前景乐观,外所调整中国战略

0
359
Foreign-law-firms-tilt-China-strategy-on-upbeat-economic-outlook-L
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

自从去年年底中国政府放宽疫情防控措施,在国际市场对中国经济复苏的期待中,已有数家外国律所调整了各自在中国市场的策略。

Justin Sun, Justin Sun, Holman Fenwick Willan
孙晋军
首席代表
夏礼文律师事务所

6月,夏礼文律师事务所和摩根路易斯律师事务所在深圳设立代表处,这是自2020年疫情爆发后,首次有外国律所进驻深圳。

目前,在深圳设立代表处的另外三家国际律所——布林克斯律师事务所、斐锐律师事务所和懋真律师事务所——均以擅长知识产权而著称。其他外资律所,如罗思、博钦律师事务所和Parker & Parker律师事务所,则在四年前或更早通过开设知识产权代理机构落地深圳。

摩根路易斯除了设有北京代表处,其他代表处地点与夏礼文一致,均在上海与香港。

既有的办公室已经能处理内地业务、协助中国企业开辟海外市场,夏礼文深圳办公室的首席代表孙晋军说,此时在毗邻香港的深圳成立代表处,更多是希望新分所能为国际资本进入内地市场提供便利条件。该所多名香港律师在去年已取得粤港澳大湾区律师执业资格。

“深圳前海代表处与香港、澳门等地区最发达的九个城市相连,既是进入中国庞大国内市场的入口,也是联系国际市场的重要纽带,为像夏礼文这样的国际律师事务所开启新的增长点。”

Tracy Wut, Baker McKenzie
屈爱青
管理合伙人
贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所

摩根路易斯的新分所则聚焦知识产权,主要为生命科学和科技企业提供咨询。摩根路易斯主席Jami McKeon在一份新闻稿中说:“深圳是中国科技产业的中心,是中国创业公司密度最高的城市,也是来自世界各地的大型高科技公司的集结地。”

该所的深圳团队将扩大摩根路易斯在中国的知识产权业务,为各类知识产权争议案件、许可协议、商业合同、以及尽职调查提供咨询。

“在市场潜力和增长的推动下,中国仍然是许多企业的重要市场,尤其是在粤港澳大湾区,”贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所中国大陆及香港办公室管理合伙人屈爱青说。她于7月起担任该职务,任期三年。

“我们对律所进行了重新定位,以确保我们能够支持企业在快速发展的华南地区寻找机会,包括香港、深圳和广州。”

她预计,中国的海外交易在今年稍晚会缓慢增长。在数字化与净零排放的迫切需求下,国内以创新、技术和消费为重点的新经济将刺激中国乃至国际的经济增长。

但这些潜力未能挽留普洛斯律师事务所。该所决定关闭位于北京的在内地唯一的代表处,但没有解释原因。其香港办公室作为仅存的亚洲分所,目前也只剩下一名合伙人。

Peter Lu, McDermott Will & Emery
吕晓飞
合伙人
McDermott Will & Emery

McDermott Will & Emery律师事务所的中国业务全球主管吕晓飞认为,中国客户对任何一家国际律所而言都非常重要,但若在中国设立办事处,需要谨慎地制定长期战略,以确保律所在中国获得与国际同等的市场地位。

吕晓飞在5月以合伙人身份加入McDermott的伦敦办公室。尽管该所并没有设立中国代表处,但是吕晓飞认为这对于开
展中国业务并无障碍。

“我们希望密切监控我们的业务质量,如果在各地都设立办事处,这几乎是不可能的。”

他将在伦敦执业视为一个优势:“我只接手非常复杂的事务,这些事务需要世界一流的法律团队来完成……只有在世界领先的金融和法律中心,如伦敦,才能招聘到这样的律师。”

他亦补充,如有需要,依然可以与中国律所或律师合作,处理客户的关键事务。

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Foreign law firms tilt China strategy on upbeat economic outlook

0
1035
Foreign-law-firms-tilt-China-strategy-on-upbeat-economic-outlook-L
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Foreign law firms have adjusted their China strategies amid solid expectations of a post-pandemic economic recovery since the mainland government lifted the lockdown at the end of 2022.

