破产进程中的商标权争议

作者: Manisha Singh 和Lisha Chauhan,LexOrbis
0
47
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

印度食品集团 Shakti Bhog旗下公司管理人员及其债权人银行雇员深陷欺诈和洗钱指控刑事诉讼,与此同时,Shakti Bhog公司的破产程序也已进行了一段时间。其中,Shakti Bhog极具价值的商标引发了知识产权归属的争议。

Shakti Bhog Foods Ltd and Anr [SBFL] v Kumar Food Industries Ltd and Ors [KFIL] 一案中,德里高院就对”Shakti Bhog”驰名商标的侵权指控作出了一项重要的临时判决。SBFL是面粉和大米行业领先的食品生产和销售公司,它向法院申请永久禁令,声称其商标受到侵犯、假冒,并要求损害赔偿。KFIL 提出反诉,主张对”SHAKTI BHOG”商标的所有权。此次所有权纠纷发生在破产程序进行过程中,同时涉及商标法,案情复杂,法院也该裁定就这些复杂问题作出裁决。

Manisha Singh, LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
合伙人
LexOrbis

第十被告Kewal Krishan Kumar 于 1975 年设立了一家独资企业,并使用”Shakti Bhog”商标。20 世纪 90 年代初,该被告设立了 SBFL 和 KFIL 两家公司。2017 年,他从 KFIL 辞职,该公司由他的儿子和其他董事经营。SBFL 因 KFIL 及其合同制造商(即第二至第九被告)继续使用上述商标及其标签和包装而感到不满。

SBFL进入破产程序已有一段时间。2015 年,SBFL的业务清盘申请提交法院,并于 2018 年获得法院批准。2018 年,另一名债权人向国家公司法法庭(National Company Law Tribunal ,简称NCLT)提起诉讼,法庭于 2023 年 9 月下发一项命令。原告称,债权人委员会正在根据 2016 年《破产法》就 SBFL 业务的公司破产解决程序进行谈判,并认为”Shakti Bhog”商标是公司的一项资产,应纳入公司破产解决程序。

KFIL称其已通过 2017 年 12 月 30 日签订的转让契据拥有了”Shakti Bhog”商标的所有权。SBFL认为该文件是伪造的,并提出若干理由:400多万印度卢比(4.82万美元)的印花税尚未支付,据称签署该文件的第十被告当时作为SBFL的董事已被停职,KFIL的财务记录与契据内容相冲突,KFIL的资产负债表中没有无形资产记录。此前的一起法庭案件显示,Kumar Food Industries Ltd在以”Shakti Bhog”商标生产和销售产品时一直在使用 SBFL 的许可和商号。SBFL认为,以上种种自相矛盾的行为令人对转让契据的真实性和 KFIL对商标的权利主张产生重大怀疑。

Lisha Chauhan
Lisha Chauhan
实习律师
LexOrbis

SBFL还主张,KFIL并没有向专利、外观设计和商标总局局长(Controller General of Patents, Designs and Trade Marks ,简称CGPDTM)申请商标转让,商标续展手续亦由 SBFL办理。KFIL 产品的包装也说明了该商标是在 SBFL的许可下使用的。在回应 SBFL 于 2023 年 1 月发出的停止侵权通知时,KFIL 没有提出所谓的转让契据作为抗辩理由。SBFL 认为,该商标不属于 KFIL,KFIL 对 SBFL 的知识产权提出的权利主张是没有依据的。

法院发现,SBFL注册了许多商标。KFIL 在主张”SHAKTI BHOG”商标转让时没有出示盖章的转让契据,除了提交给法院的一份未盖章的副本外,没有任何其他记录。为避免损害,法院裁定债权人委员会可将该商标视为 SBFL的资产,并继续估值程序。但是,债权人委员会无权作出最终决定,必须等待法院的判决。法院禁止 KFIL 转让该商标的任何权利、所有权或利益,直至法院作出进一步判决。未经法院批准,被告不得就”Shakti Bhog”品牌产品授予新的许可,CGPDTM不得就该商标的转让或许可进行登记。被告以外的合同制造商如果已经获得该商标的许可,则可以提出申请。此案延期以待进一步审理。

在保护商标注册所有人的利益,使其免受可疑索赔人侵害的同时,法院显然也不想妨碍《破产法》程序。

Manisha Singh为LexOrbis合伙人, Lisha Chauhan为LexOrbis实习律师。

LexOrbisLexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India
www.lexorbis.com
Mumbai | Bengaluru
联系方式:
电话: +91 11 2371 6565
电子邮件: mail@lexorbis.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

TM rights in ‘Shakti Bhog’ controversy amid insolvency proceedings

By Manisha Singh and Lisha Chauhan, LexOrbis
0
306
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Amid the ongoing criminal proceedings alleging fraud and money laundering against officers of the Shakti Bhog companies and of creditor bank employees, insolvency proceedings are underway and have been for some time. A dispute concerning ownership of intellectual property rights in a valuable trademark is part of the insolvency process.

