深入解析中国对生命科学专利的最新保护举措

作者: 高国征和姚潇怡,北京金杜律师事务所
0
71
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

中国

印度

中国2021年的《专利法》为生命科学专利保护领域引入了多项重大变革,包括类似于美国模式的专利链接制度、专利期限延长(PTE)和专利期限调整(PTA)制度。此外,该法还引入了一项独特的执行机制,即重大专利侵权纠纷裁决(适用重大案件)机制,授权中国国家知识产权局处理专利侵权纠纷。这些改革旨在加大中国对生命科学专利保护力度,与中国日益重视药物创新的立场保持一致。

随着《专利法》颁布已近三年,本文介绍了专利法构成要件的最新动态并提出实用见解。

专利链接

Gordon Gao, King & Wood Mallesons
高国征
国际合伙人
北京金杜律师事务所
电话:+86 10 5878 5066 / +86 13911826138
电邮:gordon.gao@cn.kwm.com

尽管在很大程度上效仿了美国《哈奇-瓦克斯曼法案》框架,但中国的专利链接制度在几个关键方面有所不同。其中包括双平台、监管审批中止时间缩短、首仿药独占期延长以及限制对生物制剂的保护。早期案例可以充分揭示这些问题是如何在实践中展开的。

平台。与普通专利侵权案件类似,中国为链接案件提供了两个争议解决平台:向北京知识产权法院提起司法诉讼;向中国国家知识产权局(CNIPA)提起行政诉讼。与法庭案件相比,行政诉讼的持续时间更短(3到6个月),许多人预计CNIPA将成为链接案件的首选平台。

监管审批中止时间缩短在中国体系下,链接案件将导致监管审批中止9个月,远短于美国体系下的30个月。CNIPA的诉讼案件通常在9个月内结束,法院案件通常需要更长的时间,这进一步促使市场选择CNIPA而非北京知识产权法院。

问题。在中国制度下,链接案件涉及简略新药申请(ANDA)是否属于专利权利要求的范围。正如第一三共诉扬子江案(2022)中所裁决的那样,CNIPA对此进行了狭义解释,并拒绝处理不侵权抗辩。然而,根据最高人民法院的司法解释,被告人可以在法庭案件中提出这些问题。这也可能导致专利权人倾向于CNIPA而非法院。

平台选择统计

统计数据证实,CNIPA比北京知识产权法院更受市场青睐。截至2024年3月15日,CNIPA已披露76起链接案件判决,平均审判期为6.1个月。相比之下,北京知识产权法院公布了43项链接诉讼判决,平均审判期为7.7个月。

虽然不是所有的判决都公布了,但这些数据佐证了之前对平台选择的预测。值得注意的是,法院案件平均7.7个月的审判期已经比普通专利侵权案件快出很多,但仅有效判决才能触发中止指令。

需要重点指出的是,中国实行两审制度,一审法院的判决不是最终判决。因此,大多数法院案件不太可能在9个月内做出有效判决,导致专利权人无法阻止仿制药营销,即使在走法院程序的链接案件已经获得有利结果,亦是如此。

首仿药独占期

Sherry Yao, King & Wood Mallesons
姚潇怡
国际合伙人
北京金杜律师事务所
电话:+86 10 5878 5092 / +86 13810415686
电邮:sherry.yao@cn.kwm.com

首先,首仿药独占期对仿制药是一项关键激励,可以平衡体系内各方利益。在中国,首仿药拥有12个月的市场独占期,是美国180天独占期的两倍。

然而,中国已经上调获得此“奖励”的门槛:只有首个挑战专利成功并获批上市的仿制药才能享有12个月的市场独占期。规则规定,要想成功挑战专利,仿制药需要使专利无效。成功采用回避设计的仿制药不具备独占期资格。

这本质上意味着,如果想要享有独占期,首仿药必须为所有其他仿制药扫清专利障碍。2024年1月2日,正大天晴的依维莫司获批上市,同时拥有了12个月的市场独占期,成为首款也是迄今为止唯一一款获得此“奖励”的仿制药。

一些人认为,这种高门槛可能会阻碍仿制药挑战专利,从而阻碍该系统的全面运行。截至2024年3月15日,市场共提交了7,991项专利认证:7,923项为化学药物认证;67项为生物制剂;1项为中药。只有408项认证是IV类认证,占所有认证的5.1%。

