The main defendant, Sujata Home Appliances Ltd, applied to the court to modify its earlier interim decision that restrained it from using the disputed mark ‘Sujata’ in the manufacture and sale of water purifiers, water filters, and reverse osmosis (RO) systems within class 11. The plaintiff, Mittal Electronics, had been the registered proprietor of that trademark in class 11 since 1991, but had not used it for goods in that class since then. The defendant had been granted registration and had been using the mark since 2008 for goods in class 11. The defendant also alleged that the plaintiff had concealed facts by not disclosing to the court the defendant’s registration and use of the mark for products in that class. The court held in favour of the defendant and modified its earlier decision.

Simran Bhullar,LexOrbis
Simran Bhullar
Associate
LexOrbis

The court held that the plaintiff had brought the case to restrain the defendants from manufacturing and selling geysers, water purifiers and RO systems, and juicers, mixers, and grinders which are classified in class 11. However, the plaintiff never sold water filters, water purifiers, or RO systems under the mark ‘Sujata’ and did not claim any prior use. The plaintiff was therefore not justified in seeking protection under the ambit of class 11.

The court drew a comparison with the case of Nandhini Deluxe and noted that an entity may subsequently register a similar trademark in the same class of goods even if an earlier registration exists for the same trade name. The only pertinent condition is that the subsequent entity should use its trademark for different goods than those of the prior owner. The prior owner may have registered trademark ownership for all goods in the class; however, without the owner establishing prior use or the intention to use the trademark in respect to such goods, the subsequent owner will have a better right to the trademark if they put it to use. In such cases, the subsequent entity does not have to dispute the prior ownership before applying for registration if the prior owner is not dealing in the particular goods.

Finally, the claims of the plaintiff were weakened because they concealed major details from the court. A party is expected to come with clean hands to the court before accusing another of wrongdoing. By concealing the fact that the director of the defendant company was the proprietor of the mark ‘Sujata’ for water filters, water purifiers, and RO systems in class 11, and on the substantive law the plaintiff was denied the injunction.

The plaintiff also failed to prove that the defendants were defrauding consumers by pretending to be the plaintiff company. The plaintiff was recognized as the prior owner and user of the mark ‘Sujata’ but only in respect of mixers, grinders and blenders in class 11. The defendant was recognized as the prior owner and the only user of the trademark for water filters, water purifiers and RO systems in class 11.

The decision of the high court has upheld the principle that the businesses of two entities may include the same class of goods, but the fact that the goods are different may allow both entities to use the same trademark. The plaintiff was found to be squatting on the trademark without putting it into use for particular products. This abuse of prior ownership has been criticized by intellectual property professionals internationally, as it hampers the ability of another brand to establish its identity.

Manisha Singh is a partner and Simran Bhullar is an associate at LexOrbis.

LexOrbis logo

LexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India

 

Mumbai | Bengaluru

 

Contact details
Tel: +91 11 2371 6565
Fax: +91 11 2371 6556
Email: mail@lexorbis.com
Website: www.lexorbis.com