可再生能源法规之比较 – 印度尼西亚

作者: Luky Walalangi、Wisnu Renansyah Jenie、Rendi Prahara Septiawedi,Walalangi & Partners
0
351

印度

印度尼西亚

日本

马来西亚

菲律宾

印度尼西亚

了证明自己到2025年将可再生能源的比例提高到23%的郑重承诺,印尼政府放松了针对投资者的政策,并向他们提供了更多机会。新能源、可再生能源和能源保护总局(Direktorat Jenderal Energi Baru Terbarukan dan Konservasi Energi,简称“DJEBTKE”)最近宣布,2021年上半年,印尼水力、太阳能、地热、生物能源发电厂容量达217兆瓦。DJEBTKE还表示,它现在的工作重点是提高太阳能利用率。尽管太阳能发电潜力可观(高达207.8吉瓦的潜在容量),印尼的太阳能利用率仍然非常低(仅0.1%)。

walalangi & partners
Luky Walalangi
雅加达Walalangi & Partners管理合伙人
T: +62 21 5080 8600
E: lwalalangi@wplaws.com

印尼政府从监管角度积极鼓励印尼可再生能源发电行业的投资。例如,8月,能源和矿产资源部(MEMR)颁布条例,对屋顶太阳能发电站接入公用事业供电营业执照持牌人的电网做出规定。MEMR和国家电力公司(Perusahaan Listrik Negara简称“PLN”)也制定了期待已久的2021-2030供电商业计划。印尼政府迫切希望上述新的监管框架将有效提升清洁能源的利用率,最终吸引对可再生行业的投资。

投资可再生能源

可再生能源行业的投资由MEMR(连同下辖电力总局,以及DJEBTKE)和投资协调委员会(Investment Co-ordinating Board)根据以下法律予以监管:

(1)2007年第25号投资法律;

(2)2021年第10号关于投资商业活动的总统令(以经修订的为准);

(3)2007年第30号能源法律(以经修订的为准);

(4)2009年第30号电力法律(以经修订的为准)(《电力法》);以及

(5)关于利用可再生能源资源供电的2017年MEMR第50号条例(以经修订的为准)。

walalangi & partners
Wisnu Renansyah Jenie
雅加达Walalangi & Partners律师
T: +62 21 5080 8600
E: rjenie@wplaws.com

可再生能源行业监管框架通常包含下列要素:

(1)外资所有权限制。政府放宽了部分外资所有权限制。以下电力行业已允许外资100%所有:(i)容量超过1兆瓦的各类能源发电(容量低于1兆瓦的仍然禁止外商投资);(ii)输电;和(iii)配电。

(2)PLN和独立发电厂(IPP)。一般情况下,印尼政府不允许IPP直接向终端消费者销售电力。相反,印尼政府给予了PLN向终端消费者供电的优先权和特权。电力行业最常见的商业结构如下:IPP与PLN签订购电协议,根据协议开发、建设和经营发电厂,向PLN供电,再由PLN向公众配电和销售。

(3)采购。除法规规定的某些直接选择或指定的具体情形外,公共基础设施的采购必须通过公开招标进行。2020年8月28日,PLN董事会颁布条例,规定了向新能源和可再生能源发电厂购电的程序、要求和技术采购文件。可再生能源行业的IPP首先要在选定供应商名单中登记。该名单由PLN发布并维护,其中包括预先选定的商品及服务供应商。这有助于PLN加快选择具备资格的合适供应商的过程,允许其列出通过资格预审的供应商最终入围名单供限制性招标之用,或直接指定PLN项目的合格供应商。

(4)可再生能源电力的购买价格。IPP向PLN提出的购买价格须经MEMR审批。购买价格通过双方谈判或根据政府制定的最高基准价确定,而最高基准价在很大程度上取决于可再生能源的类型,以及经MEMR批准的PLN在全国、地方或地区的发电成本(不含配电成本)。印尼政府最近为发电成本制定了新的基准价,但在某些地区新的基准价低于之前的基准价。这对可再生能源发电行业的投资者而言可能是个挑战。

Walalangi & Partners
Rendi Prahara Septiawedi
雅加达Walalangi & Partners律师
T: +62 21 5080 8600
E: rseptiawedi@wplaws.com

(5)购买模式。向IPP购电时,印尼政府采用不同的结构或方案。不可再生能源电力的购买必须通过“建设、拥有、经营和转让”方案完成,但可再生能源电力却允许经与PLN谈判后,采用“建设、拥有和经营”模式,从而提供了更有吸引力的方案。两者的主要差别为,在第二种方案中,购电协议到期后,IPP并无义务向PLN转让项目。

在可再生能源发电购买方案下,投资者似乎可以采用新的内部收益率计算方法,不再考虑资产转让对成本的影响,这可能会提高项目的盈利能力。

对于屋顶太阳能发电站,印尼最流行的商业方案采用的是经营租赁安排。屋顶太阳能发电站开发商将其屋顶太阳能发电设备出租给消费者,并签订合同约定租金作为相关电费。MEMR的条例进一步放松对此的监管。

