可再生能源法规之比较 – 马来西亚

作者: Khem Thadani、Jasprit Kaur,Adnan Sundra & Low
0
205

印度

印度尼西亚

日本

马来西亚

菲律宾

马来西亚

来西亚领土包括马来西亚半岛和东马来西亚两部分,其中东马又由沙巴和沙捞越两个州组成。每个地区都有各自的发电、输电和配电公用事业企业,比如位于马来西亚半岛的国家能源公司(Tenaga Nasional),位于沙巴的沙巴电力公司(Sabah Electricity),位于沙捞越的沙捞越能源公司(Sarawak Energy)。

本文主要关注开发商或投资者在马来西亚尤其是马来西亚半岛投资可再生能源发电站时应考虑的立法问题。

Adnan SUndra & Low
Khem Thadani
吉隆坡Adnan Sundra & Low合伙人
T: +603 2279 3288
E: khem.thadani@asl.com.my

马来西亚当前的再生能源法律为1990年《电力供应法》和2011年《可再生能源法》。《可再生能源法》将可再生资源定义为“附表第一列注明的可循环再生、不会耗尽的本地资源或技术”,附表列出的可再生资源包括沼气、生物质、小水电、太阳能光伏。利用可再生资源产生的电被称为可再生能源。

批准与许可

根据《可再生能源法》,有意利用可再生资源发电和供电的人士要提交强制上网(feed-in)批文申请,并获批成为强制上网批文持有人。沼气、生物质和小水电发电站规模在1至30兆瓦间,太阳能光伏发电站的规模在1千瓦到30兆瓦间。

该法仅适用于发电容量不超过30兆瓦的可再生资源发电站。发电站可以向根据2011年《可持续能源发展管理局法》设立的可持续能源发展管理局(“SEDA”)申请上网电价补贴(feed-in tariff)批文。

对于发电容量超过30兆瓦的可再生资源发电站,开发商必须向根据2011年《能源委员会法》设立的能源委员会申请《电力供应法》规定的牌照。从笔者经验来看,能源委员会颁发的牌照通常详细规定了发电站开发商需要满足的所有条件。

Adnan Undra & low
Jasprit Kaur
吉隆坡Adnan Sundra & Low合伙人
T: +603 2279 3288
E: jasprit.kaur@asl.com.my

可再生能源法

开发商的可再生能源发电设备发出的电,根据和作为马来西亚电力公司的国家能源公司签订的可再生能源电力购买协议(RePPA)享受上网电价补贴,上网电价补贴由SEDA监管。

根据《可再生能源法》,成功申请的开发商或投资者应了解以下关键事项:

  • 强制上网发电批文归持有人专用,除非事先获得SEDA书面批准,否则持有人不得将其让与或转让给任何其他人;
  • 强制上网发电批文持有人必须签订RePPA。沼气或生物质发电的RePPA有效期通常为16年,而小水电或太阳能光伏发电为21年,均从上网电价补贴生效日起计算;
  • SEDA根据上网电价补贴制度,管理、实施和支付上网电价补贴(paid feed-in tariff)。上网电价补贴率见《可再生能源法》附表第三列;
  • 上网电价补贴按一定比率逐年递减,递减于每年1月1日生效;
  • 享受上网电价补贴须满足SEDA经能源委员会同意后制定的技术和运营要求;
  • SEDA可随时对强制上网发电批文施加额外条件,或修改或撤销已对批文实施的条件,但必须事先发送意向通知,并附上拟实施、修改或撤销的条件的草拟本;
  • SEDA可不时向强制上网发电批文持有人发出指示,要求他们遵守或不遵守对批文实施的条件,持有人则可以书面提出异议。SEDA经妥善考虑,可要求强制上网发电批文持有人采取必要的具体行动,以确保持有人不违反批文条件或《可再生能源法》的规定。指示一旦最终生效,持有人必须遵守;
  • SEDA还可以对技术和运行要求、安装标准或《可再生能源法》授权的其他事项制定规则。

《电力供应法》

如前文所述,有意利用可再生能源发电且发电容量超过30兆瓦的开发商和投资者必须获得《电力供应法》规定的牌照。如果发电站的规模和位置符合一定标准,他们还须遵守其他法律。能源委员会根据《电力供应法》,积极履行发电牌照持牌人监管机构的职责,并可行使该法附属条例和指南规定的权力。

马来西亚正在努力提高可再生能源发电的比例,作为该行动的一部分,能源委员会最近发布了针对不超过100兆瓦的大规模太阳能光伏发电站的征求建议书。自2017年起,委员会已发布三份此类征求建议书,现在大规模太阳能光伏发电站项目已进入第四期,被称为“大规模太阳能光伏发电第四期招标”。

