菲律宾仲裁新发展

作者: Jose Martin R Tensuan,Antonio Eduardo S Nachura Jr和Maria Celia H Poblador,菲律宾ACCRALAW律师事务所
0
160
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

香港

印度

日本

菲律宾

新加坡

 

律宾法院在近期的几起仲裁审查案件中再次强调、维护了菲律宾法律和政策对于仲裁程序的原则,确保了仲裁程序的完整性、有效性和合理性,这无疑将对菲律宾的仲裁实践起到推动作用。

菲律宾立法机构和法院一直秉持支持仲裁的立场,菲律宾仲裁法和程序规则均与国际通行原则接轨。菲律宾仲裁蓬勃发展。

总体而言,菲律宾的法律和政策框架,加上司法判例的补充与经济的反弹和增长,已使该国成为了一个具有竞争力的仲裁和替代性争议解决(ADR)的区域中心。

当事人意思自治至关重要

Jose Martin R Tensuan
Jose Martin R Tensuan
高级合伙人
菲律宾ACCRALAW律师事务所
马尼拉大都会办公室
电话: +632 8830 8000 ext. 8071
电子邮件: mrtensuan@accralaw.com

Colmenares诉Duterte(2022)一案中,菲律宾最高法院支持了菲律宾政府与中国进出口银行订立的数份贷款协议中的仲裁协议规定的准据法和仲裁地选择条款。

条款规定,贷款协议及双方各自的合同权利和义务受中国法律管辖并按中国法律解释;此外,由贷款协议引起的任何争议将由中国国际经济贸易仲裁委员会或香港国际仲裁中心依其各自仲裁规则进行仲裁解决。

特殊利益集团抨击该等条款严重背离菲律宾利益,因此违反了菲律宾奉行独立外交政策的基本宪法原则。这一政策要求,菲律宾在处理与其他国家的关系时,必须以国家主权和国家利益等因素为指导。

在裁定该问题时,菲律宾最高法院支持反映“当事人自治”这一基本仲裁原则的条款。最高法院承认,围绕商业合同的争议仲裁是一种“由公民个人促成的纯粹私人裁决制度,这种制度一直被公认为有效、有约束力和可执行”,因此,仲裁协议应自由诠释,有利于确认仲裁协议效力的解释应予以采纳。

最高法院补充称,对于涉外合同,根据当事人自由选择适用法的原则,,应尊重合同缔约各方对适用法律的选择。最终法院认定,争议条款并未违反菲律宾法律、道德或公共政策,特殊利益集团所称的违反宪法指控实属臆断,因其未能证明贷款协议规定的适用法律和争议解决机制对菲律宾造成了实际损害。

仲裁不适用诉讼的干预规则

Lone Congressional District of Benguet Province诉Lepanto Consolidated Mining Company and Far Southeast Gold Resources(2022)一案中,菲律宾最高法院就非仲裁协议当事方是否可以干预仲裁程序或事后对任何仲裁裁定予以承认或撤销的司法程序问题作出了裁定。

Antonio Eduardo S Nachura Jr
Antonio Eduardo S Nachura Jr
合伙人
菲律宾ACCRALAW律师事务所
马尼拉大都会办公室
电话: +632 8830 8000, ext. 8073
电子邮件: asnachurajr@accralaw.com

1990年,菲律宾政府和某些矿业公司签订了一项矿产品分享协议,根据该协议在班盖特省进行采矿作业。协议即将到期时,矿业公司表示有意将协议续期25年。

但菲律宾政府坚持在续期前先办理协议存续期间颁布的《原住民族权利法案》(IPRA)规定的相关手续。矿业公司随即提起仲裁,反对办理新手续。仲裁庭作出了有利于矿业公司的裁决;但后经菲律宾政府起诉,当地初审法院最终撤销该仲裁裁决。

在菲律宾上诉法院审理此案时,班盖特省地方政府提起准许干预动议,理由是其代表受IPRA保护的当地选民——正是受矿产品分享协议续期影响的人群。上诉法院推翻了初审法院的裁定,但驳回了当地政府的干预请求。

在审理干预问题时,最高法院认为,菲律宾仲裁法和仲裁程序规则,尤其是《菲律宾关于替代性争议解决的特别法庭规则》(ADR特别规则),没有关于非仲裁协议当事人干预的规定。