消费者将其安装的屋顶太阳能发电站的富余电力输送到PLN电网,或者公用事业供电牌照(izin usaha penyediaan tenaga listrik untuk kepentingan umum,简称“IUPTLU”)持牌人的电网,现在可享受全额抵扣,而非之前仅以65%为限,电费负担大大降低。

若干问题

股份转让限制。MEMR的条例禁止发起人(地热发电IPP除外)在IPP投入商业运行前转让股份,除非经PLN批准后,转让给发起人或股东持有超过90%股份的关联方。

本地成分要求。《电力法》要求国内产品和服务(本地成分)优先。因此,只有在无法获得国内产品或资源的情况下,才准采用外国产品和潜在资源。对于可再生能源发电,印尼工业部根据可再生能源类型,制定了最低的本地成分比例。在实践中,因国内行业无法供应必要组件,投资者要遵守本地成分政策的规定,往往会遇到困难。到目前为止,仍然没有最新消息表明政府是否会很快放松相关政策。

展望未来

目前,有两部关于可再生能源行业的法规等待印尼政府敲定,一部是关于PLN购买可再生能源电力的总统令,一部是新能源和可再生能源法案。新法规的部分亮点包括,购买价格方案的变化(从发电成本基准价变成上网电价补贴模式),以及可再生能源发电成本计算方法的优化。很多利益相关方希望,新法规能够带来更具吸引力和更高利润空间的电力定价方案,加快从传统能源到可再生能源的转型,为投资者创造有利的商业机会,从而直接刺激印尼的可再生能源投资。

政府还计划实行碳定价工具(如碳排放交易和碳税),以鼓励商业主体控制经营活动碳排放,遵守相关排放标准。这应该是能源行业企业所热切期盼的。

walalangi

Walalangi & Partners
(in association with Nishimura & Asahi)
19/F, Pacific Century Place
Jalan Jenderal Sudirman Kav. 52-53, SCBD Lot. 10
Jakarta – 12190, Indonesia
电话: +62 21 5080 8600
电邮: info@wplaws.com

www.wplaws.com

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022

Renewable energy regulations in Indonesia

    By Luky Walalangi, Wisnu Renansyah Jenie and Rendi Prahara Septiawedi, Walalangi & Partners
    0
    158

    India

    Indonesia

    Japan

    Malaysia

    The Philippines

    INDONESIA

    The government of Indonesia has shown a serious commitment to achieve its 23% renewable energy utilisation target in 2025 by giving more relaxed rules and opportunities to investors. The Directorate General of New, Renewable Energy and Energy Conservation (Direktorat Jenderal Energi Baru Terbarukan dan Konservasi Energi, or DJEBTKE) recently announced that Indonesia managed to generate 217MW in the first semester of 2021 from hydro, solar, geothermal and bioenergy-based power plants. The DJEBTKE also states that it is now focusing on promoting a greater use of solar power. Despite its huge solar power potential (up to 207.8GW of potential capacity), the country still shows very low utilisation of solar energy (only 0.1 %).

    walalangi & partners
    Luky Walalangi
    Managing Partner at Walalangi & Partners in Jakarta
    T: +62 21 5080 8600
    E: lwalalangi@wplaws.com

    From a regulatory perspective, the government has set a positive momentum for investments in Indonesian renewable energy-based power generation. For example, the Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources (MEMR) has issued a regulation on rooftop solar power plants connected to the electricity grid of holders of an electricity supply business licence for public interest in August. The MEMR and the State Power Company (Perusahaan Listrik Negara, or PLN) has also stipulated its long-awaited electricity supply business plan for 2021-2030. The government strongly anticipates that the above-mentioned new regulatory framework will effectively stimulate the increased use of clean energy, and eventually investment in the renewable energy sector.

    Investing in renewable energy

    Investments in the renewable energy sector are supervised by the MEMR (together with its Directorate General of Electricity and the DJEBTKE) and the Investment Co-ordinating Board, and regulated under the following:

    1. Law No. 25 of 2007 on investments;
    2. Presidential Regulation No. 10 of 2021 on investment business activities (as amended);
    3. Law No. 30 of 2007 on energy (as amended);
    4. Law No. 30 of 2009 on electricity (as amended) (Electricity Law); and
    5. MEMR Regulation No. 50 of 2017 on the utilisation of renewable energy sources for electricity supply (as amended).
    walalangi & partners
    Wisnu Renansyah Jenie
    Associate at Walalangi & Partners in Jakarta
    T: +62 21 5080 8600
    E: rjenie@wplaws.com

    The regulatory framework for the renewable energy sector typically includes the following key elements:

    (1) Foreign ownership limitation. The government has relaxed certain foreign ownership restrictions. The following power sectors are now open to 100% foreign ownership: (i) power generation with a capacity of more than 1MW for all types of energy (those with a capacity of less than 1MW remain closed to foreign investors); (ii) power transmission; and (iii) power distribution.

