中国西南早已褪去欠发达、僻居山林的旧日名片,“高科技”、“大数据”、“网红经济”这些新兴词汇悄然成为形容西南城市的关键词。与此同时,西南律圈因全国性品牌律所进军呈现出新的生态。沙淼报道

四川、云南、贵州、西藏和重庆组成的西南地区以山地高原为主,沿高山大川与印度、巴基斯坦、缅甸、老挝、越南等国接壤。复杂的地形令当地基础设施建设缓慢,成为制约西南地区经济发展的历史性问题。

尽管如此,雄踞西南的每个省市都各有特色,释放出无穷潜力。云南和西藏镇守中国西南门户,面向东南亚、南亚和西亚。四川连接西南腹地和较发达的中部地区,重庆是长江沿岸的重要金融中心,贵州则拥有丰富的矿产和生态资源。

5月17日,中央中央、国务院发布《关于新时代推进西部大开发形成新格局的指导意见》,被视作1999年开始实施的西部大开发战略的升级版,使“西部大开发”再次成为焦点。

川渝双城

四川、重庆是西南部绝对的明星,也催生出众多活跃领域。成渝经济区发展迅速,成为与长三角、珠三角、京津冀三大经济圈并驾齐驱的中国经济增长“第四极”。

2017年11月,成都MCN(多频道网络的产品形态)产业园设立,聚集了MCN机构、自媒体集中办公和创作。据界面新闻报道,仅2019年,在成都落地、开设分公司子公司以及新创立的MCN机构约有200家。

“网红经济已成为大势所趋,”金杜律师事务所成都办公室合伙人刘丰说, “传统来讲,四川民营经济相对活跃。当地人消费能力和消费意愿比较强,‘网红经济’也与餐饮、旅游等行业息息相关。”

刘丰,-金杜律师事务所,-合伙人,四川成都

他补充道,网红经济也催生出诸多合规要点,包括网红自身知识产权保护、消费者权益和第三方电商平台。

金诚同达律师事务所成都办公室高级合伙人李露也表示:“四川在TMT产业具有独到的优势。” 阿里巴巴、百度、快手、爱奇艺等头部企业纷纷落户成都,聚焦5G通信与人工智能等领域。

生物医药也是四川律师看好的行业。依托四川大学华西医院的科研优势,成都设立了药物及医疗器械临床研究、生物技术药物全球生产等研究中心。

李露,-金诚同达律师事务所,-高级合伙人,四川成都

四川与重庆地缘相接、文化一脉,经济社会发展联系十分紧密。今年十月,中央政府出台《成渝地区双城经济圈建设规划纲要》,进一步推动川渝开放合作。

“成渝双城经济圈战略的确立,将助推成渝两地法律服务市场资源的整合,” 中豪律师集团重庆办公室合伙人杨青说。

重庆是国内重要的汽车生产基地,产业链配套较为完整。尽管遭受疫情的重创,一些弱势车企面临关门的险境,律师们依旧看好汽车产业。

“重庆市是传统的汽车、机电、化工、装备、医药制造业中心,”中伦律师事务所重庆办公室主任熊力说,“重庆正大力发展新能源汽车。”

熊力,-中伦律师事务所,-重庆办公室主任

高原明珠

从云贵高原到青藏高原,曾被贴上贫困标签的云南、贵州和西藏正积极谋求高新技术等行业的发展。

云南设有“众创空间”、科技企业孵化器、大学科技园等园区,落实税收优惠政策,鼓励高新技术的发展。

“在云南,依托于自贸区发展的跨境电商产业极具发展前景,”安理律师事务所昆明办公室执行主任曹健说。云南两座城市德宏(靠近缅甸)及红河(靠近越南)也被列入跨境电商零售进口的试点范围。

