可再生能源法规之比较 – 菲律宾

作者: Kristin Charisse Siao、Efren II Resurreccion、Mely Ann Emerie Cristobal,Villaraza & Angangco
0
176

印度

印度尼西亚

日本

马来西亚

菲律宾

菲律宾

去几年,因电价居亚洲最高之列,菲律宾名声不佳。人们批评该国对传统资源和传统资源发电厂的依赖是电费飙升和轮番停电的罪魁祸首。截至2020年,菲律宾发电厂的能源结构如下:煤炭,57.2%;石油,2.4%;天然气,19.2%;可再生能源,21.2%。

Kristin Charisse Siao
马尼拉大都会Villaraza & Angangco合伙人
T: +63 998 968 0488/917 563 0812
E: kc.siao@thefirmva.com

为实现能源安全,菲律宾能源部最近发布了《2020-2040年菲律宾能源计划》,制定了菲律宾到2030年将可再生能源在发电厂能源结构中的占比提高至35%,到2040年提高至50%的目标。菲律宾还建立了法律框架,力图吸引实现这一宏伟目标所需的前期开发投资。

《可再生能源法》

菲律宾规范可再生能源发展的主要法律为《可再生能源法》。菲律宾法律将可再生能源资源定义为“总可利用量无上限的能源资源,包括生物质、太阳、风、地热、海洋能、符合国际公认大坝规范和标准的水力发电,以及其他新兴可再生能源技术等。”

可再生能源发展一般框架。菲律宾通过了王权主义原则的宪法修正案,规定自然资源归国家所有。因此,所有能源资源现在实际上都归国家所有。宪法第12条第2款赋予国家控制、监督自然资源和可再生能源资源的勘探、开发、利用的全部权力。国家可直接,也可与菲律宾居民或至少60%资本为菲律宾人所有的公司成立合营企业来从事上述活动。

为落实上述规定,《可再生能源法》授权DOE与合格的可再生能源开发商签订合同。合同有效期通常为25年,可续签25年。


Efren II Resurreccion
马尼拉大都会Villaraza & Angangco高级律师
T: +63 998 968 0528
E: er.resurreccion@thefirmva.com

财政激励。《可再生能源法》向符合资格的可再生能源开发商提供了大量激励,包括下列财政激励:

  • 七年所得税免税期;
  • 可再生能源机器、设备和材料进口免税;
  • 设备和机器享受特别的固定资产税率;
  • 经营净亏损结转;
  • 所得税免税期届满后享受10%的企业所得税税率;
  • 加速折旧;
  • 可再生能源的销售和采购免征增值税;
  • 离网地区电气化(missionary electrification)享受现金奖励;
  • 碳信用额度免税;
  • 国内资本设备和服务享受碳信用额度;
  • 免除《电力行业改革法》规定的普适性费用。

其他激励政策和机会。以下鼓励可再生能源投资的非财政激励和机会,或者正在施行,或者即将施行:

  • 上网电价补贴(“FIT”)。《可再生能源法》规定对风能、太阳能和海洋能发电以及径流式水电和生物质发电实行FIT制度。FIT制度要求电力行业参与者在规定期限内,按保证的每千瓦时固定费率采购合格的新兴可再生能源电力。
  • 可再生能源组合标准是一项市场化政策,规定供电商采购的合格可再生能源电力在其供电量中应达到约定比例。相关法规规定,配电公司、供电商、向直连客户(directly connected customer)供电的发电公司和其他获得授权的能源行业参与者应采购一定比例的可再生能源电力,其中可再生能源包括生物质能、垃圾发电技术、风能、太阳能、水力、海洋能、地热能和能源部以后确定的其他技术。

    Mely Ann Emerie Cristobal
    马尼拉大都会Villaraza & Angangco高级律师
    T: +63 919 912 8696
    E: ma.cristobal@thefirmva.com
  • 绿色能源选择权计划是一种机制,它让用电量不低于100千瓦的终端用户有权选择向合格零售供电商采购可再生能源电力来满足电力需求,而合格零售供电商是指向可再生能源发电厂购电的供电商。
  • 净计量电价是指与分布式发电相适应的一种制度,其中分布式电网用户有与电网的双路连接,只需按与向电网贡献的电量抵消后的净用电量缴费。在这种制度下,合格消费者可通过容量不超过100千瓦的可再生能源发电设备发电,然后再将富余电力输送到配电企业,以抵扣其电费。
  • 可再生能源市场。《可再生能源法》还要求建立可再生能源市场,市场上可交易相当于可再生能源发电量的可再生能源证书。

《电力行业改革法》和电力行业

除《可再生能源法》外,可再生能源开发商还受到《电力行业改革法》的制约,后者是调整菲律宾整个电力行业和参与者的法律。

发电。《电力行业改革法》明确将发电视为非公用事业。因此,发电公司不需要国家特许经营权即可营业。根据《电力行业改革法》规定,发电公司必须获得能源监管委员会颁发的合规证明,才能运行用于发电的设备。合规证明需定期换发(每五年)。值得注意的是,《电力行业改革法》要求发电公司或其控股公司将不低于15%的普通股向公众公开发售。