    (2) The PLN and independent power producers (IPPs). As a general rule, the government does not allow an IPP to sell electricity to end customers directly. Instead, the government gives priority and privilege to the PLN to supply electricity to end customers. The most common business structure in the power sector is that an IPP enters into a power purchase agreement with the PLN to develop, construct and operate a power plant and supply electricity to the PLN. After the PLN receives the electricity from the IPP, it will further distribute and sell it to the public.

    (3) Procurement. Except for certain specific circumstances set by the regulation for direct selection or appointment, procurement for public infrastructure must be carried out through public tender. The procedures, requirements and technical procurement documents are specified in the regulation of the board of directors of the PLN on the purchase of electricity from new and renewable energy-based power plants, dated 28 August 2020. An IPP in the renewable energy sector needs to be registered in the selected provider list, a list issued and maintained by the PLN containing preselected goods and service providers. This list helps the PLN to speed up the process of selecting fit and qualified providers, allowing it to shortlist prequalified providers for a limited tender or directly appoint a qualified provider for PLN projects.

    Walalangi & Partners
    Rendi Prahara Septiawedi
    Associate at Walalangi & Partners in Jakarta
    T: +62 21 5080 8600
    E: rseptiawedi@wplaws.com

    (4) Purchase price of renewable energy-based power. The purchase price proposed by an IPP to the PLN is subject to the MEMR’s approval. The purchase price is set based on negotiation between the IPP and PLN, or the maximum benchmark price fixed by the government, which is much dependent on the renewable energy type and the PLN’s generation cost as approved by the MEMR (excluding power distribution costs) at the national and local or regional levels. The government recently set a new benchmark price for power generation cost, which is lower in some regions than the previous benchmark. This could be challenging for investors in the renewable energy-based power generation industry.

    (5) Purchasing scheme. The government applies different structures or schemes when purchasing power supplies from IPPs. Unlike the purchase of non-renewable energy-based power, which must be made through the “build, own, operate and transfer” scheme, renewable energy-based power offers a more attractive scheme by allowing “build, own and operate” subject to negotiation with the PLN. The main difference between the two is that in the latter scheme, the IPP is not obligated to transfer the project to the PLN upon the expiry of the power purchase agreement.

    With the purchasing scheme for renewable energy-based power generation, investors seem to be adopting a new calculation on the internal rate of return by no longer taking into account the cost component of asset transfers, which may increase project bankability.

    For rooftop solar power plants, the most popular business scheme in Indonesia is to adopt an operating lease arrangement. A rooftop solar power plant developer leases its rooftop solar power plant equipment to a consumer, with the rental fee as the underlying tariff payment, on a contractual basis. The MEMR regulation provides further relaxation.

    Customers can now receive a 100% credit (previously limited to only 65%) on the excess electricity exported through their installed rooftop solar power plants to the PLN grid, or grid belonging to the holder of power supply for the public interest business licence (izin usaha penyediaan tenaga listrik untuk kepentingan umum, or IUPTLU), leading to a greater reduction in their electricity bills.

    Some concerns

    Shares transfer restriction. The MEMR regulation prohibits sponsors (other than geothermal-based IPPs) from transferring their shares before the IPP reaches the commercial operation date, except for transfer to an affiliated party in which such sponsors or shareholders hold more than 90% of the shares, subject to PLN approval.

    Local content requirement. The Electricity Law requires the prioritisation of domestic products and services (local content). Therefore, foreign products and potential resources are only allowed if domestic products or resources are not available. Regarding renewable energy-based power generation, the Minister of Industry sets the minimum percentage of local content to be used, depending on the type of renewable energy.

    In practice, renewable energy investors often encounter difficulty complying with the prescribed local content policy due to the unavailability of the domestic industry supplying the necessary components. To date, there has been no update on whether the government will loosen the relevant policy anytime soon.

    Looking forward

    Currently, there are two new regulations for the renewable energy sector pending finalisation by the government, namely a presidential regulation on the purchase of renewable energy-based power by the PLN, and a bill on new energy and renewable energy. Some of the significant points proposed for the new regulations include a change of the purchase price scheme (i.e. from power generation cost-benchmark price to the feed-in tariff), and a better method to calculate the renewable energy generation costs.

    Many stakeholders hope that these regulations will directly stimulate renewable energy investment in Indonesia by providing more attractive and bankable power pricing schemes, and promoting a more rapid transition from conventional energy to renewable energy, leading to favourable business opportunities for investors.

    The government is also planning to apply carbon pricing instruments (i.e. carbon emissions trading and carbon taxes) to encourage business players to control carbon emissions from their business activities and follow the applicable emission standards. This should be something keenly awaited by businesses in the energy sector.

    walalangi

    Walalangi & Partners
    (in association with Nishimura & Asahi)
    19/F, Pacific Century Place
    Jalan Jenderal Sudirman Kav. 52-53, SCBD Lot. 10
    Jakarta – 12190, Indonesia
    Tel: +62 21 5080 8600
    Email: info@wplaws.com

    www.wplaws.com