香港仲裁新发展

作者: 王则左,吴嘉康和甄启尧,翰伦大律师事务所
0
211
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

香港

印度

日本

菲律宾

新加坡

 

年,香港从新冠疫情造成的冲击中复苏,继续保持其作为国际主要仲裁中心的地位。跨境贸易逐步恢复、粤港澳大湾区内外联动日益紧密,中央和地方政府大力支持香港建设成为亚太地区主要的区域和国际争议解决服务中心,多重利好叠加,进一步为在香港通过仲裁解决国内、区域和国际争端创造便利。

香港在仲裁领域的良好声誉,得益于其仲裁友好型的司法环境、对《联合国国际贸易法委员会国际商事仲裁示范法》的吸收采纳,以及各种法律和制度的不断优化完善。

本文主要探讨三个具体领域及其对香港仲裁实践的影响,即:与仲裁结果有关的收费架构;终审法院对多层次争议解决条款解释方法的澄清;以及中国内地法院加大向香港仲裁提供临时措施的协助。

与仲裁结果有关的收费架构

Samuel Wong
王则左
大律师及特许仲裁员
翰伦大律师事务所
香港
电话: +852 3795 5636
电子邮件: wongchatchor@gmail.com

《仲裁(与仲裁结果有关的收费架构)规则》(通常简称为“ORFS规则”)于2022年12月生效。根据该规则,律师和当事人可以仲裁结果为条件就费用安排达成协议。

香港在法律诉讼资金来源方面的规定一直比较传统,助讼罪和包揽诉讼罪依然存在就是例证。但新规的出台是一个重要的分水岭。

ORFS规则规定了三种收费架构:按条件收费协议、按损害赔偿收费协议和混合式按损害赔偿收费协议。《亚洲商法》(Asia Business Law Journal)2022年5/6月刊的一篇专家简报文章已经探讨了上述三种架构的功能和优势,本文不再重复。

特别值得注意的是,混合式按损害赔偿收费协议还有一些附加条件,即部分收费取决于当事人是否胜诉。

ORFS规则要求混合协议明确规定在当事人获得或未获财务利益的不同情形下的付费安排。如果当事人败诉,当事人最多只需支付不可追讨讼费(也称上限金额)的50%,即无论是否签订ORFS协议都会收取的基准律师费。

另一方面,如果当事人胜诉,但协议项下按损害赔偿收费部分产生的应付费用低于不可追讨讼费,律师可以选择保留上限金额,即在当事人败诉的情况下应付的不可追讨讼费金额。

ORFS规则的出台,尤其是关于混合式按损害赔偿收费协议的规定,广受业内称赞。该等规定不仅更便于各种规模的本土企业和国际企业选择仲裁作为争议解决途径,而且还允许律师作出灵活且有条理的收费安排。如果当事人胜诉,律师可在上限金额与按损害赔收费协议应付金额之间作出选择,更易于追讨已产生的费用。尤其是在涉及多项复杂申索的仲裁案件中,一方当事人很可能只取得部分胜诉,导致裁决金额可能大大低于最初申索的金额。

ORFS允许律师灵活选择上限金额或按损害赔偿收费协议应付的金额,如此,一方面,律师能够更好地平衡其当事人的需求和偏好,另一方面也确保律师获得应得的报酬。毋需多言,这一点对于涉及多项申索的复杂仲裁尤为重要。

多层条款

香港这种仲裁友好型环境也有法院的推动。在备受关注的C 诉 D (2023)一案中,终审法院作出的裁定为解释和理解仲裁协议中的多层次或分级争议解决条款确立了原则,这一裁定堪称普通法系最高法院的首创。

C 诉 D一案中的仲裁协议规定,如争议“不能在一方书面要求就争议进行谈判之日起60个营业日内友好解决”,则应提交仲裁。仲裁庭认为双方当事人开展谈判的要求已得到满足,最终作出了有利于被申请人的裁决。上诉人于是以仲裁庭不具有管辖权为由申请撤销仲裁裁决。

Edward Ng
吴嘉康
大律师及仲裁员
翰伦大律师事务所
香港
电话: +852 3795 5636
电子邮件: edward.ng@18lc.com

该案中需终审法院审理裁决的问题是:如果仲裁协议载有多层次争议解决条款,仲裁庭对于仲裁前置条件是否得到满足作出决定,当事人能否依据《联合国国际贸易法委员会国际商事仲裁示范法》第34(2)(a)(iii)款将这个决定诉至法院。

