印度生命科学监管的平衡之道

作者: Manisha Singh和Pankaj Musyuni,LexOrbis
0
61
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

中国

印度

 

印度,生命科学法律法规覆盖范围广,类别复杂,涵盖药品、医疗器械、生物技术和医疗保健,涉及营销和广告、知识产权、价格和支付,以及临床试验合规性,保障产品的质量、疗效和安全,维护患者和消费者的权益。全面的法律监管体系旨在避免法律争议的出现,维持整个行业的公信力。

其中部分活动面临的法律要求尤其严格,这给企业带来较大的法律和经营挑战,包括:建造或购买制药设施、进口保健品和美容产品的特殊成分、销售健康食品、补充剂和营养品,以及开展生物利用度、生物等效性和营养品临床试验。

2022年,印度医疗保健行业规模达3,700亿美元,咨询公司Nexdigm预测,到2026年,医疗保健行业收入将达到6,100亿美元。

卫生和家庭福利部(MoHFW)在2023-2024年的联邦预算中获得了107.6亿美元资金。政府还推出了一项60亿美元的信贷激励计划,以促进医院基础设施建设。

印度对生命科学领域的监管非常广泛,药品定价、营销、临床试验、生物仿制药审批、药物和材料的进出口、药物安全性和有效性,以及价格都在监管之列。正是依托着这些法律法规,印度“物美价廉”的制药得以销往全球,也让近14.5亿印度人能够享受到医疗科技的进步。

政策法规

Manisha Singh, LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
创始人兼合伙人
LexOrbis
新德里办公室
电话: +91 98 1116 1518
邮箱: manisha@lexorbis.com

1940年《药品与化妆品法案 》(D&C)规范了印度的生命科学行业,确保了进口、制造、分销和销售的药物的质量。

2013年《药品(价格控制)法令》规范药品定价,而1954年《药品与神奇药物(争议广告)法》则规范针对药品疗效的宣传语。

2002年《竞争法》监管供应商、制造商和利益相关者的反竞争行为。《消费者保护法》禁止歧视性商业行为,规定了因产品制造缺陷需要承担的产品责任。1970年的《专利法》禁止专利“常青化”,1999年的《商标法》保护商号。

环境法规要求进行环境影响评估,限制行业扩张,并规范固体和危险废物管理。

机遇

医疗器械、数字医疗和医院基础设施都与生命科学息息相关。医疗旅游呈现上升态势,为医疗保健行业带来90亿美元的收入。政府最近推出了针对医疗器械制造的生产关联激励计划(PLI),以促进投资,推动国内制造业发展,并最大限度地减少该行业的进口。

印度医院分为初级、二级和三级,由政府支持或私人运营。私人医疗机构预计将以每年15%的速度增长。专家预计,到2032年,医疗行业规模将至少增长5.75%,达到1550亿美元。

外国公司在快速增长的生物技术和生物制药领域有很多机会。印度生物技术领域现有800多家企业,总市值约800亿美元。

印度是全球领先的药物合同研发、临床试验和生产外包基地。实验室设备和医疗器械翻新需要大量资金,这给设备供应商带来巨大商机。对于先进的医疗机构而言,这些翻新后的设备仅作为辅助系统。但对于地区医院和专业化程度较低的医疗机构而言翻新设备让他们能够以较低的投资提升设备质量。

Pankaj Musyuni, LexOrbis
Pankaj Musyuni
辩护律师
LexOrbis
新德里办公室
邮箱: pankaj@lexorbis.com

2019年《消费者保护法》制定了更严格而有力的消费者保护措施,规定了制造商、零售商和供应商在产品和服务出现缺陷、对消费者造成伤害时应承担的产品责任。该法取代了以前的产品责任法,包括1872年的《印度合同法》、1945年的《药品与化妆品法案 》和1986年的《消费者保护法》。

另外一些值得注意的变化还包括对电商的监管、对虚假广告的更严厉罚款以及对名人代言的限制。为避免医疗事故索赔,相关组织必须遵守这些法规。相关机构的保险陪付范围也将发生变化。

为应对不受监管的医疗器械流通,2018年实施的《医疗器械规则》授权政府对一些医疗器械发出“警告”,将其归类为“药物”。卫生和家庭福利部在《医疗器械规则》中增加了第IIIA条,要求所有医疗器械在2021年10月1日前向印度药品监督管理总局在线注册。