曹健,-安理律师事务所,-昆明办公室执委会主任

因生态环境卓越、区位优势独特,房地产和文化旅游也成为云南律所关注的重点。

“云南被称为房地产洼地,”泰和泰律师事务所昆明办公室高级合伙人尧宗梁说据云南省统计局显示,1至9月,云南省房地产开发投资3160.05亿元,同比增长11.1%。

与此相关的康养业也值得期待,“云南积极建设生态文明排头兵,因而康养业也发展火热,”国浩律师事务所昆明办公室管理合伙人蒲理斌表示。

对于贵州而言,“大数据”成为贵州发展的新思路。贵州是首个国家级大数据集聚发展示范区,目前,三大科技巨头腾讯、华为和苹果的数据中心均设立在贵州。

据悉,贵阳设立了首批5G试点、移动5G联合创新实验室和联通5G大数据创新研究中心,并力争在2022年实现5G全面商用。

近年来,贵州省政府出台多项政策支持大数据产业发展,包括《关于加快大数据产业发展应用若干政策的意见》《贵州省大数据产业发展应用规划纲要》等。

李俊,-泰和泰律师事务所,-贵阳办公室执行主任

“大数据在未来的发展很有想象空间,”泰和泰所贵阳办公室执行主任李俊说,“现在各种大数据相关初创企业不断涌现,资本运作活跃,也衍生出很多交易机会。”

他表示,大数据与不动产、知识产权之类传统资产完全不同,特别在数据收集、存储、使用等环节有另外一套合规规则。

西藏被誉为“世界屋脊”,恰如其分的是“高新科技、绿色工业、清洁能源是自治区政府鼓励和引导的重点行业,” 泰和泰所拉萨办公室执行主任张丽丽说。

张丽丽,-泰和泰律师事务所,-拉萨办公室执行主任

除高新科技外,“乡村的城市化、特色建筑的保护修整,这些促使了西藏的建筑行业持续快速的发展,”她说。

进藏企业可以关注《西部大开发政策》《对口援藏优惠政策》,张丽丽说:“根据现行西藏法律政策来看,除国家法律法规和自治区相关政策明令禁止准入的行业和领域外,对投资者一律开放。”

在众多优惠政策中,举例而言,2018年《西藏自治区招商引资优惠政策若干规定》显示,企业向在藏银行业金融机构申请用于西藏自治区境内项目建设、生产经营等符合条件的贷款,执行比全国贷款基准利率低两个百分点的利率政策。

焦点领域

郑继华,-中豪律师集团,-合伙人,贵州贵阳

疫情对各行各业产生深远的影响,再加上经济态势低迷,破产重组、不良资产、房地产群体性诉讼成为西南律师们几大执业热点。

“房地产销售价格明显下跌,各开发商资金压力巨大,更多业主选择要求退房,动辄要求追究开发商违约责任,群体性诉讼普遍存在,”中豪律师集团贵阳办公室合伙人郑继华说。

泰和泰所成都办公室合伙人钟俊芳说:“经济下行压力较大,银行面临较大的不良贷款压降压力。再加上当前诚信建设不容乐观,部分企业逃废债现象时有发生。”

谈及为何破产重组兴盛,天达共和律师事务所成都办公室主任高金林说:“经济转型升级和供给侧结构改革作用显现是主要原因。”

高金林,-天达共和律师事务所,-成都办公室主任

在探寻出路中,“内循环”也成为受访律师讨论的焦点。“现在大的经济环境就是内外双循环,但其实还是内循环为主,”金杜所刘丰说。

大所进军

尽管西南法律市场各地情况不尽相同,但“头部化”是西南律师们提到的热词。“头部化”可以理解为全国性品牌律所在市场上获得更多关注,从而拥有更多当地资源。

“越来越多的头部律所来四川设立办公室,”金杜所刘丰坦言。金杜所重庆办公室也将在今年底或明年初开业。

据成都律协发布的《成都律师行业发展报告》显示,截止今年5月,成都现有律师事务所813家,律师和律师事务所总量位居全国第四位,中西部城市第一位。

“[全国性]品牌大所对重庆本地的资本市场、破产等‘高端’业务的抢占,对本地所造成巨大冲击,”泰和泰所杨鹏飞说。

中伦所熊力补充说:“全国主流律所纷纷注入重庆,本地传统律所合并重组。”