法院一致驳回上诉,理由是:在对仲裁协议作全面解读后,法院认定当事双方均有意将关于是否满足仲裁前置条件的争议提交仲裁庭评议。因此,上诉人不能依据第34(2)(a)(iii)条申请撤销裁决。

李义法官认为(并获张举能首席法官、霍兆刚法官及林文瀚法官一致同意),法院复核仲裁前置条件的管辖权必须在仲裁协议中列明,法院亦基于协议条款来裁定法院是否有此管辖权。仲裁前置条件应被推定为非管辖权问题,必须通过解读协议目的和当事人意图来确定。

多数法官还认为,理解管辖权和可受理性之间的区别有助于我们解读多层次争议解决条款。简言之,前者是对仲裁庭的异议,而后者是对申索的异议。

该案当事人的异议是争议过早提交仲裁,而非针对仲裁庭对该事项作出决定和裁决的权力。尽管如此,鉴于此类条款仅是推定为非管辖权问题,当事各方仍可通过明示同意将非管辖权事项(如多层次条款)提升为管辖权事项。对此,《仲裁条例》第3(2)条已订明,允许各方自由商定如何解决争议,法院仅在仲裁协议明确赋予了法院管辖权的情况下才可干预仲裁。

不过,有人指出,这种扩大法院覆核范围的做法“有悖于所有常规商业期望”。

该案中,法官明确主张区分管辖权争议和可受理性争议,这也是法官在解读仲裁当事人真实意图时遵循的基本原则。此案裁定凸显了商业确定性的重要性,也提醒当事人,只有在协议明确赋予法院管辖权的前提下,法院才会考虑干预仲裁争议。更重要的是,通过此案裁定,商业合同的当事人更清楚香港法院的立场:法院愿意协助仲裁程序,且仅在有限的条件下对仲裁争议作出干预。

总体而言,该裁定巩固了香港作为全球主要仲裁中心的声誉。在香港做生意和解决争议都有极高的确定性,而这一确定性就来源于当事人最开始签订的协议。

临时措施

Thomas Yeon
甄启尧
大律师
翰伦大律师事务所
香港
电话: +852 3795 5636
电子邮件: thomas.yeon@18lc.com

2019年,香港和中国内地订立《关于内地与香港特别行政区法院就仲裁程序相互协助保全的安排》(《保全安排》)。今年,中国内地法院对临时措施协助愈加“慷慨”。 2023年,香港仲裁各方当事人在内地使用财产保全令、证据保全令、行为保全令的案例不断增多。

在不久前的2023年5月,亚非法律协商组织(AALCO)香港区域仲裁中心与15个不同的组织签署了谅解备忘录,其中包括香港仲裁师协会。这标志着香港仲裁制度与全球的合作和融合将进一步加强。

作为香港律政司批准的可依据《保全安排》申请临时措施的的合资格机构,在AALCO进行仲裁的当事人可直接向中国内地法院申请临时措施协助。

考虑到亚太经济体与非洲经济体之间经济联系的加强,AALCO有望成为解决亚洲和非洲实体之间商业争议(包括“一带一路”倡议框架下的相关商业和投资争议)的便利平台。

结论

上述法律及制度的最新进展,令香港仲裁的前景备受期待。

随着政府对仲裁的持续支持以及全球新兴经济体之间商业纽带增强,香港特别行政区将进一步发展成为先进、可靠和方便的争议解决中心,竭诚服务国际国内、各行各业的商事争议当事人。

18LC

翰伦大律师事务所

Rooms 1808–09, Tower One, Lippo Centre
89 Queensway, Admiralty, Hong Kong
电话: +852 3795 5636
电子邮件: info@18LC.com
www.18lc.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A regional comparison of arbitration landscapes: Hong Kong

    By Samuel Wong, Edward Ng and Thomas Yeon, 18LC
    0
    595
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    HONG KONG

    INDIA

    JAPAN

    PHILIPPINES

    SINGAPORE

    Hong Kong retained its status as a leading global arbitration hub in 2023, recovering from setbacks caused by the pandemic. The resumption of cross-border trade, improved connections within the Greater Bay Area and beyond, and support from both local and central governments in its development as a leading Asia-Pacific centre for regional and international dispute resolution services, continue to favour better conditions for resolving domestic, regional and international disputes by arbitration in the city.