ADR特别规则明确规定,适用于普通法庭诉讼程序的干预规则不得补充适用于仲裁或与仲裁有关的司法程序。

仲裁程序干预机制的缺位与菲律宾仲裁法律和规则的目标一致,即尊重当事人安排争议解决方案的自由和自主权,推动争议快速高效解决,以及遏制诉讼文化。

不同仲裁庭相互平等

ASEC Development and Construction Corp诉Toyota Alabang(2022)一案涉及一份施工合同和仲裁协议,但两个仲裁庭在两起独立的建设工程仲裁案中作出了两个相互矛盾的裁决。

本案双方当事人签订了一份汽车经销商展厅施工合同。业主试图取消部分建筑工程、删减承包商的施工范围,而此举将导致合同总价降低。承包商对此表示反对,双方由此产生纠纷。

承包商向菲律宾建筑业仲裁委员会(CIAC)提起仲裁。根据菲律宾法律,CIAC对建设工程仲裁纠纷具有初审和专属管辖权。

Maria Celia H Poblador
Maria Celia H Poblador
高级律师
菲律宾ACCRALAW律师事务所
马尼拉大都会办公室
电话: +632 8830 8000, ext. 8337
电子邮件: chpoblador@accralaw.com

仲裁随后在第一仲裁庭进行,仲裁庭作出了有利于承包商的终局裁决。业主不服裁决,诉请上诉法院开展司法审查。

上诉期间,业主以工程延误为由终止了施工合同。承包商再次向CIAC提起仲裁,这一次主要涉及应收未收工程进度款。

最终,第二仲裁庭作出了有利于业主的裁决。其间,第二仲裁庭基本上推翻了第一仲庭关于业主删减工程的估价的事实认定。随后承包商诉至上诉法院。

上诉法院合并了两项上诉,最终就业主删减部分工程的争议裁定业主胜诉。

在承包商进一步提出上诉后,最高法院撤销了第二仲裁庭的终局裁决,因其裁决的工程删减问题已由第一仲裁庭裁决。

最高法院解释称,两个仲裁庭是相互平等的机构,任何一方都不能推翻、撤销或重新裁决另一方先前已裁决的事项。

因此,即使第一仲裁庭的裁决仍在上诉中,该裁决已对第二仲裁庭具有约束力。否则当事人很可能反复提出仲裁请求,直到获得对自己有利的裁决为止。

法定期限

Maynilad Water Services诉National Water and Resources Board(2023)就何时诉请确认国内仲裁裁决确立了规则。

该案涉及多项关于特许经营协议的国内仲裁,焦点问题是特许水务公司是否属于公用事业单位,后者利润受到价格上限监管,且不得将公司所得税列为营业支出。在其中一项仲裁中,特许水务公司胜诉。

在申请确认对其有利的裁决时,特许水务公司要求适用ADR特别规则第11.2条规定的法定期限(即一方收到裁决30天后的任何时间)。对方当事人对此提出异议,认为菲律宾国内仲裁应适用《仲裁法》第23条规定的期限(即作出仲裁裁决后一个月内的任何时间)。

最高法院认为,根据菲律宾的基本仲裁法《替代性争议解决法案》的明确规定,特殊ADR规则第11.2条已有效取代了《仲裁法》第23条规定。但最终由于公共政策的原因,有利于特许水务公司的裁决依然被撤销。

从近期判例可看出,法院坚持仲裁的基本原则,这也为菲律宾仲裁的进一步发展奠定了坚实的基础。

ACCRALAW律师事务所

22/F, ACCRALAW Tower, 2nd Ave cor 30th St
Crescent Park West, Bonifacio Global City
Taguig, Metro Manila, 1635 Philippines
电话: +63 2 8830 8000
电子邮件: accra@accralaw.com
www.accralaw.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A regional comparison of arbitration landscapes: Philippines

    By Jose Martin R Tensuan, Antonio Eduardo S Nachura Jr and Maria Celia H Poblador, ACCRALAW
    0
    585
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    HONG KONG

    INDIA

    JAPAN

    PHILIPPINES

    SINGAPORE


    Recent jurisprudential developments have certainly added to the Philippines’ rich arbitration practice. They have been premised on essential legal and policy principles that ensure the integrity, efficacy and rationality of the arbitral process.