生物制剂

与美国的制度不同,中国的链接制度涵盖了化学药物和生物制剂,但对生物制剂的保护有限。对于生物制剂,品牌名称可以注册专利,生物仿制药申请人必须提交专利认证。然而,链接案例不会中止生物仿制药的监管审查,生物仿制药也不会获得市场独占期。

此外,生物制剂的专利注册范围更为有限。对于化学药物,活性药物成分(API)、医疗用途和配方都可以注册专利,而生物制剂仅允许注册序列和医疗用途专利。

鉴于这些限制,目前尚不清楚现行制度对生物制剂的保护效果如何。

专利通知

美国对仿制药有明确的通知要求,但中国制度没有那么明确。法规要求仿制药企业在简略新药申请受理后10天内将其IV认证告知品牌药,但没有明确的指引说明违规后果或违规时对品牌药的补救措施。早期判决曾涉及这一问题,但未能提供任何补救措施。

日本中外制药诉温州海鹤药业案(2022)中,仿制药企业在链接案件启动后才通知品牌药方并提供适当的技术文件。最高人民法院对温州海鹤药业进行了批评,但没有实施任何制裁。因此,品牌药企业必须积极关注链接系统,而不是仅仅依靠仿制药企业通知。否则,可能会导致错过及时启动链接案件的机会。

已发布案例

从专利链接案件中公布的判决来看,关于配方和医疗用途专利的诉讼最多。然而,品牌药的成功率很低,在CNIPA案件中获胜的不到三分之一,在法庭上获胜的更少。品牌药面临的挑战包括无效权利主张、回避设计和法律障碍,如对瑞士型的用途权利要求的法律解释。针对中国的独特问题精心制定策略,是在中国赢得案件的关键。

PTA和PTE

中国2021年《专利法》引入了PTE和PTA的规定。然而,直到2024年1月20日,随着2023年《专利法实施细则》和2023年《专利审查指南》的发布,才制定了详细的实施措施。

这些措施概述了PTA和PTE的具体要求和计算标准。令许多国际制药公司颇感失望之处是,规则规定,PTE仅适用于在中国申请上市批准时还未在世界其他任何地方上市的新药。这将许多已经在其他国家推出的创新药排除在外。

重大案件

2021年《专利法》使CNIPA能够处理在全国具有重大影响的专利侵权案件。与法院判决相比,CNIPA审理重大案件的主要优势在审判期短。

CNIPA会在案件立案3个月后公布最终判决结果。该判决一经公布即可强制执行,即使有上诉亦是如此。相比之下,法院程序需要更长的时间,一审程序持续6至12个月,二审可能还需要6至9个月,而且在二审判决下达之前,无法执行相关判决。

在某重大案件中,补救措施是在全国范围实施禁令,但没有损害赔偿金。这起重大案件引起了制药公司的极大关注,在专利侵权案件中,制药企业的首要目标是快速获得禁令。

这些规则为符合重大案件资格的事项提供了门槛条件:

  • 涉及大量经济利益
  • 整个行业的发展受到影响
  • 该案件涉及多个省级司法管辖区
  • 可能还有其他潜在的重要影响。

这些条件属于一般性定义,仅所列相关事项可以提供更加具体的指引。

到目前为止,在由作者团队处理的一个案件中,CNIPA只下达了一项判决。该团队代表一家制药客户向CNIPA提交了首批案件,涉及一种在中国20多个省份仿制并出售的重要药物。在提交申请的几个月内,CNIPA做出了侵权判决,有效停止了该仿制药在全国范围销售。

这一成功案例标志着中国专利诉讼史上的一个重要里程碑,表明CNIPA在阻止仿制药侵蚀市场份额方面是可行机制。先寻求重大案件资格,然后向CNIPA获取快速禁令,之后在民事法庭寻求损害赔偿,这可能是制药公司维护其在中国市场利益的有效策略。

金杜律师事务所
中国北京,邮编100020
朝阳区东三环中路1号环球金融中心办公楼东楼18层
电话:+86 10 5878 5578
传真:+86 10 5878 5566
www.kwm.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Navigating China’s new protections for life science patents

    By Gordon Gao and Sherry Yao, King & Wood Mallesons
    0
    386
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    CHINA

    INDIA

     

    China’s 2021 Patent Law brought significant changes to life sciences patent protection, including a patent linkage system akin to the US model, patent term extension (PTE) and patent term adjustment (PTA). Additionally, the law introduced a unique enforcement mechanism – the Major Patent Infringement Dispute Adjudication (Major Case) – empowering China’s national intellectual property office to handle patent infringement disputes.

