因投资人信赖保护而被穿透的通道义务

作者: 李昕倩、任国兵,竞天公诚律师事务所
0
719
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

上海金融法院于2021年3月16日发布2020年度十大典型案例,全国首例判决作为通道的信托公司对外部投资者承担相应赔偿责任的案件列于其中,该院官方媒体称该案件“具有重要的标杆意义”。这一定调回应了此前有关该案不具有普遍适用意义的观点,值得通道业务的相关主体予以关注。

李昕倩, Li Xinqian, Partner, Jingtian & Gongcheng
李昕倩
合伙人
竞天公诚律师事务所

既往案例

《九民纪要》第93条规定,“委托人和受托人之间的权利义务关系,应当依据信托文件的约定加以确定”。在相关案例中,最高法院认定通道业务的受托人履行合同约定的义务后,不对委托人担责。

若信托文件对委托人和受托人的权利义务没有约定或约定不明的,法院可能会运用信托法的任意性规范填补或解释合同,认定受托人的义务、过错和责任。

新近案例

上海金融法院发布的典型案例“吴某与某信托有限公司财产损害赔偿纠纷案”中,吴某并未与该信托公司建立信托关系或合同关系,吴某是信托产品的上层投资人,法院最终依据《侵权责任法》认定该信托公司对吴某承担侵权赔偿责任。该案一审从侵权行为的构成要件进行了逐一分析,二审对该分析的路径予以认可。

在认定是否存在损害行为和主观过错方面,法院主要对信托公司开展业务是否合法合规进行审查。其一,中国银监会《行政复议决定书》已经认定信托公司“对该信托计划的委托资金来源未尽到合规审查义务,违反审慎经营规则”,法院采纳了该意见。其二,信托公司没有尽调,却应委托人要求出具了虚假的《项目风险排查报告》,违反了“合理的注意义务”。该行为违反了《信托法》下受托人“诚实、信用”的义务,而诚信原则也是民法的帝王原则。

在损害后果方面,因吴某的投资款项无法收回,法院认定该要件成立。在因果关系方面,法院的落脚点主要在于对投资者的信赖保护,认定:其一,投资者基于信托公司的《项目风险排查报告》有理由相信系争产品受到了信托公司的监管和核查,信托公司出具虚假调查报告客观上起到了蒙骗投资者的作用;其二,在信托公司已知或应知资金来源于社会不特定人员的情况下,“未对犯罪分子借用其金融机构背景进行资金募集的行为采取必要防控措施,也未对社会投资者作相应警示,客观上促成了犯罪分子的集资诈骗行为。”

关于责任比例和形态,法院认定犯罪分子的集资诈骗行为是投资者损失的根本和主要原因,吴某对损失的发生存在过错,故酌情认定信托公司承担20%的补充赔偿责任。

任国兵, Ren Guobing, Partner, Jingtian & Gongcheng
任国兵
合伙人
竞天公诚律师事务所

高发地带:FOT信托

北京朝阳法院前不久作出某信托公司对上层投资者的损失承担全额赔偿责任的一审判决,认定作为通道方的信托公司对上层投资者构成侵权。该判决仍有待二审的检验,但对比上海金融法院前述案件,两案具有一些共同之处:其一,上层投资者均为社会不特定投资者,上层产品的募集具有涉众性;其二,上层产品的发行人、管理人与资产端的融资人具有利害关系。

此类信托结构被称为FOT(Fund of Trust),该类通道业务在上海、北京两地法院均引发了对投资者的侵权赔偿责任诉讼,与该类产品的特点有一定的关系——一方面,上层投资者并非专业机构,对投资风险和通道业务的性质及后果缺乏准确理解,容易基于对持牌信托公司的信赖便决策投资;另一方面,由于上层产品的发行人、管理人与融资人存在利害关系,而信托公司又不负有主动管理的义务,容易引发上层产品发行人、管理人的道德风险,造成投资者损失。

需要特别指出,信托业务监管实践中,虽然集合资金信托计划与事务管理类信托并不冲突,即实践中亦存在大量的事务管理类集合资金信托计划,但《信托公司集合资金信托计划管理办法》第九条所规定的“信托公司设立信托计划,事前应进行尽职调查,就可行性分析、合法性、风险评估、有无关联方交易等事项出具尽职调查报告”可能导致法院更加强化事务管理类集合资金信托计划业务项下受托人的责任。

如何突破合同相对性

基于合同的相对性,投资者只能向与其建立了直接合同关系的机构主张责任,而若该机构缺乏清偿能力,投资者难以实现追偿目标。华澳信托案作为“具有重要标杆意义的案件”,在认定资管机构担责时,突破了合同的相对性,用侵权这一请求权基础实现对投资者的信赖保护,具有重要的示范意义。该案件可能会新辟投资者对资管机构的追偿路径,其意义不容小觑。

竞天公诚律师事务所合伙人李昕倩、任国兵

collateral

Jingtian & Gongcheng

北京市朝阳区建国路77号

华贸中心3号写字楼34层
邮编: 100025

电话: +86 10 5809 1168

传真: +86 10 5809 1100

电子信箱:

li.xinqian@jingtian.com

ren.guobing@jingtian.com

 

www.jingtian.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Breaking through the ‘channel’ to protect investors

By Li Xinqian and Ren Guobing, Jingtian & Gongcheng
0
964

Shanghai Financial Court released its Top 10 Typical Cases of 2020 on 16 March 2021. The first case in the country in which a trust company acting as a “channel” – where the entrusted party merely serves as a conduit for the funds flowing towards the assets designated by the client – was held liable for external investors was listed. The official media of the court stated this case “has important benchmark significance”. This comment responded to the previous view that the case was not universally applicable. This case is worth attention from relevant subjects in the channel business.