    Arbitration continues to be a robust and dynamic practice area in the Philippines as the legislature and courts continue to maintain a decidedly pro-arbitration stance. This is readily seen in the country’s prevailing arbitration law and procedural rules, all of which are consistent with the keystone principles developed and practised globally.

    Overall, this jurisdiction’s statutory and policy framework, complemented by jurisprudence and fostered by a rebounding and growing economy, has made the Philippines a competitive regional hub for arbitration and alternative dispute resolution.

    AUTONOMY REMAINS PARAMOUNT

    Jose Martin R Tensuan
    Jose Martin R Tensuan
    Senior Partner
    ACCRALAW
    Metro Manila
    Tel: +632 8830 8000 ext. 8071
    Email: mrtensuan@accralaw.com

    In Colmenares v Duterte (2022), the Supreme Court of the Philippines upheld the choice of law and forum clauses stipulated in the arbitration agreements covering certain loan agreements entered by the Philippine government with the Export-Import Bank of China.

    Such clauses provided that the loan agreements, and the parties’ respective contractual rights and obligations, would be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of China; also that any dispute arising from the loan agreements would be resolved in arbitrations administered by the China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission or the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre, and under their respective rules.

    Special interest groups assailed the clauses for being heavily skewed against the Philippines and, thus, violative of constitutional policy on the state’s pursuit of independent foreign policy. This policy requires that, in its relations with other states, the Philippines must be guided by national sovereignty and national interest, among other considerations.

    In resolving this issue, the Supreme Court upheld clauses on the fundamental arbitration principle of party autonomy. The apex court recognised that arbitration of disputes around commercial contracts was a “purely private system of adjudication facilitated by private citizens, which has been consistently recognised as valid, binding and enforceable” such that arbitration agreements should be liberally construed, and the interpretation that would render them effective should be adopted.

    The Supreme Court added that, for contracts involving foreign elements, the contracting parties’ choice of law is respected, pursuant to the principle of lex loci intentionis, or the law intended by the parties. Ultimately, the court found that the subject clauses were not offensive to Philippine law, morals or public policy, and the constitutional violation alleged by the special interest groups was speculative, given their failure to demonstrate that the governing law and dispute resolution mechanism stipulated in the loan agreements resulted in actual prejudice to the Philippines.

    INTERVENTION INAPPLICABLE

    Antonio Eduardo S Nachura Jr
    Antonio Eduardo S Nachura Jr
    Partner
    ACCRALAW
    Metro Manila
    Tel: +632 8830 8000, ext. 8073
    Email: asnachurajr@accralaw.com

    In Lone Congressional District of Benguet Province v Lepanto Consolidated Mining Company and Far Southeast Gold Resources (2022), the Supreme Court resolved the issue of whether a non-party to an arbitration agreement may intervene in arbitration proceedings or subsequent recognition or vacatur judicial proceedings for any resulting arbitral award.

    In 1990, a mineral product sharing agreement was entered into by the Philippine government and certain mining companies to conduct mining operations in Benguet province. When the agreement was about to expire, the mining companies expressed their interest in renewing for another 25 years.

    However, the Philippine government insisted that the renewal must first undergo a process under the Indigenous People’s Rights Act (IPRA), which had been enacted in the interim. The mining companies commenced arbitration assailing the new process. The arbitral tribunal rendered an award in favour of the mining companies; this was eventually vacated by a local trial court upon petition by the Philippine government.

    While the case was before the Philippine Court of Appeals, the district of Benguet province, a local government unit, filed a motion for leave to intervene on the ground that it represented constituents protected by the IPRA, who stood to be affected by the renewal of the mineral product sharing agreement. Although the Court of Appeals reversed the ruling of the trial court, it denied the intervention of the district.

    In resolving the issue of intervention, the Supreme Court held that Philippine arbitration law and procedural rules, particularly the Philippine Special Rules of Court on Alternative Dispute Resolution (special ADR rules), do not provide any mechanism for the intervention of non-parties to an arbitration agreement.

    Specific provisions of the special ADR rules prevent the suppletory application of the rule on intervention applicable to ordinary court proceedings to arbitrations, or even to arbitration-related judicial proceedings.

