印度仲裁新发展

作者: Ila Kapoor,Shruti Sabharwal和Surabhi Lal,Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co
0
151
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

香港

印度

日本

菲律宾

新加坡

 

1996年颁布《仲裁与调解法》(《仲裁法》)以来,印度已采取多项措施并在2015年和2019年对《仲裁法》进行了重大修订,旨在促进仲裁成为争议解决替代机制,构建更为高效、可靠的仲裁程序。

在推动这一目标实现的过程中,印度法院的裁定也发挥了关键作用。不过,虽然在大部分情况下,法院起到了推动作用,但具体过程亦有曲折,偶有不尽如人意的判决,引发对《仲裁法》的修订。

本文主要关注印度最近的三项法院裁定:最高法院关于仲裁协议未缴纳印花税的裁定;最高法院关于法院在指定仲裁员阶段的有限调查范围的裁定;以及德里高等法院关于仲裁中第三方资助的裁定。

印花税协议

Ila Kapoor
合伙人
Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co律师事务所
新德里办公室
电话: +91 11 4060 6060 (Ext. 4152)
电子邮件: ila.kapoor@amsshardul.com

印度最高法院最近在NN Global Mercantile 诉 Indo Unique Flame & Anr一案中裁定,未根据1899年《印度印花税法案》缴纳印花税的协议(包括仲裁协议),不构成法院任命仲裁员的依据。

法院在依据仲裁协议行事前,须确定有关文书已缴足印花税。最高法院的理由是,因未满足实体法要求(在本案是《印度印花税法案》)而不具有强制执行力的协议不被视为 1872年《印度合同法》项下的有效合同。

这一裁定在仲裁界引发担忧,业内人士担心它会被滥用,产生恶劣影响,比如,被用来拖延法院任命仲裁庭的时间。另外,业内也担心它会“滋生”大量的仲裁裁决撤销申请,即当事人以底层协议没有缴纳印花税,或没有足额缴纳印花税为由申请撤销仲裁裁决。

此案也给外国投资者敲响警钟。因不了解印度的实体法,外国投资者通常交由印度对手方确定协议的可执行性。如果协议未缴付印花税,这将成为启动仲裁程序时的致命弱点,直到“漏洞”被填补。事后补缴印花税需要支付罚款,且这可能是一个漫长而繁琐的过程。

这项裁定是否会影响正在进行的仲裁?裁定中并未提及这一问题。但印度法院很快意识到了这个问题,并对该裁定造成的负面影响作出了回应。

Shruti Sabharwal
Shruti Sabharwal
合伙人
Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co律师事务所
新德里办公室
电话: +91 11 4060 6060 (Ext. 6010)
电子邮件: shruti.sabharwal@amsshardul.com

在不久前的7月4日,在德里高等法院审理的Arg Outlier Media Private诉HT Media一案中,仲裁裁决债务人申请法院撤销仲裁裁决,理由是鉴于NN Global一案的判决,因涉案协议未缴足或未正确缴付印花税,因此,仲裁员不应按该协议进行仲裁。。

高等法院驳回申请。高等法院认为,如果基础协议(包括仲裁协议)没有足额缴付印花税,则协议不得作为证据采纳。但是,一旦被采纳,就不能以此为由撤销仲裁裁决。

此前,业内担心NN Global一案的裁定会造成撤销申请的增多,但此案的裁定缓解了业内的担忧。这无疑是朝着正确方向迈出了一步,但依然还有很长一段路要走,因为德里高等法院的裁定并未提及前一裁定可能造成任命仲裁员拖延的问题。

隧道尽头已现曙光。最高法院已同意对其另一项裁定作终审审查,而该裁定就涉及未足额缴付印花税的仲裁协议是否具有强制执行性。

在获得法院的明确指引前,当事人应谨慎行事,确保其协议按照《印度印花税法案》妥当缴纳印花税,从而保证协议可被执行,并且在出现争议时可避免耽误争议的解决。

两步调查法

今年4月,在NTPC Limited诉SPML Infra一案中,印度最高法院分析了《仲裁法》规定的移送仲裁前法院的管辖权,强调法院在指定仲裁员阶段的调查范围有限。

该案中,一方当事人以双方不存在争议为由对仲裁庭的任命和组建提出异议,其依据是一份和解协议。该协议称该方当事人已充分履行所有义务。

需最高法院审理裁定的问题是:对于争议是否存在这一问题应由指定仲裁员的移送法院裁定,还是交由仲裁庭评议?