    These reforms aim to strengthen life sciences patent protection in China, aligning with the country’s increasing focus on drug innovation. As we approach the three-year mark since enactment, this article provides updates and practical insights into these legislative components.

    PATENT LINKAGE

    Although largely mirroring the framework of the US Hatch-Waxman Act, the Chinese patent linkage system differs in several key aspects. These include dual forums, shorter regulatory stays, longer exclusivity for a first generic version, and limited protection for biologics. Early cases have shed light on how these issues have unfolded in practice.

    Dual forums. In a similar fashion to regular patent infringement cases, China offers two dispute resolution forums for linkage cases: judicial proceedings before the Beijing Intellectual Property (IP) Court; and administrative proceedings before the China National Intellectual Property Administration (CNIPA). Given shorter duration of administrative actions (three to six months) compared to court cases, many anticipate the CNIPA becoming the preferred forum for linkage cases.

    Gordon Gao, King & Wood Mallesons
    Gordon Gao
    International Partner
    King & Wood Mallesons
    Beijing
    Tel: +86 10 5878 5066 / +86 13911826138
    Email: gordon.gao@cn.kwm.com

    Shorter regulatory stays. In the Chinese system, a linkage case will trigger a nine-month stay of regulatory approval, significantly shorter than the 30-month stay in the US system. As CNIPA actions typically conclude within nine months and court cases often take longer, this further encourages the choice of the CNIPA over the Beijing IP Court.

    Issues. Under the Chinese system, a linkage case addresses whether or not an abbreviated new drug application (ANDA) falls within the scope of a patent claim. The CNIPA has construed this narrowly and refused to address non-infringement defences, as decided in Daiichi Sankyo v Yangzijiang (2022). However, according to Supreme People’s Court judicial interpretations, defendants are allowed to raise these issues in court cases. This may also lead patentees to favour the CNIPA over the court.

    Statistics on choice. Statistics confirm the CNIPA being preferred over Beijing IP Court. By 15 March 2024, the CNIPA had disclosed 76 linkage case decisions with an average trial period of 6.1 months. In contrast, the Beijing IP Court published 43 rulings on linkage lawsuits with an average trial period of 7.7 months.While not all decisions are published, these numbers align with the predicted choice of forum. Notably, the average trial period of 7.7 months for court cases is already faster than regular patent infringement cases, but only an effective decision can trigger a stay.

    It is important to note that China operates on a two-instance system, where the first-instance court decision is not final. Therefore, most court cases are unlikely to reach an effective decision within nine months, resulting in patentees being unable to block generic marketing even if favourable findings are obtained in a linkage case in a court proceeding.

    First-generic exclusivity. First-generic exclusivity serves as a crucial incentive for generics, balancing interests within the system. In China, the system provides a 12-month market exclusivity period, twice the duration of the 180-day exclusivity in the US.

    However, China has elevated the standards for obtaining this benefit: only the first generic to have received regulatory approval and challenged the patent successfully will enjoy the 12-month market exclusivity. The rules specify that to successfully challenge patents, generics need to invalidate the patents. Generics that have been successfully designed around the patents do not qualify for exclusivity.

    This essentially means that, to receive this benefit, the first generic must clear the way for all other generics. On 2 January 2024, Chia Tai Tian Qing’s everolimus obtained approval with a 12-month market exclusivity, making it the first and, to date, the only generic to have received this benefit.

    Some believe this high burden may discourage generics from challenging patents, thus preventing the system from fully functioning. To 15 March 2024, a total of 7,991 patent certifications were filed: 7,923 for chemical drugs; 67 for biologics; and one for a traditional Chinese medicine. Only 408 certifications are type IV certifications, accounting for 5.1% of all certifications.