    The lack of a mechanism for intervention in arbitration proceedings is consistent with the objectives of Philippine arbitration law and rules – to respect party autonomy or the freedom of the parties to make their own arrangements in the resolution of disputes, as well as to achieve the speedy and efficient resolution of disputes and curb a litigious culture.

    TRIBUNALS CO-EQUAL BODIES

    Maria Celia H Poblador
    Maria Celia H Poblador
    Senior Associate
    ACCRALAW
    Metro Manila
    Tel: +632 8830 8000, ext. 8337
    Email: chpoblador@accralaw.com

    ASEC Development and Construction Corp v Toyota Alabang (2022) is a case that involved one construction contract and arbitration agreement but two arbitral tribunals that rendered two conflicting arbitral awards in two separate construction arbitration proceedings.

    The parties in this case entered a contract for the construction of a car dealership showroom. A dispute arose between the parties when the owner sought to deduct certain architectural works from the scope of the contractor, which entailed a reduction in the contract price, to which the contractor objected.

    The contractor commenced arbitration before the Philippine Construction Industry Arbitration Commission (CIAC), which is the body vested with original and exclusive jurisdiction over construction arbitration disputes under Philippine law.

    Arbitration ensued before the first arbitral tribunal, which rendered a final award in the contractor’s favour. Aggrieved, the owner sought judicial review before the Court of Appeals.

    While this appeal was pending, the owner terminated the construction contract on the ground of delay. This prompted the contractor to once again commence arbitration before the CIAC, this time on the principal issue of its entitlement to payment under its outstanding progress billings.

    Eventually, the second arbitral tribunal ruled in favour of the owner. In doing so, the second arbitral tribunal essentially overturned the findings of the first arbitral tribunal as to the valuation of the works deducted by the owner. This prompted the contractor to elevate the matter to the Court of Appeals.

    The appeals were consolidated by the Court of Appeals, which ultimately ruled in favour of the owner on the issue of deductive works.

    On further appeal by the contractor, the Supreme Court set aside the final award rendered by the second arbitral tribunal insofar as it ruled on the issue of deductive works, which had already been settled by the first arbitral tribunal.

    The Supreme Court explained that the two arbitral tribunals were co-equal bodies and neither of them could overturn, reverse or render another award of an issue previously settled by the other.

    Thus, even if the findings of the first arbitral tribunal were pending appeal, such findings were already binding on the second arbitral tribunal. Otherwise, parties may be encouraged to incessantly file requests for arbitration until they are able to obtain an award in their favour.

    REGLEMENTARY PERIOD

    Maynilad Water Services v National Water and Resources Board (2023) settled the rule on when to file a petition for the confirmation of a domestic arbitral award.

    This case involved separate domestic arbitrations stemming from concession agreements on the principal issues of whether the water concessionaires were public utilities whose profits were subject to a regulatory price cap, and were prohibited from treating corporate income taxes as business expenditures. In one of the arbitrations, the water concessionaire prevailed.

    In seeking the confirmation of the award in its favour, the water concessionaire applied the reglementary period under rule 11.2 of the special ADR rules (i.e., at any time after the lapse of 30 days from receipt of a party of the award). The other party challenged this and argued that the period under section 23 of the Arbitration Law, (i.e., at any time within one month after the award is made) should be applied instead, being specific to domestic arbitrations in the Philippines.

    The Supreme Court held that rule 11.2 of the special ADR rules effectively superseded section 23 of the Arbitration Law by express provision of the Alternative Dispute Resolution Act, the Philippines’ primary law on arbitration. Ultimately, however, the award in favour of the water concessionaire was vacated on grounds of public policy.

    The above-mentioned developments serve to highlight the Philippines’ unique and ripe position for the continuing development of a dynamic arbitration practice that is firmly grounded on fundamental principles and adeptly guided by judicious institutions.

    ACCRALAW

    22/F, ACCRALAW Tower, 2nd Ave cor 30th St
    Crescent Park West, Bonifacio Global City
    Taguig, Metro Manila, 1635 Philippines
    Tel: +63 2 8830 8000
    Email: accra@accralaw.com
    www.accralaw.com

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link