    Hong Kong’s pro-arbitration reputation is supported by an arbitration-friendly judiciary and its status as an UNCITRAL Model Law jurisdiction, as well as a variety of legal and institutional developments.

    This article examines three specific aspects and their impact on arbitration practice in Hong Kong, namely, outcome-related fee structures; the Court of Final Appeal’s elucidation of the approach to the interpretation of multi-tiered dispute resolution clauses; and broader access to interim measures in PRC courts.

    OUTCOME-RELATED FEES

    Samuel Wong
    Samuel Wong
    Barrister and Chartered Arbitrator
    18LC
    Hong Kong
    Tel: +852 3795 5636
    Email: wongchatchor@gmail.com

    The Arbitration (Outcome Related Fee Structures for Arbitration) Rules, also known as ORFS Rules, took effect in December 2022. They enable lawyers and clients to agree on fee arrangements conditional on the outcome of arbitration.

    This marks a significant departure from Hong Kong’s traditionally conservative funding in legal actions, as evidenced by the continued existence of the offences of champerty and maintenance for litigation.

    The ORFS rules provide for three kinds of fee structures: conditional fee agreements; damages-based agreements; and hybrid damages-based agreements. Their functions and strengths have already been explored in an expert briefing article in Asia Business Law Journal’s May/June 2022 issue, and need no repetition.

    However, of particular interest are additional conditions for a hybrid damage-based agreement, with part of the fees contingent on whether the client wins.

    The ORFS Rules require a hybrid agreement to set out payments for scenarios where a client obtains a financial benefit, or no financial benefit is obtained. If the client loses, the client is only required to pay at most 50% of the irrecoverable costs, known as the capped amount, being the benchmark lawyer fees that would have been charged no matter whether an ORFS agreement has been made.

    On the other hand, if the client wins but the fee payable arising from the damages-based portion of the agreement is less than the irrecoverable costs, the lawyer may instead elect to retain the capped amount, namely the amount of irrecoverable costs that would have been payable in the event the client lost.

    Edward Ng
    Edward Ng
    Barrister and Arbitrator
    18LC
    Hong Kong
    Tel: +852 3795 5636
    Email: edward.ng@18lc.com

    The provisions for ORFS, particularly hybrid damage-based agreements, are much welcomed additions. Not only do they make arbitration more accessible to local and international businesses of various sizes, but they also allow for flexible yet structured fee arrangements to be made. The option for electing between the capped amount and amount payable under the damages-based agreement payment if the client is successful enables lawyers to better recuperate the amount of fees they have incurred. Particularly for arbitration involving multiple and complex claims, it is quite possible that a party is only partially successful, resulting in an award that may be significantly lower than originally claimed.

    By allowing lawyers to claim either the capped amount or that payable under damages-based agreement payment, the ORFS regime on one hand allows lawyers to better balance the needs and preferences of their clients, and on the other hand the need to ensure they can be adequately remunerated for their work. This is, self-evidently, particularly important for complex arbitrations with multiple items of claim.

    MULTI-TIERED CLAUSES

    Hong Kong’s arbitration-friendly approach also enjoys contributions from the courts. The highly anticipated judgment of the Court of Final Appeal in C v D (2023) – the first of its kind by a common law apex court – laid down the proper approach to interpretation and understanding of multi-tiered or cascading dispute resolution clauses in arbitration agreements.

    The arbitration agreement in C v D provided that in the event the dispute “cannot be resolved amicably within 60 business days of the date of a party’s request in writing for such negotiation”, it shall be referred to arbitration. The tribunal considered that the parties fulfilled their negotiation requirements and proceeded to render an award in favour of the respondent. The appellant sought to set aside the award on the ground that the tribunal lacked jurisdiction.

    The issue before the Court of Final Appeal was: if an arbitration agreement contains a multi-tiered dispute resolution clause, whether an arbitral tribunal’s determination on the fulfilment of that precondition was subject to recourse of the court under article 34(2)(a)(iii) of the UNCITRAL Model Law.

