京师筹建三海外分所 或成为首家驻朝中国律所

0
211
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

京师律师事务所筹建平壤、首尔和东京办公室,预计将在2024年上半年开业。一旦落成,京师所将成为首家进驻朝鲜的中国律所。

主导筹建的京师所北京总部权益合伙人金世盛说,与其像其他律所扎堆进驻东南亚市场,面对更激烈的竞争,不如去平壤抢占先机。

Matthew Jin
金世盛

“在南北对抗略微缓和之后,[朝鲜]大概率是要抓经济的,”金世盛说。他举例,之前曾有朝鲜的对外经贸部官员来华进行宣讲,希望通过当地的经济特区与中国招商引资,进行基建、不动产、旅游等项目开发。

“他们也需要像我这样的律师和团队进驻到当地,帮他们完善法制、招商引资,”金世盛说。

2017年,朝鲜进行了一系列导弹试射和核试验,引来联合国制裁。次年,当地仅有的两所外资律所——来自新加坡的Kelvin Chia Partnership律师事务所与Hay, Kalb & Associates(HK&A)律师事务所——相继停业。HK&A是美国律师Michael Hay 与朝鲜合营的律所。

“目前疫情结束了,既有的外国所已经退出,而我们京师所又在大刀阔斧地搞国际化,我觉得时机是非常重要的,”金世盛说,“哪怕它会有风险,但是这种投资的风险我是愿意承担的。”

平壤分所提供的咨询业务将包括外商直接投资,涉朝争议解决、知识产权、置业风险评估,以及担任朝鲜政府与在朝外资企业的法律顾问。

尽管朝鲜与国际社会关系不稳定,但中朝友好关系奠定了京师所对当地的市场机遇设想。“虽然朝鲜对海外封闭,但是政府之间的合作,中朝两国的合作一直没有中断,包括央企去开发能源、投资基建,其实一直都有,贸易当然更活跃了,” 金世盛说。

金世盛毕业于韩国首尔大学,擅长处理国际贸易、跨境投资和民商事争议解决事务,其团队精通日韩语言和文化。他计划平壤分所将拥有10至20名律师,但实际情况要与当地政府协商。

至于首尔与东京分所的规模和平壤分所相若,将分别至少有两名合伙人。三家办公室在正式运营的初期阶段将与当地律所合作。

京师所拥有近6000名律师,是中国最大的律所之一。今年,该所除了落成哈萨克斯坦办公室,更已宣布在世界各地启动筹建25家海外办公室,包括葡萄牙、巴黎、泰国、阿联酋、新西兰、澳大利亚、墨西哥等。

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Jingsh set to be first Chinese law firm in North Korea

0
323
Jingsh first chinese law firm in north korea
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Jingsh will be the first Chinese law firm in North Korea once three new overseas offices are completed in Pyongyang, Seoul and Tokyo, which are expected to open in the first half of 2024.

Instead of piling into the Southeast Asian market like other law firms and facing tougher competition, it is better to build an office in Pyongyang to get a head start in North Korea, said Matthew Jin, Jingsh Law Firm’s equity partner in the Beijing head office and leader of the preparation team for the new branches.

Matthew Jin
Matthew Jin

“North Korea is going to develop their economy probably after a slight de-escalation of the North and South Korean confrontation,” said Jin. He cited the example of a DPRK official from the ministry of foreign trade and economic co-operation, who had previously visited China in the hope of attracting investment through the local special economic zones, and for the development of infrastructure, real estate, tourism and other projects.

“They also need lawyers and teams like us to come in and help them improve the legal system and attract investment,” said Jin.

North Korea has conducted a series of missile test launches and nuclear tests, drawing UN sanctions in 2017. Singapore firm Kelvin Chia Partnership and Hay, Kalb & Associates (HK&A), the only two foreign law firms in North Korea, closed in 2018. HK&A is a joint operation between US lawyer Michael Hay and a North Korean lawyer.

“Timing is very important because Jingsh is [moving towards] internationalisation on a grand scale when the pandemic [has gone] and all of the foreign law firms have closed in North Korea,” said Jin. “Even if it’s risky, I’m willing to take it.”

The Pyongyang office will advise on matters including foreign direct investment, North Korea-related dispute resolution, intellectual property rights, home ownership risk assessment, and acting as a legal adviser to the government and foreign enterprises in the DPRK.

“The co-operation between the government and the co-operation between China and North Korea has been uninterrupted. Although North Korea is closed to [countries], the central enterprises developing energy and infrastructure have always been there and, of course, trade is more active,” said Jin.

Despite North Korea’s unstable relationship with the international community, the friendly relationship between China and North Korea lays the foundation for Jingsh’s vision of market opportunities, he said.

Jin, who graduated from Seoul National University, specialises in international trade, cross-border investment and civil and commercial dispute resolution matters, and his team is fluent in Japanese and Korean languages and cultures. He plans to have 10 to 20 lawyers in the Pyongyang office, but the actual situation is subject to consultation with the local government.

The Seoul, Tokyo and Pyongyang offices will be similar in size, with at least two partners. The three offices will co-operate with local law firms when they are officially operational.

Jingsh is one of the largest law firms in China with nearly 6,000 lawyers. This year, in addition to its Kazakhstan office, the firm announced the launch of 25 overseas branches around the world, including Portugal, Paris, Thailand, the United Arab Emirates, New Zealand, Australia, Mexico and others.

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link