国浩所蒲理斌曾在运营云南一家本地律所长达近十年,他坦言:“品牌所相较于本地所在人才吸引力、管理模式上、格局事业上更具优势。”

索通律师事务所高级合伙人、重庆律协副会长邹晓黎则认为,尽管全国性律所在整合资源和知识共享方面有一定优势,“重庆本地大所历史久,发展势头依然强劲”。

邹晓黎,-索通律师事务所,-高级合伙人,重庆

安理所曹健认为云南法律市场的中高端市场依旧可观,“[云南]传统业务与中低端业务竞争比较激烈,而新兴业务与高端商事业务则在一定程度上处于空白地带。”

泰和泰所尧宗梁观察到,云南法律服务水平中等或中等偏下,缺乏深度服务、深入产业的能力。“当地比较缺乏专业律师,低价和不正当竞争不断,”他说。

一些律师认为,法律援助机器人会给传统律师带来执业压力。“当下流行的智能律师知识储量大、法律知识系统化,” 泰和泰所张丽丽说,“与传统的法律人员从业人员相比,人工智能工作效率高、工作能力强,有可能取代从事法律的人员。”

2017年,中国首个法律援助机器人“龙华小法”在深圳试点运行,帮助人们解决生活中的法律问题。2018年底,西藏也引进了全区首台人工智能机器人“法小加”,提供婚姻家庭、劳动人事等热门领域咨询。

Southwest China was often considered underdeveloped and isolated, but buzzwords like “high-tech”, “big data” and “internet influencer economy” are now describing the region, and national firms are rushing to cash in on the newfound prosperity. Sha Miao reports

Comprising Sichuan, Yunnan and Guizhou provinces, Tibet Autonomous Region and the city of Chongqing, Southwest China is a rugged mountainous region that borders India, Pakistan, Myanmar, Laos and Vietnam. The difficult landscape has resulted in slower infrastructure development, which has historically restricted the growth of local economies.

Despite this, each of the provinces and cities in southwestern China, although often lumped together, bring their own specialties to the table and offer immense potential for growth.

Yunnan and Tibet are China’s gateways to Southeast Asia, South Asia and West Asia, while Sichuan is a bridge between the hinterlands and the more developed central China, Chongqing is a major financial hub along the Yangtze River, and the Guizhou Plateau has rich mineral and ecological resources.

On 17 May, the central government issued guidelines on advancing the development of western regions, an upgraded version of the development strategies implemented in the region starting back in 1999. The new guidelines have made “western development” a hot item again.

Tale of two cities

Sichuan and Chongqing are the stars of southwest China. Chengdu (the capital of Sichuan province) and Chongqing economic zones are developing rapidly, and have become the “fourth pole” of China’s economic growth, alongside the three major economic “poles” of the Yangtze River Delta, Pearl River Delta, and Beijing-Tianjin-Hebei region.

LI-LU,-Senior-Partner,-Jincheng-Tongda-&-Neal-Law-Firm,-Chengdu,-Sichuan

In November 2017, Chengdu set up a multi-channel network (MCN) Industrial Park, which aims to attract MCN agencies and We-media platforms that create content. Jiemian News, a finance news platform, reports there were about 200 MCN agencies and subsidiaries in Chengdu in 2019.

“The internet influencer economy has become a trend,” says Liu Feng, a partner at King & Wood Mallesons’ (KWM) Chengdu office. “The private economy in Sichuan has been active for a long time. Local people have a strong will to spend money, and the internet influencer economy is closely related to catering and tourism industries.”

LIU-FENG,-Partner,-King-&-Wood-Mallesons,-Chengdu,-Sichuan

However, Liu says the internet influencer economy has, however, given rise to many compliance issues, including celebrity intellectual property (IP) protection, consumers’ rights, and third-party e-commerce platforms.

Li Lu, a senior partner at Jincheng Tongda & Neal’s Chengdu office says Sichuan “has competitive advantages in the TMT industry”. Top firms like Alibaba, Baidu, Kwai and iQiyi have settled in Chengdu, focusing on areas such as 5G communications and artificial intelligence (AI).