    Thomas Yeon
    Thomas Yeon
    Barrister
    18LC
    Hong Kong
    Tel: +852 3795 5636
    Email: thomas.yeon@18lc.com

    The court unanimously dismissed the appeal on the basis that on a proper construction of the agreement, both parties intended any dispute as to fulfilment of the pre-arbitration conditions to be submitted to an arbitral tribunal for consideration. As such, the appellant could not rely on article 34(2)(a)(iii) to set aside the award.

    Justice Roberto Ribeiro (with whom Chief Justice Andrew Cheung, Justice Joseph Fok and Justice Johnson Lam agreed) held that a court’s jurisdiction to review a pre-arbitration condition must be set out in clear language in the arbitration agreement before a court would conclude so. A pre-arbitration condition is presumptively non-jurisdictional, subject to interpretation of the agreement’s purpose and the parties’ intention.

    The majority judges also held that the distinction between jurisdiction and admissibility is helpful in construing a multi-tiered dispute resolution clause. In simplest terms, the distinction is one between a challenge to the tribunal (a question of jurisdiction) and a challenge to the claim (a question of admissibility).

    The objection in question was only that the claim had been prematurely referred to arbitration, but not an objection refusing to give consent to the tribunal’s authority to decide and render an award on the matter. That said, given that such clauses are only presumptively non-jurisdictional, it is still open to parties to elevate a non-jurisdictional matter (like a multi-tiered dispute resolution method) into a jurisdictional one by express consent. This is embodied in section 3(2) of the Arbitration Ordinance, freeing parties to agree on how a dispute should be resolved, and a court should only interfere with the arbitration of a dispute as expressly provided for. Such an expansion of the scope of curial review was, however, observed to be “contrary to all normal commercial expectations”.

    The judgment resoundingly maintained the distinction between jurisdictional and admissibility disputes, which finds firm roots in well-established approaches in ascertaining arbitrating parties’ intentions. It correctly highlights the importance of commercial certainty and the need for express indicia of intention before courts would consider intervening in arbitration disputes. More importantly, the judgment also elucidates what commercial parties may normally expect from Hong Kong courts: They are willing to assist in arbitration procedures and only make a limited intervention in arbitration disputes.

    All in all, the judgment contributes to and solidifies Hong Kong’s reputation as a leading global arbitration hub, where commercial parties may conduct business and resolve disputes with reliable certainty, rooted in the very agreements they entered in the first place.

    INTERIM MEASURES

    This year has also seen broader access to interim measures in PRC courts, which dates back to 2019, when the Arrangement Concerning Mutual Assistance in Court-ordered Interim Measures in Aid of Arbitral Proceedings by the Courts of the Mainland and of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region was entered into (interim measures arrangement). 2023 has seen increased use of asset preservation orders, and conduct preservation orders and evidence preservation orders for parties conducting arbitration in Hong Kong.

    Recently, in May 2023, the Asian-African Legal Consultative Organisation (AALCO) Hong Kong Regional Arbitration Centre signed memoranda of understanding with 15 different organisations, including the Hong Kong Institute of Arbitrators. This signifies further and greater co-operation and integration of the city’s arbitration regime with the rest of the world.

    As an institution approved by Hong Kong’s Department of Justice to be a qualified institution under the interim measures arrangement, parties using the AALCO arbitration can apply directly to PRC courts for interim measures.

    Considering the development of stronger economic ties between Asia-Pacific and African economies, the AALCO may be expected to serve as a convenient platform for the resolution of commercial disputes between Asian and African entities, including commercial and investment disputes arising from the Belt and Road Initiative.

    CONCLUSION

    Hong Kong’s arbitration landscape has much to look forward to as a result of these legal and institutional developments.

    With continuing government support for further use of arbitration and development of commercial ties with up-and-coming economies from different corners of the globe, the special administrative region is well-poised to serve as a progressive, reliable and user-friendly dispute resolution centre for domestic and international commercial parties of various industries.

    18LC

    18LC

    Rooms 1808–09, Tower One, Lippo Centre
    89 Queensway, Admiralty, Hong Kong
    Tel: +852 3795 5636
    Email: info@18LC.com
    www.18lc.com

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link