受压资产的逐步解决

作者: Ramya Hariharan、Dipti Srivastava,HSA advocates律师事务所
0
305

于缺乏全面的破产制度和一些其他原因,印度的不良资产数量越来越多,银行业在过去几年中一直处于巨大的压力之下。2016年颁布实施的《破产法》为不良资产的处置提供了全面框架。到2019财年为止,通过该《破产法》解决的94宗案件的回收率为43%,相比之下,在此前的制度下回收率仅为26.5%。根据世界银行的报告,《破产法》已帮助印度在2020年的营商环境便利度排名中上升至第63名。虽然这些成果令人感到鼓舞,但是对于新法律的不熟悉、时间表的拖延、繁琐的诉讼以及基础设施的匮乏都阻碍了《破产法》的实施。

resolution
Ramya Hariharan
合伙人
HSA Advocates

最初,《破产法》规定完成破产解决程序的时限为270天。2017年,国家公司法上诉法庭在JK Jute Mills Company Limited诉Surendra Trading Company案中认定该时限是强制性的。不过,最高法院在 ArcelorMittal India Private Limited诉Satish Kumar Gupta & Ors案中认为诉讼程序花费的时间不应当包括在上述时限内。目前根据《破产法》解决的案件所花费的平均时间为324天。因此,《破产法》于2019年8月进行了修订,规定完成破产解决程序的时限为330天,其中包括所有的法律程序时间。不过,法院于2019年11月在Essar Steel India Limited债权人委员会诉Satish Kumar Gupta案中(Essar案)中表示 “强制”一词太武断,并认为在特殊情况下可以延长时限。为了及时解决破产,法院必须谨慎行使这项裁量权。

由于《破产法》仍然处于起步阶段,一些概念性问题仍然在发展中。这导致了诉讼和过度拖延。债权人的顺序、破产计划中对财务性债权人和业务性债权人进行区别对待的合法性、破产解决程序完成后索赔请求的状态等问题都会经常受到挑战。这些问题目前在最高法院对Essar案的判决中进行了澄清,最高法院认可可以以担保为基础对债权人进行分类,以及对财务性债权人和业务性债权人进行区别对待。此外,法院还澄清道,未决的索赔请求在破产解决程序完成后就无效了。法院对《破产法》进行解释起到的作用有助于在仍在发展的法律中创造先例。

resolution
Dipti Srivastava
律师
HSA Advocates

不过,不同法院做出的矛盾判决影响了问题解决。一个担忧是在破产解决程序完成后,在以前的管理层管理下的违法行为的法律责任仍然持续存在。Bhushan Power就是一个例子,即使在JSW Steel的收购计划被批准后,执法局仍然因为过去的违法行为封存了公司债务人的资产。2019年《破产法(修正案)》新增的第32A条解决了这个问题,该条款免除了公司债务人对于过去违法行为的责任。

基础设施的匮乏也造成了审判的拖延。截止至2019年9月,印度全国只有16个国家公司法法庭,53名成员在处理10860宗案件。在Swiss Ribbons Private Limited & Anr诉Union of India & Ors案中,最高法院指示要在六个月内建立上诉法庭的巡回法庭。不过,自该判决公布以来已经差不多一年了,但一个巡回法庭都还没有建立起来。基础设施的不足导致案件的受理拖延长达一年之久,而非《破产法》规定的14天。许多破产解决程序都因为原创始人提起的繁琐诉讼而陷入了停滞,Essar案就是其中一例。这个案件花了600多天才解决。缺乏有关公司债务人的充分信息、足够的信息工具以及优秀的破产执业人也是其他的挑战。延迟破产会导致价值的毁灭,这会让破产申请人退出。

《破产法》彻底改变了不良资产破产的框架。不过,及时破产仍然是一个挑战。在12宗大型企业案件中,只有4宗已经完成了破产。在已受理的2542宗案件中,有1497宗案件的破产解决程序仍在进行中,目前的案件预计需要近30个月才能结案,超出法定时限的1.5倍。虽然政府一直通过进行及时修订来积极推行《破产法》的实施,但我们仍需要共同努力,改善法官、破产执业人和信息工具的数量和质量,以实现及时解决的目标。

Ramya Hariharan HSA advocates律师事务所的合伙人, Dipti SrivastavaHSA advocates律师事务所的律师。

railway

HSA Advocates
81/1, Adchini
Sri Aurobindo Marg
New Delhi – 110 017, India
14 S/P, Block C, 1st Floor
Chowringhee Mansions, 30 Jawaharlal Nehru Road
Kolkata – 700 016, India
电话: +91 11 6638 7000 传真: +91 11 6638 7099
电话: +91 33 4035 0000 传真: +91 33 4035 0099
电子信箱: [email protected]
网站: www.hsalegal.com