输电。发电公司必须与电网连接,才能将电力输送到电网、由相互连接的输电线路组成的高压主干电网、变电站和大容量电力传输相关设施。目前,菲律宾国家电网公司负责该国国有电网的运营、维护和开发。接入电网前,必须完成若干手续,包括开展电网影响研究,与国家电网公司签订接入协议,并获得电力监管委员会对拟议接入的批准。

配电。发电公司必须与配电公司签订供电协议,约定专门向配电公司的垄断市场供应的容量和/或能量,方可向该垄断市场提供电力。发电公司应参加透明的竞争性选择流程,胜出后才会获得供电协议。根据供电协议收取的费率需经电力监管委员会批准。

零售供电。 根据“零售竞争和开放接入”(retail competition and open access,简称“RCOA”)制度,满足最低标准的电力终端用户应视为可竞争市场的一部分,允许向获得电力监管委员会正式许可成为零售电力供应商的实体采购电力满足用电需求。不同于费率需经电力监管委员会批准的购电协议,零售电力供应商在零售供应协议项下可收取的费率不受电力监管委员会监管。

电力现货批发市场(WESM是将买方和卖方集中在一起交易电力的场所。电力在该市场中成为商品,价格则根据实际使用量(需求)和可用量(供给)决定。,WESM提供了一种价格机制,可通过买卖双方购电合同项下交易量的实际变化来发现和设定价格。WESM由菲律宾独立电力市场运营商(“IEMOP”)运营,并受菲律宾电力市场公司(“PEMC”)管理,这种管理主要通过PEMC董事会和WESM各治理委员会进行。

其他因素

可再生能源开发商在菲律宾要考虑的其他重要因素包括与土地所有权、土地使用权或土地权利有关的法律,《原住民权利法》和其他相关法律、环境法律,以及地方政府法律法规。

最后,还应该注意的是,有一些法律提案和立法倡议旨在进一步放松电力和能源行业的限制,简化复杂要求,它们尤其重视促进可再生能源行业的增长。

VILLARAZA & ANGANGCO (V&A Law)

V&A Law Centre
11th Avenue corner 39th Street
Bonifacio Global City 1634
Metro Manila, Philippines
电话: +632 8988 6088
电邮: info@thefirmva.com
www.thefirmva.com

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022

Renewable energy regulations in the Philippines

    By Kristin Charisse Siao, Efren II Resurreccion and Mely Ann Emerie Cristobal,Villaraza & Angangco
    0
    144

    India

    Indonesia

    Japan

    Malaysia

    The Philippines

    THE PHILIPPINES

    In past years, the Philippines has gained notoriety for having among the highest electricity prices in Asia. Its reliance on traditional energy resources and power plants has been criticised for spiking electricity bills and causing rotating brownouts. As of 2020, the Philippines operates with a power generation energy mix of 57.2% coal, 2.4% oil, 19.2% natural gas and 21.2% renewable energy.

    Kristin Charisse Siao
    Partner at Villaraza & Angangco in Metro Manila
    T: +63 998 968 0488/917 563 0812
    E: kc.siao@thefirmva.com

    On the road towards energy security, the Department of Energy (DOE) recently released its Philippine Energy Plan 2020-2040, establishing the country’s goal for renewable energy to reach 35% of its power generation mix by 2030 and 50% by 2040. Philippine law has established a legal framework that is intended to attract the required predevelopment investments to finance this audacious goal.

    Renewable Energy Act

    Renewable energy development in the Philippines is primarily governed by the Renewable Energy Act. Philippine law defines renewable energy resources as “energy resources that do not have an upper limit on the total quantity to be used, and which include, among others, biomass, solar, wind, geothermal, ocean energy and hydropower, conforming with internationally accepted norms and standards on dams, and other emerging renewable energy technologies.”


    Efren II Resurreccion
    Senior Associate at Villaraza & Angangco in Metro Manila
    T: +63 998 968 0528
    E: er.resurreccion@thefirmva.com

    General framework for renewable energy development. The Philippine constitution has adopted a modification to the principle of the regalian doctrine, which holds that the state is the owner of its natural resources. Effectively, all sources of energy are owned by the Philippine state. Pursuant to section 2 of article XII of the Philippine constitution, the state is empowered to exercise full control and supervision over the exploration, development and utilisation of natural resources and renewable energy sources, which the state may undertake directly or in a joint venture with Filipino citizens, or corporations with at least 60% of their capital owned by Filipinos.

    To implement the above-mentioned, the Renewable Energy Act mandates the DOE to enter into contracts with qualified renewable energy developers. Renewable energy contracts are generally effective for 25 years, and renewable for another 25 years.