    Sherry Yao, King & Wood Mallesons
    Sherry Yao
    International Partner
    King & Wood Mallesons
    Beijing
    Tel: +86 10 5878 5092 / +86 13810415686
    Email: sherry.yao@cn.kwm.com

    Biologics. Unlike the US system, China’s linkage covers both chemical drugs and biologics, but with limited protection for biologics.

    For biologics, brand names can register patents and biosimilar applicants must file patent certifications. However, a linkage case does not stay biosimilars’ regulatory review, and biosimilars do not receive market exclusivity.

    In addition, patent registration is more limited for biologics. For chemical drugs, eligible patents include active pharmaceutical ingredient (API), medical use and formulation patents, while only sequence and medical use patents are allowed for biologics.

    Given these restrictions, it remains unclear how effectively biologics are being protected under the current system.

    Patent notification. Unlike the US system, where generics have clear notification requirements, the situation is less clear in the Chinese system. Regulations mandate generics notify the branded drug of their type IV certification within 10 days of an ANDA’s acceptance, but there is no clear guidance on the consequences for non-compliance or remedies for branded drugs in the event of non-compliance. Early decisions have addressed this issue, but failed to provide any remedy.

    In Chugai v Wenzhou Haihe (2022), the generic failed to notify the branded drug or provide the appropriate technical documents until after a linkage case had commenced. The Supreme People’s Court criticised Wenzhou Haihe but imposed no sanctions. Consequently, branded drugs must actively monitor the linkage system rather than relying solely on generic notifications. Failure to do so may result in missed opportunities to commence linkage cases on time.

    Published cases. Looking at the published decisions in patent linkage cases, formulation and medical use patents are the most litigated. However, branded drugs face low success rates, with less than one-third winning in CNIPA cases and even fewer in court. Challenges faced by branded drugs include invalidity claims, design around, and legal barriers such as construing Swiss-style use patents. Crafting careful strategies tailored to China’s unique issues is crucial for winning cases in China.

    PTA AND PTE

    China’s 2021 Patent Law introduced provisions for PTE and PTA. However, detailed implementation measures were not enacted until 20 January 2024, with the release of the 2023 Implementation Rules of the Patent Law and the 2023 Patent Examination Guidelines.

    These measures outline specific requirements and calculations for PTA and PTE. To the disappointment of many international drug companies, the rules stipulate that PTE only applies to new drugs, defined as those not launched anywhere in world, when applying for marketing approval in China. This would exclude many innovative drugs already launched in other countries.

    MAJOR CASE

    The 2021 Patent Law enables the CNIPA to handle patent infringement cases with significant influence across the country. Compared to court decisions, the main advantage of a major case is its short duration. The CNIPA should issue a final decision within four months of docketing the case. This decision is enforceable on issuance, even if appealed. In contrast, a court proceeding takes much longer, with the first-instance proceedings lasting six to 12 months and not enforceable until the second-instance decision, which could take another six to nine months.

    The remedy in a major case is a nationwide injunction, while damages are not available. The major case has attracted significant attention from drug companies, where securing a quick injunction is the primary goal in patent infringement cases.

    The rules provide threshold conditions for matters to qualify as a major case:

    1. A large amount of economic benefit is involved;
    2. The development of an entire industry is impacted;
    3. The case involved multiple jurisdictions at the provincial level; and
    4. There may be other potential important influences.

    These conditions are generally defined, with No. 3 on the list offering more specific guidance.

    So far there has been only one decision handed down by the CNIPA, in a case handled by the authors’ team. The team filed the first batch of cases before the CNIPA on behalf of a pharmaceutical client for an important drug that was copied and offered for sale in more than 20 provinces across China. Within months of filing, the CNIPA issued an infringement decision, effectively halting nationwide sale of the generics.

    This success marks an important milestone in patent litigation in China, demonstrating the CNIPA as a viable mechanism for preventing generics from eroding market share. Pursuing a major case before the CNIPA for a swift injunction, then seeking damages in civil court, could be an effective tactic for drug companies to safeguard their interests in the Chinese market.

    KING & WOOD MALLESONS
    18th Floor, East Tower, World Financial Center
    1 Dongsanhuan Zhonglu, Chaoyang District
    Beijing, 100020
    P.R. China
    Tel: +86 10 5878 5578
    Fax: +86 10 5878 5566
    www.kwm.com

     

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link