Holman Fenwick Willan (HFW) and Morgan Lewis established a presence in Shenzhen in June, the first time since the 2020 outbreak that a foreign law firm has opened an office in the city.

Justin Sun, Justin Sun, Holman Fenwick Willan
Justin Sun
Chief Representative
Holman Fenwick Willan

Brinks Gilson & Lione, Fish & Richardson and Maucher Jenkins, all of which are known for their expertise in IP practice, have also established offices in Shenzhen. Other foreign law firms, including Rouse, Perkins Coie and Parker & Parker, opened Shenzhen IP agencies four years ago or earlier.

HFW had previously set up representative offices in Shanghai and Hong Kong as did Morgan Lewis, which also added a Beijing office.

While the firm’s existing offices are already handling matters for mainland businesses and assisting their push into overseas markets, adding a Shenzhen representative office, especially adjacent to Hong Kong, provides easy access for international capital to tap the China market, said Justin Sun, HFW’s Shenzhen chief representative. A number of HFW’s lawyers in the Hong Kong office passed the Greater Bay Area legal qualification examination and received their practising certificates in 2022.

“With Hong Kong, Macau, and nine other most developed cities in the region, our representative office in Qianhai, Shenzhen, offers door-step access to China’s huge domestic market and serves as an important link to the international market, which unlocks new growth for international law firms like HFW,” Sun said.

Peter Lu, McDermott Will & Emery
Peter Lyu
Global Head
McDermott Will & Emery

Morgan Lewis’ new office will focus on IP practice, mainly advising on life sciences and technology. “Shenzhen is a major hub of China’s technology industry with the highest density of startups of all the mainland cities in China, and it is a staging ground for large high-tech companies from all over the world,” said the firm’s chair Jami McKeon.

The Shenzhen team is set to expand Morgan Lewis’ IP reach in China, advising on the full range of IP matters, including patent and trade secrets disputes, as well as advising on licence agreements, commercial contracts, leading transactions and due diligence.

“China continues to be an important market for many businesses, driven by its market potential and growth, particularly in the Greater Bay Area,” says Tracy Wut, managing partner of the Hong Kong and mainland China offices for Baker McKenzie. She was appointed in July for a three-year term.

“We have reoriented our firm to ensure we are supporting businesses as they seek opportunities across this fast-developing southern area that includes Hong Kong, Shenzhen and Guangzhou.”

She estimates a moderate increase in outbound deals involving Chinese companies later this year. New economy businesses focusing on innovation, technology and consumption are expected to stimulate the economy in China and around the region, under the urgent need of digitisation and net-zero transition, which aims to cut greenhouse gas emissions to as close to zero as possible.

Tracy Wut, Baker McKenzie
Tracy Wut
Managing Partner
Baker McKenzie

The potential, however, does not prevent Proskauer closing its office in Beijing and retreating from the mainland. As for its only Asian office in Hong Kong, there is only one partner left.

Chinese clients matter a lot for any international law firm, admits Peter Lu, the global head of McDermott Will & Emery’s China practice, but having a branch in the country requires a careful long-term strategy to bring its market position in China in line with the rest of the world.

Lu joined McDermott’s London office as a partner in May. Although the firm does not have a representative office in China, Lu sees no impediment to operating its China practice.

“We want to monitor our quality closely and with offices everywhere, it will be almost impossible.”

He deems it an advantage to run the global China practice from London, saying “I only take on very complex matters which require the commitment of a world-class legal team … Recruiting such lawyers is only possible in the world’s leading financial and legal centres, such as London.”

If needed, he adds, the team can enlist local Chinese law firms and lawyers for critical matters for clients.

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link