征求建议书通常包含购电协议草稿。符合征求建议书要求的人都可以递交大规模太阳能发电项目的标书。投标人可全面遵守征求建议书,也可作为建议书的一部分提交对购电协议规定的修改,如果竞标成功,再与电力公司谈判修改内容。购电协议通常会规定直接或间接转让股权的延期履行期,但马来西亚政府另行书面批准的除外。大规模太阳能发电项目选择中标人的依据是电价是否有竞争力。

单一买方

根据《电力供应法》,单一买方是国家能源公司的一个单位、部门或科室,有权履行该公司在马来西亚半岛的可再生和不可再生资源供电职能。单一买方接受能源委员会的领导,并监督购电协议的谈判和执行。

外商投资政策

对于在马来西亚设立的,有意开发可再生或不可再生资源发电站的公司,马来西亚政府允许外国投资者持有其中不超过49%的股权。

市场观察

根据笔者经验,《可再生能源法》或《电力供应法》所指的大部分开发商,通常会获得马来西亚金融机构完全以马来西亚林吉特计价的债务融资。债务偿还期一般为12至15年。保险计划也以马来西亚林吉特计价。

土建工程通常由马来西亚承包商承建。设备可以向外国供应商(即原始设备制造商)采购,但有些设备可能会有授权经销商在马来西亚国内销售。

结语

今后,马来西亚可再生能源发电的增长将主要来自太阳能光伏发电,其次是水电。沙捞越州因其气候环境拥有大量水电站。

上文为读者概括了马来西亚的具体可再生能源法律。法律的其他方面也一定会影响交易从开发到商业运营的各个阶段,为审慎起见,开发商应适当考虑这些方面。

Adnan SUndra & Low

Adnan Sundra & Low
Level 25, Menara Etiqa, No. 3
Jalan Bangsar Utama 1
Kuala Lumpur – 59000, Malaysia
电话: +603 2279 3288
电邮: enquiry@adnansundralow.com
www.asl.com.my

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022

Renewable energy regulations in Malaysia

    By Khem Thadani and Jasprit Kaur, Adnan Sundra & Low
    0
    206

    India

    Indonesia

    Japan

    Malaysia

    The Philippines

    MALAYSIA

    Malaysia consists of Peninsular Malaysia and East Malaysia, which comprises Sabah and Sarawak. Each part has its own utility for its respective territory for generating, transmitting and distributing electricity, such as Tenaga Nasional in Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah Electricity in Sabah, and Sarawak Energy in Sarawak.

    This article focuses on relevant legislative aspects that a developer or investor should consider when investing in a power generating facility based on renewable resources for electricity supply in the country, particularly in Peninsular Malaysia.

    Adnan SUndra & Low
    Khem Thadani
    Partner at Adnan Sundra & Low in Kuala Lumpur
    T: +603 2279 3288
    E: khem.thadani@asl.com.my

    The country’s applicable renewable energy laws are the Electricity Supply Act, 1990, and the Renewable Energy Act, 2011. Under the Renewable Energy Act, renewable resource is defined as “the recurring and non-depleting indigenous resources or technology as set out in the first column of the schedule”, which lists biogas, biomass, small hydropower or solar photovoltaic as the applicable renewable resources. Electricity generated or produced from renewable resources is called renewable energy.

    Approval and licence

    Under the Renewable Energy Act, a person who wishes to generate and supply electricity from renewable resources is required to submit an application for a feed-in approval to become a feed-in approval holder. The size of the power generating plant can range from 1MW to 30MW for biogas, biomass and small hydropower, while for solar photovoltaic it can range from 1kW to 30MW.

    Adnan Undra & low
    Jasprit Kaur
    Partner at Adnan Sundra & Low in Kuala Lumpur
    T: +603 2279 3288
    E: jasprit.kaur@asl.com.my

    The act is only applicable for power plants that generate electricity from renewable resources up to 30MW. A feed-in tariff approval can be obtained by submitting the application to the Sustainable Energy Development Authority (SEDA), which is established under the Sustainable Energy Development Authority Act, 2011.

    For a power generating plant using renewable resources above 30MW, the developer is required to obtain its licence under the Electricity Supply Act from the Energy Commission, which is established under the Energy Commission Act, 2001. The authors’ experience has shown that the conditions applicable to a developer for its power plant are typically provided comprehensively in the licence issued by the Energy Commission.

    Renewable Energy Act

    The SEDA is the regulator for the feed-in tariff payable to the developer for electricity generated from a renewable energy installation under a renewable energy power purchase agreement (RePPA) with Malaysian electricity company Tenaga Nasional.

