墨西哥电力行业法下中国投资者何去何从

作者: 王霁虹、赵蕙骐,中伦律师事务所
0
15

墨西哥于2021年3月9日颁布《电力行业法修正案》(Energy Industry Law,EIL),该法强化国有公司在墨西哥能源市场的主导地位,外国和私营公司在可再生能源领域的投资不确定性加大,政策环境恶化。新的修正案与墨西哥2013年底开始的能源市场改革,结束国有垄断并向外国和私营公司开放墨西哥能源市场的趋势背道而驰。

王霁虹, Wang Jihong, Partner, Zhonglun Law Firm
王霁虹
合伙人
中伦律师事务所

失败的前序政策

2020年5月,墨西哥能源部颁布了“国家电力系统可靠性、安全性、持续性和质量政策”(“政策”),为联邦、州、地方当局、国有公司和独立监管机构(包括能源监管委员会CRE,和国家能源控制中心CENACE)设置了需要遵循的指标,制造了可再生能源取得发电许可和并网的障碍、给予国有公司特别优待并通过电力调度政策限制特定发电商的市场参与。2021年2月3日,墨西哥最高法院作出决定,认为该政策中的诸多政策违宪。

电力行业法修订的核心内容

几乎就在最高法院作出决定的同时,墨西哥政府显示出逆开放电力市场的决心。2021年2月1日总统洛佩斯·奥夫拉多尔向众议院提交了电力行业法的修正案。该修正案于2021年3月9日正式颁布成法律,其核心内容包括:

  1. 调整国家电网的调度和接入规则、放弃经济调度(economic dispatch)机制,给予墨西哥联邦电力委员会(CFE)优先待遇。总统洛佩斯·奥夫拉多尔在前期立法文件中提出以下调度优先顺序:水电—CFE的电站—私营风力和光伏电站—其他类型的发电设施。虽然以上调度顺序没有出现在正式修正案中,但修正案给予CFE所有的电站调度的优先性。并且,业界普遍认为,立法文件中的调度顺序后续会通过具体的行政文件体现。对于私营投资的可再生能源而言,其未来电力调度将受制于CENACE和能源部广泛的自由裁量权,从而面对不可预测的限制,其经济效益将面临致命影响。
  2. 要求CRE吊销“违规”的自供电(self-supply)发电许可。墨西哥能源部和很多联邦官员曾公开表示自供电发电许可正在被滥用。第三方客户正在通过相关的法律空间成为项目的“合伙人”或“关联方”从而享受自供电电站的电力,这完全与自供电模式的立法原意相悖,甚至导致了不受监管的平行电力市场,形成了系统性的违法模式。修正案要求CRE评估相关自供电许可下发电商的行为,确认其是否在滥用该模式,如存在滥用则可以吊销其发电许可。
  3. 审查CFE和私营发电商签署的购电协议对墨西哥政府的合法性和效益,并扩大相关监管机构与私营发电商重新协商谈判购电协议的权力。根据修正案,相关监管机构将审查与私营发电商签署的购电协议对墨西哥政府的“效益性”。此外,修正案还赋予CFE和CRE根据其评估结果,重新协商这些购电协议的权力,这将造成相关私营主体面临协议无效和权利无法得到保障的风险。
赵蕙骐, Zhao Huiqi, Associate, Zhong Lun law firm
赵蕙骐
律师
中伦律师事务所

此外,修正案还明确清洁能源证书(Clean Energy Certificates)的下发将不再受限于电站的所有权类型和其是否进入商业运行,并取消了CFE自第三方购买电力时必须经公开竞价程序的义务。

该修正案要求能源部和相关机构在修正案颁布后180天内对其相关规则进行修订,以保证不与该修正案相冲突。因此私营投资人还将面对后续行政规则的不确定性。

投资者面临的风险与应对措施

和很多外国投资者一样,中国投资者所投资的墨西哥可再生能源项目很多都属于修正案提及的自供电项目。如以上修正案生效,则此类项目将面临致命的风险,包括发电许可被吊销、电力无法上网及相关购电协议无效等。因此,投资此类可再生能源的中国投资者将可能面临项目经济性完全丧失的风险。

据了解,墨西哥多个私营发电商已经开始对修正案提出司法诉讼,2021年3月11日和16日,墨西哥地区法院下发了停止令(stay order),暂时中止了以上修正案的效力,而上诉法院正在对停止令进行进一步审查。

而对中国投资者而言,对于此法律政策变化,除墨西哥当地的司法救济,还可以通过国际投资争议的救济模式来保护自己的投资权益。中国与墨西哥于2008年签署了《中华人民共和国政府和墨西哥合众国政府关于促进和相互保护投资的协定》(下称“《协定》”),该《协定》已经于2009年生效,双方均有义务保护对方投资者在本国的投资。考虑到修正案一旦实施所可能造成的影响,笔者理解投资者将有很大的机会在国际投资仲裁中获得支持。

中伦律师事务所合伙人王霁虹、律师赵蕙骐

中伦律师事务所
北京市朝阳区
金和东路20号院
正大中心3号
楼南塔23-31层

邮编: 100022
电话: +86 10 5957 2288

传真: +86 10 6568 1022

电子信箱:

wangjihong@zhonglun.com

zhaohuiqi@zhonglun.com

 

www.zhonglun.com

Chinese investors’ adaptation under Mexican Energy Industry Law

By Wang Jihong and Zhao Huiqi, Zhong Lun Law Firm
0
22

Mexico published an amendment to the Energy Industry Law (EIL) on 9 March 2021 to reinforce the dominance of Mexican state-owned companies in the domestic energy market, which increased the uncertainty for foreign and private-owned companies to invest in the renewable energy sector and worsened the policy environment. The new amendment runs counter to Mexico’s energy market reform that began in late 2013, to end the state-owned monopoly and open the sector to foreign and private companies.