自疫情以来,数字医疗和远程医疗迅速发展。可以减少患者就医障碍的智慧医疗方法以及现代医疗技术广受欢迎。学者和利益相关者认为远程医疗和人工智能颇具前景。

卫生和家庭福利部与印度政府公共政策智库NITI Aayog最近发布了远程医疗指南。国家医学委员会(前身为印度医学委员会)负责监管有资质的医生提供的远程会诊。

近期立法

2022年7月,卫生和家庭福利部出台了《新药、医疗器械和化妆品法案》,取代1940年的《药品与化妆品法案 》,对医疗器械——包括软件、植入物和仪器——的管理进行规范。这些设备被归类为“药物”。这项立法的主要目的是提高医疗器械、药物和化妆品的安全性、疗效和国际标准。

在获得议会批准后,新立法将构成印度对药品、医疗器械和化妆品的新监管体系。

2023年5月,印度开始实施《医疗器械国家政策》,旨在:

  • 确保优质医疗器械的广泛可及性;
  • 增强国内制造能力,确保医疗器械的可负担性;
  • 提高产品质量和国际竞争力;
  • 通过医疗器械的广泛使用,培养更健康的生活方式;
  • 促进行业内的创新;和
  • 通过及时检测和精确治疗提高临床效果。

这些简化的法规通过促进基础设施、研发和创新的投资来刺激行业发展。

《医疗器械规则》规范了医疗器械在本国的临床研究、制造、进口、销售和分销。2017年《医疗器械规则》涵盖了广泛的植入器械类别。2022年1月,政府颁布了一项指令,要求所有医疗器械制造商获得ISO 13485认证,并在中央药品标准控制组织正式注册其产品。

医疗设备和体外诊断设备的生产和监督必须严格遵守这些标准。在此之前,医疗器械按自愿原则注册。自2021年10月起,A类和B类医疗器械必须注册,自2022年9月起,C类和D类设备也必须进行注册。

2021年6月,印度医疗器械行业协会和印度质量委员会拓展了2016年印度医疗器械认证计划,纳入印度医疗器械认证+(2021)方法。

这项新技术检测医疗器械的质量、安全性和益处,帮助政府机构发现假冒产品和伪造认证。修订后的规则取消了进口和生产许可证的重新审批要求。

2017年,印度对心脏支架和膝关节植入物限价,降幅接近70%。2020年,对医疗、牙科、外科和兽医设备征收了5%的从价健康保险税。

2022年2月,印度药品局修订了《2017年采购令》,以提高患者使用非国内生产的关键医疗技术的可及性。

2021年6月,印度国家药品价格管理局(NPPA) 对六种医疗产品设置了价格上限,包括氧气浓缩器、血糖监测仪、血压监测仪、脉搏血氧仪、雾化器和数字温度计。为证明限价举措的合理性,NPPA推出了贸易利润合理化(TMR)机制,控制医疗产品的批发买入价和零售价之间的差额。

为提高患者享受平价、便利的医疗服务的可及性,NPPA于2018年制定了医疗设备和药物适用的TMR政策。

政府正在降低包括专利药物在内的重要药物的贸易利润,以降低成本并提高患者对药物的可及性。TMR首批项目包括139种药物,包括抗生素、肿瘤和慢性肾脏疾病药物。

2020年6月,工业和国内贸易促进部更新了2017年《公共采购令》,对产品国产化率达50%的印度企业给予政策倾斜。而产品国产化率低于20%的企业则被归类为“非本土供应商”被排除在政府招标范围外。

2023-24年的联邦预算额外拨款15%用于知识产权保护,将预算金额从3,840万美元提高到4,010万美元。

要点总结

监管政策和法律对印度生命科学行业有着深刻而复杂的影响。

监管“平衡术”是决策者永恒的命题。灵活的监管举措和营商便利策略尽管有利于促进创新和吸引外国投资,但却可能对药品的可得性和可负担性造成障碍。因此,决策者必须在促进行业创新、保障关键药品供应和遵守国际贸易承诺间取得平衡。

为在全球药品、生物仿制药和生物制药市场上保持竞争力,印度必须修改其政策,以适应不断变化的生命科学格局和创新。

考虑到人口需求的不断变化,政策修订尤为重要。生命科学产业未来的发展轨迹必定是多方“博弈”的结果,决策者在制定政策时,既要考虑到公共卫生的利益,又要促进行业创新,保护知识产权,同时要加强政府和行业的合作,必须全盘考虑,多方权衡。

LEXORBIS
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
新德里 – 110 001
印度
电话: +91 11 2371 6565
传真: mail@lexorbis.com
www.lexorbis.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Delicate balance of life sciences laws in India

    By Manisha Singh and Pankaj Musyuni, LexOrbis
    0
    255
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    CHINA

    INDIA

     

    Life sciences laws in India govern medicines, medical devices, biotechnology and healthcare, safeguarding patients and consumers while ensuring product quality, efficacy and safety. These regulations govern marketing and advertising, intellectual property rights, price and payment, and clinical trial compliance to avoid legal issues and retain public trust.

