上海新反不正当竞争条例敦促企业加强合规管理

0
57
Shanghai competition regulations boost compliance management, 上海新反不正当竞争条例敦促企业加强合规管理

从2021年1月1日起,《上海市反不正当竞争条例》要求本市的所有经营者加强内部控制与合规管理。它是中国首个写入合规管理的法律法规。

该条例也是自国家《反不正当竞争法》在2018年修订以来的首批新修订的地方法规。这些立法进展对预防和规制商业贿赂,以及管控合规风险具有重大影响。条例的要点包括:

(1) 在立法中提出“合规管理”概念,要求经营者建立健全合规制度,并将预防商业贿赂列为合规制度中的一个明确要求;

(2) 赋予监督部门检查经营者是否落实了反商业贿赂合规制度的职权;以及

(3) 强调行业组织、监督检查部门对合规制度的建立和健全给予指导的重要性。

对中国企业传递的信息

条例第二十四条明确规定经营者应“加强反不正当竞争内部控制与合规管理,自觉抵制不正当竞争行为”。

这是首次将合规制度的要求写入中国的法律法规中,美国《反海外腐败法》(Foreign Corrupt Practices Act,简称FCPA)和英国《反贿赂法》(UK Bribery Act,简称UKBA)都有相似的要求。但是,与FCPA和UKBA不同的是,在中国的这部法律下,尚不清楚一个有效的合规制度是否可以减免经营者在条例下的责任。条例亦没有表明,如果经营者没有建立起一个有效的合规制度,经营者是否会被追责,或受到惩罚。

尽管在这些方面还有模糊之处,条例仍传递出了关健信息,即中国的企业经营者现在应当将建立有效的合规制度列为工作之重。为了进一步敦促经营者,条例还特别赋予监督检查部门相关职权,让他们在调查商业贿赂时有权检查经营者对合规制度的执行情况。

《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。 读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

Shanghai competition regulations boost compliance management

0
135
Shanghai competition regulations boost compliance management, 上海新反不正当竞争条例敦促企业加强合规管理

Effective from 1 January 2021, the Shanghai Anti-Unfair Competition Regulations require all business operators in Shanghai to strengthen their internal controls and compliance management. This is the first time that the concept of a compliance programme has been introduced into Chinese laws and regulations.

The above-mentioned regulations constitute the first set of amended local rules since the national Anti-Unfair Competition Law was revised in 2018. These developments have a significant impact on the prevention and enforcement of commercial bribery, and the management of compliance risks. Key points include:

(1) The introduction of the concept of “compliance management” into legislation, which requires business operators to establish and improve their compliance programmes – preventing commercial bribery is an explicit requirement of such compliance management;

(2) The granting of power to authorities for an inspection of an organisation’s implementation of their compliance programme in preventing commercial bribery; and

(3) The attachment of great importance to guidance from industry bodies and authorities on the establishment and improvement of compliance programmes.

Implications for business in China

Article 24 of the regulations specifically provides that business operators shall “strengthen internal control and compliance management, and consciously resist unfair competition acts”.

This development is the first time the requirement of a compliance programme has been introduced into Chinese laws and regulations, and is in line with similar requirements of the US Foreign Corrupt Practices Act (FCPA) and the UK Bribery Act (UKBA). However, unlike the FCPA and the UKBA, it is not clear whether an effective compliance programme will mitigate or eliminate liability under the regulations. There is also no indication as to whether the lack of an effective compliance programme would be a ground for liability or penalty.

Despite this lack of clarity, the key message from the regulations is that business operators in China urgently need to prioritise the implementation of an effective compliance programme. As a further incentive, the regulations specifically empower authorities to inspect the implementation of an organisation’s compliance programme when conducting investigations on commercial bribery.

Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com