王霁虹, Wang Jihong, Partner, Zhonglun Law Firm
Wang Jihong
Partner
Zhong Lun Law Firm

Failed preceding policy

In May 2020, the Mexican Ministry of Energy issued the Policy on Reliability, Safety, Continuity and Quality of the National Electric System, stipulating the instructions for federal, state and local authorities, state-owned companies and independent regulators (including the Energy Regulatory Commission, the CRE and state energy control centre, CENACE) to follow, creating barriers to renewable energy licensing and grid connection, giving special preferential treatment to state-owned companies and limiting market participation of specific generators through power dispatch policies. On 3 February 2021, the Mexican Supreme Court issued a decision, holding that many provisions in the policy are unconstitutional.

Key elements of amendment

Almost simultaneously with the Supreme Court’s decision, the Mexican government showed its determination to counter the opening of the electricity market. Mexican President Andrés Manuel López Obrador submitted the amendment of the EIL to the House of Representatives on 1 February 2021. The amendment was officially enacted into law on 9 March 2021 and its core elements include:

1. Adjust national grid dispatch and access rules, abandon economic dispatch mechanism, give preferential treatment to the Mexican Federal Electricity Commission (CFE). Lopez Obrador proposed the following dispatch priority order in a preceding legislative memo: hydropower – CFE’s power plants – private wind and photovoltaic power plants and other types of power generation facilities. Although the above order does not appear in an official amendment, it gives priority to the dispatch of all CFE’s power plants. And the industry commonly believes that the dispatch order in the legislative memo will be subsequently reflected in the specific administrative documents. For privately invested renewable energy, the future electricity dispatch will be subject to the broad discretion of the CENACE and the Ministry of Energy, and thus investors will face unpredictable constraints that will be fatal to their economic performance.

2. Require the CRE to revoke non-compliant self-supply power generation permits. The Ministry of Energy and many federal authorities publicly stated that the self-supply power generation permits are being abused. Third-party customers are making use of a legal gap to become partners or affiliates of some projects, to enjoy the electricity from self-supply electricity plants, which is completely contrary to the legislative intent of the self-supply model, even resulting in an unregulated parallel electricity market and shapes a systematic pattern of violations. The amendment requires the CRE to assess the conduct of the relevant self-supply generator under the permits to confirm whether it is abusing the model and, if so, to revoke its generation licence.

3. Review the legality and effectiveness of power purchase agreements between the CFE and private generators for the Mexican government and expand the authority of the relevant regulator to renegotiate power purchase agreements with private generators. According to the amendment, relevant regulators will review the effectiveness of power purchase agreements with private power producers to the Mexican government. In addition, the amendment also gives the CFE and CRE the power to renegotiate these power purchase agreements based on their assessment, which will result in the risk of invalid agreements and rights not being guaranteed to relevant private entities.

Besides, the amendment clarifies the issuance of Clean Energy Certificates is not subject to the type of ownership of the power plant and whether it is in commercial operation, and also removes the obligation for the CFE to go through a public bidding process when purchasing power from third parties.

The amendment requires the Ministry of Energy and relevant authorities to revise relevant rules within 180 days of the amendment’s enactment, to make sure these rules do not conflict with the amendment. Thus, private investors will also face the uncertainty of subsequent administrative rules.

赵蕙骐, Zhao Huiqi, Associate, Zhong Lun law firm
Zhao Huiqi
Associate
Zhong Lun law firm

Risks and measures

Like many foreign investors, many of the renewable energy schemes involving Chinese investors are self-supply projects mentioned by the amendment. If the amendment comes into effect, these projects will face fatal risks, including the revocation of a power generation licence, the lack of access to the grid and the invalidity of the power purchase agreement etc. As a result, Chinese investors involved in this type of renewable energy will likely face the risk of a complete loss of the project’s economic benefits.

As far as we know, a number of private power producers in Mexico have begun judicial proceedings against the amendment. On 11 and 16 March 2021, the Mexican District Court issued a stay order, temporarily suspending the effectiveness of the above amendment, but the Court of Appeals is further reviewing the stay order.

To Chinese investors, in addition to the local judicial remedies in Mexico, they can also protect their investment rights and interests through the remedy of international investment dispute arbitration. China and Mexico signed the Agreement between the Government of the United Mexican States and the Government of the People’s Republic of China on the Promotion and Reciprocal Protection of Investments in 2008, which already came into effect in 2009. According to this agreement, each party is obliged to protect the investments of the other party’s investors in its own country. Considering the potential impact of the amendment once implemented, the authors think that investors’ rights will have a good chance of being upheld in international investment arbitration.

Wang Jihong is a partner and Zhao Huiqi is an associate at Zhong Lun Law Firm

Zhong Lun Law Firm

26/F, South Tower of CP Center

20 Jin He East Avenue

Beijing 100020, China

Tel: +86 10 5957 2288

Fax: +86 10 6568 1022

E-mail:

wangjihong@zhonglun.com

zhaohuiqi@zhonglun.com

 

www.zhonglun.com