    They present unique legal and business challenges to building or buying pharmaceutical manufacturing facilities, importing specialty ingredients for health and beauty products, selling health foods, supplements and nutraceuticals, and running bioavailability, bioequivalence and nutraceutical clinical trials.

    In 2022, Indian healthcare was worth about USD370 billion, with the consulting firm Nexdigm predicting USD610 billion in healthcare revenue by 2026.

    The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare (MoHFW) received USD10.76 billion in the 2023–2024 Union Budget. The government is also introducing a USD6 billion credit incentive programme to boost hospital infrastructure.

    India also extensively regulates pharmaceutical pricing, marketing, clinical trials, biosimilar approval, import-export of medications and materials, safety and efficacy, and price. These rules enable economical worldwide drug distribution and healthcare advancements for almost 1.45 billion Indians.

    POLICY AND REGULATIONS

    Manisha Singh, LexOrbis
    Manisha Singh
    Founder and Partner
    LexOrbis
    New Delhi
    Tel: +91 98 1116 1518
    Email: manisha@lexorbis.com

    The 1940 Drugs and Cosmetics Act (D&C Act) regulates India’s life sciences industry, ensuring the quality of medications imported, manufactured, distributed and sold.

    The Drugs (Prices Control) Order of 2013 regulates pharmaceutical pricing, whereas the Drugs and Magic Remedies (Objectionable Advertisements) Act of 1954 oversees therapeutic claims.

    The 2002 Competition Act governs supplier, manufacturer and stakeholder anti-competition behaviour. The Consumer Protection Act (CPA) prohibits discriminatory commercial practices and product liability for manufacturing flaws. The 1970 Patents Act prohibits ever-greening, while the 1999 Trade Marks Act safeguards trade names.

    Environmental statutes require environmental impact evaluations, limit industry expansion, and regulate solid and hazardous waste management.

    OPPORTUNITY

    Medical devices, digital healthcare and hospital infrastructure intertwine with life sciences. Medical tourism imports are on the rise, bringing USD9 billion to the healthcare industry. The government recently introduced a medical device manufacturing production-linked incentive system (PLI) to boost investment, domestic manufacturing, and minimise the sector’s imports.

    Primary, secondary and tertiary hospitals in India are government-supported or privately operated. Private healthcare contributions are expected to increase by 15% annually. Experts expect the healthcare sector to grow by at least 5.75% by 2032, reaching USD155 billion.

    Foreign companies have several opportunities in biotechnology and biopharmaceuticals, which are growing rapidly. With more than 800 enterprises, the Indian biotechnology sector is worth USD80 billion globally.

    Pankaj Musyuni, LexOrbis
    Pankaj Musyuni
    Advocate
    LexOrbis
    New Delhi
    Email: pankaj@lexorbis.com

    India is a leading contract research, clinical trial and manufacturing hub. Refurbished laboratory and medical instrument vendors have good potential in the medical equipment sector, which needs a lot of money. Advanced medical facilities use these gadgets as auxiliary systems. However, district hospitals and less specialised medical facilities view refurbished laboratory and medical equipment as of greater quality due to their lower cost.

    Strict and strong consumer protection holding makers, retailers and providers accountable for defective products and services that harm consumers was upgraded addressing product liability by the CPA of 2019. It replaces former product liability laws including the Indian Contract Act of 1872, the D&C Act of 1945, and the previous CPA of 1986.

    Notable changes include a shift towards electronic commerce, stiffer fines for false advertising, and celebrity endorsement limits. Organisations must comply to avoid medical malpractice claims. The insurance coverage that organisations need to maintain will undergo changes.

    In response to unregulated medical devices circulating, the Medical Device Rules (MDR) implemented in 2018 empowers the government to issue a “warning” for some medical devices, classifying them as “drugs”. The MoHFW added section IIIA to the MDR requiring online registration of all medical devices with the Drugs Controller General of India by 1 October 2021.

    Since the pandemic, digital healthcare and telemedicine have grown rapidly. Smart patient-hospital barrier reduction methods, as well as modern health technologies, are popular. Scholars and stakeholders think telemedicine and AI are promising.