李昕倩, Li Xinqian, Partner, Jingtian & Gongcheng
Li Xinqian
Partner
Jingtian & Gongcheng

Previous cases

Article 93 of the Minutes of the National Work Conference on the Trial of Civil and Commercial Cases by Courts stipulates that “the rights and obligations between the principal and trustee shall be determined in accordance with the provisions of trust documents”. In relevant cases, the Supreme People’s Court (SPC) decided that trustees of the channel business should not bear the liability to principals after performing contractual obligations.

If rights and obligations between principals and trustees are not clearly agreed in trust documents, the courts might fill the gap, or explain the contracts, with default rules from the Trust Law to determine the obligation, fault and liability of trustees.

Recent cases

In the above-mentioned case, of Wu v Trust Company A (name withheld), no trust relation or contract relation was established between Wu and trust company A. Wu is the upper-tier investor of the trust product, and the court found trust company A liable for damages in tort to Wu according to the Tort Liability Law. The first trial of this case analysed the constituent elements of the tort, and the second trial recognised this analysis approach.

In recognition of the existence of infringement and subjective fault, the court reviewed the compliance of trust company A’s business. First, the administrative reconsideration decision from the China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission found that trust company A “failed to perform compliance review of the source of entrusted funds for the trust plan, violating the prudent operation rule”, and the court adopted this opinion.

Second, trust company A issued a false project risk screening report, at the client’s request, without performing due diligence investigation, violating the duty of reasonable care. This act violated the trustee’s duty of good faith under the Trust Law, which is also a pillar of civil law.

In terms of damages, as Wu’s investment money could not be retrieved, the court found that the damage was established. In terms of causality, the court’s stance was to protect the reliance of investors, and it found that, first, investors have reason to believe that the products are regulated and verified by the trust company, based on the project risk screening report, and that the issuance of the false screening report had objectively served to deceive investors.

Second, under the circumstances that trust company A knew, or should have known, that the funds were derived from unspecified persons in society, it “failed to take the necessary preventive and control measures against criminals borrowing their financial institutions’ backgrounds for fund raising, and failed to warn social investors accordingly, objectively contributing to criminals’ fund-raising frauds”.

Regarding the proportion and form of liability, the court found that the fund-raising fraud of the criminals was the root and main cause of the investors’ losses, and that Wu was at fault for the occurrence of the losses, and therefore found, at its discretion, that trust company A bore the supplementary liability for 20% of the incurred losses.

任国兵, Ren Guobing, Partner, Jingtian & Gongcheng
Ren Guobing
Partner
Jingtian & Gongcheng

Fund of trust structure

In a separate case, the court of Chaoyang district in Beijing decided that trust company B was fully liable for the losses of upper-tier investors, and that the trust company, as a channelling party, had committed infringement to upper-tier investors. This decision is still to be tested by second trial. However, comparing with the trust company A case, some common features are shared. First, the investors are unspecified investors, and the fund-raising involved many people. Second, the issuer and manager of the trust product had conflicts of interest with the fund-raising party on the asset side.

Such a type of trust structure is called fund of trust (FOT), and this type of channel business has triggered tort liability for investors in courts in Shanghai and Beijing, which is related to the characteristics of this type of product.

On the one hand, these investors are not professional institutions, and they lack accurate understanding of investment risks and the nature and consequences of channel business. On the other hand, since the issuers and managers of the trust products have an interest in the fund-raising party, and the trust companies do not have the obligation of active management, the moral hazard of the issuers and managers of the financial products are easily triggered, resulting in losses to the investors.

In particular, it should be noted that in trust business regulation practice, although pooled fund trust plans and business management trusts are not in conflict, and business management pooled fund trust plan exist in practice, article 9 of the Measures for the Administration of Pooled Fund Trust Plans of Trust Companies stipulates: “Trust companies shall conduct due diligence investigations before establishing trust plans, and issue due diligence reports on matters such as feasibility analysis, legality, risk assessment, and the existence of related party transactions.” This article might lead the court to strengthen the responsibility of the trustee under the business management type of pooled fund trust plan.

Contractual privity

Based on the privity of contracts, investors can only claim liability to the institution with which they have established a direct contractual relationship, and if the institution lacks solvency, it is difficult for investors to recover their losses.

The trust company A case is an important benchmark case that breaks through the privity of contract, and uses the concept of tort to protect investors’ reliance when holding the capital management institution liable, which is an important model. This case may reshape the path of recovery for investors against asset management institutions, and its significance should not be underestimated.

Li Xinqian and Ren Guobing are partners at Jingtian & Gongcheng

collateral

Jingtian & Gongcheng

34/F, Tower 3, China Central Place

77 Jianguo Road, Beijing 100025, China

Tel: +86 10 5809 1168

Fax: +86 10 5809 1100

E-mail:

li.xinqian@jingtian.com

ren.guobing@jingtian.com

www.jingtian.com