过去法院的立场是,在将案件移送仲裁之前,法院必须初步审查指控的可信度。由于这些判例与印度对仲裁进行最低限度司法干预的理念相悖,立法机构在2015年修改了仲裁法。由此限制了法院通过审查双方之间是否存在仲裁协议来指定仲裁员的权力——“不多也不少”(参考Duro Felguera诉Gangavaram Port案, 2017)。

Surabhi Lal
Surabhi Lal
高级律师
Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co律师事务所
新德里办公室
电话: +91 11 4159 0700
电子邮件: surabhi.lal@amsshardul.com

NTPC一案的裁定呼应了最低限度司法干预的立法意图,并进一步明确法院必须进行两步式有限调查。

第一步调查是审查仲裁协议是否存在,及其有效性。这要求法院审查协议的缔约方是谁,以及缔约方是否与当前案件当事人一致。

第二步调查仅限于审查争议是否可仲裁。该案法院进一步明确,第二步调查是对事实的初步审查,从而得出“该项主张毫无疑问是不可仲裁的”结论。

最高法院制定了明确的规则。如果一方当事人以案件不可仲裁为由提出异议,法院在经过初步审查后无法得出定论,则案件应移送仲裁。显然,第二步调查仅限于确保当事人不会在案件明显不可仲裁的情况下被迫进行仲裁,从而避免无效仲裁。

此案裁定强化了“仲裁庭是评议所有不可仲裁性问题的首选机构”这一原则。当事人在仲裁庭任命阶段企图通过提出异议拖延仲裁时,都将三思而行,由此,法院将更高效、更迅速地任命仲裁庭。

第三方资助仲裁

今年5月,德里高等法院在Tomorrow Sales Agency诉SBS Holdings一案中作出裁定,明确了第三方资助仲裁的法律效力,这一原则迄今尚未得到立法认可。但法院在裁定中默许了这一做法。

该案中,德里高等法院需审理裁定的问题是:仲裁胜诉人是否可以针对仲裁申请人及其第三方资助人强制执行仲裁裁决。申请人未能履行裁决。随后,仲裁胜诉人要求资助申请人的第三方支付裁决款项,但遭到拒绝。

仲裁胜诉人于是寻求临时救济,包括对裁决款项的担保令、对资产和持有情况的披露,以及限制仲裁裁决债务人和第三方资助人转移财产的命令。

上述救济经德里高等法院的一位独任法官批准。但在随后的上诉中,高等法院的御座法庭推翻了该项批准令,驳回了胜诉人针对资助人的临时救济请求,理由是资助人不能被视为仲裁裁决债务人,不是裁决的执行对象。

德里高等法院强调了第三方资助的目的——确保当事人享有司法公正,同时指出,虽然业界呼吁通过制定法规确保仲裁资助的透明度和信息披露,但如果法律容许“强行让第三方资助人承担其并未事先同意承担的责任”,则会适得其反。

该判决保护第三方资助人不会成为被执行人,向第三方资助合法化迈出了一步。

希望立法机构能够重视法院意见,并针对印度的第三方资助仲裁正式出台相关法规。到目前为止,第三方资助仲裁依然如履薄冰,战战兢兢。

结论

印度的仲裁领域正在快速发展。总体上可以说,印度法院的裁定在商业上具有合理性,对仲裁持友善态度。立法机关也在采取措施,修补现有法律框架中的潜的缺陷。

6月14日,印度政府成立了一个15人专家小组,就《仲裁法》改革事宜征求专家建议。该小组将在未来几个月内提交报告。

希望该举措能够改变现行制度中的明显痛点,使印度司法环境对仲裁更加友善,以更好地服务于国内外仲裁当事人。

SHARDUL AMARCHAND MANGALDAS & CO

Amarchand Towers
216 Okhla Industrial Estate, Phase III,
New Delhi – 110 020, India
电话: +91 22 4933 5555
电子邮件: connect@amsshardul.com
www.amsshardul.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A regional comparison of arbitration landscapes: India

    By Ila Kapoor, Shruti Sabharwal and Surabhi Lal, Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co in New Delhi
    0
    812
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    HONG KONG

    INDIA

    JAPAN

    PHILIPPINES

    SINGAPORE

    India has taken several steps to promote arbitration as an alternative dispute resolution mechanism, and facilitate a more efficient and secure arbitration process since enacting the Arbitration and Conciliation Act (Arbitration Act) in 1996, with significant amendments in 2015 and 2019.

