《民法典》生效,影响劳动合同了吗

作者: 喻鑫、李强强,竞天公诚律师事务所
0
88

随着《民法典》的生效实施,结合民法与劳动法 “一般”与“特殊”的关系及法律适用原则,在劳动法有规定时适用劳动法,没有规定时则可能适用民法。因此,《民法典》的最新规定可能对企业人力资源管理及劳动合同产生重要影响。本文将从《民法典》中部分重要规则对劳动合同的影响和劳动合同的调整角度,进行初步探讨。

喻鑫, Leo Yu, Partner, Jingtian & Gongcheng.
喻鑫
合伙人
竞天公诚律师事务所

设置个人信息保护条款

近年个人信息保护问题受到广泛关注,国家开始“重拳”整治,个人信息保护的法律规则从刑事到行政,再到民事得到全方位布局。《民法典》对个人信息保护进行了较为系统的明确规定,包括但不限于适用对象范围、受保护的个人信息范围、个人信息处理方式和条件及原则、禁止性行为、侵权法律责任等。

虽然劳动法赋予了企业一定程度上的知情权,用于了解与劳动合同直接相关的员工个人信息。但是这种权利的行使将不可避免因获取员工的个人敏感信息,而在获取、存储、使用时受到《民法典》等个人信息保护规则的规制。企业如突破相关规制处理员工个人信息,例如,未经许可将员工个人信息提供给境内外的关联公司和第三方等,将可能引发个人信息侵权纠纷及相应的侵权责任。

我们建议在劳动合同增加个人信息保护章节,以防范相应法律风险。

1.明确需要收集的个人信息范围,剔除与劳动关系无直接关联的信息,例如人脸、指纹等生物识别信息和婚育信息等;

2.应当对员工个人信息收集、存储和使用,约定明确的授权条款,包括可以对员工个人信息进行处理的主体、目的、方式和情形;

3.明确对员工个人信息的存储保护机制。

根据格式条款调整劳动合同

格式条款是预先拟定,且在订立合同时未与对方协商的条款,法律要求格式条款设定方就某些格式条款履行提示说明义务。《民法典》将提示说明义务扩大至“其他与相对人有重大利害关系的条款”,不限于免除或减轻责任的条款。不履行义务可能导致该条款被排除在合同内容之外,对相对一方没有任何约束力。

按照《民法典》格式条款规则,“其他与相对人有重大利害关系”的条款将在企业制式劳动合同大量存在,但劳动法律、法规又没有明确规定这些未经充分提示说明的格式条款的效力。在劳动法领域的司法实践中,员工主张企业提供的劳动合同属于格式合同,并据此主张部分条款无效的案例并不少见。此时,不排除《民法典》格式条款规则会被援引在后续的劳动争议中,从而影响相关条款的效力认定。

我们建议企业对于劳动合同中对员工有重大利害关系的条款,包括但不限于工作岗位和地点调整、薪酬福利的调整和发放、合同解除情形以及其他设定员工义务或责任条款,通过一些方式进行特殊提示和说明,例如:

1.重点条款的加粗和下划线;

2.在与员工协商签署劳动合同时同步向员工出示条款说明函,由员工确认后签字;

3.在劳动合同中增加合同已经经过充分协商和解释的条款,具体可以留出空白栏由员工额外手写“确认对全部条款充分了解和无异议”。

劳动合同中的默示意思表示适用

《民法典》明确规定默示意思表示,即沉默在有法律规定、当事人约定或者符合当事人之间的交易习惯的情况下,是可以视为意思表示的。劳动法虽并未有明确规定,但却存在于部分劳动争议问题裁审意见或口径中。《民法典》对默示意思表示适用规则的进一步明确,为企业创造更多通过劳动合同预先约定方式应对复杂劳动争议风险问题的可能性。

我们建议企业在劳动合同中进一步明确默示意思表示的适用情形,在有事先明确约定的情况下,则有一定可能获得司法实践认可,具体情形包括但不限于以下:

1.在劳动合同中明确约定企业有权根据生产经营管理需要合理单方调整员工的工作岗位、工作地点;

2.在劳动合同中明确约定特殊薪酬福利待遇构成及其发放条件;

3.对涉及员工调薪、调岗、绩效考核、处分决定等方面的重要通知约定异议期,逾期未提异议的,视为同意。

除上述影响外,《民法典》的生效实施还可能在劳动合同存储管理、性骚扰等方面对企业劳动合同及其管理产生影响。对此,我们认为企业需要充分重视起来,前瞻性地采取应对措施,通过劳动合同条款的完善与调整有效提升人力资源合规性。

竞天公诚律师事务所合伙人喻鑫。竞天公诚律师事务所李强强对本文亦有贡献

交通

竞天公诚律师事务所

上海市徐汇区淮海中路1010号
嘉华中心45层 邮编: 200031

电话: +86 21 2613 6125

www.jingtian.com

Does Civil Code affect the labour contract?