    The MoHFW and Niti Aayog, the Indian government’s public policy think tank, recently released telemedicine guidelines. The National Medical Commission (formerly the Medical Council of India) regulates remote consultations by qualified medical practitioners.

    RECENT LEGISLATION

    In July 2022, the MoHFW introduced the New Medication, Medical Devices and Cosmetics Bill, replacing the Drugs & Cosmetics Act of 1940, governing the surveillance of medical device administration, which includes software, implants and instruments. The classification for these devices is “drugs”. The main goal of this legislation is to improve the safety, efficacy and international benchmarks of medical devices, medications and cosmetics.

    On receiving parliamentary approval, the new legislation will establish regulations pertaining to pharmaceuticals, medical apparatus and cosmetics.

    In May 2023, India began implementation of the National Medical Device Policy, which aims to:

    • Guarantee universal accessibility to superior medical devices;
    • Augment domestic manufacturing capabilities to ensure affordability;
    • Improve product quality and
      international competitiveness;
    • Foster a healthier lifestyle via extensive device utilisation;
    • Facilitate innovation within the sector; and
    • Enhance clinical outcomes by means of timely detection and precise treatment.

    These simplified regulations stimulate sector growth through investments in infrastructure, research and development, and innovation.

    The Medical Device Rules (MDR) govern the clinical investigation, manufacturing, import, sale and distribution of medical devices in the country. The MDR 2017 governed a wide range of implanted device categories. In January 2022, the government issued a directive requiring all medical device manufacturers to acquire ISO 13485 certification and formally register their products with the Central Drugs Standard Control Organisation.

    Strict adherence to these standards is required for the production and oversight of medical equipment and invitro diagnostics. Registration of medical devices was previously voluntary. Medical device registration is required for class A and B devices since October 2021, and class C and D devices since September 2022.

    In June 2021, the Indian Medical Device Industry Association and Quality Council of India extended the 2016 Indian Certification for Medical Devices Scheme to include the Indian Certification Plus (2021) methodology.

    This novel technology examines medical device quality, safety and benefits, helping government agencies uncover counterfeit products and bogus certificates. The revised rules removed reapproval of import and production licences.

    Cardiac stent and knee implant prices were restricted by up to 70% in 2017. A 5% ad-valorem health tax was introduced on medical, dental, surgical and veterinary devices in 2020.

    The Department of Pharmaceuticals revised India’s Procurement Order 2017 in February 2022 to improve patient access to critical medical technologies that are not produced domestically.

    The NPA imposed price caps on six medical products in June 2021. This included oxygen concentrators, blood glucose monitors, blood pressure monitors, pulse oximeters, nebulisers, and digital thermometers. To justify price limits, the NPA used trade margin rationalisation (TMR) by exploiting the price gap between producers and patients.

    To increase patient access to affordable and accessible healthcare, the NPA established the TMR policy for medical equipment and drugs in 2018.

    The government is reducing trade margins for important medications, including patented ones, to cut costs and boost patient access. This TMR-based project starts with 139 drugs including antibiotics, oncology, and chronic renal disease treatments.

    In June 2020, the Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade updated the 2017 Public Procurement Order to favour Indian companies with 50% local content. Government tenders exclude “non-local suppliers” with less than 20% local content.

    The Union Budget for 2023–24 allocated an additional 15% for intellectual property, raising the budget from USD38.4 million to USD40.1 million.

    TAKEAWAYS

    Regulatory policies and laws profoundly and intricately affect the life sciences sector in India. Although conducive to fostering innovation and attracting foreign investment, the implementation of flexible regulations and the ease of doing business strategies can present barriers concerning the accessibility and affordability of pharmaceuticals.

    Constantly striving to strike a balance that fosters innovation, guarantees provisions for vital medications, and adheres to international trade commitments is a persistent challenge that policymakers must confront.

    In order to remain competitive in the global market for pharmaceuticals, biosimilars and biopharmaceuticals, India must modify its policies to accommodate the ever-changing life sciences landscape and innovation.

    This is particularly crucial as the population’s requirements continue to evolve. Determining the trajectory of the life sciences industry in India will require an exact balance between public health policies, innovation regulations, monitoring and protection via intellectual property rights, and government-industry collaboration.

    LEXORBIS
    709/710 Tolstoy House
    15-17 Tolstoy Marg
    New Delhi – 110 001
    India
    Tel: +91 11 2371 6565
    Email: mail@lexorbis.com
    www.lexorbis.com

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link