The evolving resolution of stressed assets

By Ramya Hariharan and Dipti Srivastava, HSA Advocates
0
535

The banking sector has been under tremendous stress in the past few years due to the increasing number of non-performing assets (NPA) caused among other things by the absence of a comprehensive bankruptcy regime. In 2016, the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016, was enacted to provide a comprehensive framework for the resolution of NPAs. The recovery rate in 94 cases resolved through the code by fiscal year 2019 is 43%, compared to 26.5% under the previous regime. According to the World Bank, the code has helped India move up to 63rd place in its 2020 ease of doing business rankings. While the results are encouraging, unfamiliarity with the new law, slippage of timelines, frivolous litigation and a lack of infrastructure have hindered the implementation of the code.

resolution
Ramya Hariharan
Partner
HSA Advocates

Initially, the code provided that 270 days was the time limit for completion of the insolvency resolution process (CIRP). In 2017, the National Company Law Appellate Tribunal held in JK Jute Mills Company Limited v Surendra Trading Company that this limit was mandatory. However, the Supreme Court in the case of ArcelorMittal India Private Limited v Satish Kumar Gupta & Ors held that the period of time taken in litigation should be excluded from the time limit. The average timeline for cases resolved under the code is now 324 days. The code was therefore amended in August 2019 to provide mandatory completion of CIRP within 330 days including all legal proceedings. However, the court in November 2019, in Committee of Creditors of Essar Steel India Limited v Satish Kumar Gupta (the Essar case) struck down the word mandatory as arbitrary and held that in exceptional cases the timeline could be extended. For there to be timely resolution, this discretionary power must be exercised sparingly by tribunals.

Due to the infancy of the law, several conceptual issues are still evolving. This has led to litigation and inordinate delays. Issues such as the ranking of creditors, the legality of differential treatment of financial and operational creditors in a plan, the status of claims upon completion of CIRPs have frequently been the subject of challenge. These issues have now been clarified by the Supreme Court in the Essar case, which recognized the classification of creditors on the basis of security, and the differential treatment of financial and operational creditors. Further, it has been clarified that undecided claims do not survive the expiry of the CIRP. The role of the court in interpreting the code has helped create precedents in a still evolving law.

resolution
Dipti Srivastava
Associate
HSA Advocates

However, contradictory judgments across tribunals have affected resolution. One concern is the continuation of liabilities for offences committed under previous management after the CIRP. Bhushan Power is an example where the Enforcement Directorate attached the assets of the corporate debtor (CD) for past offences even after the plan of JSW Steel was approved. This concern should be addressed by the new section 32A introduced by the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Amendment) Ordinance, 2019, which exonerates the CD of liability for past offences.

Delay in adjudication is also caused by the lack of infrastructure. As of September 2019, there were only 16 National Company Law Tribunal panels with 53 members handling 10,860 cases. In the case of Swiss Ribbons Private Limited & Anr v Union of India & Ors the Supreme Court directed that circuit benches of the appellate tribunal be established within six months. However, it is almost a year since the judgment was delivered and not one circuit bench has been established. Inadequate infrastructure has led to delay in the admission of cases for as long as a year instead of the 14 days contemplated under the code. Several CIRPs have been stalled by frivolous litigation instituted by former promoters, the Essar case being one. It took more than 600 days to resolve. Lack of adequate information about the CD, adequate information utilities and good resolution professionals are other challenges. Delay in resolution results in value destruction which has seen resolution applicants backing out.

The code has revolutionized the framework for the resolution of distressed assets. However, timely resolution continues to be a challenge. Of 12 large corporate accounts, only four have been resolved. Of 2,542 admitted cases, 1,497 CIRPs are ongoing and estimates are that it will take almost 30 months to clear current cases, exceeding the statutory timeline by over one and a half times. While the government has been proactive in implementing the code by introducing timely amendments, concerted efforts are required to improve the number and quality of judges, resolution professionals and information utilities in order to achieve the objective of timely resolution.

Ramya Hariharan is a partner and Dipti Srivastava is an associate at HSA advocates.

railway

HSA Advocates
81/1, Adchini
Sri Aurobindo Marg
New Delhi – 110 017, India
14 S/P, Block C, 1st Floor
Chowringhee Mansions, 30 Jawaharlal Nehru Road
Kolkata – 700 016, India
Tel: +91 11 6638 7000 Fax: +91 11 6638 7099
Tel: +91 33 4035 0000 Fax: +91 33 4035 0099
Email: [email protected]
Website: www.hsalegal.com