By Leo Yu and Li Qiangqiang, Jingtian & Gongcheng
0
942

With the Civil Code taking effect and being implemented, it’s timely to consider the “general” and “specific” relationship between civil law and labour law as well as the principle of law application. Labour law will be applied when there are provisions in labour law and civil law may be applied otherwise. Therefore, the latest provisions of the Civil Code may have a significant impact on human resource management and labour contracts of employers. This article will conduct a preliminary discussion from the perspectives of the impact of some important rules in the Civil Code on labour contract and the corresponding adjustment of labour contract.

喻鑫, Leo Yu, Partner, Jingtian & Gongcheng.
Leo Yu
Partner
Jingtian & Gongcheng

Personal information protection clauses

The issue of personal information protection has been of increasing concern in recent years. The government has begun to rectify strictly by legislating rules for personal information protection from all criminal law, administrative law and civil law perspectives. The Civil Code provides more systematic and specific provisions on the protection of personal information, including but not limited to the scope of application, the scope of protected personal information, the methods, conditions and principles of personal information processing, prohibited acts, and legal liability for infringement, etc.

Labour laws grant, to a certain extent, the employers’ right to know by obtaining employees’ personal information directly related to labour contracts. However, the exercise of this right will inevitably be regulated by the Civil Code and other personal information protection rules when collecting, storing and using employees’ sensitive personal information. If employers breach the relevant regulations to process employees’ personal information, such as providing employees’ personal information to domestic, foreign affiliated companies or third parties without permission, it may lead to personal information infringement disputes and corresponding liabilities.

We suggest an additional chapter in the labour contract to prevent corresponding legal risks:

(1) Clarify the scope of personal information that needs to be collected, and exclude the information that is irrelevant to employment relations, such as face recognition information and fingerprints, marriage and childbirth information, and other biometric information;

(2) The collection, storage and use of employees’ personal information should be agreed upon clear terms of authorisation, including the subject, purpose, method and circumstances of the processing of employees’ personal information.

(3) Clarify the storage and protection mechanism for employees’ personal information.

Standard Clauses Rules

Standard clauses refer to the clauses prepared in advance by one party without negotiation with the other party when concluding a contract. The Civil Code expands the standard clauses providers’ obligation of presentation and explanation of standard clauses to “other clauses that materially affect the other party”; it is not limited to clauses that exempt or reduce standard clauses provider’s liability. If the standard clauses provider fails to perform the obligation of clarity, it may result in the clauses being excluded from the content of the contract, without any binding force on the other party.

According to the Civil Code standard clauses rules, there will be a large number of clauses belonging to “other clauses that materially affect the other party” in the employers’ standard labour contracts, but labour laws and regulations do not clearly stipulate the validity of these standard clauses that have not been fully presented and explained. From the perspective of labour law judicial practice, it is not uncommon for employees to claim that the labour contracts provided by the employers are standard contracts and some clauses are invalid. In this instance, it is possible that the Civil Code standard clause rules will be invoked in subsequent labour disputes, thereby affecting the determination of the validity of the relevant clauses.

We suggest that employers present or explain the main contract terms regarding adjustment of work positions and workplaces, the adjustment and payment of salaries and benefits, the termination of the contracts and other clauses setting obligations or responsibilities for employees. For example:

1. Bold and underline key clauses;

2. When negotiating and signing labour contracts with employees, the alerting and explanation letter could be presented to employees at the same time, which shall be signed after confirmation by employees;

3. Add clauses to labour contracts stating that the contracts have been fully negotiated and explained. Employers can specifically leave a blank column for employees to write “confirm that I fully understand all the clauses and have no objections.”

Application of Implied Intention

The Civil Code clearly stipulates implied intention, that is the implication shall be deemed as an expression of intent only when it is stipulated by the law or agreed by the parties concerned, or conforms to the trade common practice between the parties. Although there are no specific provisions in labour law, it exists in the judicial opinions of some labour disputes. The Civil Code further clarifies the applicable rules for the implied intention and creates more possibilities for employers to deal with the risk of complex labour disputes through the pre-arranged labour contracts.

We advise employers to further clarify the applicable circumstances of implied intention in labour contracts to improve the possibility of being recognised by judicial practice if there is a clear agreement in advance. The specific circumstances include but are not limited to the following:

1. Stipulate clearly in labour contracts that the employers have the right to unilaterally adjust the employees’ work positions and workplaces in accordance with the needs of production and operation management;

2. Stipulate clearly in labour contracts the composition and conditions of special remuneration and benefits;

3. Stipulate time limit of the disagreement for important notices concerning employees’ salaries adjustment, adjustment of work positions and workplaces, performance appraisal, disciplinary procedures, etc. If the objection is not raised within the time limit, it shall be deemed as consent.

In addition to the above impacts, the effectiveness and implementation of the Civil Code may also have an impact on employers’ labour contracts and their management in terms of labour contracts storage management, sexual harassment and other aspects. In this regard, we believe that employers need to pay full attention, take forward-looking measures, and effectively improve human resource compliance through the improvement and adjustment of labour contracts clauses.

Leo Yu is a partner at Jingtian & Gongcheng. Li Qiangqiang also contributed to the article

collateral

Jingtian & Gongcheng
45/F, K. Wah Centre
1010 Huai Hai M. Road
Shanghai 200031, China

Tel: +86 21 2613 6125

 

www.jingtian.com