    The judiciary has also played a key role in advancing this goal through its decisions. Yet while the judiciary has mostly furthered the cause, there have been setbacks where occasional contrary decisions have provoked amendments to the Arbitration Act.

    This article focuses on three recent judicial pronouncements in India: a Supreme Court judgment on the stamping of arbitration agreements; a Supreme Court judgment on the limited scope of enquiry by courts at the stage of appointing an arbitrator; and a Delhi High Court judgment on third-party funding in arbitrations.

    STAMP DUTY AGREEMENT

    The Supreme Court’s recent decision in NN Global Mercantile v lndo Unique Flame & Anr held that an agreement, including an arbitration agreement, in which stamp duty had not been paid in terms of the Indian Stamp Act, 1899, was not capable of being acted on by courts in the appointment of arbitrators.

    Ila Kapoor
    Partner
    Shardul Amarchand
    Mangaldas & Co
    New Delhi
    Tel: +91 11 4060 6060 (Ext. 4152)
    Email: ila.kapoor@amsshardul.com

    Courts are now required to ascertain that appropriate stamp duty has been paid on the underlying instrument prior to acting on the arbitration agreement. The Supreme Court reasoned that an agreement that is unenforceable due to the operation of substantive law – in this case, the Indian Stamp Act – would not be a valid contract under the Indian Contract Act, 1872.

    This decision raises concerns within the arbitration community as regards its potential misuse and impact, including widespread fear that it would be used to delay appointments of the tribunal by courts. Another concern is that it would breed challenges by parties to awards on the ground that the underlying agreement was not stamped, or insufficiently stamped.

    Red flags were raised for foreign investors, who are usually unaware of the substantive laws in India, often leaving it to the Indian counterparty to ensure the agreement is enforceable. The fact that the agreement is not stamped becomes the Achilles’ heel weakness in commencing arbitration proceedings until this irregularity is corrected. Pertinently, not only does post facto stamping require payment of penalties, but can also be a lengthy and cumbersome process.

    While the judgment did not make any observations regarding its impact on ongoing arbitrations, the Indian judiciary has been quick to recognise and counter some impediments to which it may lead.

    Most recently, in Arg Outlier Media Private v HT Media, before Delhi High Court on 4 July, the award debtor sought the setting aside of an award on the ground that in view of the NN Global judgment, the agreement being insufficiently or improperly stamped could not have been acted upon by the arbitrator.

    Shruti Sabharwal
    Shruti Sabharwal
    Partner
    Shardul Amarchand
    Mangaldas & Co
    New Delhi
    Tel: +91 11 4060 6060 (Ext. 6010)
    Email: shruti.sabharwal@amsshardul.com

    The high court rejected the plea to set aside the award on this ground. It held that where the underlying agreement, including the arbitration agreement, was not properly stamped it should not have been admitted in evidence. However, once it had been so admitted, the resultant award could not be faulted on this ground.

    This decision alleviates concern as regards the increase in challenges of practical impacts of the NN Global judgment. While this is certainly a step in the right direction, there is still some way to go, since the high court’s decision does not touch on potential delays to the appointment of arbitrators that will be caused by the judgment.

    One can also see improvement as the Supreme Court has agreed to hear a curative petition in another decision by it, which involves the question of enforceability of an insufficiently stamped arbitration agreement.

    Until there is clarity, the parties should exercise diligence to ensure their agreements are stamped as per the Indian Stamp Act to be considered enforceable and avoid potential delays should disputes arise.

    TWO-STEP ENQUIRIES

    Earlier this year, in April, the Supreme Court dealt with the pre-referral jurisdiction of courts under the Arbitration Act in NTPC Limited v SPML Infra, emphasising the limited scope of their enquiry while appointing an arbitrator.