    Fiscal Incentives. The Renewable Energy Act offers a host of incentives for eligible renewable energy developers. The fiscal incentives include:

    • Seven-year income tax holiday;
    • Duty-free importation of renewable energy machinery, equipment and materials;
    • Special realty tax rates on equipment and machinery;
    • Net operating loss carry-over;
    • 10% corporate income tax rate after the income tax holiday;
    • Accelerated depreciation;
    • 0% value-added tax rate on renewable energy sales and purchases;
    • Cash incentive for missionary electrification;
    • Tax exemption of carbon credits;
    • Tax credit on domestic capital equipment and services; and
    • Exemption from the universal charge provided for under the Electric Power Industry Reform Act (EPIRA).
    Mely Ann Emerie Cristobal
    Senior Associate at Villaraza & Angangco in Metro Manila
    T: +63 919 912 8696
    E: ma.cristobal@thefirmva.com

    Other incentives and opportunities. The following non-fiscal incentives and opportunities to encourage investment in renewable energy are either currently being enjoyed or are soon to be implemented:

    (1) Feed-in tariff (FIT). The Renewable Energy Act mandates establishing a FIT system for electricity produced from wind, solar, ocean, run-of-river hydropower and biomass. The FIT refers to a policy requiring electric power industry participants to source electricity from qualified emerging renewable energy sources at a guaranteed fixed rate per kWh for a given period.

    (2) Renewable portfolio standards are a market-based policy that requires electricity suppliers to source an agreed portion of their energy supply from eligible renewable energy resources. The relevant regulations require distribution utilities (DUs), electricity suppliers, generating companies supplying directly connected customers and mandated energy sector participants to source or produce a certain share of electricity from eligible renewable energy resources, which include biomass, waste-to-energy technology, wind, solar, hydro, ocean, geothermal and other technologies later identified by the DOE.

    (3) Green energy option programme is a mechanism to empower end users consuming at least 100kW of power to meet their energy requirements from renewable energy by sourcing their supply from qualified retail electricity suppliers (RES), which purchase electricity from renewable energy generators.

    (4) Net metering is a system appropriate for distributed generation, in which a distribution grid user has a two-way connection to the grid and is only charged for his net electricity consumption, and is credited for any overall contribution to the electricity grid. Under this system, qualified customers may generate their electricity through renewable energy facilities with a capacity of up to 100kW. Such participants may then export excess power to DUs for credits that can be used to offset their electricity bills.

    (5) Renewable energy market. The act also mandates the establishment of the renewable energy market where the trading of renewable energy certificates (RECs), equivalent to an amount of power generated from renewable energy resources, is to be transacted.

    EPIRA and power industry

    Aside from the Renewable Energy Act, renewable energy developers are largely governed by the EPIRA Law, which regulates the entire Philippine electric power industry and its participants.

    Generation. The EPIRA clarifies that power generation is not considered a public utility operation, so a national franchise to operate as a power generation company is not required. Under the EPIRA rules, a generation company must secure a certificate of compliance (COC) to operate facilities used in the generation of electricity from the Energy Regulatory Commission (ERC). The COC shall be secured from the ERC before commercial operations of a new generation facility, and renewed periodically (every five years). Notably, the EPIRA requires power generation companies or their holding companies to offer and sell to the public a portion of not less than 15% of their common shares of stock.

    Transmission. Connection to the grid shall be required for generation companies to inject power into the grid, the high-voltage backbone system of interconnected transmission lines, substations and related facilities to convey bulk power. Currently, the National Grid Corporation of the Philippines (NGCP) is responsible for operating, maintaining and developing the country’s state-owned power grid. Before connecting to the grid, several steps must be accomplished, including conducting a grid impact study, executing a connection agreement with the NGCP, and approval from the ERC of the proposed connection.

    Distribution. To provide electricity to the captive market, a generation company must enter into a power supply agreement (PSA) with a DU for the supply of capacity and/or energy intended for the DU’s captive market. A PSA shall be awarded to the winning generation company following a successful, transparent and competitive selection process. The rate to be charged under the PSA is subject to approval by the ERC.

    Retail electricity supply. Under the retail competition and open access regime, electricity end users meeting certain thresholds shall be considered part of the contestable market allowed to source their electricity requirements from entities duly licensed as an RES by the ERC. Unlike in PSAs with DUs, which are subject to rate approval by the ERC, the rates chargeable by an RES under its retail supply agreements are not regulated by the ERC.

    The wholesale electricity spot market is a centralised venue for buyers and sellers to trade electricity as a commodity where prices are determined based on actual use (demand) and availability (supply). The market provides the mechanism for identifying and setting the price of actual variations from the quantities transacted under contracts between sellers and purchasers of electricity. The market is operated by the Independent Electricity Market Operator of the Philippines and governed by the Philippine Electricity Market Corporation, primarily through the corporation’s board of directors and the market’s governance committees.

    Other considerations

    Other significant considerations for renewable energy developers in the Philippines are laws relating to land ownership and use or rights, the Indigenous Peoples Rights Act and other related laws, environmental laws, and local government laws and regulations.

    Finally, there are a number of proposed bills and legislative initiatives that aim to ease restrictions further and simplify complex requirements in the power and energy industry, with a particular focus on growing the renewable energy sector.

    VILLARAZA & ANGANGCO (V&A Law)

    V&A Law Centre
    11th Avenue corner 39th Street
    Bonifacio Global City 1634
    Metro Manila, Philippines
    Tel: +632 8988 6088
    Email: info@thefirmva.com
    www.thefirmva.com