Biomedicine is also a sector that Sichuan lawyers are optimistic about. With the solid research background of the West China Hospital of Sichuan University, Chengdu has set up research centres for clinical research on drugs and medical services, and global production of biotech medicines.

Sichuan and Chongqing are not only connected geographically and culturally, but also in economic and social development. In October this year, the central government issued the “Outline of the Construction Plan for Chengdu-Chongqing economic circle” to further promote the opening up and co-operation between the two provinces.

“The establishment of the strategy of Chengdu-Chongqing economic circle will boost the integration of the legal markets in both cities,” says Eagle Yang, a partner at Zhonghao Law Firm’s Chongqing office.

Chongqing is an important automobile production base in China, with a relatively complete supply chain. Despite being hit hard by the pandemic, and some small carmakers closing down, lawyers are optimistic about the prospects for the industry.

“Chongqing is a traditional centre of automobile, electromechanical, chemical, equipment and pharmaceutical manufacturing,” says Xiong Li, the managing partner of Zhong Lun Law Firm’s Chongqing office. “The new energy vehicles industry is developing vigorously,” he adds.

LI-XIONG,-Managing-Partner,-Zhong-Lun-Law-Firm,-Chongqing

Gems of the highlands

Yunnan, Guizhou and Tibet, spread across the Yunnan-Guizhou to Tibetan plateaus, once labelled poor areas, are actively developing their high-tech industries.

Yunnan has an “entrepreneurship space”, science and technology business incubators, and science and technology parks in universities that have low-tax policies to encourage the development of high-tech businesses.

“In Yunnan, the cross-border e-commerce industry based on the free-trade zone is very promising,” notes Cao Jian, the executive director of Anli Partners’ office in Kunming, the capital of Yunnan province. The cities of Dehong (near Myanmar) and Honghe (near Vietnam) were added to the pilot zones for cross-border e-commerce retail imports.

CAO-JIAN,-Executive-Director,-Anli-Partners,-Kunming,-Yunnan

Real estate and tourism have also been the focus of Yunnan law firms due to the region’s natural beauty.

“Yunnan is known as a real estate treasure bowl,” says Yao Zongliang, a senior partner at Tahota Law Firm in Kunming. From January to September this year, Yunnan province invested RMB316 billion (US$48.28 billion) in developing real estate, an increase of 11.1% on the same period last year, according to the local bureau of statistics.

“Yunnan is actively improving the environment, which has led to a boom in its healthcare industry,” says Pu Libin, the managing partner of Grandall Law Firm’s Kunming office.

For Guizhou, big data has become the new path for development. Guizhou is the first national model zone for the development of big data, and three tech giants – Tencent, Huawei and Apple – have set up data centres there.

Guiyang (the capital of Guizhou province) is running a 5G pilot, a mobile 5G joint innovation lab, and the Unicom big data innovation research centre. Guizhou is also looking to achieve full commercialisation of 5G by 2022.

In recent years, the Guizhou government has issued a number of policies to support development of the big data industry, including the Opinions on Accelerating the Development and Application of Several Policies for the Big Data Industry, and the Outline of the Development and Application Plan for the Big Data Industry in Guizhou Province.

“We can imagine a lot about the future of big data,” says Li Jun, the executive director of Tahota’s Guiyang office. “There are various big data startups emerging. The capital markets are also active, which offers a lot of opportunities.” He adds that compliance in big data is totally different from traditional assets like real estate and IP, especially around data collection, storage and usage.

LI-JUN,-Executive-Director,-Tahota-Law-Firm,-Guiyang,-Guizhou

Tibet is known as the roof of the world, and perhaps appropriately, “high-tech, green industry and clean energy are the key areas supported by the local government,” says Zhang Lili, the executive director of Tahota’s office in Lhasa, the capital of Tibet Autonomous Region. “Urbanisation of the countryside and the preservation and renovation of local buildings have contributed to the rapid development of Tibet’s construction industry,” says Zhang.