    Surabhi Lal
    Surabhi Lal
    Senior Associate
    Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co
    New Delhi
    Tel: +91 11 4159 0700
    Email: surabhi.lal@amsshardul.com

    The issue in this case concerned objection by a counterparty to the appointment of the arbitral tribunal on the ground that no disputes existed between the parties. The counterparty relied on a settlement agreement that stated all obligations of the counterparty stood satisfactorily discharged.

    The question before the Supreme Court was whether existence of the dispute in this context should be determined by the referral court appointing the arbitrator, or left for consideration by the tribunal.

    In the past, the court’s position had been that it must prima facie examine the credibility of allegations before referring parties to arbitration. As these precedents did not align with the idea of minimal judicial intervention in arbitrations seated in India, the legislature intervened through an amendment to the Arbitration Act in 2015. This limited the court’s power to appoint an arbitrator by examining whether an arbitration agreement existed between the parties “nothing more, nothing less” (Duro Felguera v Gangavaram Port, 2017).

    The NTPC judgment echoed the legislative intent of minimal judicial intervention. It further clarified that courts are required to carry out two limited inquiries.

    The primary inquiry is the existence and validity of an arbitration agreement. This requires examination by the courts as to who the parties to the agreement are, and whether those are the parties before it.

    The secondary inquiry is limited to examining whether the dispute is arbitrable. The court also clarified the secondary inquiry to be a prima facie scrutiny of the facts that lead to a conclusion that there is “not even a vestige of doubt that the claim is non-arbitrable”.

    The rule formulated by the Supreme Court is clear. If a prima facie review on the objection of non-arbitrability is found to be inconclusive, the dispute is to be referred to arbitration. Clearly, this secondary inquiry is limited to protecting parties from being forced to arbitrate when the matter is demonstrably non-arbitrable, aiming to cut out the dead wood.

    This decision reinforces the principle that the arbitral tribunal is the preferred authority to decide all questions of non-arbitrability. It will translate to a more efficient and speedier appointment of the arbitral tribunal by courts, as parties will think twice before raising objections at the appointment stage with a view to delaying arbitration.

    THIRD-PARTY FUNDING

    Delhi High Court’s recent decision in Tomorrow Sales Agency v SBS Holdings, in May this year, offers clarity on the legal validity of third-party funding of arbitrations, which is not a legislatively recognised principle to date. However, courts have implicitly recognised this practice in judgments.

    The high court was dealing with the question of whether an award holder can enforce an arbitral award against a claimant and its third-party funder. The claimant failed to satisfy the award. Subsequently, the award holder demanded payment of the awarded sum from the third-party funding the claimant’s arbitration, which was refused.

    The award holder sought interim relief in terms of an order of security of the awarded amount, disclosure of assets and holdings, and an order restraining the alienation of assets from the award debtor and the third-party funder.

    This relief was granted by a single judge of the high court. But on appeal, the division bench of the high court overturned the order, rejecting the request for interim relief against the funder on the ground that it could not be treated as an award-debtor against which the award could be enforced.

    The high court emphasised the purpose of third-party funding – namely, to ensure access to justice – and observed that while regulation was required to be formulated for transparency and disclosure in respect of funding in arbitration, it would be counterproductive if the law would allow for “mulcting third-party funders with a liability that they have not agreed to bear”.

    This judgment is a step towards further legitimising third-party funding, particularly by protecting them from being made parties to enforcement action.

    Hopefully, the legislature will pay heed to the observations of the court and develop formal regulations for third-party funding in India, which until now was undertaken with trepidation and unease.

    CONCLUSION

    The arbitration landscape in India is developing at a fast pace. Generally, it is safe to say that the judiciary is consistently rendering judgments that are commercially sound and arbitration-friendly. The legislature is also taking steps to amend unforeseen pitfalls in the existing legal framework.

    On 14 June, the government constituted a 15-member expert panel to recommend reforms to the Arbitration Act. This panel will be submitting its report in the coming months.

    Hopefully, this consultative process including renowned figures from the arbitration fraternity will result in changes to obvious pain points in the present system, making India a more arbitration-friendly jurisdiction for users both within and outside the country.

    SHARDUL AMARCHAND MANGALDAS & CO

    Amarchand Towers
    216 Okhla Industrial Estate, Phase III,
    New Delhi – 110 020, India
    Tel: +91 22 4933 5555
    Email: connect@amsshardul.com
    www.amsshardul.com

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link