Manisha Singh, LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
Partner
LexOrbis

In Shakti Bhog Foods Ltd and Anr [SBFL] v Kumar Food Industries Ltd and Ors [KFIL], Delhi High Court made a significant interim ruling. The dispute concerned the alleged infringement of the well-known Shakti Bhog trademark. SBFL is a leading food manufacturer and distribution company in the flour and rice sector. The company sought a permanent injunction, claiming infringement of the trademark, passing off and damages. KFIL counterclaimed, asserting ownership of the “SHAKTI BHOG” mark. The ruling dealt with the complexities of trademark law and ownership disputes at a time when insolvency proceedings were ongoing.

Kewal Krishan Kumar, defendant 10, established a sole proprietorship in 1975 using the mark Shakti Bhog. In the early 1990s, the defendant incorporated SBFL and KFIL. In 2017, he resigned from KFIL, which was then run by his son and other directors. SBFL was aggrieved by the continued use of the mark, its labelling and packaging by KFIL and its contract manufacturers, defendants two to nine.

Lisha Chauhan
Lisha Chauhan
Trainee associate
LexOrbis

SBFL has been in the insolvency process for some time. In 2015, a petition was filed to wind up SBFL’s business, receiving court approval in 2018. In 2018, another creditor filed a case with the National Company Law Tribunal (NCLT), resulting in an order in September 2023. The plaintiff asserted that a committee of creditors (CoC) was negotiating a corporate insolvency resolution process (CIRP) under the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016 (IBC), for SBFL’s business. SBFL argued that the Shakti Bhog trademark was an asset of the company and should be included in the CIRP.

KFIL claimed to own the Shakti Bhog trademark through a deed of assignment dated 30 December 2017. SBFL argued on several grounds that the document was a forgery. Stamp duty of more than INR4 million (USD48,200) had not been paid, defendant 10, the person purportedly signing the document, was suspended as a director of SBFL at the time, the financial records of KFIL conflicted with the contents of the deed and no intangible assets were recorded in KFIL’s balance sheet. A previous court case had shown that Kumar Food Industries Ltd had been using SBFL’s licences and trade names when manufacturing and selling products under the trademark. SBFL argued that these discrepancies raised significant doubts concerning the authenticity of the assignment deed and KFIL’s claim to the trademark.

SBFL further contended that KFIL had not applied to the Controller General of Patents, Designs and Trade Marks (CGPDTM) to transfer the trademark, and its renewals were managed by SBFL. The packaging of KFIL products indicated the use of the trademark under a licence from SBFL. In responding to a cease-and-desist notice from SBFL in January 2023, KFIL did not raise the purported deed of assignment as a defence. SBFL submitted that the mark did not belong to KFIL, which was making an unwarranted claim to SBFL’s intellectual property.

The court found that many trademarks had been registered in favour of SBFL. KFIL, in asserting the assignment of the mark “SHAKTI BHOG” had not produced a stamped deed of assignment, of which there was no record other than an unstamped copy submitted to the court. To prevent prejudice, the court ordered that the CoC could consider the mark as an asset of SBFL and could proceed to valuation. However, the CoC could make no final decision and would have to await the court’s order. The court restrained KFIL from transferring any right, title or interest in the mark until further order. The defendants should grant no new licences for “Shakti Bhog” branded products and the CGPDTM should not register assignments or licences for the mark without court approval. Contract manufacturers other than the defendants could apply if they already had licences for the mark. The case was adjourned for further hearing.

The court was obviously anxious not to impede the IBC process while safeguarding the interests of the registered owner of a trademark against a dubious claimant.

Manisha Singh is a partner and Lisha Chauhan is a trainee associate at LexOrbis.

LexOrbisLexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India
www.lexorbis.com
Mumbai | Bengaluru
Contact details:
T: +91 11 2371 6565
E: mail@lexorbis.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link