    Under the Renewable Energy Act, the following are the key matters that a developer or investor who is successful in its application needs to know:

    (1) The feed-in approval is personal to the feed-in approval holder and cannot be assigned or transferred to any other person except with the prior written approval of the SEDA;

    (2) A feed-in approval holder shall enter into an RePPA. The typical duration for power generated from biogas or biomass is 16 years, while that from small hydropower or solar photovoltaic is 21 years under their respective RePPAs from the feed-in tariff commencement date;

    (3) The SEDA administers and implements a paid feed-in tariff based on the feed-in tariff system. The feed-in tariff rates are provided under the third column of the schedule of the act;

    (4) The feed-in tariff is subject to an annual degression rate on 1 January;

    (5) The feed-in tariff is subject to technical and operational requirements prescribed by the SEDA with the concurrence of the Energy Commission;

    (6) The SEDA may, at any time, impose additional conditions, or vary or revoke any conditions already imposed on a feed-in approval, subject to giving prior notice of such an intention together with a draft copy of the imposition, variation or revocation of conditions;

    (7) The SEDA may, from time to time, issue directions requiring compliance or non-compliance of conditions imposed to which a feed-in approval holder may object by way of written submissions. After due consideration by the SEDA, it may require a person to take such specified action as necessary to ensure that the person does not contravene any conditions of its feed-in approval or the provisions of the act. Once the directions are finalised, the feed-in approval holder is required to comply with such directions;

    (8) The SEDA may also make rules for various other matters, e.g. technical and operational requirements, criteria for installation, or any other matter for which the act has empowered the SEDA.

    Electricity Supply Act

    As stated above, any developer or investor who wishes to establish a power generating plant above 30MW and based on renewable energy is required to obtain a licence under the Electricity Supply Act and, subject to the size of the power plant and its location, comply with other legislation. The Energy Commission has an active role as a regulator over any licensee generating electricity under the act, and can invoke its powers under various subsidiary regulations and guidelines.

    Recently, as part of Malaysia’s push towards increasing its footprint of electricity generated from renewable resources, the Energy Commission issued a request for proposals (RFP) for large-scale solar photovoltaic plants up to 100MW. Since 2017, the commission has issued three RFPs, and the programme is now in the fourth cycle, called large-scale solar photovoltaic bidding cycle 4.

    Any person may submit a bid under the large-scale solar programme subject to complying with the requirements of the RFP, which will typically include a draft power purchase agreement (PPA). A bidder may comply fully with the RFP or, as part of its proposal, submit deviations from any provisions of the draft PPA that, if the bidder is successful, may be negotiated with the utility. The PPA generally provides a moratorium period for the transfer of equity ownership at both direct or indirect levels unless otherwise approved in writing by the government of Malaysia. The selection of successful bidders under the large-scale solar programmes is based on a competitive tariff.

    Single buyer

    Under the Electricity Supply Act, a single buyer is a unit, department or division of Tenaga Nasional and is empowered to discharge its functions for electricity supply from renewable and non-renewable resources in Peninsular Malaysia. The single buyer also functions under the purview of the Energy Commission. The single buyer oversees the negotiation and implementation of PPAs.

    Foreign investment policy

    The government of Malaysia permits a foreign investor to hold up to 49% equity ownership in a company incorporated in the country that intends to become a developer for a power generating facility, be it from a renewable source or otherwise.

    Market observations

    Based on the authors’ experience, most developers, whether under the Renewable Energy Act or Electricity Supply Act, generally obtain debt financing from Malaysian financial institutions, and entirely in Malaysian ringgit. The debt repayment period is typically 12-15 years. The insurance programme is also based on Malaysian ringgit.

    Much of the civil works is typically carried out by Malaysian contractors. The equipment supply may be sourced from foreign suppliers, i.e. original equipment manufacturers, or locally available through licensed distributors.

    Conclusion

    The future for the generation of electricity from renewable resources in Malaysia will increase mainly from solar photovoltaic and, to a lesser extent, hydropower. The state of Sarawak has a large number of hydropower plants due to its climatic conditions.

    The above is intended to provide the reader with an overview of specific renewable energy laws in Malaysia. Invariably, other aspects of the law will also affect a transaction from the development stage until commercial operations, which the developer should properly consider as a matter of diligence.

    Adnan SUndra & Low

    Adnan Sundra & Low
    Level 25, Menara Etiqa, No. 3
    Jalan Bangsar Utama 1
    Kuala Lumpur – 59000, Malaysia
    Tel: +603 2279 3288
    Email: enquiry@adnansundralow.com
    www.asl.com.my