ZHANG-LILI,-Executive-director,-Tahota-Law-Firm,-Lhasa,-Tibet

For companies entering Tibet, Zhang points to the Western Development Policies, and the Preferential Policies for Counterpart Assistance to Tibet. “According to the local legal policies, they are open to investors except for industries explicitly prohibited by national laws and autonomous region polices,” she says.

Among preferential policies, the Several Provisions on Preferential Policies for Attracting Investment in Tibet Autonomous Region, issued in 2018, shows that enterprises that apply for eligible loans from Tibet’s banking and financial institutions can get a 2% lower rate than the national benchmark.

Hot spots

With the pandemic and the economic downturn, hot practice areas for the region’s lawyers include bankruptcy, restructuring, non-performing assets and real estate group litigation.

“Real estate prices have fallen significantly, and various developers are under tremendous financial pressure, with more and more owners choosing to withdraw,” says Zheng Jihua, a partner at Zhonghao Law Firm’s Guiyang office. “We have seen group litigation quite often.”

ZHENG-JIHUA,-Partner,-Zhonghao-Law-Firm,-Guiyang,-Guizhou

Zhong Junfang, a partner at Tahota’s Chengdu office, adds: “With the falling economy, banks are facing greater pressure to reduce non-performing loans. Along with an undeveloped credit rating system, some enterprises have defaulted on loan payments.”

By way of explanation, Gao Jinlin, the director of East & Concord Partners’ Chengdu office, says: “Economic transformation and strengthening of supply-side structural reform are the reasons behind the boom in bankruptcy and restructuring.”

GAO-JINLIN,-Director,-East-&-Concord-Partners,-Chengdu,-Sichuan

Apart from the above-mentioned sectors, “internal circulation”, which refers to the domestic cycle of production, distribution and consumption, has become a focus for lawyers. “In general, we are having a dual economic cycle, but, in fact, the current economy is still dominated by internal circulation,” says Liu of KWM.

Big firms move in

Consolidation is a word on used often by southwest lawyers as national firms gain traction in the region, overshadowing local firms. “More and more national firms are coming to Sichuan to set up offices,” says Liu. KWM will also open a Chongqing office early next year.

In May, Chengdu had 813 law firms, ranking fourth in the country, and first among central and western cities, in terms of the total number of lawyers and law firms, according to the Chengdu Bar Association.

“The capture of local capital markets, bankruptcy and other high-end business in Chongqing by [national] branded big firms has caused a huge impact on local firms,” says Alex Yang, of Tahota’s Chongqing office.

Xiong, of Zhong Lun, adds: “National mainstream law firms have been injected into Chongqing, and local traditional law firms are merging and reorganising.”

Pu of Grandall, has operated a local law firm in Yunnan for nearly a decade. “National firms have more advantages over local firms in terms of attracting talent and in terms of their management model,” he observes.

Zou Xiaoli, a senior partner at Solton & Partners and vice-president of the Chongqing Bar Association, says that while national firms have certain advantages in integrating resources and sharing knowledge, “Chongqing’s large local firms have a long history, and are still developing strongly”.

ZOU-XIAOLI,-Senior-Partner,-Solton-&-Partners,-Chongqing

Cao of Anli Partners, says the high-end market of Yunnan’s legal market remains substantial. “[Yunnan’s] lawyers are more competitive in traditional and mid and low-end business, but there is a gap in providing services to high-end commercial and emerging businesses,” he says.

Yao, of Tahota, says Yunnan’s legal service level is “medium or moderately low”, lacking the ability to serve in-depth and penetrate deeply into the industry. “There is a comparative lack of professional lawyers locally, and there is no end to low prices and unfair competition,” he says.

Some lawyers also believe that AI, via legal assist robots, will put pressure on traditional lawyers. “AI lawyers have abundant and systematic legal knowledge, compared with traditional legal practitioners,” says Zhang from Tahota’s Lhasa office. “AI is highly efficient and will most likely replace traditional lawyers.”

In 2017, the country’s first legal aid robot, “Longhua Xiaofa”, was piloted in Shenzhen to help people solve legal problems. In 2018, Tibet also introduced the region’s first AI robot, “Fa Xiaojia”, to provide legal services in areas such as marriage and family, labour and personnel work.